Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: Fantasium (Signed) · Date: 04/03/05 15:21 · For: Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave.
Oooh, what's going to happen to Draco now? I suppose he'll leave Hogwarts, one way or another... I can't wait to read the confrontation between Maeve and Severus, which has to come at some point - with your writing skill, I daresay it will be an interesting meeting. Also, will the potion work? Maeve, you make us wait at the edge of our pc chairs for next chapter! To say it simply - it's incredible.


Name: SusannaC (Signed) · Date: 04/03/05 0:52 · For: Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave.
You slowed things down in this chapter and i thought that was good after the last few.loved neville again,you keep showing us what he can do when he tries!and will maeve get back with Snape??


Name: LisaK (Signed) · Date: 04/02/05 22:12 · For: Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave.
well, i think we know how much lucius malfoy cares for his son. i've always thought that he really didn't care that much...anyways, Go Neville!!!! Good thing Maeve brought him, otherwise she would have been long gone!!! I have to admit this was probably my least favorite chapter so far, but i think that was because it started out a little slow. however, my sister thinks otherwise. I'm still wanting to read more!!


Name: BelindaM (Signed) · Date: 04/02/05 16:39 · For: Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave.
Yet another great chapter. Your story lines just keep on getting better. keep it up - hope you will update soon.


Name: Shakespeares_Daughter (Signed) · Date: 04/02/05 10:51 · For: Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave.
they just keep getting better and better. update soon!!! 10/10!!


Name: littlegenius (Signed) · Date: 04/02/05 6:59 · For: Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave.
gr8 chappie. very emotional. i luv your chappies. 10/10 in my opinion.


Name: Lovely Fatima (Signed) · Date: 03/31/05 22:17 · For: An Auror of Mystery
This is going to be an uncharacteristically short review for me, because I only really have one thing to say.

It's about damn time he kissed her!

I think that was one of the most satisfying kisses I've ever read. Brava!


Name: Lovely Fatima (Signed) · Date: 03/31/05 19:22 · For: Abbeylara.
First of all THANK YOU for not killing Remus! That was a huge relief. Second, I love how you craft your chapters with plenty of suspense and action. Ron's observation that Maeve rides her broom sideways was a nice touch. I was happy that someone FINALLY let Ron shine on his own, and one of the best things about this chapter was seeing Maeve realize what most of us have known all along - that Ron is just as brave and capable as Harry or any of his brothers.

As usual, the appearance of Roderick Rampton was a distinct pleasure. I don't think I've ever enjoyed a character quite as much as I'm enjoying him. He reminds me of what Sirius could have been had he not gone to Azkaban - rich, seemingly nothing more than a playboy, but deeply honorable, steadfast and determined. The fact that he would risk his life, and the intense scrutiny of Voldemort, to allow the others to escape speaks volumes on his behalf. Oh, and my suspicions about the gum still aren't confirmed - that mystery is getting deeper.
One nit to pick: you had a few comma splices here and there, but they weren't so bad as to distract me from the story. This is so compelling and you've got me completely enthralled. Great job!


Name: Lovely Fatima (Signed) · Date: 03/31/05 0:09 · For: A Journey Home
It's late as I'm writing this, so I'll be brief. I have never felt so uncomfortable while reading a fic as when Maeve took off on Hermione in front of her Potions class. It was a sublime discomfort. I could feel every ounce of anger and frustration, every bit of Hermione's fear and regret. I, too, feel she got off a bit easily, so I'm waiting to see what punishment Dumbledore has in mind for her. Of course, I now have a sinking feeling in my stomach with Maeve's decision to go to Abbeylara with Ron. Even though she knows it's exactly what Voldemort expects her to do, she's going anyway. On the one hand, that's intense loyalty to Remus. On the other hand, she's being incredibly foolhardy. Who does she really love?


Name: Lovely Fatima (Signed) · Date: 03/30/05 23:43 · For: Remus Removed
I'm stunned - not only by Remus' death but by all of the amazing imagery in this chapter. You have a singular gift with crafting scenes that come alive for the reader. Having nearly drowned a character in the lake in my own fic, it was neat to see someone else's description of the process. My suspicions about the spy at Hogwarts are being confirmed with this new information about The Weasel. Also, I absolutely giggled with glee at Voldemort's inability to perform the Crucio curse on Lupin. Apparently Maeve did more for him through her vision than she may have realized. Too bad it was all for naught. Now I must hurry on to the next chapter to see how events play out.


Name: Lovely Fatima (Signed) · Date: 03/30/05 17:14 · For: Hermione's Deception
There were so many great things in this chapter, but I want to focus on Hermione in my review. This is the first time we've seen her take such a huge risk without first considering the consequences. Normally so level-headed, her pride and desire to challenge her own abilities are seriously affecting her ability to rationally judge and weigh the situation. I loved how you took us through each step of her deception including her horror and remorse afterwards. It was so nerve wracking and convincingly tense, that I felt myself holding my breath and getting as impatient as Harry to find out what was going to happen to Remus. As for Harry, it amazes me that he can be so clueless--not that his intentions are malicius. On the contrary, he has complete faith that this will work and that Remus will be able to have a normal life. How sad, then, for us who realize, along with Hermione, just how deadly the scenario could become. I think your foreshadowing with Maeve's vision of her fingers melting was chillingly frightful. I, too, am anxiously awaiting the outcome!


Name: Lovely Fatima (Signed) · Date: 03/30/05 16:40 · For: A Chance Discovery
Once again, you've completely enveloped me in the story. I loved the animosity between Pomfrey and Hurtmore, and I hope to see more of these characters in the future. The bit about the potions being "broomed in" by some witch who "may or may not know what she is doing" had me laughing. The other thing that made me laugh out loud was the acronym for the "official" protective agency for magical creatures: SPAMM!

In terms of advancing the mystery, you do an excellent job. More and more, I want to know who this Meaney is and, more importantly, WHERE he is. Someone is leaking vital information out of Hogwarts, and I shudder to think that my gut feeling might be right.

The most outstanding thing about this chapter, however, was Maeve's willingness to trust Neville's knowledge of Herbology. The mark of a truly great teacher is the ability to learn from one's students. It made me feel all golden, warm and buttery inside to see her seize hold of the information in Neville's paper and recognize it as the link they needed. Again, excellent work!


Name: GringottsVault711 (Signed) · Date: 03/30/05 15:12 · For: Flight.
*wow - worships Maeve* Finally, buckled down and got to it, didn't I? Needless to say, so far this is brilliant. I would definitely say that description is your strong point. I loved that Dumbledore was IC (with DD it's either you can write him, or you can't - and you can). I wasn't sure about Snape - but then again there is so much we don't know about him (and from what I've heard, much to be learned in this story). But his behavior while in Maeve's room was very IC, too. I like this opening chapter because it linked to the end of OotP, and also raised many new question that I'm already seeking answers to in my mind. Already, with only one chapter, you seem to have created side-story that is perfectly interwoven with the main story of Harry. My only crit is that sometimes you have *too* much description. I like description, but I also don't like to read/write it too elaborately. I like to give the reader room to imagine. That's merely a personal preference though, so feel free to ignore. My attention easily wanes, I am ashamed. But all in all, amazing job, will come back for more quite soon. *Looks forward to getting hooked*


Name: SusannaC (Signed) · Date: 03/30/05 11:29 · For: Is He or Isn't He?
Its taken forever to get logged on long enugh to review so ill keep it short.Bloody brilliant...chapter after chapter gets better and better.I'm in love with your Snape, hes totally amazing.


Name: caren_the_hpfan (Signed) · Date: 03/30/05 0:01 · For: A Firm Hand
I don't want to sound repetitive, but your story is high quality at the least. I liked the bubble gum recipe... I can connect to it after learning about the horrifying stuff in Jello and makeup. I especially liked the first POV from the trio. You need more of that, because the voice is so refreshing. The scene with Filch really made me laugh. JKR hardly ever describes him but I liked your description! Now the words Rampton Court have an ethereal feel to them after reading the details of the appearance. Roderick's red cloak always gave me chills - it reminds of vampires. Hopefully, he's not that much of a traitor. I'd better go read the next chapter before I burst with excitement.


Name: caren_the_hpfan (Signed) · Date: 03/29/05 23:02 · For: Why Didn't They Ask Snape?
I've been reading through your story, and it's taken me a couple of days, considering I only have time to read a few chapters a day. It is amazing. I don't think I can write 6000-word chapters, but the length never bothered me - the story held me in all the way through. I love your plot line, because it shows evidence of your incredible ability as a writer. I always thought I hated Snape/OC, but I'll never hate Maeve's and Snape's relationship. Critique! Your vocabulary is excellent. I come across words I don't know - and that's good, because it shows the quality of your work. There really isn't much I can say about grammar, etc. because it's just the occasional comma and marks that must have been left over by betas. The flow and fluency of your sentences were very nice; if a sentence had five phrases, I hardly noticed, because it never got too wordy. I loved the tie-in with Alice Longbottom and the bubble gum. At first, I thought it was too trivial, but I really have to admire the way it corresponds to the plot. I love this story, keep updating! I'm not going to change the rating below, because this story deserves a 10.


Name: Aislinn (Signed) · Date: 03/29/05 21:29 · For: Is He or Isn't He?
You never cease to amaze and surprise me! This chapter was brilliant; you had me gripping the edge of my seat! I only saw one inconsistency, and that was Mr. Malfoy’s character. He did not seem on par. He was far too gullible. Now for some praising! I never was fond of Snape, and up until your later chapters I still wasn’t. He has grown on me gradually however, while still remaining undeniably Snape. Anyone that can so convincingly make me like, nay love Snape without allowing him to lose the Snape aura is indeed very talented! Only someone with Snape’s strong character could withstand the assault Maeve was dealing without hiding, or even flinching. He is too unrelenting for his own good. You also have me questioning the strange properties of Maeve’s necklace. When you first introduced it, I thought it was just part of your lovely descriptions, yet you worked it into the plot! I would never have guessed. Please, for the sake of my sanity, update soon!


Name: Lovely Fatima (Signed) · Date: 03/29/05 16:14 · For: Sleepers
A very interesting chapter! First I must say that it's so satisfying to see Draco get his lights punched out by Ron. But the real heroine is Hermione! The way she chides Ron and Harry for their bickering is so completely in character for her, and I felt that "voice" of hers come to the forefront.

As usual, it is the little things in your fic that give such richness and depth to the landscape! The slimy critters that Hagrid's first years were playing with, Trelawney's class reading bark, the hookah-smoking beetle trap....all of these were so delightful to read about and I could see each and every event. Speaking of plants - hooray for Neville! I love reading fics where he shines and isn't a dope. You gave us a real taste of Neville's true talents. Such a shame that Snape still doesn't see them.

That Drooble's Gum wrapper is bothering me. I've always felt that Alice Longbottom was giving those things to Neville for a reason. Hopefully Maeve will figure out who left it in her room. I have a feeling they aren't working "for" her.


Name: Fantasium (Signed) · Date: 03/29/05 10:13 · For: Why Didn't They Ask Snape?
I think this story is one of the best proofs that romance alone can never build a great tale. It takes so many other things, and you make sure we aren't after any simple snogging by letting us read chapter after chapter of amazing storyline, and then! when we're faithful, tied down and haven't got a chance whatsoever of ever escaping the story - you so kindly reward us with the most beautiful of love scenes. *sigh* I couldn't believe at first how you could hold it back for that long, so I was very relieved when I read your two one-shots and realised that you were as mortal as the rest of us (although I still doubt it!). I cheered inside when you hinted that sequel - I'll be there for it. For now, I've got two chapters to go until I'm up to date with the story, and believe me I'm going to make the most of them. And oh, I just have to mention - at the moment I live in the same house as a dog called Severus (who, would you believe it, doesn't get along at all with my own Sirius) and I have never actually associated him with Snape until now, when you have showed me the (at least rather) likeable man behind the dark robes. Thank you so much for sharing your words!


Name: LisaK (Signed) · Date: 03/28/05 13:38 · For: Is He or Isn't He?
So whose side is Rampton on anyway?!?!?! He's too evil to be on the good side. For the first time ever, I am pitying Snape, and pity for characters does not come easily from me. It was definitely excellently written


You must login (register) to review.