Reviewer: Harriet Evans
Date: 11/26/05 11:17
Chapter: Duck, Duck...Goose

Goodness, that was chilling -- I got a horrible feeling in the pit of my stomach. And yes it was a very effective red-herring!

I continue to enjoy Hermione and find her relationship with Ron fascinating. It is interesting that you have portrayed her as the one who has a chip on her shoulder about her lowly origins and the explosive temper.

You are very skilful in the way you drop snippets about 'your' world in away that is totally in tune with the plot. By this I mean the details about the third tier wizards and also the reference to Hermione's illeteracy prior to joining the wizarding world. Does this mean that Muggles are denied the right to read?

Very good, yet again!

Author's Response: :) :) :) Yay, you liked the red Herring. Hermione is the most superficially different of the trio, though she is at her core the same person.

Muggles are denied education, rights, representation. They're one step above livestock. :)

Thanks for the great review.

Reviewer: Harriet Evans
Date: 11/25/05 16:16
Chapter: Loosing the Battle

"No, I don't think I will. There's too much to do that I haven't done," Hermione said. There was a touch of desperation in her voice. "I'm going to fail everything."

Ah, there's the girl that I know! Well done -- a timely reminder that this really is Hermione.

I agree with your other reviewers, the action scene was very well done and I did feel for poor Sheila and Derek especially after the hints you gave us of a flirtation to come. Why did everyone refer to Derek as a rabbit, though? I thought he was a hare...

Very well done.



Author's Response: I'm glad you approve of twisted Hermione. :) And the action sequence has recieved a good response. I wasn't sure it would be Derek to die when I started the scene. Someone had to die, and I made it a character I liked. Oh well. Rabbit... hare... it's a fine line, based on size and burrowing habits, and I don't expect the Wizards to be completely accurate all the time, but I should probably be consistent. Thanks!

Reviewer: Harriet Evans
Date: 11/25/05 16:01
Chapter: I Spy With My Little Eye

My name is Tom Riddle. Bloody hell! I nearly shot out of my chair!

Is he Voldemort? Well, it's interesting to speculate, and of course I don't know enough about the history that you've written for him, but my guess would be that he 'aint going to be no Dumbledore, that's for sure.

I continue to read -- with interest. Very good btw.

Author's Response: :)

Reviewer: Harriet Evans
Date: 11/25/05 16:00
Chapter: I Spy With My Little Eye

My name is Tom Riddle. Bloody hell! I nearly shot out of my chair!

Is he Voldemort? Well, it's interesting to speculate, and of course I don't know enough about the history that you've written for him, but my guess would be that he 'aint going to be no Dumbledore, that's for sure.

I continue to read -- with interest. Very good btw.

Author's Response: Woot, I was Hoping Riddle would be a surprise. He was a little rough with Draco too. :)

Nope, not Dumbledore.

Reviewer: Harriet Evans
Date: 11/25/05 11:58
Chapter: Orientation

This is very, very exciting and interesting and it reminded me just why I always find AU stuff so fascinating when I remember to read it. I find the whole nature v. nurture debate very interesting, and here you present a very intriguing version of Hermione, who has been 'shaped' by this 'twisted' version of the HP world. Actually, she was so spiky, she reminded me of McKee! I am looking forward to reading lot more about her and also finding out about the rebels and what Charlie is up to.

The whole chapter was highly enjoyable - right from your unmistakeable description of the Weasley house, to the divination stones and the 'class' structure within the wizarding world. I liked the way that you echoed Harry's qualms when he faced the sorting hat (in the JKR original) that he didn't belong, in your version.

I am assuming that in this world, Muggles are aware of wizards? There were several hints in the writing that led me to believe this -- which I thought worked really well. (Hope I'm not on the wrong track!)

All in all, really good -- I am enjoying this so much. Thank you.



Author's Response: AU is my favorite genre. :) Hermione and McKee? That's a thought I haven't had, but interesting. Oh yes, the muggles are all to aware of the wizards.

You know you're my first ever SPEW reviewer by the way :) :)

Reviewer: Oz314
Date: 11/24/05 14:07
Chapter: Dead or Alive

Once again, great chapter. I'm very interested to see how the whole Dumbledore-AberforthReaper-George-FredReaper thing turns out. I would love to say some more stuff in this review, but I feel that I would just be restating everything that's already been said.

Author's Response: Hello Oz, thanks for dropping a line. I'm always glad to hear from you. :) Knowing that your still reading and enjoying the fic, means a lot. Thanks again!

Reviewer: Harriet Evans
Date: 11/22/05 11:48
Chapter: A Rebel at Heart

Apologies in advance, for this will not be a SPEW-worthy review, but I just had to tell you how much I am enjoying this!

The first chapter was powerful and intriguing, but something in this chapter really grabbed me. I could relate to how poor Lily must feel -- so many tragedies! The whole thing has great pace and is very well written. I am not usually drawn to read AU fics, and I really don't know why because, when I do, I usually find out that I like them more than enything else! And apart from anything else, I was delighted to find that this fic has Sirius in it, (and he is exactly right!) so you have now found yourself one more dedicated reader!

I will review again - and hopefully next time I will find something more intelligent and sensible to say. In the meantime, thanks for a great read!



Author's Response: Thanks for the kind review. I'm glad the chapter touched you. That means a great deal. Sirius isn't the center of the canvas, but he enjoys strolling across it regularly.

I look forward to hearing from you again! :)

Reviewer: Hormiga
Date: 11/17/05 19:31
Chapter: Dead or Alive

I'll sign it too!

Author's Response: Welcome to the, save Fred club. I hope you enjoy your stay.

Reviewer: Hormiga
Date: 11/17/05 19:28
Chapter: Dead or Alive

I'll sign it too!

Author's Response: :)

Reviewer: bkwrm0502
Date: 11/14/05 22:06
Chapter: Dead or Alive

I'll sign it!

Author's Response: I'll sign too. I love Fred... ;)

Reviewer: Billie Bowtrunckle
Date: 11/14/05 21:59
Chapter: Dead or Alive

OK, for clarification (just so everyone knows I'm not a sadist) - I was laughing because the anger management tree is the perfect antithesis of the Whomping Willow, not because poor damaged Hermione having a fit was hilarious ;)

So in not so many words, you're saying that Fred's body is a complete gonner without a Reaper host (is fanfic a democracy...can I vote him back...maybe start a petition? Anyone else want to sign?!). :)

Author's Response: Not a sadist, got it. And that's a well stated contrast. Hadn't really thought of it that way, opposite of the whomping willow. :)

*cough* I believe I said, that the host could not be saved by killing them and trying to resuscitate them.

*blink* I've said too much already.

Reviewer: Billie Bowtrunckle
Date: 11/14/05 14:36
Chapter: Dead or Alive

OMG, my computer just crashed and I lost everything I just typed. Grrrrrr. Here goes...

Another excellent chapter! Hermione's anger management in the form of a rubbery punching tree is interesting (I chuckled even though it's just sad really). I liked how you're keeping the Reaper host dead-or-alive question open. Wouldn't it be an interesting avenue to explore in Dumbledore's character if he really mercy murdered his brother? I vote for that - bring on the angst! I was wondering though, if the Reaper host really isn't 'dead', then how did the Reaper host die when Sirius killed him in the forest? Were they really dead - can they be resuscitated? Where did that body go? Also, the divination storne was sticky for BOTH Hermione and Harry, which means that they BOTH have Reaper potential! Can that change with age (why didn't Fred get hauled off during previous stone-touching line-ups?)? What I'm really getting at with these annoying questions is that I want to know if Harry or Hermione (or Isobel) could get mysteriously taken away in upcoming years. I can't wait for Isobel to show up at school because I'm interested to see how you protray Harry with a sibling. Also, I think that that you should stick George under James' command once he joins the Rebellion (like I have a say in anything *laughs*). I enjoyed the tangent with Remus and Lily. Although it seems unlikely that you're going to develop a romantic relationship between them (Lily really belongs with James anyway), I always enjoy reading unrequited sappy love stuff...poor Remus *sighs*. Great chapter, I look forward to your next!

Author's Response: I stand in awe of your dedication for taking the time to rewrite your review. Wow!

You chuckled at the tree punching? It was a bit ludicrous, but definitely sad. It's one of those...I'm attached to it.

Albus will get his angst. Actually, there should be plenty of angst to go around.

Sirius's killing: He killed the body charging at him. As we know, the Reaper didn't end. The host-soul isn't really addressed, but I can say unequivocally that once you've killed a Reaper's body, you can't resuscitate the host. The scavengers made a meal of the corpse, and that was that.

Yes, Hermione and Harry are high risk to become Reapers. Why didn't Fred get hauled off sooner? Something changed. Something important. Any child between the age of 11 and 19 is at risk if they're in the geographic hot-zone. There isn't really any such thing as a pure-Wizard, just those with degrees of muggle heritage. Fred would never have felt the least bit of stickiness before the time when he was taken. He was very low risk... Isobel on the other hand is relatively low risk. I can't really say why at the moment. It sort of comes out at the end of term.

Remus and Lily are about to go their separate ways. I've been debating introducing Tonks soon. She wasn't in the outline, but she started waving from a potential side street, and she would give Remus something new to stare at.

George has a long road ahead of him, starting on Moody's doorstep. When Moody is done with him, he will be useful to the rebellion :)

It's always wonderful to hear from you, and double thanks are in order for typing the review twice! :)

Reviewer: Hormiga
Date: 11/13/05 18:48
Chapter: Dead or Alive

Wow soo many reviewers!! jaja but still... once more a fantastic chapter

Author's Response: :)

Reviewer: Hormiga
Date: 11/13/05 18:45
Chapter: Dead or Alive

Wow soo many reviewers!! jaja but still... once more a fantastic chapter

Author's Response: An author can never get too many reviews! *grin* Reviews make an author feel loved, and well lvoed authors feel creative. Creative writers write :)

Reviewer: bkwrm0502
Date: 11/13/05 11:39
Chapter: Dead or Alive

C here. My wonderful boyfriend over there is one to talk... he's always complaining about the lack of updating in forums, so I don't see why he complains. Anyway, interesting chapter. The scene with Snape was very interesting... had me thinking he killed the poor woman. He didn't, right? I'm a bit disappointed that we hadn't heard anything from Melinda or James and co or Tom, but I'll survive, I suppose. Interesting backstory on Hermione... I loved it. And I like your subtle touch that there is some hope for Fred, since George can still feel him, and the remorse that Dumbledore feels for killing his brother, thinking he was already dead. Curious... was Aberforth the same Reaper Fred turned out to be? I hope George can be of some help to the rebellion. And let me get this point straight.... Oscicia (sp?) is kidnapping all these children with muggle heritages (such as Harry and Isobel) because they have a high potential of becoming Reapers? Interesting point, it if is right. Can't wait to see how Harry and co deal with it. Anyway, good chapter, and I do hope you get over your writer's block soon.

Author's Response: Hello female half of my favorite lovely reviewing couple :)

No, Snape didn't kill her. Though he wouldn't have worried about it if he did.

Melinda, James, and company are in the new chapter though we won't hear from Tom for a bit yet.

Aberforth was Gluto. Congrats on catching my subtle hints to hope for Fred. Your significant other missed that. Be sure to keep him in the loop :) George is going to be a valuable Rebel...

Oscasia, is doing exactly that. *applaudes* I worry that I'm confusing everyone sometimes. Thanks.

The writer's block seems to be under control at the moment. The next chapter is underway anyway.

Thanks for the great review! :) :)

Reviewer: Her My Own EE
Date: 11/13/05 10:27
Chapter: Dead or Alive

Well, maybe your outline didn't allow for Harry & Draco to be friends, but it works well. Reapers' hosts aren't dead?! I should've seen that I guess, but, I am often clueless. I am slightly confused did George get declassified?

Author's Response: I'm glad you approve of the boys' friendship. George did get declassified and dropped to Class II, but he never actually goes. Albus hooked him up with an apprenticeship with Moody to expediate his exit from school. :)

Reviewer: ellidiot
Date: 11/13/05 7:50
Chapter: Dead or Alive

well whatever you say about writers block, i thought this chapter was excellent. Dumbledore and Fred I particularly enjoyed, very poignant. And i like Draco and Harry being friends as well, and background to Hermione's rage. Very good chapter, look forward to more.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I love Dumbledore and Fred. Hermione is a work in progress... :) The boys, Draco and Harry are good for each other, don't you think? Until next chapter!

Reviewer: bkwrm0502
Date: 11/13/05 7:29
Chapter: Dead or Alive

I'd have whined about it taking so long to update, but writer's block is quite understandable. Hate it when that happens. At least you don't have this posted on a forum, where people are yelling at you to update... *shudders* Don't mind me, I'm rambling, lol. Anyway, on with the review. Quite a good chapter, as usual. I enjoyed learning some more Reaper...backstory, I guess we could call it. Aberforth used to be a Reaper? Interesting, very interesting. Which Reaper was he? And Fred, dead? How could you? At least til now I'd been hanging on to the thin shreds of hope for salvation...the twins have always been my favorites. *sighs* Oh well, I suppose I can forgive you. I'm happy that nothing serious happened to Harry and Hermione after the occurence on Christmas. It was interesting to hear some about Hermione's past. She's rather violent, isn't she, lol. I'd make a comment about her needing a man *coughRoncough* to calm her down, but they're slightly too young for that. Remus and Lily have an interesting relationship. I've never really seen Remus as, you know...a mercenary, I suppose, but it's interesting. I wish he would join the Rebellion though, a James Sirius Remus reunion would be nice. Oh well, can't have everything. Now, for my favorite scene the whole chapter...the first one. Snape is great here, completely great, even though not much happened there. Well, we got led into some of the Reaper backstory, which I'm loving too. But Snape is just cool. That boy was no one special, right? Just a Muggle? It's so sad to see how the Muggles live in this society. Ah well. Anyway, to sum it all up, great post, can't wait for another one. I'll let "C" know that you updated. She'll be happy. -J

Author's Response: Hey bkwrm! It's the first half of my loving couple review team extraordinare. *happy dance* Thanks for understanding about the writer's block. It isn't a pleasant thing, but my outline has been revamped to accept Harry and Draco's friendship and I'm hoping that will keep me out of trouble for a while.

Yeah, Albus and George have a lot in common really. Aberforth was another incarnation of Gluto, though I don't think that will ever come out in the text. As for clipping the strands of your hope for Fred, let me try to restring those delicate strands. Albus thought his brother was dead, but he has a hard time arguing with George's certainty that his brother is alive. I love the twin s too. Torturing the ones I love is a lifestyle, killing them is harder.

Hermione is a damaged little girl with a lot of pent up anger. Her fists of doom are a defense mechanism. Honestly I don't see her issues coming to full resolution within the scope of this fic. She could spend ten years in therapy and still have serious issues. This chapter scrapes the surface of the things that happened to her and her family. Just for instance, her cousin Stephanie, the rat, is still a rat with no prospects for being changed back into a girl. I think Ron is already doing a fair job calming the girl down. *smile*

Remus is still important. He's heading away from Lily where he will follow his fortune to some interesting people and information. Will it lead him back to the rebellion? *smile* He needs to go stare at a girl that isn't married for a while, all right?

Snape was your favorite scene? *huge grin* You pulled exactly what I was trying to portray out of it. The nameless little boy, the Muggle, is treated like a mule, like a subspecies. He's used this way, not by the EMpire, but by the liberal minded Rebel who think Muggle oppression is wrong. It's a statement on how ingrained these idea are in their society.

It is always wonderful to get such great reviews from you. Until next time. Peace! :)

Reviewer: Padfootandahalph
Date: 11/10/05 17:39
Chapter: I Spy With My Little Eye

WOW! how do u do this. are you secretly jkr or something? your awesome. I do have one question however. If Dumbledore is a second teir governor, does that make him a third teir incharge of the second teir or just a high second teir?

Author's Response: Actually, I'm secretly me, but thanks for the compliment :) Dumbledore is at the pinacle of the second tier, not on the third tier. Technically Snape is higher placed in the society than Albus.

Reviewer: Padfootandahalph
Date: 11/01/05 17:12
Chapter: Orientation

Throughout the sorting i was wondering where you would put NEvil. I agreee with you though. Theres got to be more then meats the eye with him. Definetly a 1 class student. Another excellnt chapter!

Author's Response: I lopve Neville. He's a personal favorite character, way up there with Luna Lovegood. :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES