Reviews For Take My Heart Away
Reviewer: KneazleWeazl
Date: 09/16/07 20:47
Chapter: The End

awesome

Reviewer: Tabithima
Date: 09/03/07 12:46
Chapter: The Beginning

It was an entirely different story that got me into Tom and Hermione. It wasn't finished, so I searched for more. I found this. I can tell you I wasn't expecting a story so deep.

I thought I had gotten past the stage where stories made me emotional. This story did not bring me to tears, but it wrenched my heart.

I don't know. I expected something different for the ending. I guess I've just been spoiled by the happy endings in the things I read. It always seems to me that, no matter how many people are hurt in a story, no matter how many tragedies happen, there will be some semblance of peace, and happiness in the end.

I really expected some sort of happy-ever-after miracle to happen. I thought- wanted everything to be okay.

The rose just makes things worse. It's beauty just stabs you in the heart.

It's a vicious chain. In his attmpts to avenge her. he killed her. He became the murderer he had sought to kill. If that isn't tragic irony, I don't know what is.

I read from the beginning to the end of your story without stopping. I still can't grasp what made this story so beautiful. It's poetic in a sense. Poetic tragedy. Maybe that's why.

It's so amazing, that not a second passes between the first chapter and the last, and yet so much happens.

Fall in love in a second, huh? Go from hating a man to loving him in one second, stretched over two months.

Writing this review... I just can't stop writing. I can't find anything else to say. There's nothing left to say. But I can't stop writing.

This story is the most beautiful thing I have ever read. It stands on the borderline between reality and makebelieve. I really believe this could have happened.

Yet, it's so hard for me, now, to think of Tom Marvolo Riddle and Lord Voldemort as the same man. Why is that? I'll just have to sigh and shake my head at that one.

Truly, words cannot describe how I feel about this story. It's the most wonderfully tragic thing I have ever read, and a shining beacon representing Hermione and Tom. You really make me believe that this is real, that this could happen.

Yours sincerely,
Tabithima Du'Payte, of Slytherin.

Reviewer: amzing
Date: 08/26/07 15:20
Chapter: The Beginning

this is was about the corniest cheesiesest fluffiest story i have evr read..........and i loved it.
i thought it was faboously written however sad it was ..... the ending was really quite depressing....i truly believed that somehow he would use the time turner to save hermione.....aa..o well... it was very good anyway.....i just thought the 17 year old tom riddle was the teensiest bit corny when he was in love....but otherwise you wrote his emotions very well especially when he cried when he knew that she was gone....

alright.. enough of my ramblings fab story hun

Reviewer: riddled
Date: 08/17/07 7:17
Chapter: The End

Hey,
This was the first fanfic I ever read. I added it to my favourites list ages and ages ago, when you hadn't even finished posting it all up yet. I remember absolutely craving the next chapter. I was so sad when it ended. I've read many fanfics since then but this is still one of my all-time favourites. I was just searching you to see if you'd written anything else since then, but nothing came up. I don't know whether you still check these reviews but if you do, let me encourage you to keep writing! I'd love to read some more fanfics, but you also have a lot of talent and hopefully one day I'll be reading one of your original works. :) So please put something new up!
Julia.

Reviewer: harrypotterfangirl21
Date: 08/12/07 15:40
Chapter: The Beginning

I just finished reading this... and I'm sobbing as I write this. I love how you showed that, in the end, Tom had always loved Hermione. The last line, in particular, is so beautiful... "Even in his death, the rose had still not wilted." It's amazing enough to think that Tom Riddle could love, but it is both terrible and beautiful to think that Lord Voldemort, killer of so many, could love.
Great job writing this.

Reviewer: sockyferret
Date: 08/06/07 0:44
Chapter: The Beginning

This is more than the best fanfics I have ever read. This is one of the best stories period I have ever read. Ingenious really. You have a way with words. Don't give up on writing.

Reviewer: Lalalalatina
Date: 08/03/07 21:12
Chapter: The End

Hi! Dropped by to leave a review as a thank you for my banner! Anyways, I must say, the first chapter is so interesting. Even without the Hr/Tom Riddle notice in the summary, you clearly hint at it. Hermione's determination to fulfill Harry's last request is excellent, though I wish we could've gotten more details on how he knew what he did (though she may find that out in later chapters). Anyways, excellent start to the story. ^^

Reviewer: joybelle423
Date: 07/31/07 20:39
Chapter: Of All People

Hello, Maddy! This is a thank you for the beautiful banner you made for my fic “Young and Restless.” A little late, but not as late as the last one!

Firstly, you’ve done a wonderful job capturing Hermione’s voice. She’s always thinking and analysing, but at the same time, she’s brave and stubborn, like a proper Gryffindor should be. I’ve seen too many fics where Hermione is almost paralysed because she’s thinking about everything too much, like a female Hamlet. But you’ve got her right! She isn’t afraid to speak up, she sticks up for herself, and at the same time, she keeps herself in check, realising what her goals are and why she’s here. Fabulous job with that.

I also really like the extra details about the Hogwarts classes you’ve thrown in. Specifying which level of classes she’s taking, and the specifics of each class, makes her schedule a lot more real and impressively intimidating. It’s easy to see why she would be stressed with a schedule like that. And LOL at having to take Divination again! *smirk* At least Trelawney isn’t teaching yet.

I like Hermione’s resolution to act dull and uninteresting. That’s perfect. It reminds me of the CIA – but not the Alias kind, the real kind, where a spy has to be as unobtrusive as possible, trying to blend in and not be noticed at all. Very realistic. I also love her worry about being able to return to the future, to her proper time, since nobody has ever been able to go back that far before. It’s definitely a valid concern, and I think her reaction – at first being terrified, since it’s only logical, but then being able to talk herself out of it and just braving whatever may come. That again takes into account her intelligence and her bravery.

And squee at your portrayal of young Tom Riddle! He’s … fascinating! Intelligent, saucy, droll, extremely good-looking, and talented, but he is still Voldemort. He is still fascinated by the Dark Arts, and he will become one of the most feared, most evil wizards of all time. I don’t know how Hermione is going to be able to reconcile the two. I don’t know if I would. And then LOL at her having to work with him! I love their exchange. It’s so perfect – witty and fast, each of them trying to prove themselves. It’s so great! And mwahaha at Tom’s answer – You said you could make it as well as me. You made it well, but not as well as I would’ve. *smirk* I love it! And ha, they did get Outstanding. Nice.

There was only one issue I had with this chapter, only one thing that grabbed my attention and pulled my focus out of the story. It was giving a Gryffindor the last name “Black.” I don’t know when you originally wrote this, but I simply cannot see a member of the House of Black placed in Gryffindor. It was a huge deal when it happened to Sirius – his mother, at least, was furious at him for betraying them. I really think that if any other Black had been something other than A Slytherin, we would have heard about it – they probably would have been blasted off the family tree, or Sirius would have mentioned something about there not being any Black Gryffindors since his great-uncle Christoph. Something like that. I suggest you change his last name? It really interrupted the continuity of the story for me. Other than that, I love Christoph’s character, as well as Emma’s. Nice job with the OCs!

There were some minor grammar issues as well. Remember that you don’t capitalise the word after dialogue if it’s in the same sentence. For example:

No! she said to herself, heavy tears pricking her eyes.

or

Of all people! she thought.

Also, it should be “We Gryffindors” and not “Us Gryffindors” in Emma’s line of dialogue. In the next paragraph, there’s a spelling error – it should be “proceeded” and not “preceded.” And when Tom laughs at her, and Hermione remembers hearing that laugh before, it should be “she was instantly reminded of whom she was with” instead “of who.” The last typo is in the second to last paragraph – there’s a missing space between the words “go forward.” That’s all!

Again, let me congratulate you on such an imaginative fic! I love the concept behind it, I love the way you’ve kept all the characters in character, and I love your take on Tom! He’s amazing! I’m really looking forward to the next chapter. Thanks again for the amazing banner!

~ Abigail

Author's Response: *dies* Oh my goodness gracious Abigail, thank you so much for this SPEW-worthy review! It really just made my day. :) I'm glad you think Hermione is somewhat in character; looking back at the story now, I definitely would have changed a couple of things about her character, but it's great that you liked her. I wrote this story when I was 14 (am 17 now) so it was pre . . . HBP? possibly OotP? Not sure, but definitely before that lovely Black family tree came out with all the names. Yes, looking back, I'd definitely change the Christoph Black thing, now that we have so much more information about the Black family. And thank you so much for all the grammar nitpicks, it makes me want to go back and give a facelift to the whole story! :) This is definitely enough compensation for the banner I made you... consider your next banner free of charge. ;)

Reviewer: rsyeda
Date: 07/28/07 5:09
Chapter: The Beginning

amazing.
thats all i can say..
that was amazing.!

Reviewer: R_Ravenclaw
Date: 07/14/07 11:25
Chapter: The Beginning

I honestly don't know what to say... I finished this fic the day I started reading it (no breaks, lol...it was *way* to good to stop), and then, to my horror, I realized I didn't reviewed it at the end. So here I am. It was one of those fics I read because the summary sounded kinda weird, but at the same time, I have this thing where I think dark/angsty fics have a tendency to be very original, so I read it. And it was amazing. During the whole time I was reading this, it actually seemed really believable that they would fall in love. I don't know, but something about how you wrote it made me love it. And the end was sad, but amazing. I never—NEVER—cry during fanfiction, but I have to admit that I was very choked up at the end. Not crying, but as close as I've ever gotten. That's a compliment, btw. Have you written anything else? Anyway, it was amazing and is now on my favorites!!

~Alison

Reviewer: R_Ravenclaw
Date: 07/08/07 16:00
Chapter: Best For Them

This fic is ridiculously good so far. I can't stop reading it!

Author's Response: Why thank you; I hope you'll finish it and tell me what you thought! :)

Reviewer: HarperLee
Date: 07/02/07 17:32
Chapter: The Beginning

That is the best bloody fanfiction ever,
and I do not say that lightly!

Author's Response: Ooh, well thank you then! I don't take this review lightly either. ;)

Reviewer: fun_chick_samara
Date: 06/30/07 5:15
Chapter: The Beginning

omg that was so sad and i loved it!!!!!!!!!! it was really good i started reading it then i was glued to the screen! it was so good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

Reviewer: GetOutOfMyHead
Date: 06/23/07 22:11
Chapter: The Beginning

I liked the way you wrote this, how everything made sense in the end.
Speaking of the end, the ending made me cry.
Great story, one of the best I've seen.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad everything made sense to you in the end-- that's one of the things I worry about, tying up all the plotlines in my fics. I'm honored that you liked it!

Reviewer: Arwen Undomiel
Date: 06/15/07 20:50
Chapter: The Beginning

I absolutely LOVE this fanfic. It's the best I've read in a very, very long time. I heard about it from a friend, and it seemed like a strange idea- Tom Riddle and Hermione. But you pulled it off very convincingly, and looked into the question of evil. I also liked your observations on time. Overall, excellent job.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Yes, it was and still is a very strange idea. I have no idea why I wrote it, but I'm glad you liked it!

Reviewer: sfc823
Date: 06/10/07 0:54
Chapter: The Beginning

okay... i have to say that when i first read the summary of this story on someone else's favorites, i was disgusted... i thought the whole idea for this story was horrible and the idea of hermione and voldemort together seemed repulsive... i decided that this was one story that i definately WASN'T going to read. see, i usually stick to the lily/james or harry/ginny stories with the occasional ron/hermione or hermione/draco(just cause i find the idea of her with draco quite funny, but i am getting off topic), but as i was looking through the other stories i kept comming back to it, i geuss i was kinda drawn to it in a way and the next thing i knew i was reading it

and geuss what.... i loved it. it was so tragicly sad and you wrote it beautifully. there is so much i want to say right now and i just dont know where to start.the twisted irony in the end was spectacular in a frusratingly sad way, the expression of the inner workings of tom was fantastic, the characterization was perfect, the whole thing just amazed me because let me tell you, i did not expect to end up wanting hermione and tom to be together. it was one of the saddest things ive read, but you didnt overload the angst to a point that i just couldnt stand it, you somehow reached the perfect balance. And let me just thank you for giving me a much needed break from the fluffy monotonous romance fics. despite my original adversion to it, it was origanal, different, beutifully written, and very much to my surprise, it has become one of my favorites.this is truely one of the very best stories ive read.

sarah

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you put aside your original doubt and gave it a shot... I totally understand what you mean about being weirded out by the concept. I was too, when I first started writing it. I didn't really expect anyone to like it, but I'm glad you did! Thanks for the wonderful review. :)

Reviewer: Boo_Cool
Date: 06/09/07 8:06
Chapter: The Beginning

AH (sobbing uncontorlably) that is so sad. i loved it! it didn't have a happy ending and i still loved it. the part about the rose not wilting even when he died is beautiful. that was a really good story she created the monster with loving him then leaving him and they all died in the end (still sobbing uncontrolably) i really did nearly cry at the end of it i was so caught up in it great story.

Author's Response: Aww thank you. I didn't add that part about the rose until the very last moment, but I think it's fitting; the idea that love transcends death is really the only hopeful thing you can glean from the whole shebang, and I wanted to end on a semi-hopeful note. ;) So glad you liked it.

Reviewer: Boo_Cool
Date: 06/09/07 7:57
Chapter: Black Rose

NNNoooooooo!!! He's back! everything hermione did was wasted he loved her he promised her that he would not become him

Reviewer: Boo_Cool
Date: 06/09/07 7:19
Chapter: Price of Immortality

ohh big bad Volly's in love. i love it

Reviewer: Gwendolyn Marie
Date: 05/30/07 0:22
Chapter: The Beginning

OMG. this was so good. and so incredibly sad. I loved it!!!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES