Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: Harriet Evans (Anonymous) · Date: 04/27/05 13:18 · For: A Discordant Note
Fabulous. Sorry, words fail me. This is the most amazing thing I've read on MNFF.


Name: Harriet Evans (Anonymous) · Date: 04/27/05 13:02 · For: A Stormy Passage
Loved this chapter - the whole description of the journey by boat had me in awe. I agree - Dumbledore is excellent. Also how you are gradually letting us in on Maeve's character and what has gone before. Just one little gripe - I just don't see Snape saying "Hang on" - ever! - Sorry! Otherwise, brilliant.


Name: Harriet Evans (Anonymous) · Date: 04/27/05 6:53 · For: Flight.
Wonderful writing. Fabulous description - you have set the scene quite perfectly and intrigued me sufficiently to make me want to come back, very soon. Thank you.


Name: GringottsVault711 (Signed) · Date: 04/22/05 22:35 · For: A Stormy Passage
I finally got to chapter 2! Woot! Slowly, but surely I shall complete this story :)

Your imagery is very strong; I especially liked the use of the adjective phrase 'cloak & dagger', it was brilliant. Everything is so wonderfully described, I can see it all playing in my mind.

I feel like I'm getting to know Maeve as a character bit-by-bit. I like the more gradual introduction. Some writers try to explain their characters in the first chapter (fan fic and otherwise), and I find it rather annoying. I'd rather grow to love a character than have a general idea of their personality from the get-go.

I'm having a bit of trouble with Snape, mainly because I think our perception of his good qualities differs, but I did find his characterization stronger in this chapter than in the first. Especially with the dialogue concerning Harry, James & Remus. I also like the small narration of his childhood. One thing that is irking me is that you switch between 'Severus' and 'Snape' constantly in your narration, and there doesn't seem to be any reason for it. I just have a peeve for inconsistency. (Which is a crime I know I have commited in the past, but I do like to avoid it at all costs if I can)

Your Dumbledore is the best I've seen in fan-fic. He is completely pure in what is the essence of his canon character. 'Time sometimes has a way of erasing feelings and memories if we donít take care of them...I thought that, perhaps...'- this line just knocked me off my feet. Wonderful; it is something I can imagine myself quoting from now until years to come. It is the kind of line that goes down in history, and resounds through the ages.

Overall, I of course love your writing, and this story is already proving to be intriguing and I can't wait to continue. :)

Author's Response: Stick with Snape…. ask MJ about his development! And I know…I am a bad, bad author and the name switch is one of the things that will be cleaned up when I get to re-edit these earlier chapters. There are some other things to come out and some to go in. But if I held of finishing to do that then MJ would kill me! Wow! Great complement of the Dumbledore characterisation. I just think of him as a cross between a comedian and a philosopher with a dash of deep-seated understanding for humanity thrown into the mix. Oh, and he’s a powerful wizard too, of course! Glad you like it, Jenna… given your very high standards it’s a great compliment.



Name: Eleanor_Prewett (Signed) · Date: 04/22/05 21:29 · For: Flight.
HALF_BLOODHERO, sorry!


Name: Eleanor_Prewett (Signed) · Date: 04/22/05 21:29 · For: Towards Deliverance
I agree with Half_BloodPrince. A quick line slipped in about one of your books (present or future) would be much appreciated! (Sorry, I know I've review a dozen times already). The chapter's even better the second time around!

Author's Response: Well, there is an original fic plotted and as soon as I have finished HPDL I will be moving on to preparing a manuscript so that I can start the nightmare procedure of sending it off to publishers. Maeve will be there (in a slightly different incarnation) along with a male OC and a few other interesting characters. It’s set in Ireland, a little bit of mythology, humour, romance and magic. I’ll keep you posted with any developments and thank you so much for asking!


Name: the5thmarauder (Signed) · Date: 04/22/05 15:01 · For: Towards Deliverance
sorry i wrote Sirius/Maeve I meant Severus/Maeve - sorry!!!!!! oooops! lol :)


Name: the5thmarauder (Signed) · Date: 04/22/05 14:59 · For: Towards Deliverance
I absolutely loved that chapter, this is what makes reading fanfiction worthwhile, these types of fanfictions are simply amazing, the plot is worthy of JKRowling herself, you truly have a brilliant talent and I have to say i truly suspect that you are a professional writer for you to be of this standard and not be is a crime to literature! I love the Sirius/ Maeve plot it is so believable, for Snape to fall in love with someone she would have to be like Maeve, I have read some snape relationship fics which change his character to suit his partner which you have never done, which is brilliant! I have to say that i simply loved the parts with Roderick in this chapter (basically nearly the whole chapter) his devious character is so interesting, you have built him up so well it is as if he is a canon character; we know so much about him. I love his involvement and I think he is one of the most intriguing characters of your fic! Go you please update soon since i check your fic for updates about 15 times a day! Well done oh great one, lol!

Author's Response: No, not professional… not yet anyway! LOL. I agree, Snape is never going to change to fit a partner…that partner will have to make allowances for Snape. Love is the one thing that keeps these two going when most others would have given up and it’s a love that’s been there for a long time. Maybe one day I will write their past history from before the time of HPDL. Given my lovely Roderick’s popularity I may have to devise a different ending to the one I had planned…but we will have to see. ;-)


Name: SusannaC (Signed) · Date: 04/22/05 4:59 · For: Towards Deliverance
Poor Remus,just when he thought he could forget about her he goes and kisses her.Snape os being horrible to harry which is great.If he wasn't it wouldn't be believable.I wonder if harry is going to meet voldemort or not.its getting very very exciting!

Author's Response: Remus needs a good slap and a cold shower…. And a girlfriend!


Name: HALF_BLOODHERO (Signed) · Date: 04/22/05 2:53 · For: Towards Deliverance
First off let me start by saying AAAAAWWWWWWW!!!!!!!! Your in love too! lol! Dont worry im not one of those psycho stalkers or anything. Just a huge fan of your fic! You alone seem to fully encompass everything a fan fic is supposed to be about! An original atory line that bulids so seamlessly off of J.K.'s story. I truly think you are an amazing author. Now to the story. What an amzing chapter. I like how Snape still has to get in his digs on poor Harry. And what about poor old Remus, a love that he cant fulfill burning inside him like 1,000 candles on a stormy night! well maybe I should leave that sort of stuff to you! What I must thank you for beside the story is always taking time out to respond to my posts!(One of these days when your big and famous dont forget little old Half_BloodHero!) Seriously though if you were....no when you become published let me know so I can buy the book and send it to you for an autograph! I generally know a good thing when I see it and you my dear are a great thing! Please update soon! you once again recieve a 10! Anxiously Waiting, Half_BloodHero

Author's Response: *Grins* Thanks for the encouragement. You will be one of the recipients of my ten free author’s copies if I do get published. We’re nearly at the end now so I hope it doesn’t disappoint.


Name: Severus Snape (Signed) · Date: 04/22/05 2:36 · For: Towards Deliverance
Another great cliffhanger! Why do you keep doing this to us poor readers? Again, fantastic chapter. There are so many twists and turns, so much politics, it's great to see it unfold with Roderick at the center. Fantastic!

Author's Response: Roderick has completely outclassed Lucius in the scheming stakes…he really should work at the Ministry!


Name: Eleanor_Prewett (Signed) · Date: 04/21/05 19:23 · For: Towards Deliverance
Oh! I forgot to tell you something. Thank-you for bringing Remus back! I have missed him like you would not believe! :-) Thank-you! And I loved the kiss in the dungeon. It was so perfectly placed in the scene and completely believable! Poor, Poor Remus!!


Name: Eleanor_Prewett (Signed) · Date: 04/21/05 19:20 · For: Flight.
Oh! I cannot BELIEVE I forgot! Thank-you for bringing Remus back! I have missed him like you would not believe. :-) I loved the kiss in the dungeon as well. It was pefectly placed and completely believable. Poor, Poor Remus!

Author's Response: Couldn’t resist it, you can only go so long without our favourite werewolf!


Name: Eleanor_Prewett (Signed) · Date: 04/21/05 19:13 · For: Towards Deliverance
Sorry I haven't been around for a while but I've caught up on the story and I am incredibly impressed. I really didn't think Bella could become more horrible or Snape more entralling, yet you proved me wrong on all counts (numerous times). Your descriptions of relationships and the way people interact are absolutely perfect. There's no telling what will happen next, as usual, because every twist and turn makes me slide to the edge of my chair (to the point of nearly fall off actually). A while back I thought that Maeve would be captured and held prisoner at her former home, but abandoned that thinking because it seemed...well, not obvious but likely. Now I can't believe I was so blind to your many clues. I guess the biggest twist is sometimes a straight line. There were so many distractions along the way (to this point at least) I suppose I missed the vital clues and foreshadowing you always seem to artistically place in your work. Roderick has become so pivotal to the plot it is hard to believe how truely far he has come. I look forward to the next chapter. Please update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you…. I have to confess that out of all the characters in the story it is Roderick I have become most attached to…he’s a darling of a character because he has so many different motivations. I certainly hope you like me plans for the big finale…it’s coming together now, finally. I even had to go to our local big house to write the rest of it because it was proving so difficult to visualise it…hopefully this will now come across in the chapter.


Name: Kerian (Signed) · Date: 04/21/05 9:21 · For: Towards Deliverance
Woah this is going to be interesting with everyone packed into one hallway. And on whose side shall Roderick act for the time being? I love that we know of so many different parties of people running around the house and most of them haven't really banged into eachother. Well written and very interesting!

Author's Response: Thanks, Kerian. It’s hard keeping track of them all at the moment and it’s only a matter of time before they do bump into each other. Won’t that be fun!


Name: Fantasium (Signed) · Date: 04/21/05 8:22 · For: Towards Deliverance
I have no nails left! Maeve, this is exciting beyond my words! And you simply CAN'T leave us hanging like that! *sigh* I really admire the way you wrote Roderick and Bellatrix in the rose garden, especially the descriptions of Bella, you made me feel the cold she emitted and smell her unpleasant odour. Awful, but brilliant! I'm so curious about Voldemort's heart (I wasn't even sure he had one?) and I allow myself to speculate if it has something to do with the blood he stole from Harry? Maeve, I'm enjoying this so much and I'm checking for updates every day, but still I have a feeling that this only the very beginning and I can't but wait for the day when I get to read your own original work. It will be something well worth waiting for, I am more than sure. Now, for Merlin's sake, GET ON WITH THE WRITING AND GIVE ME CHAPTER 35! ;)

Author's Response: Thank you! I’m almost done with chapter 35 now; it’s been a tough one. I think because this was the chapter where everything had to happen it’s been harder to write than the others. We’ll see if you think it’s worth the wait. I’m still working with the plot as I write so who knows what will happen at the end! I’m as excited as you about that. At this point there will be one, possibly two more chapters and then an epilogue…so we’re nearly there.


Name: BelindaM (Signed) · Date: 04/21/05 3:17 · For: Towards Deliverance
Wow - yet again. Your story line is superb. I love the twists and where you are taking the characters. Keep up this excellent story. I look forward to next installment with baited breath. 10/10

Author's Response: The next instalment is coming along slowly! I hope to have it up this weekend. Thanks for the review.


Name: Severus Snape (Signed) · Date: 04/20/05 14:39 · For: A Detour
I love the way this is building up to a finale...at least that's what I think it's doing... not that I want a finale..it's so good. Brilliant, again!

Author's Response: The finale is on its way!


Name: Magical Maeve (Signed) · Date: 04/19/05 7:58 · For: A Detour
Belinda… Yes I had some fun with Harry and Snape…they’re really a match made in heaven! Fantasium… Charlie is interesting me, I think I’d have liked to make him bigger in this story but I think we’ll wait until the sequel comes along, when we can explore his relation ship with Percy in more detail. LF… he he…got you! Hurtmore was always the horrid one but he had strength of character…whereas Goldspur was just a little to nice to resist the curse. And I’m working on Harry and Snape…they have the potential to be a great comedy double-act in my strange imagination! LOL. Azkabanresident… thanks for your review... it’s nice to know I have another fan! I really appreciate you taking the time to review. Kerian… yes, Harry’s heart does make him do things that aren’t always wise but I hope in the end that that will be his saving grace. HalfBloodHero… tell me about those interactions! It’s a nightmare keeping up with who is where! MJ… keep your eye open for SexGodLupin in 34, as he gets a bit over-excited in the dungeon! And that’s all I’m going to say about that! And you got me about Remus/Werewolf… I’m putting off the moment when I give a happy ending or stay realistic! PoisonIvy… the answer to your question is in 34, which hopefully will be validated soon. And it all gets even more complicated! Thank you all for continuing to review… it makes my day every time I read them... you’re all fantastic!


Name: Magical Maeve (Signed) · Date: 04/19/05 7:44 · For: A Proposal
Here I am again, responding to all your wonderful reviews in a totally unsatisfactory way!! Fantasium…I am so glad I surprised you. I had to do something different when they met again and I didn’t want a slanging match, so I got her to propose! Ellidiot…have a Kleenex! Mad4Sirius...thank you for the review, drunk with glee... I like that! Thanks Kerian…as you have probably seen by now, the trip to St Mungo’s had mixed blessings. Susanna…thanks again for your continued support. BlackClaude… glad you liked the humour, I could just imagine Remus patting away at her back as he tried to stop her crying…poor soul! I had to bring him back… sending him away just didn’t work…we all missed him too much. Thanks, Severus… I am so pleased everyone was surprised! Belinda… I’m not going to say who will die... *grins evilly* PoisonIvy…so pleased you like it and it’s always nice to get a review from a new reader, we’re almost at the end of this particular story but there will be more to come. HalfBloodHero… I’m in love too! You have been with this story from the start and it’s just great to have you here as it comes to an end.


You must login (register) to review.