MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: Little_Mini_Kimi (Signed) · Date: 10/07/07 21:00 · For: Shining Light in the Growing Darkness
You should add more chapters to this

Author's Response: Thank you, Little_Mini_Kimi. I think I will. ;)

Name: Eaving (Signed) · Date: 10/07/07 13:22 · For: Shining Light in the Growing Darkness
I am loving this story so much! Loyal reader here! Whenever I get the e-mail that this has been updated, I stop everything to go read it.

Author's Response: Thank you, Eaving! I'm really glad to know it. I wish I could get you those e-mails a little more frequently. I think I'm testing some readers' loyalty with the lack of updates, but it is more important that I don't disappoint you when they do come. I will certainly try not to. Thanks for letting me know you are reading.

Name: Gin_Drinka (Signed) · Date: 10/07/07 11:47 · For: Shining Light in the Growing Darkness
I'm glad to see Lily's coming back a little. Can't wait for the J/Lness to kick in. And for the challenge, that'll be extremely interesting. I supose he'll be telling her soon. I wish I didn't have a bad feeling about this. By the way, I think you did a great job incorporating DH into this,

Author's Response: Thank you, Gin_Drinka. Lily and James might not actually start dating until 7th year but I can't wait until then to have them interact at all. That would be rather unrealistic, I think; so yes, she'll be popping into the picture from time to time. :) You have a bad feeling? I wish I could offer you comfort, but alas, I can't. No spoilers allowed! ;) I'm glad the tidbits from DH worked for you. I was afraid they might seem too abrupt since I haven't had a chance to incorporate them into the previous chapters. Someday, I hope to build them up a bit more smoothly. But for now, thank you. I really appreciate the review.

Name: muggler180 (Signed) · Date: 10/06/07 21:52 · For: Shining Light in the Growing Darkness
really good chapter. I can't believe how close Lindi came to finding out

Author's Response: Thank you, muggler180. I don't think the Marauders can believe how close she came without her even realizing it. Of course, I think they think she's a bit clueless in some ways. <.< *hehe*

Name: paddy_prongsie (Signed) · Date: 10/06/07 15:22 · For: Shining Light in the Growing Darkness
hey... buck up soon... i want to know who wins de bet an im secretely hoping that james wil go bald for a whole day !! pl let it be like that !!

Author's Response: *bucks up* :D Poor James! Do you really want him to be traumatized? LOL His ego could definitely use it, couldn't it? We'll just have to see if Lindi has her game face on that day. (Actually, I know if she does, of course.) I'll try to let you in on the secret soon. Thank you, paddy_prongsie.

Name: Oblivious (Signed) · Date: 10/06/07 6:14 · For: Shining Light in the Growing Darkness
Great chapter again. :) I can't wait to see what the Marauders are going to give Remus for his birthday.. and this Hogwarts Anniversary Field Day Competition sounds really interesting.. :D

Author's Response: Thank you, Oblivious. You mean I have to come up with a birthday gift? O.O I think they'll probably just give him a headache! <.< *doubts that is what readers have in mind* I'll try to come up with something better. >.> ;) I hope you won't be disappointed. Thank you for reviewing. :)

Name: Buckbeak22 (Signed) · Date: 10/05/07 20:18 · For: Shining Light in the Growing Darkness
Ooh! Getting darker! I am SO sorry for Remus. I am very glad I have this story, as otherwise I wouldn't have liked him that much after DH. However I don't really think he was a "spineless coward" even in that book. He wasn't the same person he had been - after all, he had been through awful things after he left school, including the death of James and Sirius. I could see that he thought Tonks might be better off without him. Did you write the bit about Randolph before or after you read DH? It ties in so very well and gives a real reason for Remus to be so unhappy in his marriage to Tonks.

I see the "Snape Incident" the same way you saw it - as occurring before the "prank". So after frowning for a second after I read that, I rearranged things quite comfortably, and am going with your story as the prequel!

I really like the way you have merged it with the whole series. Are you going to give us a tiny bit of Snape? Or at least show us how the common room reacted to Snape apologizing to Lily? Or are you not going to tell?

Congratulations and heartfelt thanks for writing Remus so that I loved him and made excuses for him in DH! Without your story, I wouldn't have liked him enough to do so.

Author's Response: Oh, gosh, Buckbeak22, this review makes me feel so wonderful and makes me want to cry all at the same time. It absolutely breaks my heart that you "wouldn't have liked him that much after DH." At the same time, it reinforces my purpose and makes my mission to make people love him all the more important! (But also more difficult.) Thanks so much for the encouragement. I think I need it!

I am rather ashamed of my "spineless coward" comment now. First of all, I feel terribly ungrateful for having so harshly, and openly criticized JKR's writing at all. She has given us so much enjoyment and lets us take her characters and write these stories...But I was disappointed (in very few things in light of the enormity of the series). I think it would have been impossible for anyone not to find something they disliked in such a huge epic tale; however, I probably was a little too critical. I agree that, ultimately, Remus was definitely not a coward. The part where he was considering leaving his family didn't really bother me all that much, because I agree with you about him thinking it was best. I have always thought Remus sometimes made errors in judgment (and he has and will continue to in MoB). I think he really wants to do the right thing, but sometimes doesn't quite live up to his desire, or doesn't even really know what the right thing truly is, as with leaving his family. I agree that he honestly thought it would be best for them. The thing that made me rant about being a ‘spineless coward’ was that he sat silent during the attack on Snape when it was revealed that this happened after Sirius’ ‘prank’. But I won’t rail on that anymore. Thank you for the kind words on my version. I really needed to hear it. Though I try to be the grown-up I am and just let it go, it doesn’t hurt to receive a little encouragement. *blush* So again, thank you so much!

I am trying to merge things, but obviously can’t make everything fit. Thank goodness for the Book 7 Disregarded warning, though I might still need the AU if I go far enough. I will probably eventually edit some of the earlier chapters to provide hints to things that were revealed in DH in regards to Snape/Lily, though I won’t really be going into it much, and probably not until I’ve finished the story. Since Snape’s apology has already happened by this point in MoB, I’d have to go back and write it in. I’m letting it slide for now and going with the argument that it wasn’t a major thing for Remus to focus on, though I really think it would have been quite a big deal to James, at the very least, but I might just leave it the way it was worked into this chapter and let it go at that. I am faced with some tricky issues with the Sirius ‘prank’ coming up and haven’t decided if I’m going to completely ignore the Lily/Snape issue or somehow incorporate it, though clearly it will be different than canon, since they ceased being friends after O.W.L.s. I may very well take the easy way out and rely on the fact that this is from Remus’ PoV and he probably isn’t going to be too worried about Lily arguing with Snape about anything at that point. He’ll have plenty on his mind, as it is. The advantages of 3rd person limited over omniscient! *hehe*

I am so hugely gratified to know that my story helped you love Remus. He is just such a wonderful, heartbreaking character, flaws and weaknesses and all. *sniffle* I still love him, too. Thank you, thank you, for this inspiring review.

Author's Response: Oh, and in my rambling, I forgot to answer your question. Randolph and his wife have been part of the rough draft of the story since before HBP. :)

Name: jmd_1739 (Signed) · Date: 10/03/07 22:30 · For: Humiliation
just a note- when remus has points taken away, it changes from 5 to 50

Author's Response: Ooops. :*) I'll have to look at that when I have a minute. I only popped in to submit the next chapter and now must run. I will definitely check this and correct it when I get on in the next couple of days. Thanks so much for pointing it out. :)

Name: ren_a87 (Signed) · Date: 09/26/07 15:26 · For: Almost Perfect
I absolutely love this fanfic! You have made Harry a rival for my heart! (I know, I'm lame...) Anyway, I hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you ren_a87. I'm glad to know you are enjoying it. A rival? *teheh* I don't think you are lame. ;) The next chapter is with my beta, so hopefully not too much longer. Hope you enjoy it and thank you for reviewing.

Name: Buckbeak22 (Signed) · Date: 09/22/07 19:16 · For: Almost Perfect
Another wonderful chapter. Remus is going to be hard put to it to keep up his secret (if she hasn't guessed already? I would have said yes, but then this is Lindi...) I am so glad Remus is getting some time that is perfect. He deserves some time. I liked the fact that it isn't only his friends that can overcome his "prefectness".

I thought of you at the end of DH. Was it tough?

Author's Response: Thank you, Buckbeak22. I'm glad you agree that Remus deserves some perfect time, especially after DH. *sob* That is so nice that you thought of me. It was tough, but honestly not as tough as some of the other moments in the book. *see massive response to froggie's questions below* Of course, you all should have seen me two days after I finished reading. I went for my walk, and started thinking about everything, and absolutely sobbed like a baby, all through my neighborhood, those big body shaking sobs and tears pouring off my chin. *dies* I'm sure my neighbors would have wondered what on earth had happened if any had been looking out the window as I walked by. Others who know just think I’m insane (but they’ve always known that), :*/ and besides, I needed to mourn. :`( Now, I find myself hesitating to make anything bad happen to Remus, though we all know I have to eventually. *is angry at JKR right now, even though I think she is brilliant*

Name: The Mighty KFC (Signed) · Date: 09/20/07 20:36 · For: Prologue: Notes on a Life
this is amazing
i love this new approach to a marauder fic.
it was so believeable and heartfelt. poor remus!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, The Mighty KFC. *gets craving for original recipe* ;) I'm glad you liked the start and hope you continue to enjoy it. Thanks for reviewing.

Name: froggie (Signed) · Date: 09/18/07 19:07 · For: Almost Perfect
helllooooo again!

prepare for a super long review! that's what you want, right? :)
first of all, how are you? are you feeling better from your surgery? (what did you have surgery on?)
i loved this chapter! i read it a while ago so i don't remember everything, but it was very nice, romantic, and funny (as it is always). i too loved the show-off kiss, i think lindi i seeing through the slytherins more now. i also loved when she asked if they were 'official'. my reaction was the same as remus'--how could you not know? lol. it would be so much easier for them if they had facebook, and remus could have made their relationship official right away.

SPEAKING OF LINDI, WHATwas that little message in your author notes talking about when you said we might not like her anymore???? i am in horrible suspense. ahhhhhhhhyyyyy.

also, i read the sirius thing, but my question is, why are you defending it? it is your character to mold, so you can write him the way you want, you shouldn't have to defend his characterization. Plus, i would be very hard pressed to find a story on here that does NOT portray him as a ladies man.
The thing is though, the way you portray him is not as a ladies man, imho. he is just a man who is not committed to dating one girl. a ladies man is a guy who does his best to hang out and charm girls, and then sometimes leads them on. sirius, in your story, does not make any false promises and does not do his best to hang out with as many girls as possible. then again, this is just my opinion.

one more thing...i was wondering, what did you think of deathly hallows?in general, and relating to remus? he was in the story a lot, and obviously the end wasn't so good to him, but does how he acts in the beginning, wanting to leave his wife, just his general characterization have any effect on how you portray him in his earlier years?also, what did you feel about his end?
it's reaaally sad for me to read this story now, but i will anyways of course because it IS SO GOOD.
one more thing, do you know how long i have been reading this story? it feels like for as long as i can remember (not in a bad way) i have kind of been growing with this story for a while, so kudos for you for making a hp companion!
anyway, i am super psyced for the next chapter, so update soon!

Author's Response: O.O Wow, froggie! You make me want to start a Dueling Club thread on the forums with these questions. They are the kind I’d like to get and I would love to have a real in-depth conversation about some, particularly the affect DH has had on my story. Let’s see...first, thank you for asking about my health. I am feeling so much better and am technically recovered, though I'm still in the process of building back my full strength. We aren't allowed to publicly discuss details of personal health information according to the new rules on the MNFF site, so I won't go into specifics, but it wasn't cancer (thank God) so I won't have to worry about recurrence or any more trouble with this specific problem and hopefully nothing new and unrelated will pop up and I’ll be healthy, for a while at least. *cheers*
On to the chapter…I’m glad you enjoyed it. Yes, Lindi is a ding bat! Facebook...LOL Oh, the A/N comment, *muwahahah* Seriously, I just never know how people will react to her (as was shown in reviews on ch. 32-33 when everyone seemed to be much more upset with poor confused Lindi than with Remus) and who knows what she might do? <.< Well I do, but I'm not telling. *muwahahah* Sirius...well, that all stems from things I've read on the forums over the past couple of years. There are some who would insist that he has absolutely no interest in girls at all. Apparently, my readers don't have that opinion (at least those who leave reviews) so I shouldn't have worried about it. :*) I appreciate your opinion on him in my story. Point taken; thank you.
DH...Gosh, froggie, I could talk about this for ages. I will try to be brief! ;) I absolutely loved the book. I truly did. I was, however, very disappointed in some things that were revealed about Remus and the Marauders. *SPOILERS FOR DH and MoB* In some ways, I think it justifies my writing of him in the way he approaches his relationship with Lindi and his failure to tell her right away, etc..I have never thought he was a perfect, all self-sacrificing person as I have sometimes read him in fanfiction. However, I felt that JKR made Remus out to be quite a spineless coward (particularly the revelation that the Snape 'prank' came before Snape's Worst Memory, which reflects very very poorly on the Marauders as a whole) and it crossed my mind to wonder why he had been placed in Gryffindor at all. :( *sigh* Honestly, the whole Remus/Tonks thing in HBP had started to throw me, but then they were married and all the other came to light, so, by the end of DH, I was starting to feel sort of numb to canon Remus, to be completely honest. *is very sad* I don't think his end came as hard as it would have, had it happened in OotP or even HBP. Of course I sobbed like a baby, but it was so abruptly presented, on top of everything else...*sigh again* To tell you some more truth, it really affected my desire to keep writing, for a while. All my inspiration was dead, literally. :`( But I'm better now, mainly due to the fact that I've decided to disregard the timing of the Snape incident, as it would be almost impossible for me to adjust that, at this point. I still haven't decided if I'll go on to the very end, though. It would have to be AU, as the end I had in mind for him was different and I really have tried to stay canon as much as possible. I may stop during the time of OotP which will allow me to resolve my part of the story. Then, I don't have to write much of Remus/Tonks, which I don't know if I could do well, since I'm not a fan, anyway. The beginning of Remus/Tonks could be the end of MoB. :( It will also bring about a sooner finish for all you wonderful readers who are going to need reading glasses by the time I'm finished. So there's a silver lining. LOL Okay, that is the brief version of my feelings. ;) If you want to discuss it further, pm me, or I might go put that Dueling Club thread up for specific questions on my stories/how they are affected by the books, etc... /SPOILER]
I'm very glad you have been with me all this time. Readers like you are part of what got me through my writing malaise. So thank you, froggie.

Name: JamesNLilyLover (Signed) · Date: 09/18/07 0:11 · For: Prologue: Notes on a Life
This story is really sad so far. But it is so well written! I can't wait to see where this story takes me......

Author's Response: Thank you, JamesNLilyLover. Sad...*sigh* Remus' life is a really sad story, but I think he was happy at Hogwarts. He had to have had some happy/hopeful times to keep such a wonderful attitude after all he endured, so I wanted to show some of them. I hope you are enjoying the ride. Thank you for reviewing.

Name: I_LUV_MOONY (Signed) · Date: 09/16/07 14:14 · For: Almost Perfect
Wow, another amazing chapter. Your writing is flawless. I loved the end sentence; it really summed up the entire chapter. And my favorite quote of them all:

“It might be a little awkward in the girls’ toilet, but I’ll try to keep at least one eye on her, since you insist.”

Tee hee. I'll be laughing about that one for a week! :D

I only have one little nitpick (and no, it's not about Sirius). I just have a small problem with Remus' vocabulary in this quote:

Gawd blimey, Lindi,” he said, shaking his head. “I really must be doing something wrong if you even have to ask.”

I don't really think that Remus would be the type of person to say 'Gawd blimey'. I don't know, maybe that's just me.

Well, all in all, an excellent chapter. Update soon, and keep up the great work! :D

Author's Response: Thank you, I_LUV_MOONY! Gosh, you are too kind, and I'm sure if you look more closely, you would find flaws, ;*) though far fewer than you would if not for my wonderful beta, MaraudersWolf, so I will accept your compliment with thanks to her. (And don't go back to look. lol) I'm glad you liked that line. I wanted to show how Remus was starting to get on their nerves. *hehe* I agree whole heartedly that Gawd Blimey isn't really something I think of Remus saying. I used it there to show how thoroughly amazed he was that Lindi questioned how he feels about her. I picture him saying it very slowly and looking at her like she's a total lunatic. I don't think Remus was much of a slang or expletive user. I imagine him thinking "Crap!" in his head, but not saying it aloud (as he has done many times in this fic. :*/ ) But this instant, it was just to emphasize that he was trying to emphasize that she shouldn't doubt his feelings. Well, I just see it in my head, him shaking his and...*blush* Rest assured, he won't start saying it on a regular basis. LOL Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I really appreciate your thoughts.

Name: Nymphea (Signed) · Date: 09/16/07 12:18 · For: Almost Perfect
I really liked this chapter! (And I'm delighted that you like TKAM). Random question, please answer: how do you know how many people have read your story?
Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you, Nymphea. I'm glad to know you enjoyed it. I adore TKAM, but you know, I'm such a goof that it took me 5 minutes to figure out what you were talking about. *facepalm* It isn't like we don't refer to every Harry Potter by acronyms, and LotR, etc... I can be so slow it scares me. @.@ But, yes, it is one of the all time greatest books/movies ever! Regarding the number of people who have read...There is no way to know. When I first started posting, the site used a different system and there was a reads counter that would come up on your account page. When they revamped the site, they did away with that. I'm really sort of glad, because it wasn't very accurate anyway. It would register a read even if someone accidentally clicked on your story. *shrugs* Now all we have to tell us if people are reading are the reviews and how many people have you on their faves list. So, that's a long answer to your question, when the answer is just that you don't know. :*) That's why reviews are so important. So thank you for letting me know you are reading.

Name: riddiculusvampire (Signed) · Date: 09/14/07 18:26 · For: Almost Perfect
fantastic chapter....it had a bit of everything i like in a story: romance, humor, danger..ect. I absolutly LOVE the way you show all of Remus' emotions.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm very glad to know you enjoyed it; I aim to please! (Aim being the key word.) ;-) Thank you for reviewing, riddiculusvampire..

Name: Gin_Drinka (Signed) · Date: 09/10/07 19:31 · For: Almost Perfect
Oh...how sweet...I was missing this story...I like the way you write Sirius...most stories say he's a ladies man, but then he *poof* becomes uncharacteristically devoted to one person. No matter how much I would like to see that, this is more realistic. Remus is always so adorable. ANd Lindi makes me laugh..

"Don't be so- so rude!"
Lol, that was hysterical. I want more! And congrats on the QSQ nominations...*coughInominatedcough*

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Gin_Drinka, and not just for taking the time to leave this lovely review. ;) I am so honored you think highly enough of the story and Lindi to nominate them. It really means so much to me. *huggles*

Name: Lyra the Lovely (Signed) · Date: 09/10/07 15:12 · For: Prologue: Notes on a Life
Good job. you explained the history cratively and thoroughly. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you, Lyra the Lovely. I appreciate it, and I certainly intend to keep writing. I hope you keep reading. :)

Name: muggler180 (Signed) · Date: 09/09/07 18:25 · For: Almost Perfect
Loved the chapter, exspeacially how Remus was worried about his first transformattion as Lindi's botfriend.

Author's Response: :)

Name: muggler180 (Signed) · Date: 09/09/07 18:25 · For: Almost Perfect
Loved the chapter, exspeacially how Remus was worried about his first transformattion as Lindi's botfriend.

Author's Response: Poor Remus...I think he worried a lot. :( But that's why he needs to have some fun and happiness....for a while, eh? I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter. Thank you, muggler180.

You must login (register) to review.