Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: Insecurity (Signed) · Date: 03/08/06 13:05 · For: Drooble's Best Blowing Gum
*waves enthusiastically at Jan* I'm popping very randomly into the middle of your story because I found what I am looking for. Obviously, this is the first place to look for 'Maeve'. I have every intention of reading this story during the summer after all the compulsory reading alongisde my studies. But, I will say that I do love your writing very very very very much. I've gotten to know Maeve a little from PMoA *cries at the fact that it is now finished* and she is an amazing woman, and your Snape has never ceased to amaze me. You keep him so perfectly IC whilst allowing him love. *sighs* Okay, end of random review. Expect a proper one your way soon.


Name: joanna (Signed) · Date: 03/07/06 14:46 · For: Strange Meetings
So, I'm happy because I can finally write up a review. The previous nights I always got that Avada Kedavra sign whenever I clicked the review link.
I'm so glad that I have finally found the time to read your work and can't read fast enough to satisfy my curiousity.
The storytelling is so natural, it flows so smooth that I haven't even noticed that I'm at Chapter 10. Descriptions were always an issue for me, so I envy you really, because you are so talented at them!
I have noticed some spelling mistakes about where and were in the previous chapters and in this one a missing t at the end and we thought, but they are easy to fix and your choice of words and the quality of your fic doesn't suffer from it at all.
I think the story is just getting more and more interesting and can't wait to find out more about Maeve. I like how Harry changed, subtle chapter by chapter, but he matured and it's really good for him. I think that in HBP it was Snape that influenced him, he taunted him, he was picking at him etc. and somehow Harry realized that he shouldn't rise at every occasion. In your fic it's Maeve who has this cooling effect on Harry, and I think it's very plausible. I think that in the books he was influenced by men too much and that that womenly touch was missing. I'm very glad for Harry to have Maeve at his side.
I think we have now three cliffhangers at the end of Chapter 10 (Firenze's words, the laughter and Severus' concern) and I can barely wait to know what they all mean.
As for Maeve, I think she is a wonderful character, but so is her father (as a character, not as a person). And I now can say that I have seen very well written male OC too. Roderick Rampton was hilarious, I hope I can get a glimpse of him once more.
Back to reading,
sincerly yours, joanna


Name: NoxSomnium (Signed) · Date: 03/02/06 17:37 · For: Afterword
Having read this background on Irish mythology and seeing how much you like it, if you haven't, you should read Stephen R. Lawhead's "Song of Albion" trilogy. It has some strong Irish myth base.


Name: crazyhpgirl (Signed) · Date: 02/23/06 18:13 · For: Drooble's Best Blowing Gum
Who knew that bubble gum could be so good for you? Very clever.


Name: MithrilQuill (Signed) · Date: 02/23/06 17:45 · For: Divided Loyalties
Ahhh...loving it, I really just can't stop untill this is finished, but I thought I'd take a little break to let you know I absolutely love the way you portrayed Percy...=)


Name: crazyhpgirl (Signed) · Date: 02/23/06 12:38 · For: Remus Removed
NOOOOOOOOOOO! Why did Lupin have to die? It's a good story, but it is also very sad.


Name: MithrilQuill (Signed) · Date: 02/23/06 12:33 · For: Doubts and Devotion
lol...I was wondering about the cardigan, but that thought never crossed my mind...another thing I loved was the part where Albus searches for his Shrerbert Lemons...there must be something in those...=)


Name: MithrilQuill (Signed) · Date: 02/23/06 10:31 · For: Flight.
*very aware that review will not be as in-depth as the others*, but I can never say much when I read something this well-done, I mean where does one begin. I will say though, not being a fan of detailed description in fanfics, that you really do it well. But then again I feel like I'm reading a novel again...*sighs, it's been too long*...anyways I'll just tell you my fav line:

"Although now she was beginning to feel the first flickering of new life she suddenly realised death at the hands of Voldemort wouldn’t be very convenient. In fact, it would be downright annoying."

Annoying indeed, I just had to copy that as soon as I read it so i could put it in the review...*goes off to next chappie*...=)


Name: the nutty imp (Signed) · Date: 02/12/06 2:45 · For: A Discordant Note
*stares warily at the nitpickers below* The horrors *giggle* of being placed under SPEW scrutiny. *lol* Guess it's a good thing that they only picked on little typos or word suggestion *lol* because otherwise there's nothing more to pick on. The descriptions are amazing, I was too engrossed in it that I hardly notice anything.

I like the smart-alecky exchange between Snape and Remus. You mangaed to do this and still maintain that they're mature adults. :)



Name: Rob Matthews (Signed) · Date: 02/04/06 7:45 · For: A Stormy Passage
Some very fascinating stuff! You've got an excellent way with words, m'dear, your description is dazzling, and that would be an understatement. I enjoyed your first two chapters, and your grasp on Maeve is evident. Not many people can pull off the Metamorphmagus bit and still manage to stay far, FAR way from Mary-Sue-ville. She's a fascinating character. Your grammar is superb, the only mistakes I spotted were a couple of typos, nothing major. Your fingers must have slipped a couple of times with quotations, there are some occasional spaces there. Lastly, as great as your description is, I find it gets a wee bit tedious. While the development is certainly there, I'm an action buff, and I think it's time to get the action into high-gear. The stage is set, let's get this party started! Anywho, your fiction is excellent. I'm nit-picking with those little points there. Great job!


Name: occlumens (Signed) · Date: 12/29/05 21:32 · For: Epilogue II
I'll be honest and say that I usually can't stand to read anything AU, and certainly not anything with an OC that has quite so much spotlight as Maeve does. However... I like her, and I have a soft spot for Snape that I don't quite understand. But in any case, what I'm getting at is This is one of my favorite fics. Your characterization is brilliant and Maeve is so perfect for Snape that she helps a great deal to be able to stick to the Snape-is-not-evil position. He just can't be, can he? The apology between Harry and Snape was just so perfect. It makes me sad, thinking of what's coming... Anyway, wonderful story.


Name: Cinderella Angelina (Signed) · Date: 12/14/05 18:19 · For: Doubts and Devotion
Sorry, I noticed a small joke and couldn't help but tell you I appreciate it--little things like this, on top of the writing style, the vocabulary, the sentence structure, etc etc and so forth, make this story a joy to (re)read. Anyway, to tell you what I noticed--Maeve's pink cardigan. The house-elves wouldn't touch it--I wonder why?! Thank you, that made my day to notice that. Have a nice day! *D*


Name: Wiccan (Signed) · Date: 11/30/05 23:51 · For: Afterword
Thank you so much for that background information. Although you described everything well enough that it all made perfect sense, the additional 'facts' made it even more interesting. Wonderful story...great creativity!


Name: LadyAlesha (Signed) · Date: 11/17/05 10:00 · For: Epilogue III

So this is it, right? It really is a shame that such a brilliant story has to end, but at least there is a sequel to it, which will more than likely keep me occupied for quite a long time, considering my rather hectic life at the moment.

The grande finale in Abbeylara was thrilling. I nearly forgot the two healers you introduced into your story in one of the earlier chapters, but bringing them back for those scenes in St. Mungos showed again how every little detail you write has a place in your story and a role to play before the end. I'm so glad Arthur is well again. I was frightened for him when some of the other sleepers died because of previous injuries.

Then there's Roderick. He's still an enigma to me but I can't make myself not like him. I had tears in my eyes when Maeve thought he had died. It was a really brave thing to do to 'sacrifice' himself to get the vapour and I admire him for that. I'm so glad you brought him back in the epilogue, I hope we'll see him again in the sequel.

One thing I didn't like all that much was how easy it was for Roderick to persuade Lucius and Bellatrix to do what he wanted them to do. Especially Lucius seemed too readily persuaded. I always imagined those two to hardly trust anyone and to never go with anyone else's plans before they haven't done their own planning and plotting. It works for your fic but generally speaking I think of them as steadfaster to their own plans.

On to the epilogue. The wedding was hilarious and made for a nice, lighthearted finish after the story had gotten darker as it went on. Maeve and Hermione's dresses were hilarious and I especially liked Maeve's payback. I'm glad that Remus finally found someone to occupy his mind with instead of thinking about Maeve and Snape. Snape's jealousy was quite delightful as well.

I love how you managed to get some kind of truth between Harry and Snape without any OOC-ness. Thos scenes, Snape's apology and later Harry's apology were the highlights of the whole epilogue. This had to be one of the best HP fanfics I've read so far and I've read quite a lot.

~Ilka



Author's Response: Thanks for the review, Ilka! Sorry it took me so long to get around to the reply. :-) Yes, the sequel is moving along, so there's stillmore of this story, although HBP changed a few things. The thing about Roderick, and Maeve alludes to it in the narrative at one point, is that he has the remarkable ability (magical, perhaps) to make people believe in him. It even works on Maeve, until she gets to Abbeylara and the inherent magic of the place strips away that persuasiveness in him. I'm working hard at building a failibility in the villians. Everyone is falible...and good or evil, their weaknesses are always exposed eventually.

I LOVED writing the epilogue. After all the stress of the previous chapters, it was nice to get into a more lighthearted frame, give them all a respite from the war and Voldemort. I think it was during the wedding that Snape REALLY started to grow on me...poor man!

Thanks again for reviewing, and I hope to see you reading the sequel at some point. :-)


Name: Poultrygeist99 (Signed) · Date: 11/10/05 11:40 · For: A Discordant Note

As they drew closer to the walls they could see the buildings that skirted the harbour were just ruins and had not been inhabited for many years. Old cottages with roofs that had long since disintegrated were home to assorted wildlife. There were the rotting hulls of abandoned boats by the water’s edge, their aged wood beaten into submission by the unsympathetic elements.

What delightful imagery! I don’t know if you’re describing a real place or an imagined one, but your description is so clear that I’m no longer sure whether this is a place I’ve been or a place you took me.

they made for unusual viewing Fortunately

Oops! Another missing period.

*gets lost in story, forgets to make notes*

The chair itself was violently upholstered in dark pink velvet and appeared to hover without any visible means of support.

a huge Persian rug . . . As she watched it she could have sworn the corner twitched

I adore these fun little details! I could go on and on, but I want to get to the next chapter!



Author's Response: You and your nitpicky edits! I've been re-editing the whole fic for the past fortnight because of them . :-D I've never been to that place either. it's an amalgam of lots of different, spooky deserted harbours. Glad you liked the trip, though. :-)


Name: Poultrygeist99 (Signed) · Date: 11/07/05 13:23 · For: A Stormy Passage

*Giggles* I'm back for more! A little dose of magic before I plunge into the day's work.

Are my eyes getting tired, or are you missing a period at the end of your first paragraph?!

I love Fin! I want to read his dialogue over and over again. I could picture him instantly, the salty old Irish fisherman.

Watching someone sleep is indeed a very intimate thing. You handle that moment very nicely.

The owl and Snape glared at each other as if coming to an instant and mutual loathing for reasons neither could fathom.

Isn’t this a tasty little tidbit?! A bit of foreshadowing, I wonder?

“You may argue to your heart’s content at another time but we are not alone here and we need to maintain awareness and our senses.”

A piece of good advice, if ever there was!



Name: Poultrygeist99 (Signed) · Date: 10/31/05 21:11 · For: Flight.

Ah Maeve, you truly are magical! What a yummy treat you've laid out here! My review is a random collection of notes I took as I read. I shall endeavor to make them sensible...

Dull, heavy clouds spread across the expanse of sky, filling every last inch and giving the land beneath a claustrophobic feel.

Beautiful imagery! I know this feeling. As if the sky is closing in on you, and everything is closer than it ought to be… You use wonderful imagery throughout, just this was one of the first that caught my eye.

Perhaps the colour of her own life had drained from her and bled into her surroundings, leaving her a pale imitation of the wallpaper.

This bit of imagery didn't flow as cleanly as many of your other descriptions. I had to think about it a bit. (Heaven forbid!) After I chewed on it for a while, though, I think I got it figured out. Maeve's rooms are brighter than she is. Perhaps reflecting an inner beauty, or a happier former self.

Liam however had other ideas and was being very tight-lipped about the argument that had preceded Malachy Meany’s departure.

Need commas around however: Liam, however, had other ideas...

“No.” The conversation so newly begun ended abruptly.

What a beautifully awkward moment!

I love the unfolding of the character of Maeve as she changes her clothes and puts on jewelry.

Well, you've got me hooked. You are such a wicked witch! But I've learned my lesson. No more staying up all night to read many long chapters. I'll just have to ration them out...



Author's Response: Yay! You're reading DoL! *grins widely* Glad you like the imagery, it's my favourite aspect of writing...well apart from the characters, and the plot....:-) And no matter how many times you edit... and this chapter more than any other has had the most edits...mistakes still creep in! And don't ration those chapters too thinly...I'm looking forward to more reviews!


Name: miss padfoot (Signed) · Date: 10/29/05 4:50 · For: Flight.
Okay, I read your story because it was recommended to me by a friend, but now, am I glad I did find it. I'm lazy to review each chapter, so I'll say everything here. Maeve, you're the best author I've ever read(on this site, at least) I'm really amazed at your writing style and how you've managed to put it all together. I liked your fic because it showed us different faces of many characters: Snape, Remus, and Neville. Your writing style's very captivating, too. I can just see it all in my head as I read, something that I've been able to do only in the case of Jo's writing.

I really don't like Snape, but after reading your fic, I think I might need a quick attitudinal change.

And then, onto Maeve. She's so enigmatic and I don't know what else to say... All that I can say is that I really enjoyed reading your fic and I'll go staight and read it's sequel. Your writing's magical, Maeve. *salutes you and your perfect style*

Author's Response: Thank you for the review, and the compliments! I'm so glad you enjoyed the fic. I had a lot of fun writing it and I hope you go on to enjoy the sequel as much. When I sterted I wasn't sure where the characters were going to go, but they all took on a life of their own and grew... which is why Severus turned out the way he did...naughty man! LOL Thanks again for letting me know you enjoyed it. :-)



Name: LadyAlesha (Signed) · Date: 10/26/05 12:56 · For: Why Didn't They Ask Snape?
I finally have some time on my hands to leave a review. I've been reading your story for quite a while now, it's actually the only story I've read on MNFF so far and I love it. Both characters and plot are great. I love every little detail you manage to include in your fic. The way your main plot and your sub plots are entwined is remarkable. You kept me guessing the whole time and each chapter, while it answers some of my questions, raises a whole lot more. I can only read one or two chapters every other day so it will probably take me another month to finish your fic but I can tell you now that I'll start reading its sequel as soon as I'm finished with this one. Your characterisation are brilliant. I especially love Neville, there's so much to him while he still remains the insecure, shy boy JK introduced to us in SS/PS. And Maeve is just extraordinary. It's like she's always belonged into the potterverse. She's so likeable but also has her flaws, I love how we get to know more and more of her past as the story continues. Snape is also very IC, your fic has made me like him, even though he isn't exactly a nice person. Are you Irish or are you just interested in the country? I myself love Ireland since I lived there as part of an exchange for nine months last year. Anyway, I'm off to read the next chapter. ~Ilka

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, Ilka! I had great fun with the characters, they're all so good to me that they made it easy. Neville is a delightful character and, for me, one of the stars of the books. Another Snape convert! Hee hee...it's my mission in life to convert everyone to Snape. :-) I am Irish, but grew up in England. Needless to say, I go back a fair bit and am very familiar with the history and mythology. Hope you enjoy the rest of the fic and the sequel.... the sequel is a little more gloomy, what with the war and everything... but it still has its light moments.


Name: deanine (Signed) · Date: 10/03/05 9:35 · For: Epilogue III
Where to begin? First off, I'm not a Snape-phile, I don't love the brooding greaseball the way so many people do, and that's why it took me so long to actually decide to read this fic. A dozen stellar reccomendations, the fact that you're an awesome beta, and a little boredom finially got me past my Snape-fic bias.

It was definitely worth the read. Maeve is a rariety among OC love interests. She's likeable, believable, and she fits with Serverus very well.

I love how you wove real Irish folklore/culture into the overarcing plot. You paint a detailed lovely picture that breathes and lives.

Thanks for writing and sharing such a lovely fiction....now I must go read the sequel. I'm rather excited to see how you merged some of the HBP truths with your fannon truths. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, deanine! I'm glad y6ou enjoyed it. It turned out to be far longer than I had anticipated and it was never supposed to be so heavy on the romance between Maeve and Severus, but once they got together again I just couldn't stop them. :-) The Irish folklore/myth was the main reason for writing the fic so I'm pleased you found it interesting.

Hope Severed Souls doesn't dissapoint! Jo gave those of us with sixth/seventh year fics some tough options.


You must login (register) to review.