Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: HarryPotterLover_01 (Signed) · Date: 07/15/07 16:05 · For: One and Only
this was really cute i really like the use of this song in the story it really did tie in well. good job!
Charlene


Name: eViL_EmeRaLd_EyeS (Signed) · Date: 11/13/06 8:36 · For: One and Only
Hi! Its very good but I don't think that Harry would ever call Hermione a mudblood, however angry he was! :(


Name: babyphat (Signed) · Date: 09/23/06 17:53 · For: One and Only
so sweet, so much joy, so many feelings.


Name: Amanda_Potter (Signed) · Date: 09/07/06 17:10 · For: One and Only
awwwwwwwwwww so sweet but too cheasy


Name: stareyed_in_LA (Signed) · Date: 07/23/06 12:35 · For: One and Only
I just loved this fic. Tale as Old as Time is my all time favorite song from Beauty and the Beast. You captured it beautifully.


Name: happilyhufflepuff (Signed) · Date: 07/17/06 20:11 · For: One and Only
my shcool did a school play on beauty and the beast and that is my favorite song! this story was so beautiful!


Name: true88communist (Signed) · Date: 04/25/06 20:41 · For: One and Only
I bloody love that song all the Disney songs..:sigh:
I loved your story it gave me hope .
ciao


Name: Lilypudding (Signed) · Date: 04/23/06 20:52 · For: One and Only
I'm really sorry for the repeat review, I can't get it to delete! Also, the tags didn't come out, but they're the little carrot thingie i little carrot thingie and to end the italics, little carrot thingie slash i little carrot thingie. (I'm sorry if that doesn't help, when I say little carrot thingie I mean this: < and >)


Name: Lilypudding (Signed) · Date: 04/23/06 20:49 · For: One and Only
I really liked this story. I'm a huge sucker of Broadway musicals, and always freak out when I see songfics based on Broadway musical songs. This story did not dissapoint me, either. I have a few things, though, that you may want to correct.



First and foremost, I want to ask you if you've ever read a songfic before. If you have, you will notice the song lyrics are in italics or are otherwise distinguished from the rest of the story. In case you are unsure, you put words in italics by surrounding them with the tags {} and {} only, without the brackets (I was afraid if I didn't bracket the tags, the review would become italicized.) Second of all, I don't get how the term "Beauty and the beast" refers to Harry and Ginny. While Harry isn't the nicest person at the time of his life, he's certainly no beast. Also, don't the song lyrics refer to physical characteristics? I understand where you are coming from, and know the song lyrics can be taken different ways, but I think some disscussion on how you can interpret the song lyrics is very important here.



Secondly, I think that the ending of the story is too cliche and storybook. You have a great romance story, and a great fic before it, but you end it in such a rushed way. I write one-shots a lot, and I understand the trouble of getting an entire story into one chapter which you don't want to be really long. However, you gave the fic a storybook ending that made it seem like you didn't care very much. Think about the ending of the musical (or even the Disney movie) Beauty and the Beast. Now, I haven't seen either in a while, but I do remember the ending wasn't very happy. Sometimes the best stories to read don't have happy endings. While it is hard to add such a low note such as Harry dying, Voldemort winning or something opposite of the ending you put to a story that can be viewed as cute, fluffy and romantic, your story isn't as fluffy as it seems. The too-happy ending makes the story seem almost fake. Harry and Ginny's romance really isn't a very happy one at all, and it's important that you adknowledge that.



Other than those few things, I really liked this story. Even if you don't edit your story, I think its important you remember those things for future stories. While I don't expect a sequel to this story, I'm looking foward to reading more stories, especially Broadway songfics, by you in the present.


Name: Lilypudding (Signed) · Date: 04/23/06 20:47 · For: One and Only
I really liked this story. I'm a huge sucker of Broadway musicals, and always freak out when I see songfics based on Broadway musical songs. This story did not dissapoint me, either. I have a few things, though, that you may want to correct.



First and foremost, I want to ask you if you've ever read a songfic before. If you have, you will notice the song lyrics are in italics or are otherwise distinguished from the rest of the story. In case you are unsure, you put words in italics by surrounding them with the tags {} and {} only, without the brackets (I was afraid if I didn't bracket the tags, the review would become italicized.) Second of all, I don't get how the term "Beauty and the beast" refers to Harry and Ginny. While Harry isn't the nicest person at the time of his life, he's certainly no beast. Also, don't the song lyrics refer to physical characteristics? I understand where you are coming from, and know the song lyrics can be taken different ways, but I think some disscussion on how you can interpret the song lyrics is very important here.



Secondly, I think that the ending of the story is too cliche and storybook. You have a great romance story, and a great fic before it, but you end it in such a rushed way. I write one-shots a lot, and I understand the trouble of getting an entire story into one chapter which you don't want to be really long. However, you gave the fic a storybook ending that made it seem like you didn't care very much. Think about the ending of the musical (or even the Disney movie) Beauty and the Beast. Now, I haven't seen either in a while, but I do remember the ending wasn't very happy. Sometimes the best stories to read don't have happy endings. While it is hard to add such a low note such as Harry dying, Voldemort winning or something opposite of the ending you put to a story that can be viewed as cute, fluffy and romantic, your story isn't as fluffy as it seems. The too-happy ending makes the story seem almost fake. Harry and Ginny's romance really isn't a very happy one at all, and it's important that you adknowledge that.



Other than those few things, I really liked this story. Even if you don't edit your story, I think its important you remember those things for future stories. While I don't expect a sequel to this story, I'm looking foward to reading more stories, especially Broadway songfics, by you in the present.


Name: Miss Auora (Signed) · Date: 08/29/05 14:54 · For: One and Only
Hey this is really cool, short'n'sweet! Like the song being mixed in!


Name: Manda90210 (Signed) · Date: 06/01/05 16:29 · For: One and Only
**'Tale As Old As Time'


Name: Manda90210 (Signed) · Date: 06/01/05 16:28 · For: One and Only
That was really good! I don't usually like those kinds of stories but I liked that one. I just have one small thing that has been kinda bugging me a little. In your summary you say the song is called 'Take As Old As Time"...I'm pretty positive (and by that I mean 100%) that the song is really called...well 'Beauty and the Beast'.


Name: DragonGirl (Signed) · Date: 05/08/05 15:07 · For: One and Only
I love stories with songs mixed in them! And your story is one of the best I've read!


Name: Hermione_is_the_best_character (Signed) · Date: 03/23/05 0:44 · For: One and Only
OH my gosh! that was one of the best fan-fics I have ever read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now I am inspired to write one!


Name: Flame girl (Anonymous) · Date: 02/16/05 15:12 · For: One and Only
Does it have to be a one shot? you could go so much furthur with this story and expand that last paragraph into many more chapters. I loved it but please write more.


Name: Catana Snape (Signed) · Date: 01/13/05 18:15 · For: One and Only
I have saidit once amd will say it again, you should realy consiter writing books.


Name: MoonysMistress (Signed) · Date: 11/24/04 20:24 · For: One and Only
Oh my gosh. I was seriously about to CRY reading that. I always get all sappy during that song, though... I don't understand why people say it needs to be expanded. I think it's perfectly fine the way it is. Beautiful!


Name: cloud9 (Signed) · Date: 11/22/04 21:06 · For: One and Only
that was soo sweet. please write more.


Name: LATMC (Signed) · Date: 11/17/04 20:26 · For: One and Only
That was so BEAUTIFUL!! You have to write more!!!


You must login (register) to review.