Reviewer: RavenKath
Date: 10/11/05 0:19
Chapter: Domestic Bliss

I'm excited for the next chapter! I know Remus and Lily have to figure everything out before long. I feel so sorry for poor George. If Dumbledore's definition of George doing "anything drastic" (as is Minerva's fear) means joining the resistance, that could be pretty interesting. I love Percy. He drives me crazy but I still have to love his temper tantrums. Good job and keep updating!

Author's Response: At the risk of killing your excitement...The next chapter isn't terribly plot driven. Don't get me wrong, it moves forward, and there are kernals there if you're looking for them, but it's more about the characters than the plot over the next ten to twenty pages. So no new major revelations. Hmmm...If we just locked Albus, Lily, Remus, and Snape in a room together right now, and refused to let them out until they'd had a nice long talk they would *almost* have the truth. *evil grin*

As for George joining the rebellion, he'd really like to, but he may find it harder to manage than he expected, particularly after his winter holiday.

Many thanks for the awesome review!

Reviewer: kiwichik
Date: 10/10/05 2:41
Chapter: Domestic Bliss

YAY!!!!! I'm so glad it's finally up! I've been checking for ages for the next chapter! I love your story, all the details and mystery. ihave to say it's one of my favourites on the whole site. i feel quite sorry for Lupin, he seems so lonely. and the situation with Fred and George -arghh! Poor George! and the child snatching - oo it's so frustrating! you're doing such a fantastic job - i really can't wait for the next installment!

Author's Response: Woo Woo! I'm glad it's up too. It was an annoying chapter to write. The opening sequence was rewritten 5 times before the final product was ready for beta. The next chapter is flowing a little better so maybe the next update won't take so long. *Happy-Warm-Fuzzy* I'm so glad you're feeling empathy for these guys and I hope you keep enjoying the fic. Thanks for the uber-kind review! :)

Reviewer: bkwrm0502
Date: 10/10/05 1:05
Chapter: Domestic Bliss

It's the second one.... normally I just let him take all the glory for the review, but I can't resist in this chapter. Sorry, I don't mean to confuse you. I'll just refer to myself as C for the purposes of my reviews. I've just managed to catch up on the reading, and I'm kind of disappointed (though I understand why) that the senior Potter made it seem like James has never had any children. Of course, it's the plight of an omniscient reader... we want the characters to say some things that will get the rest of them to understand the entire situation. Anyway, excellent chapter, and I can't wait until you update again. ~C

Author's Response: Yeah, it is annoying when the characters with the knowledge to put everything together bounce off each other without communicating properly. To be honest a lot more was supposed to happen in this chapter plot-wise but it would have taken some forcing *shrug* Give 'em time. These guys will have things figured out before you know it.

*pondering c's relationship to the bkwrm* It was nice to hear from you C, and I hope you keep enjoying the fic :)

Reviewer: Billie Bowtrunckle
Date: 10/09/05 23:54
Chapter: Loosing the Battle

I really enjoy the way you manage to keep your action scenes vivid and detailed but somehow (mysteriously) concise. I'm very impressed...how long have you been writing for? I'm also enjoying Sirus and his more responsible/serious side. Some authors chose to only protray the jokster or angry side of his character, but you did a nice job of giving him some additional depth and maturity which would be believable considering his weighty responsibility. Nice chapter!

Author's Response: Okay, tht's a very heartening review. I hate writing action sequences. They are just about the hardest thing to write well (for me anyway).

Adult Sirius (without Azkaban carziness) is a fairly level character. Glad you aprove of the characterization :)

How long have I been writing? Junior year of High School, I needed an elective and took creative writing. Ten years later, I'm here writing fan-fiction. Yep, the secret of my success...if you do anything long enough you become competant.

Reviewer: bkwrm0502
Date: 10/09/05 22:00
Chapter: Domestic Bliss

Poor poor senior Potters... Ah well, I still feel worse for George. Maybe Dumbledore will wind up recruiting him, but I doubt it...anyway, great post. It was nice seeing Percy, he was being so...Percyish. Can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response: Ack, the senior Potters are pretty generally happy. Sure they have their little quibbles with lfie, but don't we all? :) Dumbledore recruit George? No comment.

It was great to hear from you, and thanks for the review!

Reviewer: WonderfulWeasley
Date: 10/09/05 13:01
Chapter: Domestic Bliss

I loved this chapter! Your take on the senior Potter's was wonderful, you did an amazing job of bring to life a couple that we know next to nothing about. Your Dumbledore has so far been much more manipulative than I'm used to, so I enjoyed his seeming senility in this chapter. And Percy! I loved his apperance! "...girlish shrieking"...hilarious!

Author's Response: Percy is so the star of this chapter, and he wasn't even slated to appear, LOL. Serendipity rocks (and not just as a vague excuse for Albus to visit).

It was great to hear from you. Thanks so much for the kind review. :)

Reviewer: ellidiot
Date: 10/09/05 8:23
Chapter: Domestic Bliss

Great chapter. Still in a lot of suspense though! Remus and Lily have to work it out. they're clever people! and with a little prod from albus... Ach poor George. Poor Remus. Thought Percy was v gd, and ingenious Dumbledore's use of him.

Author's Response: Thanks :) I refuse to comment on who will know what when. This fic lasts 4 years. I have some things that will drag on for a little while. The next chapter gets us through the first half of year one. Some people will know quite a lot by year two. Oh and glad you liked the addition of Percy. Someone needed to throw a fit over Albus's visit to the Potters, and he just showed up unexpectedly. :)

Reviewer: Lillian Potter
Date: 10/08/05 23:43
Chapter: Domestic Bliss

Great chapter!!I can't wait for someone to realise who Harry is!!! Keep it up!

Author's Response: Waiting for the cathartic moments is half the fun of prose! Hopefully I'll do the revelation justice when it finally comes out. *crossing fingers*

Reviewer: Oz314
Date: 10/08/05 22:45
Chapter: Domestic Bliss

Loved the Chapter. I'm sorry I said the adult scenes dragged on, in fact, I was surprised when this chapter was over. Overall, great chapter. I barely noticed the transitions between scenes. How much does Dumbledore know about Fred? Does he know he's a reaper now?

Author's Response: Never regret those gut reactions. They're valid, and I appreciate them. :) Glad you enjoyed this chapter. As for how much Albus knows? If he's not telling then I probably shouldn't either.

Reviewer: Phoenix Lament
Date: 10/08/05 18:15
Chapter: Domestic Bliss

I love Melinda's character. You protrayed her so well. Excellent job!

Author's Response: I like Melinda too. She and Bart are a happy couple of coots. Thanks for the review. :)

Reviewer: Hormiga
Date: 10/08/05 13:46
Chapter: Domestic Bliss

Once more a fantastic chapter.... I loved the whole Dumbledor pretending to be senil! Great job

Author's Response: Pretend-senile Dumbledore is fun :) Thanks, for the review!

Reviewer: moonymaniac
Date: 10/05/05 21:37
Chapter: Prologue

I started reading your fic when MNFF was view only and I was unable to post a review, so now I want to remedy that. I’m so impressed with your writing. This story is so unique and well crafted it hardly seems like a fanfic. While I have enjoyed many fanfics, I have rarely been as struck by the writing as I have with yours. The dialogue between Emperor Turpin and Spero hooked me. “How to thwart fate as the old hag seems to have turned on me.” “. . . I don’t even know why she burdens me with her whisperings.” I love that! I think your descriptive writing is wonderful, too; just enough detail to make the setting clear in my mind and to set a mood without getting too flowery. I also think you show the anguish of war very well. The description of Lily’s reaction, “A terrible keen like a dying animal…” was so powerful it provoked strong feelings for me. I could imagine her agony. I just can’t say enough about how well done this is. Oh, and it seems that Peter Pettigrew is a rat in any universe. Oh, well, I guess you wanted to keep him in character. So, great job on a fabulous story.

Author's Response: Hey Moony!

Are you trying to make my head swell? Well you're succeeding, lol. Thanks for the many kind well thought out comments. This review completely made my day.

Peace!

Reviewer: Oz314
Date: 10/01/05 18:22
Chapter: Chocolate Frogs and Crimson Dragons

This is the best AU fic I have ever read! Granted, it's the only AU fic I have ever read, but if I read more, I'm sure this will be my favorite still. I do find, though that alot of the rebel scenes seem to drag on longer then needed, but I still enjoy every moment. You're on my favorites list! Woohoo! Keep up the good work. Oz314

Author's Response: Welcome to the wonderful world of AU. I hope you hang around awhile and enjoy to odd fics swimming in this category.

Thanks so much for the kind review, and I appreciate your comments about the rebel sections. You're probably not going to enjoy the next chapter so much. It's pretty much an adult section. I'll try not to make it drag too much.

Peace!

Reviewer: Beware of Penguins
Date: 09/30/05 15:06
Chapter: Chocolate Frogs and Crimson Dragons

I happened to be perusing around the general fics page randomly(I was bored), and i stumbled apon this fic. I read the whole thing and couldnt help but comment on how well its written. Keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Thank you for leaving a review. I'm glad you enjoyed the fic so far! :)

Reviewer: bkwrm0502
Date: 09/26/05 12:54
Chapter: Chocolate Frogs and Crimson Dragons

That was a great update. I didn't see that coming with Fred at all. I still wonder (even though you can't answer), if George had touched the stone first, would he have been chosen? If so, would he havejoined the Reapers as Fred did, or tried to resist? If it just depended on which twin touched the stone first, then your story is more different than the regular series not in just plot and setting alone. The septology focuses on your choices determining who you are. On the other hand, here, if the order that they ouched it in was the only factor, then it seems that our destiny is beyondour control. Was Fred able to fight back? Did he? If so, how did they break him down? Would Geroge have made the same choices? Yeah yeah, you can't answer. Anyway, great update, more soon!

Author's Response: Fred and George are important to this fic, and I love them. Yes, I'm torturing them a bit, but that's all out of love. You are always full of wonderful questions that make me think about where I'm going. I'll answer them at some point over the next 30 chapters, promise!

Reviewer: JimboCOUS
Date: 09/21/05 1:59
Chapter: Chocolate Frogs and Crimson Dragons

The division of Fred and George is a really interesting tension-builder; should lead to some interesting stuff down the line. A couple things I noticed; When Ron says "Thank God she's gone" it hit a little false note with me. If this culture is frozen in the Roman era, wouldn't "Thank the gods" reinforce that better? Also, one case of missing word "Neither of is James Potter ", presumable lost an "us" there. Minor little things, though. Nice chapter. Later, ...

Author's Response: Hey Jimbo! It's good to hear from you. Thanks for the comments. :)

I completely expected to get called out on this chapter by someone, but silly girl that I am, I figured it would be the reference to Christmas that would bother people, basically for the same reasons that you pulled the "Thank God" reference. I think the problem comes in when you assume that time frozen in the Roman Era. An ancient Roman rules the world. He didn't stop time, and nothing can stop change, though he did manage to oppress and destroy Muggle innovation rather severely. How to explain where my head is here...

All the major Muggle religions exist in this AU. There are Christians and Buddists and Muslims (Sorry Tom Cruise, no scientology). Some wizards and witches have joined in with a few of the more popular Muggle religions. While some remain loyal to more ancient cults: classic Roman Gods would be one example, the Druids of western Europe would be another.

Since I brought it up, why does Melinda Potter celebrate Christmas instead of winter solstice? Christmas is the religious name of the winter holiday celebrated by most of the muggles in her region. It's just another of those small radical things she does.

Turpin doesn't have a designated World Religion. People fight too hard over religion and he'd rather allow the religions to exist than endure the added revolutions trying to suppress them would instigate. Not to mention his mixed background. You guys haven't read Turpin's biography, the first five pages of my outline. His father was a Roman, and his mother was Egyptian. Is he actively avoiding Anubis or Hades with this immortality? I have no idea how much of this will come out over the course of the fic, but long story short...

I think it's reasonable for Ron to say thank God or Thank the Gods.

As for the missing "us", thanks for the catch, and I'll go fix that right away.

Peace!

Reviewer: JimboCOUS
Date: 09/21/05 1:27
Chapter: Tripping the Light Fantastic

Singing in the fountain? Delightful twist! Holy Gene Kelly! (sorry, couldn't resist!) You captures well one ting that's often missing from fanfic; the sense of the absurd that JKR is so talented in weaving into her stories, at least the early ones. Really great chapter. Thanks for the update.

Author's Response: Is your name really Adam West? lol

Glad you liked the happy chapter, and I consider any comparison to "The Originator" an extremly flattering compliment, so thanks.

Reviewer: WonderfulWeasley
Date: 09/20/05 18:40
Chapter: Orientation

I agree, you've made some very interesting twists here. Ron's being raised privledged, the decrease of his family size; him refusing Draco's friendship as opposed to Harry. Hermione's personality is, at first glance, shockingly different than that in the books. But the longer I thought about it, the more I think you've got it down perfect. Hermione is passionately fierce fighter for equality, and here she is, as oppressed as a house-elf. And we all know she's not nearly so timid. Just perfect. I think it's interesting that you've given Harry a different wand. In the books, his wand is very signifigant; I get the feeling the same will be true here. All in all, another wonderful chapter.

Author's Response: :) Thank you very much! The characterizations were carefully plotted. I even wrote out mini-ameture-psychoanalyzations of the main characters so that maybe I wouldn't make my AU OOC.

There are a couple of reasons I changed his wand. 1. Harry is fundamentally a different boy. This isn't the boy who lived who's destined for a life and death struggle. He's just a kid, with all the good, bad, and gray that entails. 2. Tom Riddle is in this story, but he and Harry will not have brother wands. (I have my reasons!)

Peace!

Reviewer: Phoenix Lament
Date: 09/19/05 20:18
Chapter: Chocolate Frogs and Crimson Dragons

I'm sure you get this all the time, but I absolutely love your story. Your writing style is fantastic. I am feeling a bit glum about the whole Fred-is-a-Reaper thing, but I'll get over it.

Author's Response: Yeah, it is a downer, and things are going to get worse before they get better. Why do I torture the characters I love?

I usually look for a happy ending when I finish the torturing...usually?

Reviewer: Hormiga
Date: 09/19/05 18:56
Chapter: Chocolate Frogs and Crimson Dragons

This is a fantastic story.. although I must say that the aztec capital was called Tenochtitlan

Author's Response: Thanks for the spell check *blush* Typo corrected.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Dark Enough To See The Stars by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Scorpius is looking for answers in the constellation that bears his name. He...
The Ties That Bind by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
"Life is short, but this time it was biggerThan the strength he had to get up...
Pearls Mean Tears by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
Now and then I think of all the times you screwed me overBut had me believing...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
CATEGORIES