Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/11/07 10:52
Chapter: Chapter 24 - Waiting

Nothing like an almost fatal accident to prompt Harry to speak those three special words to Ginny!

Very creative of you to create the Detonation Hex, with the fingerprint trigger.

You showed the two steps forward, one step back progression of teen maturation very well through Ron helping Harry. It will be interesting to see what you make Harry do to overcome his harsh words to Hermione.

Your chapters continue to be very well constructed and flow so easily I'm always surprised when I reach the end.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I thought Harry needed a bit of a push, even though it was quite obvious that his feelings for her ran deep. Glad you liked the Detonation Hex. Coming up with new hexes is a challenge, but I was particularly fond of this one. Thanks for the kind review.

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/11/07 10:14
Chapter: Chapter 23 - Wicked Games

Was it just coincidence that the Slytherins were watching practice, and then Ginny was injured?

You continue to develop Harry and Ginny's relationship in a logical fashion -- you really do convey the warmth and wonder of first love very well.

But as to this cliffie, how can you leave us hanging with our favorite female student in jeopardy? You're still taunting us, Czarina. You've just moved from H/G romance to an injury.

Author's Response: I am not a big believer in coincidence, so you can pretty much gather they were there for a reason. I am so thankful for your comments regarding Harry and Ginny's relationship. Teen angst/ love is much more difficult to portray than I thought. As for the cliffie - it was rather Slytherin-like of me, wasn't it?

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/11/07 9:27
Chapter: Chapter 22 - Unease

Hi Czarina, It looks like you've set up your next few chapters -- Death Eaters released, families at risk, Fudge demoted, Umbridge as a mole, Percy working for his father -- all sorts of interesting threads.

I like how you use simple physical acts -- Ginny sitting on Harry's lap, Hermione and Luna resting their head on Ron and Neville's shoulders, etc. to show the increasing comfort these couples have with each other.

I find myself wanting to slow down as I approach the last chapter you've sent in. There's only one solution: submit more chapters . . . quickly, please.

Author's Response: Thank you! I love hearing that my chapters are quick reads even though they are rather lengthy. There certainly are quite a few things going on and I'm sure you see that I am leading up to something big. Thanks for your reviews!

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/10/07 22:34
Chapter: Chapter 21 - Miscarriage of Justice

Well, we knew that was going to happen, didn't we? Draco was too calm. The only question is the method used to get to Fudge.

Even though the tone of this chapter was quite different than most of those preceding it, your details, characters, and dialogue made this chapter another quick read.

Excellent use of the Daily Prophet headlines and articles to convey information.

Author's Response: Yes, I think it was rather obvious that it was going to happen. I agree that the question is the method used - as well as who was responsible for using it. All will reveal itself in time. Thanks, as always for your kind reviews.

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/10/07 22:17
Chapter: Chapter 20. Shadows

Why do I think the cut on Harry's finger is more than a simple cut? And why did his blood disappear into the mirror?

Something tells me the mirror will play a part in subsequent chapters.

Nice twist by introducing Draco and his mysterious comment at the end of the chapter. You're very good at ending each chapter with something that strongly motivates us to read the next chapter. That works for me for only five more chapters, then I'll be caught up.


Author's Response: Hmmm...you may be on to something, but you will have to wait to see. Rather odd behavior for a mirror, don't you think?

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/10/07 21:15
Chapter: Chapter 19 - Prophecy and Promise

Czarina, you did an excellent job of showing how the growing relationships among the four friends is helping Harry get ready for the inevitable confrontation with Voldemort.

Favorite scene: when Harry and Ginny concoct the story of going to the library, and Hermione has to pull Ron back by his shirt tail. Ron's improving, but he's still clueless at times. Funny, funny contrast. I could literally see Hermione tugging him back into the chair, then explaining why he couldn't go with H and G.

Author's Response: Harry's friendships are his true strength, and I believe that will be key in his defeat of Voldemort. I'm glad you like how I infuse some humor into the storyline. While I don't want to portray Ron as being dense, I do think it's amusing how he sometimes misses the obvious, even when it's right in front of him. As always, thank you for the kind review.

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/10/07 20:41
Chapter: Chapter 18 - Feelings Revealed

I guess we can debate whether 17 chapters (!) is too much build up, but you sure delivered on THE KISS and several dozen more.

Lifting the chapter far beyond the usual snogfest were Ginny's confession to Harry about her feelings when Tom possessed her (as you foretold through DD in an earlier chapter) and the whole Malfoy gang being caught after hours.

Humor, confessions, and snogging -- what a great chapter!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I was going for the Guiness Book record for seeing how many chapters I could prolong a long-awaited kiss for. I suppose you could look at it as literary foreplay. This is one of my favorite chapters and I am very glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/10/07 20:07
Chapter: Chapter 17 - The Other Battle

You must like irony. You start the chapter by having Hermione tell Harry to speed things up with Ginny. Then, at the end, her row with Ron stops them from doing just that. You do like to taunt us!

One aspect of your writing I've not mentioned yet: your chapters read very fast. They seem more like 2000 words, rather than the 4000-6000 they usually are. That says you're doing an excellent job.

Author's Response: Thank you - on both aspects. Yes, I am a fan of irony and your are one of the first to catch what I was doing in this chapter with Hermione. Kudos! As for how fast my chapters go, you really have made my evening by saying that. It is truly a wonderful compliment and I appreciate it immensely.

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/10/07 19:35
Chapter: Chapter 16 - Revelations

I really admire how you've shown Harry maturing emotionally in tandem with his increasing magical power. Are the two related? Hmmm!

The side stories you added were both entertaining and informative -- DD's scar and Lily's abilities. The way Ginny learned about Harry's feelings -- or lack of -- toward Cho by overhearing his response to Ron was very creative and much more effective than H and G having a confrontation, with jealous accusations. As you cleverly included, Harry had already done that with his overreaction to Ginny talking with Colin.

I'm hoping the next chapter gets H and G together. Your preview certainly implies that -- unless you're teasing us again!



Author's Response: I plead guilty to teasing! Sorry, but I really did drag it out and it was deliciously evil of me :-)

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/10/07 18:49
Chapter: Chapter 15 - Potions and Practical Magic

What's this? Harry doing homework before school started?! If it stopped Snape in his tracks, it was worth the effort. Great scene!

You continue to develop Harry and Ginny's relationship in a very believable manner. Great lines, innocently spoken by Ginny: "Have you ever tasted honeysuckle, Harry?" and ". . . showing me some moves?" Sure to set Harry's hormones in motion!

Looks like they're almost there. Are you ready to stop teasing your loyal readers?

Author's Response: Quite a change of pace for Harry, isn't it? I like to put in little unexpected things and, let's face it, Harry being proactive when it comes to school is about as random as it can get! H/G are still moving slowly - what can I say, I have a dark side!

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/10/07 17:29
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Back to School

Several times you've mentioned to reviewers how you like to hear what parts of the chapter the reader liked.

Here goes: Ginny's remarks to Malfoy on the train (fearless young lady); Ginny kicking Harry while in the carriage and getting him out of his funk, rather easily it seemed; Hermione flirting (!!!) with Neville and Ron's reactions; the electric jolt both H and G felt when he helped her down from the carriage; and G's "sweet as sugar" approach to Snape.

As usual, another excellent chapter, where H and G move slightly, at the speed of a slooow glacier, toward each other.

Author's Response: Yes, I do adore hearing what your favorite parts were! It tells me what works, and helps me to focus. I'm glad you liked the chapter even though H/G certainly are in no rush. A lot of people were impatient for that to happen, so I thank you for your patience.

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/10/07 16:56
Chapter: Chapter 13 - Momentos and a Midnight Confession

Wow! So soft, so sweet, you did an excellent job of showing Ginny's support of Harry and the strength and peace he derives from it.

I also liked how Harry knew Ginny thought he was going to discuss another topic when they first started talking. You're showing their evolution slowly and realistically through telling details. It's fun to watch you paint these scenes!

Cute ending when Harry returned to bed!

Author's Response: This was one of my favorite chapters. I know I frustrated more than a few readers with how slowly I made things evolve with Harry and Ginny, but I knew from the start that was how I wanted it to be. I'm glad you are enjoying it!

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/10/07 16:32
Chapter: Chapter 12 - Hermione's Secret

Czarina, you do an absolutely spiffing job with Ginny. From Harry's reaction to her in shorts all the way through her comment about him getting ". . . another sneak peek . . ." you've created a highly detailed character and shown why Harry is so attracted to her.

Really loved how Ginny wouldn't allow Harry to wallow in his self pity, and how she helped Ron and Hermione understand the ramifications of what they were doing.

Altogether another wonderful chapter!

Author's Response: Why thank you! I think we have the idea from JKR that Ginny will be Harry's strength in one way or another. With so many older brothers, she is quite able to take care of herself and has no problem saying things that others may keep to themselves. Glad you enjoyed the chapter!

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/10/07 16:16
Chapter: Chapter 11 - Percy, Prefects and the Confessions of Fred and George

I really liked the first scene, when Harry was comforting Ginny, then Ron and Hermione helped her, plus added to the criticisms of PIW. The scene really showed how much they care for each other.

Safe to say, the twins did not use an interior decorator for their flat! And again, kudos to you for creating the Portable Tunnel. What a great idea!

Author's Response: Ah, Fred and George. I do love them dearly. When I imagined their apartment, I immediately had this lurid picture of a lot of bright, abrasive color and textures. It suits them, don't you think? Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/10/07 15:43
Chapter: Chapter 10 - A Day In Diagon Alley

Czarina, Your level of detail is marvelous. You paint a very complete picture of the scenes and the characters' interactions within them, but you do it without bogging down the story. Well done!

The contrast of Ginny performing a very powerful wandless magic act, then talking to Harry "in a small voice" was an excellent contrast and certainly represented all of the teens being on the cusp of maturity, moving between childhood and young adult from one second to the next.

One benefit of coming to your story somewhat late is that I can move to your next chapter now!

Author's Response: What a lovely review! You truly understand what it is I am trying to convey and that means so very much to me. The teens are a time of exploration and discovery. Growing up isn't easy and we tend to experiment with who we are going to become one day. Yes, it is a good benefit that you get to read so many chapters at once. I am the first to admit that I am slow to update. I want each chapter to be the very best it can be before I am ready for anyone else to read it.

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/10/07 15:16
Chapter: Chapter 9 - The Results Are In

Outstanding OWLs. Your description of Hermione's excitement was pitch perfect. Cute trick by Hermione to give H and G some alone time.

The way you combined Ron and Harry's nascent maturity with their continuing cluelessnes was both funny and poignant.

Now, I want to see what you do with Harry and Ginny during their time alone.

Author's Response: Thanks. So much emphasis was placed on the importance of OWLs that I felt Hermione needed a moment to revel in their glory and excitement.

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/10/07 14:56
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Conversations With A Werewolf

I'm going to have to come up with something other than "it was a wonderful chapter!" But it was!

You continue to take the canon characters and add new life to them, going to places where JK feared to tread -- THE TALK!?!?! Well done and very sensitive, having Remus conduct it was logical and ensured at PG rating.

Ginny, Ron, and Hermione waiting to open their long-anticipated owl results and school letters was a great touch. It was a great way to show how they feel, rather than just telling it directly.

And as always, the sentences, paragraphs, and the entire chapter flowed as smoothly as silk.

Author's Response: I will have to come up with something other than "thank you" as a reply! I am glad you enjoyed the chapter. I wasn't sure how The Talk would be received, but I wanted to make sure it was addressed at some point. I like to think I'm being socially responsible :-)

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/10/07 11:25
Chapter: Chapter 7 - The Reading of the Will

Czarina,

Wonderful job with the will! Having the lawyer provide insights into Sirius, as well as being very friendly, helped to make a very stressful situation somewhat easier.

On a lighter note, your creativity shone through with the twins' travel tunnel. Excellent idea! You also continue to move Harry and Ginny's relationship at the right speed.

Another very good chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I do feel that there is so much about Sirius that we don't know, so I took some artistic liberty with his past. Don't you wish those tunnels were real? I could certainly use one! Glad you enjoyed the chapter!

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/10/07 0:02
Chapter: Chapter 6 - Remus Returns

Very creative idea to have the chessmen commenting on Harry staring at Ginny.

Lots of excellently constructed conversations. I especially like how you're portraying the conflicting emotions teens feel, as shown by Harry and Ron's confusion, Ginny's reticence, and Hermione understanding everything , except her own feelings.

Hermione's "So exactly how long have you fancied Ginny?" was a great opener for that discussion.

The chapter reads very quickly, despite having no action to speak of, which says you wrote the dialogue and inner musings very well!

Author's Response: The chessmen were quite fun, and I will have to consider bringing them back for a repeat performance. I am glad to see that the dialogue was able to hold up the chapter. I needed to work on that aspect, and I am glad it worked.

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/09/07 23:00
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Nightmares and Nighttime Visits

You really captured Dumbledore's eccentric, caring personality. The gift of the pensieve seemed to symbolize the difficulty of the path Harry will be facing.

Really, really liked the nocturnal visit between Harry and Ginny. You described their emerging feelings very well, particularly how Harry sought to phrase his response to Ginny, so her feelings wouldn't be hurt.

Author's Response: Dumbledore remains one of my favorite characters, particularly because of his quirkiness and eccentricity. This scene between Harry and GInny remains one of my favorities, particularly because of its innocence. Even though there is no physical contact, I think it's one of the most intimate scenes in this story. Thanks, as always, for your kind review.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Put Asunder by Equinox Chick 6th-7th Years
As a Slytherin Sorted two years after the Battle, Astoria has never been popular...
A Story for Charlie by Darkness Enshrouds 3rd-5th Years
A boy. A girl. A budding romance. If only things never got complicated... (Violence...
Scorpius Malfoy and the Salem Witch Trials by Hotrav 3rd-5th Years
The third story in the Scorpius Malfoy and the Sins of the Fathers series. Lucius...
FEATURED
My Troubled Tyrant by Belledeg Professors
Keedie Dante has experienced many amazing things during her time at Hogwarts...
His and Hers by Acacia Carter 3rd-5th Years
In a perfect world, Neville and Hannah's wedding would go off without a hitch...
All This Waiting For The Sky To Fall by Dawnie 1st-2nd Years
They found her body - broken, bleeding, face filled with signs of pain and fear...
Sanguini, the Vampire by teh tarik 6th-7th Years
Vampirism is the persistence and the perpetuity of the body, a madness of the...
Lost and Found by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
When Tracey Davis's financial security was a casualty of war, her family is...
CATEGORIES