Reviews For Wand Stories
Reviewer: Little_hoole3333
Date: 06/29/06 19:54
Chapter: Wand Stories

It was really interesting to learn about the wand process. I wonder what JKR would say about it. I'm sure she'd like it. =]

Author's Response: Hi, Little Hoole. Every fan fic writer's dream is to have the author read their story. Well, some of it is AU now (after HBP), but it was a fun story to write. Thanks for reading! - SIW

Reviewer: Cinderella Angelina
Date: 03/18/06 22:29
Chapter: Wand Stories

First of all, I’d just like to say that this is a very original and well-researched piece of work, and enjoyable to read. You made Ollivander a more real person, with a sense of humor and a good heart.

My favorite part about the Ron story was how funny he was – he couldn’t realize when Ollivander was teasing him and was so quick to judge it was almost sad. But it was still enjoyable. I thought the mention of being allergic to wands was very interesting – makes me wonder how folks like that function at Hogwarts.

I loved the Petunia you created. She was very frightened, but still ladylike and sniffy, the way we know her now. In fact, I think it was this story that prompted me to write a drabble on Petunia fleeing Hogwarts several months ago. Even though I hear Jo has squashed the “magic Petunia” theory, I think what you suggest is quite plausible. The introduction of Muggle liaisons and Beginners’ Wands was a cool thing. I’m amazed at the thought you put into the wand process.

The interchange between Olvir and Neville was very touching. Knowing Neville’s Gran, the poor boy wouldn’t have known much about his grandfather – and I think you made a very good story for him, being an Auror after all, even though he was very into plants. Even though I don’t see Neville being the Auror type, I can imagine that he would be proud of his heritage all the same. The title of this segment, A Gift, is very appropriate.

Another image that has stuck with me through all these months (sorry it took me so long to review, I am very lazy) is that of Sirius rolling his eyes at Severus and getting rebuffed. For some reason I can very easily see that as the beginning of their rather acrimonious relationship. I think, though, that Severus was too polite, even through his thirst for knowledge. I see him in this circumstance being a little more reticent, a little less thankful. But it was fine the way you wrote it, and the information was fascinating.

Just a couple little nitpicky things. There are a few times that you use more commas than necessary. For example, in the paragraph following, the commas in bold are unnecssary: “Ron knew that today it was not a racing broom, but a wand that he would take home. He realized, with a start that this wand might be the first thing he’d ever bought new.” Just something for you to consider in future if you’re too lazy to go in and fix it. I know I would be. *ducks head*

Overall, wonderful job, and I loved the quote you found that’s at the very end. This story was a good mix of information (which Jo might have considered when assigning wands) and characterization and made for an enjoyable read. Thank you and have a nice day! *D*



Author's Response: Hello, Cinderella Angelina! What a wonderful surprise it was to get such a lovely and thorough review. This collection of mini-stories was my very first completed fan fiction, which I wrote for a competition at Sycophant Hex. Much to my surprise, the story earned a nod from the judges. I spent over a month writing, researching, and editing Wand Stories. I had several betas during different stages for feedback and also a final proofread to make sure all those commas where in the right places. (BTW - I fixed those two commas. I agreed with you, and I'm never too lazy to fix a mistake. LOL)

When writing this story, I wanted to show how Ollivander might approach each wizard or witch who enters his shop, so I wrote about four unique situations. I tried to imagine the look on Ron's freckled face as Ollivander presented him with the choices, each worse than the previous one. Petunia has such hatred toward Harry and magic in the books, so I wanted to show a situation that might explain some of it. JKR says Petunia's not a Squib…but there's something about Petunia we don't know yet. Neville needed some additional confidence and wise Mr Ollivander knew just how to help him. Snape knows that knowledge is power. He wanted to learn as much as he could, and being polite was a way to get what he wanted--very Slytherin.

Thank you, Cinderella Angelina, for taking the time to give such detailed and kind feedback. It's very much appreciated! -SIW

Reviewer: Lurid
Date: 09/10/05 3:01
Chapter: Wand Stories

This is amazing! I sat captivated while my younger sister kept asking me to piss off out of the study so she could read it. No such beans! I'm still one here and she's whining, "You said you would get off when you finished reading the story!" Sorry, NO. I'm gonna finish reading all of your storiez, then perhaps write a short one-shot myself.

Your idea about wands reflect the RR=wand=Horcrux idea, and the deatil you go into is amazing; you really thought it through! I'd be honoured if you read my story and put your two cents in, just truly what ou think. It's only 1/3 of the way done on here, so there's heaps more to come! I just wanna add tnhat i thought this story was really illuminatig.. shows alkot of stuf that could happen in book7, y'know? Petunia coming out of the broomstick closet, Neville's gran changin her name... Snape actually...WAIT! [lather, rinse and repeat] I rekon (in the newfound light of this story) Snape told Voldie all about his talent.. about knowwing the right wand for the wizard... and BTW, any idea on who's wand is in Ollivander's window? Surely it wouldn't be his own... possibly Grindlewald.. one of Dumbledore's outgrown ones....what evr happened to James and lily's wands? It wwould have been sentimental Harry having James' wand like Neville had Franks (note to self, stop cracking up whenever i read a Pre-HBP/OOtP story where people have invented their own names) Too bootiful to imagine....Ron's wand had red starts shooting out of it...nice. And everyone thought Harry was the heir because of the gold and red sparks shooting out of his! Just goes to show you.. BTW i love ur banners. Where do u make these dolls, and do you have a website where the others are on display? Im really interested in making my own for my charcaters! That is me..er...20cents! ~Steph*~10*

Author's Response: Lurid, thank you for every single kind word in your sweet review! Do let your poor little sister have a read too, though! LOL! Wand Stories was written for a competition this spring before HBP came out. There are a few canon details (Neville's grandmother's name and his wand combination) that we learned in HBP, but I decided to keep it as I wrote it. It seems to me that the wand in Ollivander’s window is just a nicely detailed wand, but of no real significance. JKR just mentions it in SS. I think if he has RR’s wand, then it’s hidden or at Gringotts. HBP described Ollivander’s as “Shop’s empty, no sign of struggle, no one knows where he left voluntarily or was kidnapped.” But Fortescue was “Dragged off, by the look of his place.” (HBP p106 Amer.V.) That leads me to believe Ollivander left on his own accord. Remember wands, are the most significant magical tool, so Ollivander knew he needed to protect his inventory and hide himself so he couldn’t be forced to make wands for DEs. The dolls were made at http://elouai.com/doll-makers/boy-doll-maker.php Check my LJ for other dolls. I’ll take a look at your story, Lurid, when I’m finished writing Part III of my Pansy/Draco Trilogy, if not sooner. Again, thank you for reading and reviewing my story!

Reviewer: MithrilQuill
Date: 06/24/05 6:28
Chapter: Wand Stories

Amazing! You clearly put alot of effort into researching for this which made it just excellent. i love your choice of characters, Petunia and Snape were intersting.....You really made an interesting story out of Ollivander's....Again good Job!! =)

Author's Response: Hello, MithrilQuill! I so happy you enjoyed the story! By choosing Petunia, my aim was to show how her opinions of unusual things and people, such as magic, were already formed at age eleven. Her experiences at Ollivander's certainly reinforced those beliefs, even if she did leave with a pretty wand. Snape is such an interesting character as an adult, so I wanted to give readers a peak into his childhood (well, my version). Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: TNT_Angel
Date: 06/23/05 22:26
Chapter: Wand Stories

This was a fasinating collection of stories! You've obviously done quite a lot of research, that is what made this story worth reading. Im really not surprised by the award, you definatley diserved it! I liked the way you've captured Ron's personality. Espeacially his excitment at getting something new. I LOVED the way you captured Neville! I didnt cry like Wiccan but I was very happy for him! I also liked the way you portrayed Petunia, as a child that liked pretty things, and was jealous of her little sister among other things. I like how you tied her story in with JKR's masterpieces by saying that Hogwarts was what had deeped the rift between the sisters. Severus Snape's story was fasinating and I believe that you did a fabulous job in capturing his character. This story is one of a kind! Im really not sure why you havent gotten more reviews... Still, its fabulous! I hope that you write another fic someday!

Author's Response: Thank you, TNT_Angel, for a lovely review! Ron is one of my favorite characters. He's been overshadowed by his brothers his entire life and now his best friend is one of the most famous wizards of all time! Even though JKR doesn't go into detail about Ron getting a new wand in the beginning of POA, I thought his excitement of getting something new, something that was his alone, would be worth writing about. I'm so happy you could extract the feeling behind the words in my story. And Neville, such an overlooked character, yet he is someone who could play a major role in the next two books. I can't wait to see if JKR tells us about Neville's new wand in HBP. You are very perceptive about Petunia and Lily's relationship. I always wondered why Petunia hated Lily so much, so I decided to write my spin on some of those reasons. I modeled my Snape after a gifted child that I know. I think Snape is very intelligent and would be intrigued with the wanding process. Again, thank you for reading my story and leaving a detailed review!

Reviewer: Laudomia
Date: 06/21/05 23:35
Chapter: Wand Stories

Great story, SeaIsleWitch. Every bit of it rings true and shows how much thought you put into the subject. Congratulations on your award!

Author's Response: Thank you, Laudomia! I enjoyed researching and writing this collection of stories. Thank you for your helpful insights during the process, too! I am very happy (and quite shocked) for my story to have been given a nod by the "Wizengamot."

Reviewer: QueenHal
Date: 06/21/05 18:22
Chapter: Wand Stories

My dear, this piece of yours is exceptional. What wonderful insights on the characters, and the wand-making business itself. I especially enjoyed the severus piece where we learned so much about the process. Interesting and I'm sure very close to what JK herself had in mind. I wouldn't be suprised if you even looked more into it than she did. I also loved the Neville story. It was terribly heartwarming and inspiring. I really adore your characterization of Mr. Ollivander through the different eyes of all the children. Thank you for sharing this with us, this was truely a treat.

Author's Response: Such high praise from you, Queen Hal! Thank you! (sniff...tears welling up...) I did do a lot of research and I thought about the wand making process for ages. Neville deserves a boost and a wonderful wand...I think JKR will give Neville the right wand this time and it will make a difference in his confidence, as will his recent experience at the Department of Mysteries. I thought Severus would want to know more about wand making than the average boy wizard and I also thought Mr. Ollivander would jump at the chance to share his knowledge. I'm so happy you enjoyed this story! Thank you again, for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Kerian
Date: 06/21/05 15:07
Chapter: Wand Stories

Great great story! You've could've even posted a chapter for each character. It was fun to try and guess who the next child would be. I really hope that you continue on and maybe show other people getting their first wand. Very original story!

Author's Response: Hi Kerian! Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to review! It was long, I know, but I thought it worked as a one-shot...10,000 words and all, LOL! I'm glad you had fun trying to guess who was next...I didn't write them in chronological order for that very reason. Again, thank you for your kind words, they are much appreciated!

Reviewer: Wiccan
Date: 06/21/05 13:18
Chapter: Wand Stories

That was absolutely wonderful. You captured the characters so well. I cried when Neville got his. Fantastic insight!

Author's Response: Hi Wiccan! Thank you very much for such a rave review! It really makes my day! I wanted Neville to discover something about himself and I am touched that you understood the emotions I was trying to convey! Thank you for reading and reviewing!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES