Reviewer: Albus Chaira
Date: 07/27/05 9:33
Chapter: Ch 1: THE UGLY, UGLY DUCKLING

I'm from Spain and I think my English is not good enough to express how much I've enjoyed it. Althoug I can hardly find the words in Spanish either. You have a very brilliant writing and your story is very coherent with the magic universe of J.K.Rowling. I had read on Sunday untill chapter 12 and I didnīt expect you to add 2 more chapters so soon. I'm looking forward for more. Thank you very much. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Oh, I think your English is just perfect...especially the compliments! Mucho Gracias!

Reviewer: sweet7anonymous
Date: 07/26/05 22:20
Chapter: Ch 14: DINNER AND A DATE

awww... that was so sweet. I can't wait to read the next chapter.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you!

Reviewer: sweet7anonymous
Date: 07/26/05 22:11
Chapter: Ch 13: SUBTLE, AND NOT SO

**giggles** dobby and susu. I truly loved this chapter. I would leave a longer review but I'm off to read the next chapter. Excellent chapter by the way.

Author's Response: Wouldn't ya love to see a Susu/Dobby wedding....? That would be too funny.

Reviewer: sweet7anonymous
Date: 07/23/05 19:11
Chapter: Ch 12: STARK REALITY

awesome chapter. wow angry dumbledore, but loved it nonetheless. story makes me happy cuz at least dumbledore is still alive in this version. great job.

Author's Response: Yeah, the girl needed to get knocked down a peg or two for her own good. Albus seemed the best to do it. Harry sure wouldn't. Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: dumblydoor
Date: 07/14/05 7:54
Chapter: Ch 12: STARK REALITY

yeah, im the first to review!!! wow!! i continue to be amazed at how fast your updates are!! GREAT job!! i looooove the name icarus for a messenger bird! 'icky'! haha.....im also glad that jessica is now in the order....i cant wait to see what theyre going to do about the death eaters!!!!! this is an AWESOME story.........keep up the FANTASTIC work!!!!!!! (and quick updates :D) *1_infinity0s/10*

Author's Response: See ya after HBP! As soon as we can submit, I will.

Reviewer: dumblydoor
Date: 07/10/05 10:04
Chapter: Ch. 11: PRACTICAL EXAM

once again, awesome awesome awesome!!!!!!! and you have the fastest updates of any story that i know of!!!!! *fastest updates award* practical exam! good name for the chapter.....i loooove this girl bonding with jess and hermione, they deserve it, and im really glad that harry and jess are getting together.......i just hope they can have a normal date sometime soon! i. hate. malfoy. grrrrrr. this is a really really really BRILLIANT story.....the concept is awesome and the writing is wonderful.......keep up the GREAT work.....hope you update again soon!!!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response: The story is finished...24 chapters. I am posting here as soon as validated, so it's not like you have to wait for me to think up new things. I will present it as soon as my poor overworked moderator can approve it. Of course, I will be taking a few days off to read HBP!!! Can hardly wait!

Reviewer: sweet7anonymous
Date: 07/09/05 18:14
Chapter: Ch. 11: PRACTICAL EXAM

Awesome chapter! I can't wait for the next one.

Author's Response: Well, Sweet, the next chapter changes the trend a bit. There will be more romance and humor coming up, but the general trend is going to be darker with more threats. Hope you continue reading. I will post ASAP except for July 16-19, because I will be reading!!!! Thank you for hanging in with me. I really appreciate you!

Reviewer: sweet7anonymous
Date: 07/09/05 18:08
Chapter: Ch 10: PORTABLE PROFESSORS

lol. Excellent chapter from start to finish. I love the interaction between snape and Jessica. I can't wait to read the next chapter.

Author's Response: This must be the "shower and shampoo" part. LOL!! She is NOT scared of him. Good thing she met him as an adult. He will never intimidate her!

Reviewer: sweet7anonymous
Date: 07/09/05 18:00
Chapter: Ch 9 CRAM SESSIONS

excellent chapter. Kind of sad that Ginny died. I can't to read the next chapter.

Author's Response: Oh, I wish they let us know what chapter the review was for!!! Ginny's death will be touched on again later. Poor Ron...poor Molly.....poor Ginny...*sigh*

Reviewer: dumblydoor
Date: 07/07/05 6:22
Chapter: Ch 10: PORTABLE PROFESSORS

YEAH IM THE FIRST TO REVIEW!!!!!!! but i am really getting sick of these log in problems!!!!!!!!! anyway. this chapter was FANTASTIC! its awesome that she got a room of requirement instead of having to convert her entire house into a school.....oh and what she said to snape about the shower and shampoo!! haha, that was hilarious! it was very creative about her having faerie (sp???? ahh!) blood, and also very convenient for her lessons.....you are going about exactly the right way of writing this.......sometimes when authors describe training, it gets extremely boring, but i think that this was one of the best chapters yet!!! especially how she showed up malfoy.......somehow i doubt that thats the last well see of him.....hopefully he'll end up in jail! oh and im SO GLAD that harry and jess are going out!!!!!!!! yay!!!!!!!!!! anyway, basically, i absolutely LOVED everything about this chapter........keep up the BRILLIANT work and thanks for yet another quick update!!!!!!!! *highest number you can think of/10*

Author's Response: LOL, thanks for fighting the Log-out Monster once again! Lot's more Draco/Lucius/Snape and other nasties coming up. Things start turning 'dark' at Ch 12. Be prepared...this is not going to be a light-hearted romance. This is going to be WAR!

Reviewer: loligo8me
Date: 07/06/05 21:59
Chapter: Ch 9 CRAM SESSIONS

wow, just finished reading it all. It started off really well. Really like your writing and I could not stop reading. But I found it kinda MS when she started learning everything so quickly and... she's pretty, she already knows how to apparate, she can fly, she's powerful, she has a bit of all kind of blood, she can already perform a patronus, she's friends with the trio, she's rich, smart, kind, graceful and Harry likes her. I'm sorry, it seems as if I didn't enjoy it, but I really did. And I will keep on reading it because it's still very interesting and beautifully written! Original setting and really good knowledge of canon... I just wish she wasn't so darn perfect! lol :)

Author's Response: Well, yeah...pretty/rich/powerful, but surely not perfect. Remember, Ron taught her how to apparate; she can't fly and is pretty bad on a broom; Harry had some difficulty teaching her 'Patronus'; and she is going to learn some very hard lessons coming up. Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Laudomia
Date: 07/06/05 21:54
Chapter: Ch 7: HOME AT LAST

Interesting how Jessica's magic develops. The real estate agent was a stitch. (What an awful faux pas to show a house to the daughter of the victims! )Still, looks like Jessica has found her home. I hadn't realized how much she had in common with Harry before. Very touching chapter.

Author's Response: Glad you liked Phoebe...actually patterned on a real R/E woman...except for the clothes! She does have a lot in common with Harry and you'll see that she has a lot in common with Hermione when they start some serious conversations. Thanks for reading Laudomis. You know how I appreciate it.

Reviewer: dumblydoor
Date: 07/06/05 8:06
Chapter: Ch 9 CRAM SESSIONS

hey, im still loving it!!!!!!! ooooo, i rreeaaalllyyy hope that jess and harry get together!! was harry with anyone before this?? its kinda sad that ginny died....:-( ohwell. i love this anyway! dont worry about skimming over the training....i thought it was perfect the way you wrote it!!! wonderful job.....as always ;-) keep up the great work.....and thanks SOOOOO much for your always quick updates!!!!!!!!! hey im still reading!!!

Author's Response: Yeah, they do eventually get together but not without problems. This is NOT a romance fic though. I try to keep a balance of comedy/romance/fights/terrror, so there is a little something for everyone. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Hormiga
Date: 07/06/05 0:10
Chapter: Ch 9 CRAM SESSIONS

hey! Im still reading! hahahahahahahaha jk I loved da training... a bit longer would have been gr8 but its still very good

Author's Response: Thanks for that, Hormiga! I appreciate your comments!

Reviewer: dumblydoor
Date: 07/02/05 13:23
Chapter: Ch 8: CLOSE ENCOUNTERS

yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!!!!!!! update!!!!! i REALLY hope harry succeeds in putting the malfoys in jail.......grr!! hate them!! sorry. anyway, this was wonderful!! esp. susu!! and im soo glad that hermione succeeded w/ spew....and im also glad that we got to see more of harry...........all in all GREAT chapter!!!! thanks for the awesome quick updates!!!!!!!

Author's Response: Sorry next chapter is so late. I submitted, but my favorite Mod must be on vacation...it is still in queue. Thank your for your kind words and hanging in there with me!!!

Reviewer: Magical Maeve
Date: 06/29/05 8:19
Chapter: Ch 6: DINNER AND NO DATE

I loved the little comment about Hermione almost putting her hand in the air...it's little things like that that make this fic so entertaining. So I got my answer about Hermione...and it's Ron. I'm not a rampant shipper but I'm quite pleased about that! And Harry's become a hunk...well that should prove interesting for Jessica. liked their jobs... thought they were all very well done and I wonder how long she will stay at the Leaky Cauldron?

Author's Response: I was afraid that I made Harry a little too 'Percyish', but I guess it worked out. All traces of this is now over and done with. Hunk from here on out! Thank you so very much for the reviews! I will now fight 'log-outs' and go edit. I am delighted that you are enjoying!

Reviewer: Magical Maeve
Date: 06/29/05 8:14
Chapter: Ch 5: DINNER WITH DUMBLEDORE

Again, so much to enjoy, from her thoughts about plastic surgery and some faked accident to your little snippets about Anglo/American differences This character just gets better and better. Loved the history, can't wait to see what happens when she meets the other two in the trio. I wonder who Hermione is engaged to? Harry or Ron? Hmmmm... and will Jessica enter into a relationship with the other one. One canon thing, Gringotts doesn't have an apostrophe.

Author's Response: I read a lot of 'Brit-picking' forums before I wrote, and it's amazing some of the differences! I really worked had to keep it Brit, but have the American learn it with us.

Reviewer: Magical Maeve
Date: 06/29/05 8:04
Chapter: Ch 4: THE WAND

I've only just realised how well paced this is. It's fairly zipping along and as a reader it feels like we are taking this mad helter-skelter journey with Jessica. So she's part Fae... this will be interesting because Jo seems to take a view that fairies are very pretty, vacuous creatures. I am very interested to see your take on them. I thought it was clever the way you brought Jo's view in with the comment about garden fairies as opposed to their more regal and powerful relatives. You're adding layers to Jessica's character and keeping her well away from Mary-Suedom. The scene with Ollivander was great, although I'd never really though of his shop as sinister before I suppose Jessica would see it that way. You had a typo in there, a refused had beome fused. I'm still really enjoying this, well done.

Author's Response: Actually I have been accused of 'rushing' the story, but I do enjoy a fast pace. I don't use much filler. I originally set out to write only 7 chapters on her returning home and it only covers three days. But there were so many plot bunnies hopping through those days that I had to continue. Thanks for the heads up on the missing re!

Reviewer: Magical Maeve
Date: 06/29/05 7:54
Chapter: Ch 3: A WHOLE NEW WORLD

Hee hee... Lord Malfoy! How very Lucius of him. :-) At first I wavered with Hermione over wether she was IC or not and then fell on the side of yes. This is an older Hermione and I think the fact that she was the one to give Jessica the history lesson and be so practical in the clothes shop made up for any initial reservations I may have had. I think your note about the challenge was interesting. It just goes to show -- and this is something that I bang on about a LOT -- that Mary Sues happen in the writing not in their inherent characteristics. Sure Jessica looks like a Mary Sue... but she clearly isn't one. Her delight at being like her mother is genuine and her reactions are great. She may be beautiful now, but I wonder how she will deal with that. The fact that she still walks with a downcast face suggests that she's dealing with it in a non Mary-Sue way.

Just one editing nitpick. I would lose one of the slowlys in your opening lines. It's a repetition that you could do without. (I am the repetition nazi, just as the authors I beta for!)

Author's Response: Yup, I just can not picture Hermione at any age saying, "Oh, isn't this cute!" LOL Yes she would make a thorough study of the science of shopping. There will be some 'childish' reactions from her coming up, but they will be explained. Thanks for catching that editing error!! I don't know how the extra word sneaked in.

Reviewer: Magical Maeve
Date: 06/29/05 7:42
Chapter: Ch 2: REVELATIONS AND RESTORATIONS

So many nice touches in this chapter, from Fudge's dislike of having to deal with women to Jessica's rather noisy way of crying. Jessica is really starting to grow on me in a big way. I love her general benusedness, her angry bewilderment and the fact that she nearly wet her pants when she saw Dumbledore. And Dumbledore, well someone once said to me in a review that people either can do Dumbledore or they can't and you, well you can do Dumbledore so well it's like he stepped out of canon.

Author's Response: I really do try for canon. Even if some of the characteristics are from the actors! I can actually hear Fudge talking, and see Dumbledore walk in the room. Glad I managed to let you see it too! And poor girl!!! What a day she's having!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
The Other Prophecy by IWriteToSurvive 3rd-5th Years
Hermione Granger is in a dilemma. A dilemma she never thought could happen...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES