MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: BelindaM (Signed) · Date: 04/13/05 2:37 · For: A Detour
Excellent - yet another fantastic chapter. I love the way you got Harry to tag along with Snape - that should allow for some fun in the next chapter. Also it is good that Maeve has Remus with her - he will give her the support she needs at this time - and hopefully Maeve will tell him about her impending wedding. Keep up the superb writing.

Name: Lovely Fatima (Signed) · Date: 04/11/05 19:11 · For: Drooble's Best Blowing Gum
I must say, first of all, that I LOVE Ron Weasley! This line had me rolling on the couch in tears:

“Wow!” Ron was still looking shell-shocked. “Who would have thought the greasy git had it in him. She doesn’t set herself high standards, does she? Imagine him kissing you…it would be like being kissed by a sweaty Horklump.”

Once again, you show that it's the little nuances of character that make this story shine! Ron's part fascination, part disgust at the idea of Snape being intimate with someone is such a funny moment and really provides a great contrast to Harry's hurt and revulsion.

Overall I liked this chapter. There was a great flow of information and action. I loved how Maeve very deftly managed to get some critical information out of Malfoy. Very nicely written! I also liked her chat with Harry about what he saw in the Pensieve. It's about time he found someone who could help him come to terms with his father's not-so-nice side, and I felt she gave a great explanation.

Finally, I enjoyed discovering along with Maeve all of the implications of the gum. You have created an interesting theory here and I can't wait to see where it goes from here. Excellent job!

Name: poisonivy91 (Signed) · Date: 04/11/05 15:39 · For: A Proposal
Hey, Sorry i havent reviewed any of the other chapters. I just signed up today but i've read your whole story already. I really like your character, Maeve, and you keep all the original characters in character. Update soon. I'll be watching for your story on the recently added section. I give you a 10! ~Ivy

Name: BelindaM (Signed) · Date: 04/11/05 2:47 · For: A Proposal
What an excellent chapter - finally Maeve and Snape are together. I hope you are not intending to kill either one of them as this is a great storyline. Its so good to see Snape in a different light. Keep up the excellent writing.

Name: Severus Snape (Signed) · Date: 04/11/05 2:02 · For: A Proposal
What a wonderful chapter. I enjoyed evey moment of it. I was totally surprised by the proposal despite the chapter title. I didn't think it would be that sort of proposal!! I wonder what you have planned for them at St Mungos? I also liked the touch of jealousy we see from Snape. I await the next chapter, impatiently.

Name: BlackClaude (Signed) · Date: 04/10/05 22:51 · For: A Proposal
Yay!! I'm so happy with the way things turned out in this chapter! You completely surprised me with Maeve's proposal. It made so happy, and then I laughed out loud at: "'When?' he asked carefully, as if he were considering some extra class that had to be fitted into the schedule." That was great; I can just imagine Severus saying that in the surreal circumstances. And I was thrilled to have Remus back. You write his self-sacrifing nature very well. "He couldn’t let her see any of this though; it would only make her choices harder if she felt he did not fully support her." And then this broke my heart! "He rubbed her arm gently, enjoying the closeness and trying to accept that this was as close as they would ever be." It's a very interesting love triangle going on, and even though Maeve and Severus are happy and Remus would never intefere, there's still some intriguing bumpiness. (Jealous Severus!) The humor is especially good; I loved Remus unsuccessfully trying to keep Maeve from crying, Madam Pomfrey admitting her approval of the rock-pelting, and Dumbledore's aside about Norman Casanova. They were all great and added to the lighter tone of this chapter. Grammar-wise, I noticed some sentences that could use a few commas, like this one: "After weeks of thinking about this it all seemed like such an anticlimax and worse still Severus wasn’t there to share the moment with her." But overall, it was nearly flawless which makes me feel like I'm reading a novel instead of a regular fanfic. Keep it up!

Name: BlackClaude (Signed) · Date: 04/10/05 22:09 · For: Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave.
I'm running out of different ways to say "great chapter," so I'll just fall back on the standard. Great chapter! My favorite part was Remus's letter. It was a perfect characterization of him: sweet, touching, and noble in his defense of Severus. I loved the excellent parallel you drew about the non-importance of blood, how blood does not tie Severus to his father and how the lack of blood does not keep Remus and Maeve from being family. I thought that was a great way to address such a large issue in the wizarding world. I was also glad to see a return to the Trio. I loved this line: "Hermione watched Ron thoughtfully and wished he’d eat a bit less and with a bit more decorum." That perfectly captures the essence of Hermioneness. There were a few typos and grammar errors, but not that many to be significant. One was "What he has not suspected" should be "What he had not suspected," unless you were artistically changing the tense for a moment. Like I said, not that significant, but I feel obligated to provide concrit and it's so darn hard to find any in your writing! I always get caught up in the story and forget I'm supposed to be reviewing. (Not that that's a complaint) And I'm glad you write fast; now it's on to the next chapter!

Name: Lovely Fatima (Signed) · Date: 04/10/05 14:13 · For: Alice
One of the first lines that struck me as brilliant was this one:

"Fifteen minutes later Maeve found herself two galleons lighter, considerably better educated about House-Elves, and the new secretary of S.P.E.W. She had no idea how it had happened. Hermione was an altogether trickier prospect than she had first assumed."

I laughed out loud! I also liked that it showed Hermione capable of resuming a normal relationship with someone who had previously embarrassed her in public. That shows a strength of character is Hermione that other scenes might not have.

And then you go and do this: "Could it possibly be true that finally, finally, he had found someone who could reciprocate his feelings?" Poor Poor Poor Remus! Shot down and driven to drink! I felt so badly for him, pouring out his love to Maeve only to realize that she only had feelings for Severus. I wanted to cry!

I think my favourite moment, however, was the drunken conversation between Severus and Remus. First there was this line: "Not quite so impressive without your dead friends around you, are you? Not that you ever were impressive,” he added as an afterthought." I felt like Severus had kicked me in the stomach! However, I think that in listening to what Remus had to say, he grew a little. The line "He was hopelessly out of his depth amongst this maelstrom of emotional conflict and longed for the time when life had consisted of marking substandard homework and handing out spurious detentions." was a nice bookend to that.

Overall I liked this chapter. The frightening connection between Alice and the gum wrappers as well as the strange connection between her and Rampton all serve to make your mystery expand and deepen. I only hope that Maeve hasn't been taken too far and that she's not beyond rescue!

Name: SusannaC (Signed) · Date: 04/10/05 12:33 · For: A Proposal
I don't know what I was expecting was that was awesome!!!! perfect story with perfect characters.i dont want this to end.

Name: Kerian (Signed) · Date: 04/10/05 11:34 · For: A Proposal
The proposal was totally not what I was expecting! Awesome! and I really really hope that the trip to St Mungo's goes well. I'm so glad Remus has returned, and I hope Severus doesn't feel the need to act completely jealous around him! Great update!

Name: mad4sirius (Signed) · Date: 04/10/05 10:05 · For: A Proposal
Your story is intoxicating! Your beautiful descriptions of the world surrounding Maeve, your on target character descriptions, and your flow of words is enough to make any reader drunk with glee. I love your story, it is so nice to read about things from Maeve's POV. 10!

Name: ellidiot (Signed) · Date: 04/10/05 8:08 · For: A Proposal
What a beautiful chapter! Aw you have such a talent for describing the little details that make all the difference, I was near to tears at the proposal. Gorgeous. Oh i love it. Fantastic.

Name: HALF_BLOODHERO (Signed) · Date: 04/10/05 2:46 · For: Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave.
First off let me apologize for the long period in between review dates(computer problems and all). Secondly let me tell you what a royal pain in the behind it has been for me not to be able to read yuor newest posts. I was truly suffering slowly and painfuly waiting for them to finish up with my computer. Now that I have in some small way pleaded for my sanctification, lets get to the story. It almost seems like every time I post I always say the same things, but what else is there to say? You are an absolute talent, a true diamond in the rough! I see no reason, that with an original plot line of your own, why there should be any troubles at all for you to get published. This chapter took me by complete suprise. Like I mentioned in a post a few weeks ago I have a very hard time with the whole Snape/love thing. However, what truly amazes me is how while making Snape fall in love you still keep him so very much in character. The Lucius/Draco scene was priceless. I think this truly puts into perspective what a slimy little git he really is(letting his own son fll from the sky just to make sure he escapes). I cant even begin to describe how enthralled you have me! If I could score this entire story on a 100 pt. scale you my friend would get a 200!!!!!!!!

Name: Fantasium (Signed) · Date: 04/09/05 16:31 · For: A Proposal
(Is the fact that I was the first to review a sign that I check for updates too often?)

Name: Fantasium (Signed) · Date: 04/09/05 16:28 · For: A Proposal
*silent* Well... well, that was unexpected! You completely caught me off guard, even with the chapter summary - I never dared to hope for that! I can't believe that anyone could create something this beautiful about Severus Snape, and without actually changing him. You're amazing, a-m-a-z-i-n-g! What I liked best about this chapter was "The atmosphere was sweet with the heady scent of early spring and she could almost have enjoyed drinking in the air.". To me, that is a perfect example of your writing beauty. It just describes the feeling spring gives me, the way it almost intoxicates you. Anyway, I could say so many things about the story and plotline, because they're just as fantastic, I do feel I've written enough. I'll just wait here, faithfully, for the next chapter! ;)

Name: Kerian (Signed) · Date: 04/09/05 13:15 · For: Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave.
its taken me a few days to read all of the chapters to catch up and I love the story! Its soo good! Harry had better tell about his dream! And I like that Dumbledore makes good and bad choices, after all he is just one man. Great great story and I cant wait to see what happens next!

Name: Lyra_Belacqua (Signed) · Date: 04/08/05 2:37 · For: Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave.
It's a few chapters since I read this and things have moved fast! Poor old maeve...just when she thought she was getting somewhere she finds that out...I hope they can get over it. Nice to see neville growing up and getting more confident. I like how you still make him unsure of himself but still ready to burst into action. your writing is really good...I won't leave it so long between chapters next time.

Name: MADJH (Signed) · Date: 04/06/05 11:17 · For: Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave.
You know I love this. I really like the pause that you've taken here to examine Snape and Maeve and their adjustment to the stormy events of the previous chapter. I found the letter from Remus to be the perfect touch. I'm glad that his lust for Maeve is settling back down and that he can be so objective and supportive to her relationship with Snape. I think it's really important for his character to be able to move on and still be like a brother to her. I see DD is keeping secrets again. You know, I wish he wouldn't do that. (but he always does it anyway... even in my fic.) Snape isn't going to like it very much when he finds out! I also continue to love Neville's character. You've been building him up so beautifully. I can't wait to see where you take him next!

Name: Severus Snape (Signed) · Date: 04/04/05 4:25 · For: Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave.
This story continues to twist and turn and I love every minute of it. What is going to happen when Snape and Maeve meet up again? I am so looking forward to that scene. Lucius was perfect in this scene, arrogant and putting himself before his son. Neville continues to be great.

Author's Response: I’m really sorry that I can’t respond to you all individually but MuggleNet keeps logging me out every thirty seconds so it would be impossible. I’m going to type this in Word and then post it as quickly as I can as a response to everyone!
Blackclaude: Yes, Poor Maeve! I wanted her to realise that she missed Remus, she was fairly blasé about his sudden appearance but this made her stop and realise she needs him more than she would like to think. But that said, I think we can safely say that Maeve and Severus will be together… if the fates allow! J We shall have to see about Dumbledore. He appears frail now but Dumbledore is one big contradiction.
Lovely Fatima: Glad you were surprised at the reappearance of Roderick. As you will see he is playing a bigger roll as the story progresses. I’ve grown to love and loathe him with equal measure. I’m glad you are enjoying the details…it’s those that make this world so much fun! I liked SPAMM too…we needed something to compete with SPEW and to make Ron grimace. I’m glad you like Maeve’s teaching methods. She’s not a teacher and she tends to listen to the students a lot and not talk down to them like Snape and Trelawney, unless they are Malfoy of course! With someone like Neville she has recognised that he has his strengths…very good strengths, and she is not going to ignore him on something like Herbology. I enjoyed writing Hermione in that situation; she is such a cracking character to work with because we know quite a bit about her mental state. I was worried that readers would think Hermione doing something that dangerous was foolish but I’m glad to see it came off. I thought of Maeve in the water when I read that scene in VutW…like you I was interested to see it done by someone else…I have a mortal fear of drowning so that scene was hard to write. Maeve’s reaction to Hermione was a terrible thing, she acted like Snape would have done and poor Hermione, even though she had done something very wrong, didn’t deserve it. And Remus was never going to die; there are few things I am certain of in this story but that is one of them. I could not kill Remus…I’d kill Harry first….LOL Ron and Neville are the bumbling underdogs of the stories and I wanted to make them shine…I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again…Ron is Sam Gamgee!
Aislinn; Bear with me with Lucius. He’s developing for me at the moment and it may take a few chapters. He’s not gullible so much as he sees an opportunity and he grabs it. He has no reason to disbelieve Roderick… who has the blessing of Voldemort. They’re all going to get a lot nastier soon enough. J Glad you also picked up on the necklace, it does have some significance. Thanks Ellidiot, nothing works out for her at the moment but who knows what’s around the corner ;-) Eleanor: So sorry to hear about your accident. It’s a shocking thing to be in a car accident and can leave you very badly shaken for a while afterwards. Hope you are recovering from the ordeal now. You’ve had a rough few weeks. I’m glad you liked the chapter. I think out of all of them this was the most emotionally involving for me. And I haven’t quite finished wringing out their emotions yet…and yes he does love her. He has loved her from the very first chapter and before…but it took him a long time to accept that. She will go on because, like all of us, she has to. But she can do something about this situation with Snape and she has to take control of it. Lisa: I still have my doubts about whose side Roderick is on! I know Chapter 31 was a little slow but it needed to calm down a bit after the tension in 30, 32 will be a bit faster and then we’ll be speeding up again for the climax. Fantasium: I’m very mortal. LOL Once it became clear to me that, despite what I wrote, these two would be together I just couldn’t resist writing those one-shots. They kept me from rushing the story to a point it shouldn’t have been at. And now I feel I am at a place in the story where I can really hit the reader with the force of their love for one another. *Rubs hands together with glee* Not only is their a sequel planned but there will be a short interlude over the Hogwarts summer holidays just concerning Maeve and Snape. I’m glad the story is helping a few people see a version of Snape that they would never have previously considered. It’s just my version and I am sure it is completely different to what Jo has planned for him…but I like to think it’s a version of who he could be. And you can let go of the edge of your chair soon because there will be answers to your questions in Chapter 32! I wonder if Maeve and Snape’s confrontation will be quite what you are expecting? Caren: Thanks so much for your reviews! I’m glad you’re enjoying the story and I am so pleased you find Snape and Maeve believeable. They’ve taken some developing but from the reaction it looks like they are convincing. Rampton Court is a combination of two things… obviously it’s Rampton’s last name which in turn is the name of a prison in England. Rampton Court came from Hampton court, which is a palace in England that has a very famous maze and of course Rampton Court has its own maze of tunnels. And I needed a sneak around Hogwarts and Filch was perfectly placed to take that role…I’ve really enjoyed his character. GV: You made it! I’ve already told you that I do like my descriptions and that they do lighten up a little later on. J But thanks for your review and I hope to see you back here! You made me go back and re-read that first chapter…haven’t been back for a while. Little genius and Shakespeare’s Daughter…thanks for the reviews, glad you are enjoying the story! Thanks Belinda…new chapter is on it’s way soon and Susanna…keep watching for that confrontation with Maeve and Snape. Thanks, 5thMarauder! That confrontation is on its way! Severus Snape…. Glad you liked Lucius…He’s coming along slowly!

Name: the5thmarauder (Signed) · Date: 04/04/05 3:53 · For: Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave.
That was great, I love your story, it is actually my favourite one on mugglenet fanfiction, you are a really talented writer! Thanks for writing such a fantastic and tantilising story! Update soon because I can't wait for the Snape/Maeve confrontation! 10/10 great! :)

You must login (register) to review.