Reviewer: Chris_04
Date: 07/26/05 19:25
Chapter: The Mirror

This is cool! I prefer Tonks PoV, but Ninette is ok, too. I love Tonks insisting that she likes the nose she has. I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: I've been surprised, when reading reviews, about how many people prefer Tonks to Ninette. When I started writing, Tonks wasn't even part of the plan. Ninette was going to be the sole heroine, but I realized I needed a contrasting character, and Tonks volunteered. I'm afraid she's rather taken over the story - I find her much easier to write than Ninette. But I have plans for the future - Ninette may get her own back! Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Harrietta potter
Date: 07/26/05 18:35
Chapter: Dancing Alone

I just read the whole thing again, this story is awesome! Can't wait for the next chappie!

Author's Response: You read it again?!! I feel so loved! Thank you for being such a constant reader and reviewer - I really appreciate it! (Many exclamation points in this response. Oh, well, here's another!)

Reviewer: kaltaru
Date: 07/11/05 22:23
Chapter: Faces

EnnaLee:

I adore your story.

I think it's absolutely wonderful how well you've characterized Tonks and Ninette. Even though this chapter is from Tonks' point of view, we still see characterization in Ninette's appearance and the way she holds herself (and the way she sits apart from everyone else).

The interaction with the mirror made me smile. I enjoy seeing the more subtle aspects of magic peppered throughout your story. But the mirror part is wonderful simply because the mirror has a personality. I wonder if it's reflecting Tonks's personality or if it is part of the way the mirror is. Something interesting to think about, lol.

'Im not changing the nose. I like this nose.' *Snort* What would I give to be able to change my facial appearances every once in a while?

I also like the family dynamic that you have. I thought it was quite realistic when Tonks reflects that she would hate to be the cause of the white line around her mother's lips.

You have a gift for characterization. Actually, you have a gift, period. I truly enjoy your writing and eagerly await each update. Most of the time I choose not to say "Update" since I don't feel it makes any difference in how quickly a person writes. But all the same, I can't wait for your next update.

Author's Response:

It is an incredible feeling to read a review like this, where you can tell that someone genuinely likes your story, enough to spend time saying so. I can't thank you enough, Kaltaru - I'm hopping up and down feeling happy right now. When I write, my story starts to take over my life - I can't sleep at night for thinking of it, and when I pick up a book, I'm always disappointed because it's not about my characters. Having someone else enjoy it the way I do is a truly wonderful feeling.

Characterization has always been my favorite part about both writing and reading; I am incredibly attached to my characters, even though I know all their faults and mistakes. I have had immense fun with Ninette and Tonks, their differences and their similarities - so thank you for your wonderful comments.

*basks in the light of lavish compliments*

Reviewer: Dutchy
Date: 07/06/05 4:48
Chapter: Dancing Alone

This is a great story, Ennalee. I've read the four chapters in one go (at work) and I never thought I'd like it as much as I do. You make me relate to Ninette and Tonks and I hope that Charlie's role will grow. I think I read an excerpt of your next chapter on the forums about those tunnels. Looking forward to reading the entire chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks! Charlie's role is definitely growing, as you'll see in chapter five (and yes, it is the tunnel chapter). He has become one of my own favorite characters. It's funny, I've become rather more attached to Tonks, Charlie, and Bill than I am to Harry, Hermione, and Ron - writing gives you an intimacy reading doesn't. All through HBP, I was crossing my fingers for my own characters! Thanks again!

Reviewer: Ashwinder
Date: 07/05/05 13:48
Chapter: Dancing Alone

Yay, I got my wish! It's Ninette's POV! And the reason why she's so hesitant to form any friendships is immediately revealed. Not only has her aunt actively discouraged it, she's spent most of her time around older girls, so she probably doesn't know how to interact with someone her own age, plus the way the other girls treated her, she's afraid of being hurt. I will admit that putting things in this order did draw out some suspense. I was wondering what was up with Ninette last chapter.

Couple of typos: With every lessons You've got an extra S on "lesson" here. she would exclaim How... You're missing a period after "exclaim". Pulling up her robes to her waste You want "waist" here, not "waste". she could hardly bare And here, you want "bear" not "bare". Aren't homophones a pain? Spell-check won't find that for you.

And so it begins. Ninette is beginning to feel a pull in another direction -- the desire for friends -- and just at a time when her dancing is becoming even more difficult. I think I told you I took ballet for three years when I was a kid. I did pointe shoes my last year. If you're looking for a really torturous move when you're beginning pointe, the chapp is a good one. I can still remember what hell that was even after all these years, and I didn't even have a particularly tough teacher.



Author's Response:

Aaaak! More typos! (Yes, I hate homophones.) Thanks for pointing those out! I get to the point where I'm reading what I remember writing, not what I've really written . . . which is why everyone should have a beta. I'm sure chapter five will be completely typo free. *Crosses fingers and hopes*

I feel like an ogre for writing Ninette's history the way I did. And I'm not even finished yet! I'm rather afraid I'm going overboard with the loneliness and isolation, but it is quite important to the plot line, so I'll keep it even though unhappy childhoods are far too overused in the world of fanfiction! Oh, well. Rowling started it!

Reviewer: Ashwinder
Date: 07/05/05 13:19
Chapter: Stone Walls Surrounding

You start right in with the contrast between Tonks' clumsiness and Ninette's grace once again. The contrast even extends to their speech patterns: Tonks' colloquial "wotcher" vs. Ninette's almost painfully correct (for someone her age) "good morning. It's also interesting they'll be sharing a wardrobe. I predict that Tonks' inclination is to just throw her clothes in a pile rather than hang them neatly. And I'm wondering if the wardrobe happens to have a mirror on the door.

Washroom... Are you Canadian by any chance? ;-)

LOL, looks like I guessed right about Tonks' care about her wardrobe!

I can imagine that Tonks is going to end up hanging out with Ninette in spite of herself, because Marianne and Justine make her feel like a third wheel. That's sort of the way it turns out in Potions class, anyway -- Tonks and Ninette are shoved together by default. Another thing I have a feeling about is that Ninette is going to do very well in History of Magic. She's used to the discipline of repeating the same movements over and over until they're perfect -- IMO she'll be able to use the skill to push through HoM lectures.

Couple of typos I picked up: a shelve full of phials and potions This should read "a shelf full". She felts enclosed by the castle walls You have an extra S on "felt".

the stone seemed to be closing in on her, and forcing her to be someone she was not. Forcing her towards the other girls but holding her apart at the same time. I see a possible commonality between Tonks and Ninette here. Although Ninette has come across as completely collected and unflappable in this chapter to the point where I almost feel as if there's a wall around her --but then perhaps that's your intention given the chapter title -- she has to feel just as left out as Tonks. I'm also going to comment here that I hope to see more of Ninette's POV. She's a Muggle-born and I'm really curious about how she's handling all this newness. She's not showing one bit of reaction, and it doesn't seem as if she's got anyone to talk to about anything. (Granted, JKR kind of did that with Hermione too -- we have no idea what she did or how she felt deep down before Halloween of her first year.)



Author's Response:

I'm wondering if the wardrobe happens to have a mirror on the door.

Good question! I hadn't thought of that. *Turns on her thinking cap and begins to cogitate furiously* Oh, the possibilities . . . I've been having far too much fun with mirrors in this story; I tend to go overboard with research, and I can now give a fullblown lecture on the use of mirrors in symbolism, and list how they are significant in both ancient and modern fiction . . . but I'll save that for another time. I've also had a lot of fun painting the differences between Tonks and Ninette. When this story first appeared as a plot bunny in my head, Ninette was the sole main character, and Tonks was not part of it at all. The more I wrote, the more I saw a need for a contrasting character . . . and I've found Tonks' chapters a lot easier to write!

Reviewer: vanillasweety
Date: 07/04/05 18:37
Chapter: Dancing Alone

thats so sad great writing can't wait for more

Author's Response: Thanks! More coming soon!

Reviewer: Harrietta potter
Date: 07/03/05 18:30
Chapter: Dancing Alone

Yay! I've been checking for days and lo and behold, what do I find but a new chapter! I loved this one. I feel sorry for Ninette, all by herself. Just like a Weasley to be friendly though, I hope they become friends later. Ninette needs a nice, easy-going friend. Justine is SO MEAN! I wanted to slap her. You wroth Cecile's accent very well, it sounded just like Fleur Delacour's or Mme. Maxime's only a little heavier. Thanks for an excellent read! Can't wait for the next installment of this wonderful story!

Author's Response: Wow! If learning that you've been waiting for my update is this exciting, I can't imagine how great JKR must feel. Thanks! I'm quite attached to Charlie, though he wasn't part of the original story; glad you like him too! As for Justine, I'm afraid that she's too mean - I'm working on developing another side for her, but I haven't found anything so far! Next installement is tunnels - and I'll try to post it in the week. It is written, but not yet betad - and I'm trying to stay ahead of myself!

Reviewer: SomberBallad
Date: 07/02/05 10:58
Chapter: Stone Walls Surrounding

This is great! Ninnette reminds me of Meg Giry if she were to go to Hogwarts and her aunt of Madame Giry (only a little more strict). Ninnette seems so sad, but I feel bad for Tonks. She has never been my favorite character but you portrayed her well. I really like the way you use mirrors to link both of them, that is so cool. (even if they don't know it). Not to mention your title for the story is really cool, very symbolic. You've put a lot of thought into this, good job. ~Ashley

Author's Response: Erm . . . I have to admit that I've never seen Phantom of the Opera - in fact, I had to look up Meg Giry to see who she was. (She is from Phantom of the Opera, right? I'll feel stupid if she isn't!) Glad you like the mirrors and the title - I rather like them myself! Thanks!

Reviewer: ApatheticAnomaly
Date: 06/25/05 20:58
Chapter: Stone Walls Surrounding

I just now read that. Wow. That was really good. Most of the stories on MMFF are, but this one stood out to me. I like the resin scene the most, it made me laugh. Haha. I think you have to keep writing, because this is just really really good. Sorry, I would add constructive criticism, but I don't have any... eek.

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you liked it. I'm thrilled that I made you laugh - I don't think humor is one of my fortes, and I think all stories should have funny moments. As much as I love constructive criticism, a lavish compliment once in a while comes as a nice booster - so thanks once again!

Reviewer: Harrietta potter
Date: 06/25/05 15:40
Chapter: Stone Walls Surrounding

I did spell it wrong, it's spelled M-O-N-O-T-O-N-O-U-S. I looked it up. (heh)

Author's Response: And I bet you'll never spell it wrong again! Oh, the wonders of dictionaries. :)

Reviewer: Harrietta potter
Date: 06/25/05 15:37
Chapter: Stone Walls Surrounding

AARRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGHHHHHHHH! sorry I haven't reviewed before, I know it must be annoying to see: 18 reads, Reviews 0 or something like that, but it kept logging out. I like this chappie. I've got a feeling Tonks and Ninette will be friends later, but I'm glad you didn't make them fast friends. I hate it how every single fic has the characters becoming friends as soon as they meet, it gets kind of montonus ( I think I spelled that wrong). I didn't find one mistake with your punctuation or spelling, and your story is well thought out. Some stories start out great and go downhill from there, but if anything, your's is getting better and better. I'm completely hooked! I laughed when Tonks went through Ninette's drawers, that's something I would be tempted to do (mwahaha). This story is excellent! I can't wait for the next chappie! Don't lose heart from lack of reveiws, it's the system not your story! I give this a 10!

Author's Response: Thanks for your enthusiastic response! I love to be loved! :) In my original plan, Tonks and Ninette were going to become best friends in chapter three, but I knew halfway through chapter two that that was not going to work. Don't worry, their lives will definitely be entertwined! And I'm very happy with my reviews - everyone so far has been careful to leave well-thought out responses and criticism. No "i liked it - pleez rite more"s in the lot! Thanks Harrietta, and everyone else too!

Reviewer: HermioneDancr
Date: 06/15/05 18:20
Chapter: Faces

I have to say, I was extremely skeptical about reading this story because I knew it included ballet. I grew up too involved in the ballet world to be able to tolerate inaccurate or clich portrayals of the ballet world. I'm happy to say that you've done a good job with it so far, much to my great relief. Tonks's character amused me quite a bit. Her obsession with beauty bothered me at first because I had never thought of Tonks as thinking that way, but the more I think about it the more it makes sense. Depending on how far you take this you may want to show a transition in how Tonks values beauty, but that's up to you-- I could see it going either way. I think my favorite part of your writing is your dialogue; you have a natural knack for making it seem real (something which I sadly lack). I especially liked Tonks' conversation with her mirror at the beginning of the chapter. The biggest potential problem I can see is with Charlie. His reaction when he is sorted into Gryffindor is almost identical to Ron's. A little of that goes a long way. When he is interacting with the girls he is his own person, so I don't think it's a problem such as something to watch out for. Don't let Charlie become a caricature of Ron! You are a good writer so I'm not too worried about it, but it is a potential pitfall. I really love what I've seen so far of this story. It is both original and well written. I'm curious to see where you take it in the next chapters (and I can't wait to see those tunnels)!

Author's Response:

I'm so glad you overcame your skepticism - I really appreciate reviews from dancers. (Well, I appreciate reviews from everybody! but dancers who are good writers as well get a special place in my thanks!) I'm glad you think I steered clear of the cliches - please warn me if I begin to steer near them!

I love Tonks! Originally I wasn't going to have her interest in beauty parallel Ninette's, but then I wrote the mirror scene for fun - it wasn't until later that I realized that I had spent two pages on Ninette's theme during Tonks' chapter. Afterwards, I began to like the idea - I think the ability to change your appearance would cause one to focus a lot on appearances. And we did see Tonks debating over what color was better for her, pink or violet . . . As for a transition, I'll let you know now that I am a strong believer in character development - to whatever ends or purpose!

You're right! I didn't even notice the similarity between Charlie and Ron. I haven't read the first book in months - it must have been subconscious. That was somewhat of a filler - I got there and found myself stuck as to a transition, so I stuck Charlie in. Oops! However, I think he does develop a separate personality . . . you can judge that from the fourth and fifth chapters, though. I'm looking forward to the tunnels myself - but I'm still tweaking the ending, and all of chapter four (as you know all too well!), so it might be a while! Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Ashwinder
Date: 06/13/05 18:27
Chapter: Faces

First things first. In response to your reply to my review, I did take ballet a very long time ago, when I was a kid. I was never very good though -- I'm closer to Tonks than Ninette when it comes to being graceful. I just recognise the terms, and I'd assumed you were a dancer because you used them correctly. I also think that because you're a musician, it helps you understand another art that requires great discipline and practise. It shows in the writing.

I love Tonks' relationship with her mirror. That was so well done, and it harks back to the first chapter where the mirror is judge. In this case, it's judge as well, albeit not a harsh one. It gently coaxes Tonks towards being herself. And just let me gush over the whole bit about the eyes being the hardest thing to change and the mirror's reminder about the eyes being the mirror to the soul. As much as she tries to change her appearance, she can't change who she is inside.

I found a minor editing nit: That made worlds of difference. You want "worlds" in there, no apostrophe. You've got a plural here, not possession.

Bravo for taking on a Sorting Hat song! And the one you've written could well be straight out of canon.

You seem to be setting up the contrasts between Ninette and Tonks. Tonks is clumsy, while Ninette is graceful; Ninette is striking, while Tonks is plain (at least in her own eyes). I can't help but think of Tonks envy and compare it to Ron's envy of Harry for having money. It makes me think that there will come a time when Ninette wishes she wasn't so graceful so she wouldn't be forced to do ballet.

I hope a new chapter will be coming soon. I can't wait to see what you have in store for everyone.



Author's Response:

Hi again! I love having people return to do second reviews - it makes me feel as if my story is worth returning to! Thanks!

While mirrors are an important metaphor for both Ninette and Tonks, I am trying to show that they have different relationships with their mirrors. I'm glad you noticed that, along with the differences between the two of them. I've had a lot of fun pairing the two of them off, as you'll see in chapter three . . .

Thanks for the edit - I'll fix it soon. I'm still trying to find a beta, and I'm not that good at catching my own errors. And I'm glad you liked my Sorting Hat song - I was rather worried about it myself, though I had fun writing it!

As for the comparison between Ninette and Tonks being similar to that of Harry and Ron - I'd never even thought of that! That's very interesting . . . I'll take that into consideration. Thanks for pointing it out, for reading, for reviewing, and for coming back!

Reviewer: kaltaru
Date: 06/11/05 20:59
Chapter: The Mirror

What a nice beginning. I love it. Initially, when reading this, I thought, What does this have to do with Harry Potter? The I shrugged and decided that the writing was good enough that I could be patient. :)

All the same, her eyes were sad as she said it. This was a subtle bit of characterization, showing just how much Janet cares for Ninette. I like that you show characterization throughout your chapter, rather than in just one big paragraph. It's easier to remember when we're shown aspects little by little.

This is probably just a personal quibble and completely out of the blue, I would imagine: Here was the stuff of fairytales, of her favorite ballets, of the legends she had always longed for. My nitpick is the word, "stuff." I know, you're thinking, "Huh?" You've already done a great job introducing us to Ninette and showing us the grace she has. Even your words are graceful, and so "stuff" just feels a little out of place. Like I said, an out-of-the-blue quibble, there.

If Theresa had not been interested it might have ended right there. A comma is needed after "interested." Ninette thought it rather a nice smile despite the dental peculiarities, but she felt rather than saw her aunt recoil. Commas are needed after "felt" and "saw."

Another thing I like about your fic is that you considered that people would not want their kids going to Hogwarts, because of other ambitions. Justin Finch Fletchley stated that his mother was disappointed that he didn't go to Eton and your fic has made me wonder whether if Muggle-borns really have the power to say no to a magical life and if anyone has done it.

Your characterization of Aunt Edris is excellent. We haven't really seen a lot of Ninette to say much about her, but her Aunt is hideous. I think I'd probably hide under an umbrella if I saw her three blocks away. Great job with her. I suspect I dislike her as much as you intended me to.

Overall, I have nothing but praise for this story. I'm really glad I came across it and I hope you'll keep up the great writing. It's exemplary and I look forward to seeing more.

Author's Response:

Many, many thanks Kaltaru, and everyone else. I have to say that I've been getting absolutely amazing reviews - everyone is thought out and has something worthwhile to say, not just a "nice story - keep writing." You guys are wonderful! Thanks!

Anyway, back to you, Kaltaru (erm, that rhyme was not intentional . . .) - I'm glad you like Janet. She wasn't originally a character, and I'm still not sure how much she's going to fit into the story, but I'm rather attached to her. She appeared when, after getting through chapter seven, I went back to the beginning and rewrote my entire fic. I'm not sure where she came from, but I'm hoping I'll manage to keep her around.

As for your 'personal quibble,' you're exactly right - I know what you mean, and I definitely agree. Thanks for pointing that out! I'm fascinated by linguistics, and willing to quibble over word choice for hours! ("The difference between the almostright word and the right-word is really a large matter - it's the difference between the lightning bug and the lightning." - Mark Twain) Anyway, I've changed that, along with the other things you mentioned, in my hard copy - I still have to transfer them over onto the site, though. Thanks so much for taking the time to point out grammatical things. I tend to get carried away by the act of writing or reading, and forget to pay attention to them - and I've been having trouble finding a beta.

For a while I actually considered having Ninette not attend Hogwarts because of her Aunt - the story was going to take place somewhere around the time of the actual Harry Potter books, and describe the meeting of Ninette and Tonks, and the comparison between the worlds. I still think a story like that would be interesting - but Ninette ended up going to Hogwarts, so it'll have to wait.

Writing Aunt Edris was a lot of fun, though I'm afraid she came across as a bit too ogerish. More on her later . . . I'm currently basking in joy, for having received a favorable review from one of the administrators of SPEW (I can't seem to help rhyming today!). Thanks so much for reading, and even more, for reviewing.

Reviewer: Harrietta potter
Date: 06/11/05 16:09
Chapter: Faces

Oooh, this chapter was great, I love Tonks! I like how you put Tonks and Charlie in the same year, I always pictured them to be the same age. The sorting hat song was excellent, it seemed exactly like something the good ol'hat would sing. Can't wait for the next chapter! I love your writing!

Author's Response: Thanks! I love Tonks too, and writing her has made me love her even more. I'm getting rather attached to Charlie as well. I was afraid at first that it would be too coincidental to put them in the same year, but I went to the Harry Potter Lexicon, did a complicated math equation (complicated, at least, for me), and came up with the fact that Tonks could have been anywhere within five years of Charlie, more or less. Fed up with math and logistics, I threw him in and set their time so that they graduate the year before Harry enters. I'm glad you don't think it highly improbable! Thanks - as I told Caren, the next chapter is coming soon!

Reviewer: caren_the_hpfan
Date: 06/11/05 1:16
Chapter: Faces

Wow, I think I like this one a lot just because it's from Tonks' PoV. ;) I love Tonks; she's hilarious! And so much like me - insufferably clumsy, though I've learned to pick myself up. Hehe, I loved the part about Tonks trying to "perfect" herself and the mirror bringing her back down to earth. That's funny how much mirrors mean to Ninette and Tonks. Unless... I'm just being stupid and that was intentional.

Very nice Sorting Hat song! I'm assuming you wrote that yourself, of course. It rhymed (lol), it had everything about the founders, and it had the spunk we so often see. Just loving your introductions - Ninette (to Tonks), Charlie and Bill Weasley. And Tonks is very much in character. I laughed both times she tripped - though of course not at her, as they Sorting Hat detailed. You're off to a great start on your fic! Update soon, please!

Author's Response: Yes, the mirror is going to play a very big part in the story - you'll find it popping up all over the place. Originally, I had ideas for a story combining two threads, one about Tonks and the other about Ninette and the mirror. However as I began to write, I realized more and more that as a metamorphmagus, Tonks must have an interesting relationship with the mirror as well - and the tenor of the story changed completely! I love Tonks myself - I did when I read the fifth book, and I've only grown more attached to her as I've written my story. Plenty more of her to come! The update's on its way, as soon as I can get around to formatting it. (The reason it's been so long in coming is that I have a rule for myself: although I'm several chapters ahead, I have to write at least one for every one I publish - that way I keep ahead of myself, because I often find myself in need of going back and making changes!) Anyway, I hope it'll be today!

Reviewer: caren_the_hpfan
Date: 06/11/05 0:36
Chapter: The Mirror

I'll admit that I was at first skeptical about a ballerina at Hogwarts, seeing as, of course, that there isn't any program or teacher of any sort. And I hope my confusion over Cecile Dubois ends when I read the next chapter. Is she a professor there? Does she live in Hogsmeade? There aren't any specifics you've given us so far.

I just love how you introduced the story. The pace if set just right. But I want to see more of Ninette! Give the readers more dialogue and bring her alive. This first chapter seems to be cataloguing the events of her life more than anything. Since we know next to nothing about Ninette, I encourage you to show us more of her.

If I'm right in saying this, I think that Dubois is more often seen as DuBois. That could just be my preference, though. It's your character, so do what you will. But I'm more used to seeing that, so if you wanted to take my suggestion... *shrug* And good job on characterizing Aunt Edris. She never wavers, does she? This may seem like a lot of criticism and petty things, but it's only because I had to hunt down things to comment on. You're doing an excellent job so far! Your writing is pleasing to the eye, and the story is well-written. Moving on to chapter two!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it. I am a musician and (obviously) a lover of writing - I'm very much an 'artistic' person (though I can't draw to save my life!). I've always wondered how art continues to exist in the wizarding world; or even basic skills such as math, reading, and writing. This story actually started shortly after I read the second book, when I imagined a dancer trying to go to Hogwarts. I was quite young at the time, and I'm afraid my dancer was a complete Mary Sue - but she never made it onto the paper, and soon drifted out of my imagination. When I began to read fanfiction, however, she drifted back in and meshed herself into Hogwarts with Tonks - I couldn't resist writing about them! As for Cecile DuBois (you're right - I'll make the change as soon as I add my next chapter, which I hope will be today), you'll find out more about her soon - not in the next chapter (that's from Tonks' perspective again), but in the fourth. I'll go back and look at the first chapter, though - I don't want to tell everything about her there, but I'll see what I can do to make things clearer. I'm glad you liked my introduction! I wrote a good part of the story, let it rest for a while, and then went back to it after about a month - only to find that it was turning out to be a lot more serious of a story than I had imagined, and the original introduction didn't work at all - hence what you've seen. However, while I know that Ninette's character didn't seem very strong in the first chapter, I'm afraid that's the way it's going to be for a while - because that's the way she is. (Sad, but true - I tried to write her differently, but she seems to be stuck like this. Oh well - at least it gives her room for growth.) Though you will see rather more of her in chapter four (and three for that matter, only there from Tonks' point of view)! Thank you so much for the beautiful review!

Reviewer: BettyBlack
Date: 06/10/05 21:12
Chapter: Faces

Hmmmm, ballerina's eat a lot usually. Anyway, that sucks for Ninette. I love Tonks.

Author's Response: Glad you like Tonks! I'm quite attached to her myself. As for Ninette, I didn't mean to give the impression that she's not eating enough - I know it's very important for dancers to get enough calories to make up for their huge energy expense. The point I was trying to make is that she eats careful, balanced meals, and has impeccable manners. Sorry if it came out wrong - I'll take a look at it and see what I can do to make it clearer. Thanks!

Reviewer: BettyBlack
Date: 06/10/05 20:50
Chapter: The Mirror

Hi! I do ballet. This is very well written and all but ballet, it just isn't like that. We train a lot, it hurts a lot, you give up a lot of your life, but it isn't your life. No one cares if you stand up straight when you're not dancing, or if you're a little round. The best dancer in my studio isn't thin at all, she's made of muscle. I don't know, it didn't feel like the kind of ballet I know. But it was very well developed and all, and you did well with the terms.

Author's Response: Hi, and thanks for reviewing! (I'm trying to liven up my beginnings here - they all look the same!) I should hope that ballet isn't like this for you! I suppose I should have started out by making it clear that I know this isn't how most ballet is; Aunt Edris' regime is obviously unhealthy for Ninette, mentally if not physically (and it probably isn't the best physically, either!). I've modeled Aunt Edris on the 'old school ballet techniques,' and the regime of people such as Balanchine. I knew I was jumping into something a little risky, so I took the time to prepare significantly before beginning to write; I've read several autobiographies of people of famous dancers, and have based much of Aunt Edris' attitude on the ones I found in "Dancing on my Grave," by Gelsey Kirkland, one of Balanchine's dancers. And I hope that the other dancers in the story (Theresa for now, but Cecile later on) don't come across like this - it's meant to be mainly her aunt, though I may introduce a few more questionable characters later on. Anyway, I'm rambling - sorry! I'm just trying to say that I know most ballet isn't and shouldn't be like this, but to Aunt Edris, ballet is all important - hence her attitude. I'm glad I didn't mess up with the terms; I was very nervous about that. I've thought very hard about the type of regime I want Ninette to have, but if you ever see me messing up terms, please let me know and I'll fix them immediately. Thanks again!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES