Reviews For Catching Fireflies
Reviewer: Half_BloodPrincess
Date: 06/02/11 13:45
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

What a lovely little romance - it's so hard to build up the beginning of a relationship in a one shot, but you've captured it perfectly. Watch out for your italics, they seem to spill over everywhere, but other than having to tilt my head to the side to read half of it, it was really good!

Reviewer: themoonkittie
Date: 07/01/09 4:16
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

This is beautiful.

Reviewer: go go ravenclaw
Date: 04/30/08 9:39
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

Well, this is a very nice fic! I've always enjoyed Hr/OW, so this was like wow!

helping Harry move in with Seamus when they felt they were ready

Does this mean what I think it means?? :p

Reviewer: La_Rubinita
Date: 04/28/08 8:45
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

So cute. I love Oliver and the way you write him :)

Reviewer: hogwartsduchess
Date: 03/23/08 21:17
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

Dearest, I have to start out this review with the first thought I had – OOOH! Look! A Nyruserra story I've never reviewed! WOW! *ahem*

Moving on to the review part of the review. GUH! The first part of the story, that first paragraph was simply amazing. I pictured it all so clearly in my head and just heaved a huge sigh that there was no Oliver Wood in the world to do that for me.

And then I read the next paragraph! LOL! Brilliant opening. Might I just throw in, by the way, that I'm so glad you've given up the excessive use of parenthesis? So terribly confusing.

What first becomes apparent is that this is not the Hermione of Consequentially Yours, nor is it the same Oliver we've grown to love from that tale. This is a different setting, a different universe, and it is something special in its own right. This Hermione is less confident, but still endearing.

It's quite cute, but I'm kerfuddled by Oliver's attention to Hermione in that first moment – why did he single her out? However, this Oliver is delightful – making sure to befriend a lonely girl (though one does have to wonder why), and being very smart. I like a smart Oliver. It makes more sense that he has a personality other than Quidditch Nutter.

Now, on to the match! And the Percy crush is PERFECT! I've often wondered why there isn't more of that explored in fanfics. It is obvious that Hermione likes Percy – even admires him. A schoolgirl crush wouldn't be far behind that, now would it? *shudder* Even though I can't decide which is worse: Percy or Lockhart...now there's a gruesome twosome.

You do need to go in and fix the formatting, love, as it's a little – er – off – right after the battery-powered toothbrush...which, by the way, I can just see him looking at, wondering how in the blazes he's supposed to use it. Very cute.

I love the little 'missing moments' in canon – Hermione in the library before the match, looking up information on the basilisk and Oliver in there at the same time..CUTE! And – her assisting him with the play...I really enjoyed that.

The next bits are just adorable. I love their letters back and forth and I think they're just adorable. And then we're back to the moment in St. Mungo's...un-obligingly cloudy and all. And just – GUH! I'm squealing in delight.

Reviewer: Pissenoffanis
Date: 02/04/08 2:33
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

Lovely story! Very cute, but written in a totaly believable and down-to-earth way. Great writing!

Reviewer: kutekat528
Date: 10/03/07 19:37
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

What a sweet, sweet story! I love how you write Oliver. He is my favorite character to read about and I wish there were more authors doing him justice like you. And even though in my mind Hermione belongs with Ron, you write it all so believable that it doesn't bother me at all; they seem to fit together nicely in your world. Keep up the writing. I'm looking forward to more stories from you!

Reviewer: kamahoo900
Date: 09/29/07 20:34
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

I love this story its sweet and romantic. I wish I could find a guy like the Oliver you wrote

Reviewer: rrraacchh
Date: 08/28/07 1:13
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

aww..you really should add more i think..

great read :)

Reviewer: Crows
Date: 04/25/07 17:12
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

Oh, how cute!

Reviewer: Leahr
Date: 04/23/07 22:10
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

Very cute story- one-shot, I suppose? Pretty good character developement for something so short. I cant imagine canon Hermione reading romance novels, but you explained it fairly well. I like your post-war scenario, it just fit this fic perfectly- of LV dying but the DEs still around, etc. Just, one spelling error rather bothered me- "She was mortified when her decent" Descent, I think you meant. Anywise, well done.

Reviewer: eowyngirl
Date: 04/23/07 17:02
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

Awww... this was realllllly sweet!!!!!!!!! I was a bit suspicious at first about the whole Hermione/Oliver thing, but this was fantastic! I thought it was great that you had Hermione reading romance novels- I can picture her doing that. The end was very sweet, too. I find that a lot of times, romances get into a lot of snogging and aren't very imaginative, but this was very original and well-written. Also, I liked that you showed glimpses of different periods of Hermione's life instead of just focusing on one main setting in time. And (I'm almost done), I really like your style of writing. A brilliant fic!!!!!!!!!!! I'm adding it to my favs

Reviewer: Starmaiden
Date: 03/16/07 16:17
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

I love the beginning! It's so romantically perfect and cliched and...not real. Ha.

“So, where’re you’re two watch dogs today, lass?”
That should be "your" watch dogs, and
Oliver had come down, all rumpled looking in his stripped pyjamas
that should be "striped".

I like the way you skim through their history together. It gives us a chance to see them grow up a little, and who they are around each other.

If Ron’s too blind to be able to appreciate what a great girl you are, just bid your time.
I think that should be "bide".

In the mean time, I hope I can still count on you to be clipping my articles, ‘cause I'll always know how to appreciate a good thing when I find it.
Woo! That's an adorably sly little line there. It's suggestive in a...non-suggestive...way.

So, she enjoyed living her romances out vicariously through her reading habits, when no one could catch her at it, enthusiastically helping to marry Ron off when he finally proposed, to Pansy Parkinson of all people (whom she now considered a dear friend, despite their history), and helping Harry move in with Seamus when they felt they were ready.
This is fun, but it's very long and feels a little awkward. It might work better as two or three sentences.

*nod* I like how Hermione eventually accepts that she and Ron are not meant for each other. You work in so many non-canon things so subtly that they work, though I've really no idea how (Pansy, Percy, Harry/Seamus [!]). But I was really thinking of how Hermione becomes a Medi-Witch, and leaves the Auror dream for the boys. She's competent enough at times, but doesn't have the right mentality to be an Auror.

(She had abandoned her slight crush years before, when Percy had shown himself to have similar taste in dates as she did.)
O.o *snort*

The war was technically over, after Harry had defeated Voldemort, but the raids were still continuing ayear later
You're missing a space in "a year".

No, none of the things that would have been present in her favourite romance novel were actually there, and as Hermione saw Oliver’s warm brown eyes light up as he smiled at her, she found she didn’t need them to recognize this moment for what it was.
Awwww! What a wonderful ending! I was expecting more of a present-time story, but the way it's all told through the past works quite well. After all, love has to start somewhere. Wonderful job!

Author's Response: Yes, this one is more error-ridden then most of my work, isn't it? *hides head* It was actually one of the first fanfictions I ever wrote, and though I keep telling myself it deserves to be edited properly, I never seem to find the time to do it - probably because I'm afraid I may try and re-write it *lol* This story has a very special place in my heart, and despite the errors, remainds one of my favourite things I've written, so I always get extra excited when people read it and enjoy it so much *hugs* Thank you so much for the amazing review, and I appreciate all of your advise and con-crit here - and you may have just given me the incentive to go back and fix it up :-)

Reviewer: lucilla_pauie
Date: 02/23/07 11:23
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

oh, p.s: goodness, i hope you only meant that seamus and harry were sharing a house like you share an apartment to cut expenses...waah! and pansy to ron--owkay, i'll forgive you for that, hehe. :D

Author's Response: *tries to look innocent* Who, me? >.>

Reviewer: lucilla_pauie
Date: 02/23/07 11:20
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

What! hermione had a crush on percy?!

a white lily! sweet!

hermione with quidditch coaching potential, hehe.

oliver scarred by hermione's foray into the DOM...

Spledid ideas, smooth adaptation of back stories. my, my, i'm becoming a fan, wouldn't you say? (sorry about my semi-colon tendencies, i hit it instead of the apostophe, ^_^) of course you;ll forgive me about it, right? because i choose to overlook your spelling errors as well, ya know! they're nothing compared to your style, anyway. write on!

Author's Response: Yes, this one does have a few more error's in it - it didn't get the beta'ing it deserved, and was one of the first things I wrote. Despite all the errors, this story will always hold a special place in my heart *lol* Thank you for another lovely review *hugs*

Reviewer: Alexarama
Date: 02/13/07 2:42
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

Oh my god, that was so cute! I absolutley love Oliver, Hermione fics. They're always gorgeous. Lol. :D

Author's Response: Thank you hon!

Reviewer: fuckmeimdead
Date: 11/14/06 22:21
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

It is a great story. Even better than some stories, you know, the one's with the unlimited number of chapters.

It had a tendency to get a bit draggy at some parts, but you managed to someow bring all the ends together.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad that even though you found it abit slow in parts, it was still interesting enough to keep reading, and very glad you found the end satisfying! :-) I may look at this one day and see if I can tighten it up abit, and I appreicate your comment *hugs*

Reviewer: snitchie
Date: 10/14/06 22:12
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

cute

Author's Response: Thank you :-)

Reviewer: SilentSempra
Date: 06/27/06 13:15
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

AWWW!!! I love it! it's one of those pairs that you don't really think about but would work so well! I think they're an adorable couple. Brava, bravissima, encore!

Reviewer: SilentSempra
Date: 06/27/06 13:14
Chapter: Catching Fireflies

AWWW!!! I love it! it's one of those pairs that you don't really think about but would work so well! I think they're an adorable couple. Brava, bravissima, encore!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it <3

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Skeletons' Tale by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet," wrote Shakespeare. This story...
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES