Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For I Dementor

Name: Samuri Rose (Signed) · Date: 02/14/06 12:07 · For: I Dementor
I absolutely HATE poetry. Apart from this cos it is AMAZING! 10/10


Name: kool kat (Signed) · Date: 08/25/05 18:21 · For: I Dementor
Very good. It was rather touhing, I loved that last part about the kiss. It was also rather sad, how they are so bitter. Very, very good.


Name: Ella Norman (Signed) · Date: 07/13/05 9:02 · For: I Dementor
Very, very good. I'm really pleased with your use of language, grammar, and the fact that poetry doesn't have to meet the length requirements. Excellent!


Name: Thestral45 (Signed) · Date: 06/23/05 15:50 · For: I Dementor
Oh, I feel so sorry for the dementors! You've made me look at them in a whole different light...| Ok, this is for the contest (I'm a judge). It was done creatively and with feeling, and I like that in an author. I couldn't find any typos or grammar mistakes in there (though I could be wrong, I do that sometimes). All I have to say is: Good job. :)


Name: Louisa Chocolatecake (Signed) · Date: 06/23/05 13:44 · For: I Dementor
Very well done! I actually found myself thinking, "Poor Dementors..." I like the end, "looking for one to bestow a kiss on me"


Name: Orlaith (Signed) · Date: 06/19/05 13:51 · For: I Dementor
Brilliant. The stark and seemingly bluntness that fare so jaggedly but so damningly beautiful throughout, really drew me into this. I rather liked this take on Dementors. The dark nature just echoes so perfectly from start to finish. Again I'm at a loss looking for punctuation, though it is undoubtedly well structured. This one has a set amount of lines in each stanza, a hidden depth to its words, though, the poem talks of emptiness, we're looking at the unexplored depths of dementor personality - fabulous!


Name: CCCC (Signed) · Date: 06/07/05 13:00 · For: I Dementor
hee hee, I knew it wasn't the centaur epic one, but I thought I'd put that bit in anyway :p. As for the contest entry, since you can submit multiple entries, why don't you submit it anyway, it is very good, and I think you could sneak it in in the "Life Story of a minor HP character" theme, dementors aren't major characters are they? My advice is to submit both, if they are both of this quality then they should be high up the rankings.

Author's Response: Oh ok. See problems with internet talking, had me a bit confused there. But i'll take you advice and submitt it also. Thanks again.


Name: CCCC (Signed) · Date: 06/06/05 4:25 · For: I Dementor
Ah, here we are, well it's definitely an original "Centaur epic poem" ;) Ok, fun over, to business, or is this a hobby, whichever on to the review. Oh dear, this is one of those good fics that are difficult to review well isn't it. *sighs* Great, thanks. Ah well, I'll try anyway. This is an extremely good poem. There is some excellent imagery, and the thoughts and speculation are superbly intruiging. My main compaint would be a punctuational one. Their needs to be a bit more of it. Sadly poetry writing does not mean that you can just throw out the grammar rulebook. THe rhythm is easy to pick up so you don't need a plethora of commas all over the place, but you do need some full stops to break it up a bit, and also to capitalise correctly, you don't need to capitalise the first letter of every line, only when you actually end a sentance. Otherwise annoyingly good. Well Done.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review, i love reviews. Just one little note, this poem isn't my entry for the contest, nor is it the Centaur Epic poem, that one hasn't been accepted yet. Thanks though again for the review.


Name: Voldemort rocks (Signed) · Date: 06/01/05 9:13 · For: I Dementor
Good Poem!


Name: spilled ink (Signed) · Date: 05/29/05 14:23 · For: I Dementor
This was a great poem!! You really got the essence of the dementor without really explaining its looks. Keep up the good work!


Name: d3pr3ss3dNhappy (Signed) · Date: 05/28/05 12:30 · For: I Dementor
Ooh, this poem was good. I think you accurately captured what a dementor is. Dead in life. The part that stuck out to me most was "falsely given life". I think it really does sum up what a dementor is, a specter floating through the world and striving to find life. Great job!


Name: Rita Writer (Signed) · Date: 05/27/05 23:01 · For: I Dementor
The thing I liked about this was that it wasn't just pointless description, but metaphors and feelings. My first thought was going to be a description of the dementor, but it was not. "Floating through cages," meant the most to me, though I can't really phrase why. Only with a dementor could that make since in my mind. " A kiss for release" was wonderful for a dementor. 'Release' gives you the feeling that it desires to kiss someone, and for no reason. I think the fact that it was written in first person is what made this the most interesting. It still is emotionless, but describing itself. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you. I got randomly inspired to write it one day and so it was born. I'm very glad you enjoyed it.


You must login (register) to review.