Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: SusannaC (Signed) · Date: 03/14/05 5:12 · For: Why Didn't They Ask Snape?
I loved Neville in this chapter.Never thought i'd see him stand up to Snape.I have now decided i don't like roderick,but i still think theres something about him we don't know???

Author's Response: Another vote of confidence in Neville, Yay!


Name: Eleanor_Prewett (Signed) · Date: 03/13/05 12:46 · For: Why Didn't They Ask Snape?
Nevermind about the flow thing. I just reread the beginning of the chapter and it must have been me becaue it seems to flow perfectly now. Must be jet lag. Ne way, Sorry bout that! Please update soon! Oh and I hope that Bella gets seriously injured very soon. She is so entralled with Voldemort it's nausiating...even more so than Snape. :-)

Author's Response: I want to do something nasty to Bella but she is such a fascinating character that I'm almost reluctant to. We shall see....


Name: Eleanor_Prewett (Signed) · Date: 03/13/05 12:35 · For: Why Didn't They Ask Snape?
Okay. To begin, I apologize for not reveiwing to your last brilliant chapter, I was on a rather extensive trip with no internet to speak of. But what a gift to come home and be rewarded with another beautiful section of your wonderful tapastry completed. Wow! Snape is definately something. He wants to protect Maeve and when Roderick insults her, he is willing to resort to the cruel curses he learned as a deatheater to 'avenge' her. Yet he is stopped by none other than Neville. I love Neville so much more because of these last two chapters! Even though we don't see Neville much, his courage and strength is inspiring and touching. I also love the clue Alica left on the back of the photo, as well as Snape's dislike for Draco, which I greatly enjoyed. Die Draco, Die! j/k. He has his uses, as we have seen. :-) The flow at the beginning of this chapter seemed slightly more tense than in past chapters, but it could have just been me. It was affective though. The flow seemed to loosen some toward the end as Snape got more comfortable and you revealed more and more information to us that I'm certain we won't completely understand for a few chapters. However, it may take much longer than that, such as the little blip about the flying carpet that we didn't understand for about 25 chapters. Great chapter though! I can hardly wait for the next one. (I wonder if Harry will find out about the new Sleeping arrangements). Keep writing! The world needs more outstanding and imaginative authors who really know how to confuse and amuse us with miraculous skill.

Author's Response: Good to have you back! Hope you had a good trip. I like Neville too, I've always liked him because I think he is such a stoical little character. He's been so instrumental in many areas of this story and without him they wouldn't be were they are with the vapour and the gum. I'm glad you found Snape's reflections on Draco believeable. Much is made of the fact that Draco seems to be a favourite of Snape but I thought it would be interesting if that was just for show. He has to show some sort of loyalty to Draco and Slytherin.


Name: ellidiot (Signed) · Date: 03/12/05 7:36 · For: Why Didn't They Ask Snape?
Great chapter. Love the scene with Neville and Snape. You managed to find the perfect conditions for them to begin to respect/trust each other. I'm still wondering about Rampton though, why did he protect Maeve at Abbeylara? A fantastic character who becomes more complex at every turn.

Author's Response: And he's only going to get more intriguing. :-) I think he's the one character that I haven't written from their own POV because to do so would reveal too much about his character and motivation.


Name: HALF_BLOODHERO (Signed) · Date: 03/12/05 5:54 · For: Why Didn't They Ask Snape?
Well once again my jaw is on the floor! How do you continually do it? The twists, the turns, the deceit, the...........love? Well we will come back to that one. I love your style of writing and how you seem to keep everyone in character. I'm having a hard time however, swallowing this Snape romance thing. Aside from taht everything else is wonderful. I'm not and English major or a literary critic so I don't even pay attention to those kind of things, and honestly with your talent who when reading then story would pause to find a problem? Also with your talent who wouldn't say you deserve a few slips every now and again? Now to the story. Wonderful. Neville was absolutely amazing! Snape finally showing Neville a little compasion. Dumbledore showing even more flaws.(Besides his flaw with the whole Harry situation.) Now I am however missing Hermione. Where is she? Please update soon. On a scale of 1 to 10.......this chapter gets a 15! Wonderful!

Author's Response: Wow, 15! Hermione has been a little out of things after her potion incident but she will be back, don't worry. I know, I have a hard time with Snape/love...but it just happened that way...it wasn't supposed to, believe me! LOL


Name: Babyb_lue_eyes (Signed) · Date: 03/12/05 3:26 · For: An Auror of Mystery
WAIT! correction, i havent read this chapter, but it gave me an idea... What if...... The Auror is possesed by alice longbottom??? or some how related to him in one way or another... wooooah

Author's Response: Thanks for the reviews, they are much apreciated. And I'm going to keep you guessing with the plotlines. :-)


Name: Babyb_lue_eyes (Signed) · Date: 03/12/05 3:24 · For: Abbeylara.
The gum!!!! its the auror!!!! i swear it is..... Nevilles mom must have had visions or something ... so she gave the gum wrappers to Neville so he could tell the whats her face!!! Its all so very well planned.... i wonder if i am correct....:| well gotta finish reading


Name: Babyb_lue_eyes (Signed) · Date: 03/11/05 23:27 · For: Experiments.
Harry took it didnt he....... hmm!!!! we'll i gotta keep reading!!! great story so far!!! its been really good, thats so sad about bill.......:( well ya keep it up!


Name: Lovely Fatima (Signed) · Date: 03/11/05 21:24 · For: The End of the Beginning
Whoa. I'm just stunned. I loved the tenderness between Maeve and Remus and the gift was so appropriate. The sense of nervous anticipation on the part of Maeve and Molly was so palpable, you could cut it with a knife. But the deaths of Bill and Arthur were heartwrenching in a way I can't yet describe in words. I have always loved the relationship that exists within the Weasley family, and Arthur has always come across with such a quiet nobility as to make him just as valliant as Dumbledore. Your revelation that Niall bet Maeve's mother's life in a nefarious card game was spot on - in a day of tragedy, it was just one more thing that Maeve had to deal with. Excellently written and emotionally intense!

Author's Response: I haven't finished with Niall yet. I do like the concept of revenge and I think Maeve deserves some sort of revenge for the crap life she has had to endure so far. *rubs hands together in an evil manner!*


Name: LilyPotter (Signed) · Date: 03/11/05 18:13 · For: Why Didn't They Ask Snape?
I love how Neville acted when he heard the curse. Will you write chapter from Remus's POV? Brilliant chapter, 10!

Author's Response: I don't really write whole chapters from any one person's POV but you have just given me an idea for a one-shot or small chaptered fic based on what Remus gets up to when he goes to Paris! Thank-you so much for a great idea. :-)


Name: Lovely Fatima (Signed) · Date: 03/11/05 18:07 · For: A Promise Made.
As usual, Maeve, an excellent chapter. I continue to be dazzled by your attention to detail: the Snapdragons, Molly's disapproval of Mundungus' drinking, things like Leech Lotion in St. Mungos...I especially liked that one! The other thing that I love about this chapter is the vulnerability that you lend to Snape in revealing the rationale behind his cold ambition. I've always felt that men are at their most honest when in the presence of their mothers. It pleased me that Severus was no exception. The other thing I enjoyed was Maeve's discomfort in various situations. You never lose sight of the fact that she's spent a good deal of her life secluded, so that even the dustmen (disguised as they are) make her nervous. I liked that she wasn't immediately paired off with anyone during the Christmas Eve celebration, suggesting that her partner was elsewhere. I also liked her dislike of hospitals (which I share, btw.) I only caught one mistake towards the end: Remus says "We didn't know were you where." That should be "where you were". Again, an excellent quiet chapter. I look forward to reading the next ones.

Author's Response: Where?Were is going to be the death of me!! Yes, for all her outward confidence Maeve is still quite a loner at heart and doesn't do well in group situations. Heaven knows how she's managing to teach classes with all those people staring at her. I think it takes more courage for her to get up in front of that class than it does for her to confront real danger. I love coming up with little details like the scones. That, for me, is the really fun part of writing.


Name: MADJH (Signed) · Date: 03/11/05 12:27 · For: Why Didn't They Ask Snape?
Um, I really really want to read the outtake at the end of that scene...

Slightly more seriously, I am about ot gush. Honestly, I can leave constructive reviews when warranted, but you don't need my help. I am just left in awe at the end of your chapters. You never fail to take your reader through so many varying levels of action and drama and humor, and you really run the gammit of emotions. Firstly, way to go Neville! And you kept him completely IC, well done. Secondly, while DD may be second guessing his choices concerning Rampton, I'm holding out hope with Maeve that he's not all bad. I liked the vulnerability in DD, though. From an adult standpoint, he needed a few blemishes in his aura of perfection. Thirdly, I have fallen in love with Snape. I know you didn't intend for this to be a romance, but... sighhhh. The meeting in the hallway with McGonagall was priceless. And back in his rooms, it was so romantic that I wanted to be Maeve.

I know you put a lot of work into your writing and that rewrites are a part of the process. Difficult though this chapter may have been, I think the result is worth it. You inspire me to work harder and not submit second best. I asked you to beta for me after reading your work. You so impressed me that I was quite honoured when you took me on. Thank-you.

BTW: thet wuz teh kul!!!!! upd8 soon!!!!! plz!!! LOLOL! ;)



Author's Response: LOLOL! Sometimes I think I am rubbish. I look at what I've written and it seems so hopelessly bad that I wonder what on earth I am doing. That's when I find it very reassuring to have you jumping up and down in my corner and urging me on. I am so grateful for all the support you have shown me since we met on the Beta board that I don't know what I do without you. U R kul 2. keep revuwin, I luv it!!!!


Name: BlackClaude (Signed) · Date: 03/11/05 12:20 · For: Why Didn't They Ask Snape?
That was a fantastic chapter! So many things caught me by surprise. I loved how Neville stood up to Snape and prevented him from using the Cruciatus curse. It's easy to forget why Neville is in Gryffindor, but that was an excellent reminder. I also loved Snape reflecting on what a worthless twit Draco is, and then thinking that Draco reminded him of himself when he was younger. That was funny but also sad, because you can imagine the self-loathing Snape lives with. You have a way of writing subtle lines that have so much meaning behind them. When Snape complained that Dumbledore had a bad habit of giving people second chances who didn't deserve them, it brought up his whole feud with Remus and Sirius without you even having to mention it. And Lucius thinking of the "wide four-poster he occasionally shared with Narcissa," just the word "occasionally" implies so much about their marriage. There are some really funny parts in this chapter, too. Snape's comment about Lily's "pent-up compassion" was hilarious, as was his "preening under the implied praise." And I was dying when McGonagall caught them in the halls and Maeve mentioned the advance in sleeping arrangements. :) My only concrit is that the possessive of Severus would be Severus's, because even though it ends in an 's' it's still singular. But picky grammar aside, great job!!!

Author's Response: I hadn't intended McGonagall to bump into them but I had to rewrite the ending and suddenly there she was. I've rather enjoyed putting Snape under the spotlight in terms of embarassing situations in these last few chapters. I think I might have to ease up on him now or he'll be even grumpier than he is at the moment. :-) Ah the great s's debate. It rages on in certain grammatical circles. I side with the grammarians that advocate dropping the pesky second S because it looks and sounds so much neater. Both s' and s's are equally valid. here endeth the grammar lesson for the day. :-) And I want to explore Lucius and Narcissa a little bit more but I don't think I'm going to have room in this fic...maybe I'll return to their marrried life in another story.


Name: HarrysAunt (Signed) · Date: 03/11/05 11:36 · For: Why Didn't They Ask Snape?
Excellent! Let's hope they get a solution to the threat that Voldemort is planning!

Author's Response: Fingers crossed! :-)


Name: BelindaM (Signed) · Date: 03/11/05 11:21 · For: Why Didn't They Ask Snape?
Fab - yet again. And you leave us all just waiting for some more. Is the chill Maeve is feeling due to Voldemorts arrival or just the evening!! Hope you update soon.

Author's Response: I like it when readers spot things that I, as the author, haven't intended. I love that you connected the chill to Voldemort's imminent arrival.


Name: enelya (Signed) · Date: 03/11/05 10:34 · For: Why Didn't They Ask Snape?
Another fantastic chapter! Your style of prose is lovely to read, and the plot has me absolutly hooked. Please update again soon!

Author's Response: Thanks, Enelya! I am glad you like the style, please keep reading. :-)


Name: Chris Benoit (Signed) · Date: 03/11/05 2:47 · For: Flight.
Awesome story. You have amazing talent and I'm looking forward to more chapters soon.

Author's Response: Thanks Chris! It's always great to hear from a new reviewer. I'm glad you are enjoying the story. Keep reading! :-)


Name: HALF_BLOODHERO (Signed) · Date: 03/11/05 1:09 · For: Drooble's Best Blowing Gum
Well just so you know you me enthralled! How many chapters does your story have? I'm to a point right now where the suspense is killing me! Well once again another great chapter! We know what is going on with Roderick, but what the heck is filch up to? Now that Harry sees Snape in a different light, will Snape resolve his hate of Harry? I just dont see that being in character with Snape. Once again you get a 10!

Author's Response: It was supposed to have thirty but it's going to go way beyond that I'm afraid. I don't know what Snape is going to do with Harry but the one thing I do know, they are never going to be best friends! Perhaps mutual toleration is what I am aiming for....or maybe Snape will completely ignore me and carry on as he is. :-) And Filch... well Filch is playing a very dangerous game.


Name: HarrysAunt (Signed) · Date: 03/10/05 20:25 · For: Drooble's Best Blowing Gum
Excellent as always! I'm curious about Roderick, and why Filch was making his remarks about Roderick! Please update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you! The next chapter has been submitted and it's waiting for validation so hopefully you won't have too long to wait.


Name: LisaK (Signed) · Date: 03/08/05 22:17 · For: Drooble's Best Blowing Gum
I have been reading three differet stories lately, and in all three, it's all about the gum!!!!! I find that kinda funny. Anyways, excellent chapter, as always. I like the idea of Harry and Snape not hating each other so much.

Author's Response: The gum has always been a bit of a pet theory of mine. I don't think it will be nearly as important in the books but I don't think we have seen the last of it. Thanks for the review.


You must login (register) to review.