Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 05/30/08 18:56
Chapter: Death Be Not Proud...

Wow, this was beautiful.

Reviewer: fairiegirl
Date: 11/07/07 21:43
Chapter: Death Be Not Proud...

Beautiful.

Reviewer: Amarie
Date: 08/17/07 18:53
Chapter: Death Be Not Proud...

I've read both The Daughter of Light and Severed Souls (which you need to update by the way ;) ) and there have been several extremely powerful emotions, but this is the only one I can remember that brought tears to my eyes.

Reviewer: fishstep
Date: 02/02/07 16:21
Chapter: Death Be Not Proud...

Awwwwwwwww!!!! I just found this, having in the past week devoured both Daughter of Light and Severed Souls. I LOVE Maeve, and what you have done with Snape in these stories. More, more, more please :-)

Reviewer: Terab
Date: 12/21/06 12:45
Chapter: Death Be Not Proud...

Beautiful story... it made me cry.

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: Lurid
Date: 04/21/06 9:07
Chapter: Death Be Not Proud...

I'l admit, I haven't actually finished Duaghters of Light, but it's on my to-do list. Just this little one-shot has me intruiged, and whne I'm done wiht stuff, I'll get aroudn to reading it! Faaabuloussss Magicla Maeve. *claps*

Author's Response: Thanks, Steph! This was an odd little story to write, but I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: Phoenix5225
Date: 04/14/06 7:46
Chapter: Death Be Not Proud...

*cries*

This is one of those pieces that mimicks real life. You don't know whether to cry for the ultimate loss or rejoice for the rich life lived.


One itty bitty little typo... Where Maeve is wondering if her father will intervene, you've written "she new he would not" instead of knew. And that, my dear, is it.


Now I come to my big problem. As you are aware from your "modly" duties, I love to explore Snape as well, and he is my ultimate favourite character. My problem has become that it is getting very difficult to write my full length story, which includes an OC companion for our beloved Potions Master, when I am becoming a Severus/Maeve shipper. In fact, perhaps even a Severus/Maeve OTP! *Sighs*. The true challenges of fan fiction, I would suspect.


Brilliant.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, Phoenix! Oh dear, Severus/Maeve are being shipped! LOL I must confess, though, that these two are the reason that I have trouble reading other Severus romance. I always feel he is being infaithful to Maeve. ;-)This piece needs a little re-editing because I bet there is more than just that knew in there. Thanks for pointing it out. I love it when my reviewers take pity on my silly typos and tell me about them. :-)

Reviewer: Cheshlin
Date: 12/30/05 11:28
Chapter: Death Be Not Proud...

I just found this story, and having read DOL and HPSS, it was a wonderful story!! I was crying as I read Maeve's thoughts on going on with out Severus! I can see how she wouldn't have been able to do it.

Author's Response: Thanks, Cheslin! This review is so late because MNFF now gives me no excuse not to find my unanswered reviews. *blushes* And Maeve went with him because you hear so many stories of one spouse dying and the other following soon after, as if they just can't bear to live without their partner. That was the inspiration behind this.

Reviewer: Harriet Evans
Date: 07/04/05 11:13
Chapter: Death Be Not Proud...

Beautifully written - it gave me goosebumps! Reading your other reviews, I would say that I actually 'liked' (if that is the right word) the reference to the lottery and the two for one offer - yes, it did jar, but that sort of ironic/sarcastic semi-joke seemed quite appropriate at that point. The only slightly adverse comment I would make was the reference to the death of her first child which I felt could have had more emphasis in the sentence - it just seemed to be the end of a list (albeit of tragedies) - even the addition of an 'and' might have helped. All in all this story was wonderfully written with stunning descriptions and use of language. A beautiful passing - Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks or the review, Ali. I think the death of the child came from the length of time since the event and the fact that perhaps, in the grand scheme of things, this wasn't the greatest tragedy in her life. I don't know, maybe you;re right. That's an example of throwing in a possible plotline and not giving much thought to it. :-) Glad you enjoyed the story!

Reviewer: Eleanor_Prewett
Date: 06/28/05 19:16
Chapter: Death Be Not Proud...

I must agree with my fellow reviewer that, though the descriptions were wonderful, the first few chapters seemed slow compared to the quiet, desperate urgency conveyed in the rest of the piece. But I like it. In my mind, I imagine the very old to be a well of memories and feelings and wisdom, sometimes slow and sometimes quick. The first paragraphs fit in to that idea while remaining true to Maeve's character. Her melancholy reflections brought her from reflection to action in a gradual (at first) path we all take. How wonderful a couple they made. If you'll remember, I had trouble reading the chapter containing the wedding of Maeve and Severus all the way through and was forced to accomplish my task (pleasurable though it was) in small sections with breaks in between. I suppose it was because a part of me had trouble believing Snape could really be so tender and loving. I feel I have finally come out of my revelrie and now understand the transformation fully, as I did not have such as problem here. It had to be written. The world needs more stories such as these. Thank you. My only criticism would be quite selfish were I to speak it, but I am happy to have learned something near to it through Maeve's memories. I am also thrilled that Maeve did finally have the children she so desperately wanted. Brilliant, as always. Take care of these precious characters, I hope to hear more of their lives soon.

Author's Response: I'm glad you've been able to come to see Severus as a man who is capable of loving and of having emotions. It's tough when we are given the character in canon and through Harry's eyes to see any trace of humanity in him. I've taken him far from what Jo probably intends for him, but I hope I've kept him true to her carping, whinging character in some ways and built on him in others. This story just touches on their lives together. I'm failry sure they will have their ups and downs, their fights and seemingly insurmountable problems... but I'm keeping faith in the fact that two people can be so completely meant to be that nothing will get in their way, not even death. The sequel to HPDL is going to be tough to write if I am to stop it beoming a tale about these two!

Reviewer: Jenn_Weasley
Date: 06/28/05 15:13
Chapter: Death Be Not Proud...

*sniff sniff* That was beautiful. I can't imagine Maeve doing anything differently. I love knowing what happened after they got married. Thanks for story!!

Author's Response: You're welcome, Jenn. I'm glad you enjoyed it. And you're right, Maeve would never let it end any other way. :-)

Reviewer: HermioneDancr
Date: 06/28/05 12:51
Chapter: Death Be Not Proud...

Wow. You managed to convey the joy and the sorrow of death after lives well lived. It was urgent but overwhelmingly calm. It was beautiful. You have a remarkable ability for portraying the depth of human emotion. I can see what you mean when you say this story came to you and had to be written.

The first few paragraphs could use some tightening up. While the descriptions are good, I think they would be more effective if they were fewer and tighter. The beginning doesn’t have the same tension as the rest of the story. I liked it though when you talked about all her memories—it really helped me internalize how much time has passed. I also liked her worry about the judgment of those she left behind; it struck me both as very real and as a very Maeve thing to do. There’s a part of me that wants to know how they felt and reacted, but I’m glad you didn’t include it; this is not their story.

The bit about[i] “Death would win the wizarding lottery that night”[/i] jarred me a bit. It doesn’t seem to fit with the tone of the rest of the story. I’m being picky here, I know, but I feel that it detracted from the flow.

Nit-picky comments aside, this was a beautiful story and I could gush about it for hours. It rang true to my soul. Not many fics do that. Thank you for sharing this with us!

Author's Response: Well, the first part was slow because she was reflecting over what had been and what it was now. The sense of urgency picked up because she had made a decision and knew that she needed to act fairly quickly because her time was running out. So if you felt that about it then it worked. :-) I do agree a little about the wizarding lottery. I hesitated about putting it in and almost cut it out. I'll have to re-look at that part.

I'm pleased it struck a chord with you, it was quite emotional to write so, from an authors point of view, it's good to see it having that effect.

Reviewer: Fantasium
Date: 06/28/05 7:35
Chapter: Death Be Not Proud...

*silence*

*rubbing eyes* Ehrm, Maeve, how can you ask anyone not to be traumatised when you deliver trains of thoughts and dialogues like that? And I can’t see any reason whatsoever why you would label it “a strange one”?

I can’t believe it, but I think it’s the first time I picked up on a mistake in your works: “Maeve felt the urge to open al the windows in the house…” - it should be ‘all the windows’, I presume. And how tiny was that? You truly are amazing.
Before Maeve makes here decision, this is about a parting. I’ve seen some similar situations in fanfiction, all about the younger characters. They have not been convincing, both because they haven’t been so well written, but also because to the words and feelings have been based on young love, the fiery, passionate kind. This is… well, convincing would be too little, but I trust you to find a suitable synonym. I’m obviously slightly biased, having read your other works and knowing your characters, but the compassion between the two is still dazzling and the way they have become dependant on each other is true, it has really nothing to do with rash feelings of youth.

Nice glimpses of Maeve’s life, but you have to watch yourself or else I (together with quite a few people, I imagine) might make you write all of it, in DoL-style. The image of the old Neville was touching, I much enjoyed how he had become close to Maeve and was there at the end, as supposed to Harry. If Harry was even still around? - “We outlasted them all.”
The very end was fascinating, Afterlife has always been a big issue for me and I love to see how others approach it. I generally don’t like the idea of everyone turning into some common being or spirit or thing, but Severus and Maeve becoming one was just right.

Now, then, exactly how good a friend must one be to get to share that wedding night? ;) All the best, to you.



Author's Response: Hee hee...my editor went on holiday so this one-shot came straight of my computer without being edited, hence the typo! I think that this was a reaction to the wedding. There they were, setting off on their life together and suddenly i was hit with the need to write what they could end up as. I have to re-iterate the could because that was just a little departure for me, it cannot be seen as the end of their story....just what may be the end of their story. The sequel may throw up other things that would change the outcome of their lives. :-)

The after-life is something I don't have a firm take on. One thing I'm fairly sure of though is that our bodies ain't coming with us so for some period of time we will be hanging around there as mere figments of something that's indescribable. During that between time I think it's possible for anything to happen to our souls if we want it to. Hence their coming together. They went across at the same time and by sheer force of will bound their souls. Now I'm not saying that their souls won't end up back on earth...together or apart...but I like to think they'll be together!

Once the wedding night is properly finished I'm sure I can send it to you via email. :-) Although it may, just may, scrape by MNFF acceptance policy if I'm lucky...we'll have to see. :-)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES