Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For The Severed Souls

Name: BlackClaude (Signed) · Date: 12/11/06 12:33 · For: The Darkest Night
Fantastic! I'm very excited by the opening of this sequel. You've laid out the direction of the story well and dropped tantalizing hints of conflicts to come. Most intriguing, Narcissa, of course! If Severus ever calls her Cissy, I expect Maeve to slap him around. :) I thought the characterization of Remus was great. It was very striking to read him being so cold and detached in the beginning. He was being OOC in a perfectly IC way, if that makes sense. And then the way he struggled to balance his devotion to her with his firmness to make her accept the situation... very Remus. Lovely to read!


Maeve's reaction was well-done, too; her panic and denial felt real. And her loyalty to Severus was both sweet and heartbreaking! As I read it, I imagined that it mirrored your reaction to the end of HBP. ;) I thought she figured out the "pleading for life/pleading for death" a little too quickly, though. I realize she believes completely in Severus and wants him to be innocent, but it feels like she solved the puzzle too easily.


My favorite description was of Spinner's End. It was dead on; from the first sentence it took me right back to HBP. And I loved Maeve's smackdown on Roderick inside: “A shoulder to cry on?” The incredulity she displayed made him think she was perhaps over-reacting a little. “The world is trying to tell me something that I cannot allow myself to believe and here you are, presenting me with evidence of my husband’s other life. I don’t want a shoulder to cry on, I want bloody answers. I want to know where my husband is. Do you know? You seem to know everything else.” She glowered accusingly at him.


I love it! She's such a strong character; it was great to see the fire in her that we first saw in DoL. And of course it's great to have Roderick back. I thought his best line was "He had the decency to look genuinely sorry for her." A small line, but it says so much about him. Your characterizations give a lot of depth to your stories, and make them so interesting to read. I can't wait to see what you do with Narcissa. But even more so, I can't wait to hear Snape speak for the first time since we saw him running away with Draco. Oh, and I also can't wait to see what you do with Draco! All right, it's clear I need to get reading chapter two. :) Great job!


Author's Response: What a great review! *blushes* I'm glad it works as an opening chapter. HBP really threw me... but then I always knew it would. I think a lot of Maeve's disbelief... and then belief in her husband did stem from what many Snape fans felt. he just couldn't be evil... could he? I think it's fairly self-evident where I think he stands from this fic. :-) I think the pleading for life thing hit quite a few people on first reading. I know that's how I read it. Perhaps with hindsight I should have given her a little more uncertainty; it would have made for a very different opener if she had had her doubts. *pats Remus* I love dear Remus, although he does get a little more angsty later on. I hope you keep reading. I have finally got back into my updating groove, so hopefully the story will be completed before too long.


Name: FaunaCaritas (Signed) · Date: 12/08/06 14:43 · For: The Fall
Bravo! Too short, but otherwise I liked this chapter. Please keep updating. Your story is thoughtful and well written-- and those come few and far between.

Pax and Happy Christmas!

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review. I'm glad you are enjoying the story.


Name: Cheshlin (Signed) · Date: 12/06/06 12:29 · For: The Fall
Ah!! I love the ending of that chapter. I can't believe that Hogwarts is falling. I hope that Ginny got out ok. I can see her being a leader in getting the other students out. It will be good to see Hermione and Ron's reaction to being reunited with Harry. I anxiously await the next chapter!

Author's Response: I might be cruel and leave Ginny's fate in the balance for a few chapters. ;-)


Name: lantis222 (Signed) · Date: 11/30/06 17:13 · For: The Fall
Hi, I really enjoy your writing. I'm so glad that you haven't abandoned this story, I was begining to wonder.
I'm sad to see Hogwarts fall, but I'm glad that Ron and Hermione are going to see Harry again. I also like what you have done with Neville, he's one of my favorite characters.
Thanks again for writing such wonderful stories.

Author's Response: And thanks to you for reviewing! I'm glad you are enjoying them and I'm sorry for the erratic updating. And it looks bad for Hogwarts now, but you never know what the future holds.


Name: crazyhpgirl (Signed) · Date: 11/29/06 21:14 · For: The Fall
Yay! you finally got up the new chapter! I loved it, by the way.

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: allie8809 (Signed) · Date: 11/28/06 21:30 · For: The Fall
aww good chapter i love maeve and severus together...what happened to Hogwarts!!!!!!! update much faster then you did for this last chapter i was getting really nervous that you might abandon it or something! dont scare me like that!

Author's Response: Sorry for the scare! I've updated again and am already writing the next chapter, so updates should be comig along more regularly now. And thanks for the review!


Name: Breeze (Signed) · Date: 11/28/06 8:23 · For: The Fall
great story. Keep gong

Author's Response: Thank you.


Name: Elaine Lahey (Signed) · Date: 11/08/06 19:48 · For: A Gathering Storm
I always love it when this story updates. This made my day.

Author's Response: Glad I made your day! And thank you for reviewing. :-)


Name: ccsahplvr1 (Signed) · Date: 10/25/06 17:08 · For: A Gathering Storm
Have you stopped writting this story? If you have, please don't.

Author's Response: As you can see from recent updates, I haven't. I hope to have it finished before Deathly Hallows comes out. :-)


Name: MrsViktorKrum (Signed) · Date: 10/08/06 7:58 · For: A Gathering Storm
I think this is my third review, but who cares. PLEASE UPDATE SOON! This is numero uno on my favorites!

Author's Response: Thanks for the reviews! Hope you enjoy the updates. :-)


Name: ardentharlequin (Signed) · Date: 10/06/06 16:42 · For: A Gathering Storm
Mauve.. this was the first fic i have ever read. DON'T CUT ME OFF.

Author's Response: Sorry! I really stepped away from the story for awhile there. Back now and updating regularly. Thanks for the encouragment to continue. :-)


Name: ccsahplvr1 (Signed) · Date: 09/24/06 11:53 · For: A Gathering Storm
OMG! This is like seriously the best story I've read so far, and I so cannot wait for it to update!

Author's Response: Thank you. :-)


Name: Jennifer M (Signed) · Date: 09/01/06 16:58 · For: The Fox and the Raven.
This story is great! J

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it and thank you.


Name: MrsViktor Krum (Signed) · Date: 08/24/06 12:40 · For: A Gathering Storm
I have read all your fics, and I love them, especially this one. I love your writing! You capture the plots and the settings of your stories very well. Keep up the good work, and pretty PLEASE update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review.


Name: ice_dragon7 (Signed) · Date: 08/19/06 11:42 · For: A Gathering Storm
Quite a nice chapter there! But it wasn't too short as you suggested,And Please try and come up with the next chapter fast Its a really frustrating wait (though) I have to say the end results are gr8

Author's Response: Sorry to keep you waiting. Thank you for the review and the updates are coming faster now! :-)


Name: anAnachronism (Signed) · Date: 08/17/06 11:13 · For: A Gathering Storm
Hooray! An update! I'm so relieved that you haven't abandoned this story, and it wasn't short at all. It is indeed the calm before the storm.

I'm curious about Severus and Maeve only being able to have one child, because I read another one of your stories where they both die and you mentioned several children. Then again, I may be misinterpreting.

And I'm glad Neville is around. I missed him. Anywho, I have to go, but I loved this chapter and hope you post another one soon!

Author's Response: You're not misinterpreting. The other story wasn't meant to be a real indication of what happened to them according to the main stories - if that makes sense. :-) It was just a one-shot that was more of a 'what if...' Thanks for the review and I'm glad you're enjoying the story.


Name: surrypotter (Signed) · Date: 08/15/06 16:40 · For: A Gathering Storm
1) It's not short ... 2) All good things come to those who wait ... albeit ... Impatiently. 3) Another fantastic episode!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


Name: Cheshlin (Signed) · Date: 08/15/06 14:40 · For: A Gathering Storm
It is really cool to see everyone getting together. I'm glad that Remus was able to lead Neville to Harry and Maeve. I am wondering if anyone is going to treat his snake bite. He had seemed in kinda serious condition, but when he got to Snape and Maeve it got ignored! It was very cool seeing Lugh again. He always shows up at the most interesting times! :) I look forward to see what happens next.


Name: ardentharlequin (Signed) · Date: 08/07/06 0:10 · For: The Heir of Gryffindor
oh no. don't leave me in all this suspence..
gosh, you are one fantastic writer.. really creative as well.


Name: Eleanor_Prewett (Signed) · Date: 07/21/06 12:32 · For: The Heir of Gryffindor
That's quite a twist. Not Severus being the heir to Gryffindor, which I have suspected since the incident with Filch in the Headmaster's office, but the reconciliation between Harry and Severus. It's something a long time coming, most assuredly, and something I wasn't bold enough to hope for. However, the way Maeve has learned of her husband's lineage came downright unnervingly as well as unexpectedly. This also seems to suggest that sometime in the not too distant future, Maeve and Severus will have a child, a son, and I'm starting to wonder just how much of The Potions Master of Azkaban will play into Severed Souls. A wonderful chapter.
~Ellie


You must login (register) to review.