Reviewer: Tagidi Riva
Date: 09/25/07 10:53
Chapter: Chapter 15 - And Back to Back, They Shall Face Each Other

Most people know where to butter their bread. I shall extoll the virtues of one of my favorite stories. I am enamored with this story and wait for its updates as patiently as possible. You shall get no stoning from me, just a wish to see more of those scenes. It was so well written and stirring. I can't wait untill the next update.

Reviewer: ladybyrd
Date: 09/25/07 4:19
Chapter: Chapter 15 - And Back to Back, They Shall Face Each Other

A translation! :D

Reviewer: Her My Own EE
Date: 09/24/07 19:19
Chapter: Chapter 15 - And Back to Back, They Shall Face Each Other

This chapter reminded me of my husband & myself. Even after several years of marriage, I'm still surprized how a mundane kiss hello leads to, well, a total lack of awareness for anything but my husband. I'm fully aware of how innocent actions can lead to VERY frustrating diversions. Hermione & Oliver probably would have been better off just completing the deed just then. Oh course, Hermione might've just pulled back completely from some undeserved negative emotion. How about those Malfoys & other dark wizards? :P

Reviewer: Buki
Date: 09/24/07 16:49
Chapter: Chapter 15 - And Back to Back, They Shall Face Each Other

Your writing is eloquent and engaging. I love the way you have mixed a perfectly intoxicating relationship between Oliver and Hermoine with an intruiging return of the Dark Lord plot. Please oh please continue to update regularly!

Reviewer: claymor
Date: 09/24/07 12:01
Chapter: Chapter 15 - And Back to Back, They Shall Face Each Other

I have been enjoying this story a great deal. I found you as one of Annie's favorite authors and I can certainly see why. It is hard for me to wait for the next chapters. I tend to read a story only if it is marked as completed. I am grateful that you have a fan in Annie. I look forward impatiently for the next chap. Ruth

Author's Response: I'm very flattered. Both by Annie's recommendation, and your reading something you normally wouldn't get into :-)

Thank you so much for reviewing, and I shall keep updating regularly, I promise!

Reviewer: goGinny_84
Date: 09/23/07 23:42
Chapter: Chapter 15 - And Back to Back, They Shall Face Each Other

Wonderful! I love the slang, by the way. This chapter was up in time for my birthday- let me just say that it's the best birthday present I could hope for from MNFF. I would have liked a tad more description on the cottage, (what the bedroom looked like, for example) but on the whole this is one of the best chapters of the story. I was really excited after Hermione read from the book the first time, because I figured out that it had something to do with muggle-born blood. So, the forshadowing was really well done. Great job!

Author's Response: Well, happy birthday hon! I'm glad I timed it so perfectly :-) More description of the cottage? I have to admit, that was one of the things that got cut in the interests of making the 10,000 word limit here. I know, I love to visualize places too, but I appreciate the comment, and I'll definitely keep it in mind in the future! Thank you :-)

Reviewer: Norcalkiwi
Date: 09/23/07 22:44
Chapter: Chapter 15 - And Back to Back, They Shall Face Each Other

Love it, you write perfectly and I so enjoy reading it. As for being stoned... maybe just a pebble lol Can't wait for the next installment!

Author's Response: *grins* Thank you so much!

Reviewer: yipeyaya
Date: 09/14/07 18:28
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Temperance and Forgiveness

oooh its sooo lovely..
i want an oliver of my own xD!
whatever... keep writing =) you're amazing!

Reviewer: yipeyaya
Date: 09/14/07 18:28
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Temperance and Forgiveness

oooh its sooo lovely..
i want an oliver of my own xD!
whatever... keep writing =) you're amazing!

Reviewer: yipeyaya
Date: 09/14/07 18:28
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Temperance and Forgiveness

oooh its sooo lovely..
i want an oliver of my own xD!
whatever... keep writing =) you're amazing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

Reviewer: Starmaiden
Date: 09/13/07 13:13
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Temperance and Forgiveness

I should be used to you not taking up the new chapter right where the last one ended, but I must admit that I blew quite the exasperated sigh upon reading this opening paragraph!

Poor Professor McGonagall! How utterly embarrassing to be having to discuss this with Hermione Wood.
“While I will be the first to agree that, er, romance between yourself and Mr. Wood is of course to be welcomed, this is, most definitely, not the place for it…

*dies laughing* It is, however, excellently true to canon. Minerva McGonagall will do her duty or die trying (no matter how mortifying the whole thing is).

I love the relationship you’ve built between Hermione and Oliver. I love how they don’t really know each other in canon, yet you’ve started something that promises to be amazing. Is amazing. The excellent slow build up, the tentative friendship, complicated by the marriage aspect – complicated both by the idea of spending a lifetime with someone you barely know and by the possibility that appropriate decorum might not be necessary with that someone – yes. The tension and growing love and awkwardness are just GUH. (This is not good review-speak. It is not properly professional for a SPEWer. But it is necessary.)

What happened after Hermione called Oliver to bed, for instance. GAH. Can you squeeze in any more amazingly romantic tension? (I’ll bet you can, but I’m amazed anyway.) It’s not just the possibly-impending-sex aspect, either.

Moonlight lanced through the cloud cover, dimly illuminating the room in soothing greys and shadows, and the faint cry of a nightingale came in through the open window.
This is such a beautiful sentence. It bathes the following scene is dim, beautiful midnight. And of course, the nightingale later goes quiet.

…now that she was facing it, she could feel her confidence vanish like a summer wind, and no amount of self-recrimination seemed to be able to right things.
And then this. I mean. In the middle of this, Hermione suddenly has a character moment. That kind of thing takes so much effort for me that I really am in awe of how well this fits the entire setting.

I found a mistake! I suppose I shouldn’t be happy about it, but it’s hard – this story’s near-perfect.
For a moment, she almost didn’t breath.
That should be “breathe”.

After ten minutes, Hermione felt a curious whistling in her belly, like air let out of a balloon, as Oliver had begun jumping whole sections of the book; seemingly random choices.
This amused me to no end. I read like crazy and I always read in order, so I’ve got some idea of what this might feel like. And Oliver is studious, if he needs to be, but not a student like Hermione (admittedly, there aren’t many like her). It’s just really cute, how you see them responding to the same situation in such different ways.

I should probably stop putting in so many quotes or my reviews’ll be way longer than your chapters, but I can’t help it sometimes.
Unfortunately for Hermione’s piece of mind, he seemed unable to do so quietly, concentrating on the offending manual with such fierce determination as to almost seem to occupy more space than was normal, which only made it that much more difficult for her to keep her eyes firmly focused on her work.
The tension is back, but it’s so funny – I can picture Hermione trying to stare at her own work and being so distracted by someone else studying really hard next to her. I love it.

Her mood was further forgotten when he lay a familiar brown notebook on the table between them.
I have to admit that I’m not sure what the proper word is, but I think that “lay” isn’t it. “Laid”, probably? (Must go brush up on my grammar skilz.)

The Quidditch scene is amazing. For one, I love Luna’s commentary! You write her so well! For another, the Quidditch works perfectly (I like that you decided to have Harry decide to go for the gracious loss, rather than have Gryffindor do a nice sweep – and you gave Hufflepuff the honours! Very nice), it’s funny, and it segues beautifully right back into the Oliver/Hermione story. Wow. (And on an incredibly nitpicky note, you’re missing the closing quotation mark after Luna’s comment on “lurking Gremlins”.)

Further down, Ron paced warily in front of the goals…
This seems a slightly odd wording to me – “paced” to me suggests feet , which I don’t think Ron is actually using right now. I don’t suppose it’s a wrong usage, though; there aren’t many rules for broomstick grammar.

More nitpickiness: who had arrived the evening before, crowded into the teachers box
You’re missing an apostrophe in “teachers’”.

The Gryffindor fans erupted, as Harry did a flyby, executing several playful barrel rolls…
I think you can take out that first comma. I don’t think it’s wrong, but there’s already a few commas in this sentence. One won’t be missed.

Her words had evoked an instant image of a simple stone cottage, lonely highlands; family. The image came to him so easily, so naturally, he couldn’t question the fact that, on some level, he’d just associated having a home with being back in Scotland, and apparently hadn’t bothered to inform the rest of him.
Hee! The part about ‘not bothering to inform the rest of him’ is adorable (though slightly confusing; I suppose the level hasn’t informed him? I don’t know quite how to say it). It’s very cute, very believably Oliver – he’s so laid-back that it’s easy to understand that he wouldn’t have thought of this. Plus, it involves thinking about their Combined Future, which is a slightly scary idea.

I really enjoy, as I already said, their young friendship.
He would go slow, as slow as she needed, but he was going to go forward, not back, and if backing off slightly this evening was the only way to make her aware of the potential between them, he would find depths of patience hitherto unknown to witch or wizard.
It’s about the sex, certainly, but it also respect and love and dedication. Oliver knows that they have potential for happiness (and other things) together, and he isn’t going to ruin it by taking advantage of her in any way. He’s willing to wait for what he wants. This whole section shows that – I love it!

The pov shift at the end of this scene is well done. I was startled, the first time, but at the same time not startled. The fact that it shifts at all is abrupt, but the way it’s done – just by switching, I think, allowing Hermione to think for a minute so that we know where we are – makes it all quite easy to read.

I was also surprised by the shift to Harry’s pov. He’s Hermione’s best friend, but I wasn’t expecting to get a look from this side. It’s interesting, and fun to see Hogwarts from its most familiar angle again. It threw me a bit to see that the trio still spends all their time together, but at the same time, it pulls the reader back to the old Hogwarts, away from Oliver and the new Mrs. Wood.

Bright patches of repaired stone stood out glaringly against the worn steps of Gryffindor Tower, and Hermione smiled, thinking of the generations of feet it would take to wear it to uniformity again…. Somehow, it was enormously comforting just now to know her stay at this seeming eternal castle would not go without visible evidence for some time to come.
This is nice. It’s different, but it fits with the whole leaving scene. I wouldn’t have used the words “glaringly” and “smiled” in the same sentence, but I can picture how it looks. I like the last sentence, but I’m not sure I understand it – the evidence won’t show for some time, or it will show soon?

I love the ending. It’s so bittersweet. The End. It’s good in that it also wraps up Hogwarts properly; from the war to over-age Seventh Years, Hermione and her friends have finally finished this stage of life – and are free to go on with the next one. Which, for Hermione, means Oliver. Yay!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Never bemoan the amount of quotes in your reviews - I absolutely LOVE getting your insight and opinions on the various turns-of-phrase and moments, and is always a highlight of your reviews :-)

I liked inserting Harry's POV here, and I'm glad you found it to be an effective break between parts. I actually did one other segment from Harry's POV earlier in the story, so I felt it would be nice to revisit someone 'outside' of the immediate action.

As to the last quote, I'm really, really glad you liked it. The last sentence references the fact that Hermione, along with the other older students helped to rebuild Hogwarts, so the 'evidence' of her stay at the castle is the bits of stone that hasn't been worn smooth yet, because it's new - so it will take generations for new students to wear it to uniformity again. Does that help?

Thank you again, hon!

Reviewer: hogwartsduchess
Date: 09/12/07 15:55
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Temperance and Forgiveness

My heart - I wanted to drop a review to tell you how much I love this story (and my influences on it *coughsplittingchapterscough*). You've developed a style of narrative that is very similar to that of the beginning, but that is more polished. Your writing has grown by leaps and bounds, and though there always those spelling/grammar errors that even a four-hour beta session can't seem to catch, you've really vastly grown, and I can't help but want to *hug* you for the improvement.

The style is still the same, but there is a new clarity in recent chapters that I think truly shows how much you've improved. You were wonderful to begin with, and you are more so now. And you shouldn't be surprised at the nominations; I can't think of a single story that deserves it more.

Author's Response: You are the best influence on this story - and your almost always right, despite my reluctance sometimes in changing ;-p

It means a lot to hear from YOU that I've grown, that I've improved, as I know you miss practically nothing, whether my dreaded then/than demon, missing commas, or humour that doesn't quite 'catch'. *hugs*

Reviewer: mock_turtle
Date: 09/10/07 21:38
Chapter: The Twilight of an English Mind

please don't delete this story. I love it. I would be so upset if after all this buildup there was no climax.

Author's Response: I will not delete it, I promise! I shall, hopefully, finish it in the near future. With any luck, I shall try to get a chapter up every two to three weeks from here on in. I know this isn't particularly quick, but it IS much faster than my schedule until recently! *facepalm*

Reviewer: rgfawkes
Date: 09/09/07 22:39
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Temperance and Forgiveness


Ah-Maze-Ing! I loved it. Made me all sniffly and teary-eyed at the last bit though. It was like the end of DH all over again. Just the idea of leaving, it's so sad! :( I loved it though! Can't wait til next chapter. I feel so useless with this review, but I have nothing to critique and it's late and well yeah.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Don't feel usless at all - I love reading your comments and encouragement :-)

Reviewer: roseblack
Date: 09/09/07 19:31
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Temperance and Forgiveness

well haha i've finally caught up! ...or not so good :P i really like this story alot and i must admit you had me worried with your last note as well. I look forward to the next chapter :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much, and I'm sorry for worrying you!

Reviewer: ellie_146
Date: 09/06/07 12:13
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Temperance and Forgiveness

Wow...what can I say? I just found this story on a lazy day off work and read it all in one sitting! And now I'm back at work, frantically checking for updates every hour, in the hope that I'll have a new chappy to enjoy in the evening. Your characterisation is brilliant, I love the way you managed to change certain canon elements we learn of in DH, but still make it entirely plausible, believable and non cheesy!

I especially love the way you have the characters talking the 'slang' of their countries. It's not Americanised at all, which can sometimes detract from the quality of a story, when the characters are British...and the way you 'write' Oliver's accent is absolutely fab!

And not only is it a romance which has us all giggly and girly, but the mystery is so intriguing, and I'm dying of curiosity to see if my theories on vampires, blood sickness and Malfoy are right.

Seriously one of the best fictions I've ever read - what I call 'book quality'! I'm new to this pairing and let me just say you've made me a fan! Loving it! So please put us out of our misery and update soon! :P

Author's Response: I LOVE hearing that I've captured a new reader. It just feels so wonderful to know that despite being so far into the story, and my rather erratic update schedule, my story still manages to interest new people.

Thank you so much for the very detailed and helpfully wonderful review. It's a wonderful feeling finding out not only what mistakes I may have made, but also to hear opinions on the individual story elements themselves. I ended up puting so much research into the respective 'slang' and custom of the countries involved, it's great to hear that it is not only noticeable but welcome. Book quality? I'm speechless. Thank you so much - I can only hope I can do so well when I eventually sit down to write my original piece.

Reviewer: hermioneharry
Date: 09/04/07 21:23
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Temperance and Forgiveness

tee hee hee!

I like the talk Hermione got about Oliver's quarters. I wish she wouldn't be so shy about touching him, but I guess that goes with the territory of getting married to a semi-stranger.

Great work so far, I can't wait unitl the next chapter!

:D

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, I really liked the scene with McGonagall too.

Reviewer: AdrianaGodric
Date: 09/04/07 21:01
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Temperance and Forgiveness

This story is increcible!! I am shaking with anticipation for the next chapter. What a cliffhanger! I can't wait for the next post!

Author's Response: *laughs* I'm ecstatic that you are in so much suspense ;-) Thank you!

Reviewer: Buckbeak rules
Date: 09/04/07 13:30
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Temperance and Forgiveness

I did not cry at the end. nope i would not...
yeah i was balling. That was so cute!!! i loved it and the kiss(es) between Oliver and Hermione were so cute, and the Quidditch scene when she grabs his hand and how he caught her trunk! that was adorable! and not to mention the end with those two left alone while Harry and Ron go off and all of it was wonderful!
i did read right, that we will have 6 more chapters, right? *crosses fingers hopeful*
Can't wait for more!

*BR*

Author's Response: Yay! That is exactly the reaction I was hoping for. Thank you very much!

Yes, most likely there will be six more chapters, but it will be at least five in any case.

Reviewer: chrissy_coo_coo
Date: 09/04/07 0:59
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Temperance and Forgiveness

Wonderful work! Great chappy and can't wait for the next. keepup the good, GREAT work!
-chrissy

Author's Response: Thank you, hon!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
A Story for Charlie by Darkness Enshrouds 3rd-5th Years
A boy. A girl. A budding romance. If only things never got complicated... (Violence...
Scorpius Malfoy and the Salem Witch Trials by Hotrav 3rd-5th Years
The third story in the Scorpius Malfoy and the Sins of the Fathers series. Lucius...
No One Can Ever Know by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
"My word, Severus, that I shall never reveal the best of you?"~Dumbledore to...
FEATURED
My Troubled Tyrant by Belledeg Professors
Keedie Dante has experienced many amazing things during her time at Hogwarts...
His and Hers by Acacia Carter 3rd-5th Years
In a perfect world, Neville and Hannah's wedding would go off without a hitch...
All This Waiting For The Sky To Fall by Dawnie 1st-2nd Years
They found her body - broken, bleeding, face filled with signs of pain and fear...
Sanguini, the Vampire by teh tarik 6th-7th Years
Vampirism is the persistence and the perpetuity of the body, a madness of the...
Lost and Found by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
When Tracey Davis's financial security was a casualty of war, her family is...
CATEGORIES