Reviewer: Elivania
Date: 02/05/07 18:46
Chapter: There is only one chapter

Brilliant job. I love how, with only adding/changing 5 words you were able to change the whole scene to something that fits so much better with the previous 5 books. *Eli*

Author's Response: Hi Elivania, Thanks for the nice review. Hermione loves Harry, not Ron. She was extremely upset after the Quidditch match to the point of wringing her hands and she wanted to talk to Harry, not Ron. Harry owed Hermione an apology for the way he had used her but she didnít get it because Ron butted in. Hermione attacked Ron with the birds because he came between her and Harry. Lavender had nothing to do with it.

Reviewer: RememberDumbledore
Date: 01/02/07 19:19
Chapter: There is only one chapter

Okay... your writing is pretty good, but the points you made were unconvincing. Any true, dedicated HP reader would know without a doubt that Hermione and Ron like each other as more then friends.
Or anone, at least, who has read the words, "Yes, we do know that it's Ron and Hermione."
Seriously.

Author's Response: Can you imagine how much hate mail Emma Watson would get if it was Harry and Hermione?

Reviewer: styrfry
Date: 12/31/06 23:14
Chapter: There is only one chapter

Wow, king, I've never read that article before. But now that you mentioned it, I'm currently in the middle right now. It's got a lot of good points. Thanks!

-S

Reviewer: Shibby14
Date: 12/31/06 22:10
Chapter: There is only one chapter

I hope Harry will end up with Hermione, you have some really good evidence, but my biggest hope is that Ron dies and gets out of the way

Author's Response: Hermione wants Harry and she takes steps in HBP to keep Ron out of the way. But she values her friendship with Ron and would be devastated if he were to be killed. We see this in chapter 17, when Harry and Ron return to Hogwarts after Christmas break. When Harry tries to get Hermione to make up with Ron, she flatly refuses and says: "It was the Fat Lady who drank a vat of five-hundred-year-old wine, Harry, not me." Hermione isn't acting out of anger. She is sober and has thought this through. Hermione gets a positive reinforcement for prolonging the fight with Ron. She knew Lavender and Dean were waiting for Ron and Ginny to return and she wasn't going to interfere with those reunions. As long as Lavender distracts Ron, Hermione has Harry to herself. But when Ron almost dies, Hermione breaks down and starts being friendly again. In another month, Ron hides behind Hermione when he breaks up with Lavender. And Hermione lets him get away with it because she takes pity on the helpless git. Hermione's friendship with Hagrid is similar, his love of monsters drives her crazy but she visits him even when Harry and Ron aren't around. Hermione can be a horrible nag and absolutely vicious but she's a sweet girl too.

Reviewer: styrfry
Date: 12/27/06 20:35
Chapter: There is only one chapter

Ah, yes, I just re-read that part of Chapter 14 that you mentioned, when Ginny pats him on the arm and then he then spots Hermione run off. Good eye there.

I don't normally bash poor old Ron, but after reading Chapter 14, something popped out to me. First, Ron becomes verbally abusive during Quidditch practice, and finally HITS Demelza Robins in the mouth. That doesn't speak too kindly to someone's character when they hit a female; upset, jealous, or whatever reason, it simply is uncalled for.

I could go into other reasons, but I'm sure you already know them all by heart, and I just wanted to share that snippet of 'info' I just caught. That's really uncalled for, in any case.

-S

Author's Response: Hi styrfry! Yes I found it disturbing when Ron punched Demelza, even if he was getting frustrated during Quidditch practice. He of course apologized, of sorts, claiming it was an accident. But it does show a tendency to recklessness, if not violence, when frustrated. I wonder why the author would choose to put such an incident in the book. JKR is very concise. She rarely includes irrelevant material. There are several similar incidents involving Ron. I wrote an editorial about this entitled: "Ron Loves Hermione and He Will _____ Her". It is posted in Madam Puddifoot's. This editorial generated so many angry and downright rude responses that the site manager's shut down the discussion thread within a few hours. When my editorial was posted, the site posted a counter editorial simultaneously. The founder of this site hired a guy with a MA in obscurantism to attack Dear Abby, because they could not touch my research and could not stand any criticism of their red-haired hero.I think that every young person should be aware of what Dear Abby has to say, in spite of the comments of Mr. Mastersdegree. (Which by the way does not impress me. He'd need a PhD to get a job working for Dear Abby.) Bear in mind that my editorial does not criticize a real person, I'm merely trying to analyze what an author is doing with a fictional character. But Mr. Knish's attack on Dear Abby's advice is very dangerous and completely unprofessional behavior.

Reviewer: styrfry
Date: 12/26/06 17:36
Chapter: There is only one chapter

Urg, I had a long review written, and it went poof.

Anyhow, just wanted to bring up something I remembered that you mention in one of your "Needed One" A/N's, about the fact that Hermione actually backs off of Ron/Lavender, giving them room.

Isn't a bit suspicious that Hermione does the exact opposite for Harry (with Cho?). The conversation Harry has with Hermione after his Hogsmeade disaster brought a smile to my face, because of the fact that Hermione manipulated Harry, without telling him the 'proper' course of action until afterwards, which she of course then told him (and her body language obviously said she was happy of the breakup between the two).

Honestly, the whole scene where she rambles on about what Harry should have said, including telling Cho he thought Hermione was ugly (which he says she isn't), is a bit humorous. She could've told him beforehand, as she has clearly thought this through. Instead, she waits until they fall apart before enlightening poor Harry.

Food for thought. :)

-S

Author's Response: Hi styrfry! Good observation, I agree with you completely. Note also how Hermione had Cho's emotional state thoroughly analyzed. In the conversation following the scene where Harry kissed Cho under the mistletoe, Hermione revealed that Cho was worried about loosing her Seeker position because her flying was off. Cho was in Ravenclaw, so Hermione must have been doing a bit of digging to be aware of that. Yet are we to believe that Lavender's attraction to Ron and vice versa completely escaped Hermione's attention? Was Hermione suprised by Ron and Lavender kissing after the Quidditch match with Harry's faked felix felicis ploy? I don't think so. I think Hermione would have been very aware of conversations between her roommates about boys, especially if she cared about Ron. Harry was getting a lot of attention from a lot of girls at the party after the quidditch game. Hermione left the party when Ginny touched Harry's arm. (For these long replies, I copy to clipboard before submitting just in case my login times out.)

Reviewer: phoenix_lullaby
Date: 12/26/06 9:47
Chapter: There is only one chapter

Kassie: I haven't changed my mind. i still think Hermione & Harry will never by together, but i want to say that you write very good. I don't agree with what you wrote & never will but it's written very well.

Author's Response: Hi Kassie, Thanks for the nice review. I have another story on this site that I'm rather proud of, it's a series that consists of two stories: "Harry Potter and the Needed One" and the sequel "The Fifth Horcrux". Of course Harry and Hermione will never really be together. Ron and Hermione will never really be together. Harry and Ginny will never really be together. Tonks and Lupin will never really be together. None of these characters are real, they're all just creations from JKRs imagination. Neither their defeats nor their victories mean anything. The only things about the HP series that count, beyond the wonderful entertainment, are the lessons that can be learned. I do hope that millions of young HP fans don't go into puberty with the ridiculous idea that they need to find a partner who is their complete opposite, and if you don't get along with a person then you need to marry that person and everything will smooth out.

Reviewer: styrfry
Date: 12/17/06 2:34
Chapter: There is only one chapter

Hi, this is my first review on the site, but I'm a big lurker and read a lot, so I'm putting a lot into this review.

When I first started reading the entire HP series, about 4-5 months ago, I too was a H/G+R/Hr shipper. At the time, it seemed logical to me, and so I went about my merry way until I started reading a *lot* of fanfiction.

The first story that really caught my eye about H/Hr shipping was "A Serpent's Sacrifice" on HPFF -- he really put together a great Book7, and I quickly devoured a great deal of H/Hr stories on that site, but I eventually turned to here.

I've read all of your stories (even if they are really doom and gloom...), and to be honest, they make a lot of sense, so I re-read the HP series again. A lot of the points you bring up are very valid, and not just limited to HBP.

Looking back at the HP series, it seems, to me at least, that Ron is simply just not the 'type' of guy for Hermione, even if he does like her. Hermione, also, has a great need for something more than Ron can ever offer. I think you bring up a lot of important arguments, and I truly valued reading your stories; they really opened my mind to a lot of the finer meanings between the characters, and it's pretty obvious to me. Hermione is always loyal to Harry and looking out for the best for him (which cause problems in Book3/6); Ron is simply too self-absorbed, in my opinion.

Ron/Hermione would most likely ruin the trio's friendships, simply because of how close they all are. My only guess is that JK is setting those two up, sadly, because Harry is going to be killed in Book7. In my mind, that is the only reason for a R/Hr ship; their loss of Harry will bring them together (insert my disgruntled comment here).

Thank you for writing such great stories, even if I'm not a big fan of how... depressing your stories are. :)

-S

Author's Response: Hi styrfry! I am honored that you chose to post your first review on one of my stories. This is the best review I've ever gotten because you are so thoughtful about the matter. If I encouraged you to re-read the HP series, then I've achieved a major goal. My stories are depressing and full of doom and gloom. But if Harry dies in book 7, my silly stories will look cheerful by comparison. I'm working on the last chapter of "The Fifth Horcrux" and I hope to end it on a happy note.

Reviewer: styrfry
Date: 12/17/06 2:31
Chapter: There is only one chapter

Hi, this is my first review on the site, but I'm a big lurker and read a lot, so I'm putting a lot into this review.

When I first started reading the entire HP series, about 4-5 months ago, I too was a H/G+R/Hr shipper. At the time, it seemed logical to me, and so I went about my merry way until I started reading a *lot* of fanfiction.

The first story that really caught my eye about H/Hr shipping was "A Serpent's Sacrifice" on HPFF -- he really put together a great Book7, and I quickly devoured a great deal of H/Hr stories on that site, but I eventually turned to here.

I've read all of your stories (even if they are really doom and gloom...), and to be honest, they make a lot of sense, so I re-read the HP series again. A lot of the points you bring up are very valid, and not just limited to HBP.

Looking back at the HP series, it seems, to me at least, that Ron is simply just not the 'type' of guy for Hermione, even if he does like her. Hermione, also, has a great need for something more than Ron can ever offer. I think you bring up a lot of important arguments, and I truly valued reading your stories; they really opened my mind to a lot of the finer meanings between the characters, and it's pretty obvious to me. Hermione is always loyal to Harry and looking out for the best for him (which cause problems in Book3/6); Ron is simply too self-absorbed, in my opinion.

Ron/Hermione would most likely ruin the trio's friendships, simply because of how close they all are. My only guess is that JK is setting those two up, sadly, because Harry is going to be killed in Book7. In my mind, that is the only reason for a R/Hr ship; their loss of Harry will bring them together (insert my disgruntled comment here).

Thank you for writing such great stories, even if I'm not a big fan of how... depressing your stories are. :)

-S

Reviewer: sparkling_fairy_529
Date: 12/05/06 21:20
Chapter: There is only one chapter

finally someone came up with something other than harry/hermione fluff! (actually i love all of the stories of the h/hr fics) great idea you're a pretty good writer!

Author's Response: Hi sparkling_fairy_529! Thanks for the kind review! You bring up a great topic for discussion, that is "fluff". My take on JKRs main characters is that Ron is a bit fluffy, Harry might wish that he could be more fluffy but he can't because he's "the chosen one", and Hermione is not and never has been remotely "fluffy". This is why I'm a H/Hr shipper. A talented girl like Hermione needs to pair up with a guy she can respect, and that's not Ron.

Reviewer: JusticeForMedea
Date: 11/26/06 22:29
Chapter: There is only one chapter

Interesting, I like. I would like to say that although I don't think Harry and Hermione would or should ever be together (Harry & Ginny, Ron{matured a little} & Hermione 4 ever)I loved your story.

I think Auror81692 had no right to go off like that, even if I agree with his shipping choices. This is a FANFICTION page. If you want to put Draco in a love triangle with Dumbledore and Dobby, you go for it! Keep writing.

PS: If you write that one, please post it. I'd love to read it. ;).

Author's Response: Hi JusticeForMedea! Thanks for the nice review! Hermione has talents and skills that Harry will need in order to survive and destroy Voldemort. She is the most dynamic female character in the series and she really does have a lot in common with Harry. Anyway, Hermione loves Harry, not Ron. I think H/Hr makes a great starting point for a story which features Harry. You should check out my other stories: "HP and the Needed One" and its sequel, "The Fifth Horcrux".

Reviewer: PinkMonkey
Date: 11/17/06 10:57
Chapter: There is only one chapter

i have to say i've looked through your reviews and i found Auror81692s comments highly amusing simply because they r so ridiculous. i can't say i'm a h/hr shipper simply because i like to leave all possibilities open but i loved the way you explored this and the whole what if? angle. nice one

Author's Response: Hi PinkMonkey! Thanks for the nice review! This web site is run by fanatical R/Hr shippers and I hope that I provide some balance. Frankly the idea of R/Hr is ridiculous. That sort of marriage would ruin Hermione's chances to develop her phenomenal intellectual and magical talents into a high powered career and would give Ron a taste of hell before he dies. Anyway, the books are about Harry, not Ron. If I were the author of this series I would want to conceal major plot elements like who ends up with who so there are some good surprises in the 7th book. If I were the author of this series I would pair up H/Hr because they make a good team. (R/Hr don't work together very well.) My great fanfict work consists of two stories: "Harry Potter and the Needed One" and a much more involved sequel "The Fifth Horcrux". I am of course not the author of the HP series, and I am well aware that the odds are not in my favor when it comes to guessing what is on JKRs mind. She is a woman after all.

Reviewer: PinkMonkey
Date: 11/17/06 10:53
Chapter: There is only one chapter

i have to say i've looked through your reviews and i found Auror81692s comments highly amusing simply because they r so ridiculous. i can't say i'm a h/hr shipper simply because i like to leave all possibilities open but i loved the way you explored this and the whole what if? angle. nice one

Reviewer: Hot Fudge
Date: 11/03/06 14:36
Chapter: There is only one chapter

great story. i love the ending. harry can be so daft sometimes.


Author's Response: Hi Hot Fudge! Thanks for the nice review. My take on Harry is that he has very good instincts for recognizing enemies and a very poor ability to understand girls. But then again, I'm delusional.

Reviewer: LovelyxLena
Date: 10/21/06 15:01
Chapter: There is only one chapter

I read H/HR stories becasu eit's one o those things where I am too hirrified to look away. I admit I think R/HR belong together. But this fanfic was very well written, and it wasn't disgusting. I mean the way she sent teh birds on Ron in HBP makes sense to me, but this makes perfect sense as well. Good job!

Author's Response: Hi LovelyxLena! Thanks for the nice review. JKR can do anything to her fictional characters that she wants to. She can put misleading clues in the books and she can put misleading clues in the interviews. But forty years from now people will be reading the books and the interviews will be long forgotten.

Reviewer: phoenix_lullaby
Date: 10/09/06 15:25
Chapter: There is only one chapter

Christy: Harry & Hermione DON'T go! When they look at each other, a part of them screams in revulsion. Ron/HermioneFREVR!!!!!
Kassie: I agree with Christy! The reason Hermione attacked Ron was because its his fault! Lavender didnt make him kiss her!
Both: You people ARE delusional. H/G & R/Hr 4EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Emerson's right for once!

Author's Response: This story is clearly labelled as a H/Hr romance. If you don't like that ship, don't read the story. And keep your rude comments to yourselves.

Reviewer: myth_of_beauty
Date: 09/29/06 7:38
Chapter: There is only one chapter

My point exactly. I've already started thinking long and hard and now I need to get my rabid Harry Potter fan friends together and have one huge arguement. LOL I used to be a Harry/Hermione shipper, WAY back when, but my colors changed about third book.


Author's Response: Hi myth_of_beauty! Now is the time for HP fans to have their arguments. Once the 7th book comes out we'll be able to see what passages from books 1 - 6 are meaningful clues and what passages are red herrings. Then the HP books will become fodder for literature teachers.

Reviewer: myth_of_beauty
Date: 09/27/06 21:15
Chapter: There is only one chapter

First of all, I want to say hello to Auror whatever, and tell her to get a life that DOESN'T involve capslock and exclamation points.

Now, to the point. I admit, I'm a die-hard Ron/Hermione shipper. But your logic... Welll, it sways me. I might have to change my colors. LOL I loved it.

Author's Response: Hi myth_of_beauty! Thanks for the nice review! I just want people to keep their minds open and to try to analyze all of the clues. I'm sure the seventh book will be wonderful, regardless.

Reviewer: Mermione
Date: 09/04/06 15:41
Chapter: There is only one chapter

OMG. This is just what we Pumpkineers have been craving for! Instead of using recycled HBP pages as toilet pape, we can sleep happily, putting this scene in the book. You have a real talent for writing...which is probably why this is sooooo satisfying. It's like reading J.K.'s work, so it kind of fools you into thinking this is what REALLY HAPPENED!

Author's Response: Hi Mermione! Thanks for the nice review. As a H/Hr shipper, the more I read HBP, the more I like it. Reread the bird scene and tell me what evidence is there that Hermione is jealous of Lavender? I don't see it. If Hermione didn't want Ron to be with Lavender then why did she tell him that he shouldn't keep her waiting? How long did it take her to slide off the desk and slowly walk to the door? If at any time during Hermione's slow walk Ron had said,"Well I had better go," would he have been attacked by the birds? If Hermione was mad at Lavender, why not attack her with the birds? What makes sense to me is that Hermione was hurt because Harry used her to fool Ron about the Felix felicis. Harry put his friendship with Ron ahead of his friendship with Hermione, and that hurt her feelings.

Reviewer: ronnyc718
Date: 08/22/06 14:14
Chapter: There is only one chapter

I'm a R/Hr person. I only bring this up because I think it's a testament to your story that I read and enjoyed this. Excellent, excellent job. I especially enjoyed the ending, where Hermione's just like, oh my gosh you're so oblivious.

Author's Response: Hi ronnyc718! Thanks for the nice review!

Author's Response: Hi ronnyc718! Thanks for the nice review!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES