MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: ginny15 (Signed) · Date: 06/23/05 15:59 · For: Epilogue II
Awww! That was so beautiful, just... perfect! I wish I could see that chapel. Oh, and of course, the part between Harry and Snape was good, and long overdue. They really need to quit bickering. And you kept it pretty well in character, which is good. I can't stand it when everyone goes and changes people's personalities just to make things work out better. It's unrealistic. Please hurry up with that next part! I assume you've already submitted it, so hopefully the moderators will be reading a lot in the next few days. And didn't you say you were writing a sequal?

Author's Response: It's just been submitted. I had to work over the weekend and the log in issues scare me... so I was putting it off. LOL I'm so glad that the part with Harry and Snape has proved to be in character. I need them to puit on a sllightly more unified and grown up front for the sequel and so they really needed to get their act's together. I think they did that, to a point. Thanks for the review!

Name: Jenn_Weasley (Signed) · Date: 06/23/05 14:56 · For: Epilogue II
That was just perfect! I loved the officiant's speech - it was lovely. I can't believe Snape apologized. That was great! After what Harry said to him, it didn't seem OOC at all. I've enjoyed this story and am sad to see it end. At least I have one more chapter. Thanks so much!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, Jenn! I'm sad to see it end too....it pained me to click the yes button next to completed! Still, there's always the sequel. :-)

Name: ellidiot (Signed) · Date: 06/23/05 12:53 · For: Epilogue II
Aw the last two chapters have been perfect. sorry, tried three times to review the last one but it keeps logging me out. Really brilliant epilogue, can't wait for the last one!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! With the pain of the log in issues it's so great to see poeple still trying. I am so grateful to those of you who persevere to get your reviews posted. :-)

Name: Magical Maeve (Signed) · Date: 06/22/05 7:06 · For: Flight.
I'm sorry, but I can't reply to you all individualy because of the log in problems. They are just so bad these past few days that i have managed two responses in the past half an hour and I just don't have the time to fiddle about with MNFF. Grrr! Thank you for your reviews. I am so glad you are enjoying the epilogue. It was a chance for me to have a bit of fun with the characters and give old Snivellus a hard time. But there are some romantic bits coming up and some surprising guests. Hope you like the finale! Thanks again for your support. :-)

Name: SusannaC (Signed) · Date: 06/17/05 15:53 · For: Epilogue I
OMG such a perfect start!! I love snape in this chapter and remus gets a girl. please hurry up with the next part. you did Fred and george so well too, it was great.

Name: Eleanor_Prewett (Signed) · Date: 06/17/05 12:33 · For: Epilogue I
Yes! Thank-you for giving someone so great to Remus! He is so perfectly written in this chapter in every situation! And the dresses were a wonderful idea. I was quite looking forward to 'seeing' ..Snape.. in blue robes but, based on Dumbledore's promise, I don't think that'll happen. Wondeful, wonderful, wonderful first half of the epilogue! I look forward very much to the second half. Oh, and I certainly won't mind if you take a leaf out of Stephen King's book(s)... I expect I'll be looking for new stories by you, and the rest of this little family, even through HBP time. There are two HP worlds, yours and JK's. Best wishes to the happy bride and groom!

Name: Moonbright (Signed) · Date: 06/16/05 17:50 · For: Epilogue I
I hope the second half of the epilogue comes out soon! I truly have loved this story (I read the whole thing minus this chapter in 2 days, my family hated me because I couldn't put it down [wait, it was mostly on the computer, so I couldn't really put it down anyway . . . hmm . . .]). I eagerly await the sequel, although, considering how I've checked every single day waiting for the epilogue, I might want to forget about it until you've finished it--If I can wait that long (unlikely, I never can stay away from a good read). Anyway, about the epilogue . . . cute. Good trick for the Weasley twins. Yep, well, have a nice day!

Name: Severus Snape (Signed) · Date: 06/16/05 13:55 · For: Epilogue I
Ach! This is soooo tantalising. You giveth and you taketh away. Needless to say it was funny and touching and a little sad and a lot happy all in one lovely chapter. Can't wait for the final instalement. And three cheers for that washed hair!.

Name: ginny15 (Signed) · Date: 06/15/05 21:32 · For: Epilogue I
AHHH! Actually, I wouldn't really have been that surprised if Dumbledore really had given them lime green dresses for a wedding, seeing as he has some rather, er, unique tastes, and I was actually going to congratulate you on a job well done keeping everyone in character, but I'm just as happy that the dresses are pretty. I assume the same goes for Snape's robes, and that they're not really blue? I was surprised when I read about them, since Dumbledore had promised he wouldn't make Snape wear anything other than black. But this makes sense. Hurry up with the second part!

Name: pandafan81 (Signed) · Date: 06/15/05 20:22 · For: Epilogue I
That's just so unfair! Cutting an epilogue in half! and I thought the cliff hangers were over with! Anyway, great chapter and I can't wait to see how the wedding turns out!

Name: Jenn_Weasley (Signed) · Date: 06/15/05 12:15 · For: Epilogue I
Loved it! L-O-V-E!!!!! The lime green dresses were a hilarious surprise. I'm surprised even Fred & George would mess with a bride like that. I can't wait to see what Maeve does to them. I'm soooo glad you degreased Snape. I'm still struggling with how to picture it. I like Felicia too. Am I wrong in guessing there's more to her than what you've told us? I'm thinking I might be since a new plot line this close to the end is unlikely. Anywho - I'll be waiting impatiently for the rest of the epilogue. Thanks so much!!!

Name: Harriet Evans (Anonymous) · Date: 06/15/05 11:27 · For: Epilogue I
I was grinning from ear to ear for the entire chapter, that is until I scrolled down and realised that I'd reached the end. Felicia was a triumph, I adored her lilting Irish accent and I'm so glad that Lupin has a chance at some romance. Oh, and I just burst when she asked Snape if he was going anywhere nice on his hols! Fantastic - Dumbledore has surpassed himself, and so have you.

Name: Katastrophe (Signed) · Date: 06/15/05 8:33 · For: Epilogue I
Par for the course, another fantastic chapter. You've captured the emotion and excitement perfectly. And of course that brings us to Severus' brooding, so typical for him! Fantastic work, I am going to miss this story when it is done.~~Kat

Author's Response: Thanks, Kat! Two more sections of the epilogue to go yet... but for me it's over and I'm a bit sad about that. I went to the computer today and didn't know what to do with myself when I realised it was finished! LOL

Name: Fantasium (Signed) · Date: 06/14/05 17:40 · For: Epilogue I

All right, finally pay-off for guarding the story like a possesive hawk! :) I really like the light tone and humour in this first part of the epilouge, at the same time as it has all of the things I like best with your story - the in-detail surroundings, the living characters, the little details that make me smile out of recognition.

Light-blue robes? Poor Severus! But with the hair cut and all, I bet that's going to the best he has looked, ever. Remus was perfectly written, especially around the groom, his comments showed just enough of the bitterness and envy he must feel, but at the same time the joy for a friend. I really liked the thought of him with a slight tan, looking a bit healthier. It's funny, I don't care as much as I should for him in general, and your story is not at all focused at him but still it makes me want him to be happy, more than any other work I've read.

Fred and George are priceless - what would the wizarding world be without them? You use them well, like you should, when you write. Ron also made me smile, I hope he'll take a good look at Hermione in the next part of the epilouge, on the contrary to what Felicia said I do think that they can notice. :) Talking of Felicia, interesting that you should introduce her in this last part... I shall be keeping an eye out for her in the sequel.

The white-washed cottage reminded me of one of Maeve's visions... And it made me want to take a trip to Ireland.
Ah, anyway, I shall be waiting for the second part of this higly enjoyable epilouge! Thanks, Maeve!

Author's Response: I had fun with Fred and geroge, although I've never written them before they just stepped up to the plaet and did their own talking, so I let them get on with it. :-) Felicia is an OC who was meant to have a very small part and provide the comedy at the beginning with Severus' hair... but she wasn't having any of that and invited herself to the wedding, naughty girl! I think I can safely say we will be seeing her again in the sequel. Hope you like the next part... I certainly enjoyed writing it! As for Remus, I couldn't not have him happy at the end. I'm glad you ended up being happy for him, he's a lovely, useful little character.

Name: Magical Maeve (Signed) · Date: 06/14/05 10:17 · For: Normality Returns
That should be 20,000 btw...not 2000!

Name: Magical Maeve (Signed) · Date: 06/14/05 9:47 · For: Normality Returns
Just to let you know that I have been on holiday and am just back today. I have a lot of things to catch up on and am trying to reply to all your reviews but if you haven't recieved a reply I will get to you soon. :-) It has also put back the completion of the epilogue and because of this, and because of the potential length of the epilogue which looks set to run to 2000 words or more, I will submit it in two halves so you all don't have to wait for another week or so to get the next bit of the story.

Name: MADJH (Signed) · Date: 06/13/05 0:00 · For: Normality Returns
*sigh* I can't believe you finally did it! But you did an excellent job of tying things up. I've only just now realised that you've even managed to take care of the rest of the school year as well. I must say, I liked that Neville finally has a purpose. The dialogue there was good, though I'm afraid Harry seemed a bit off. I suppose it's only natural for him to be more mature, but I missed some of his hotheadedness. I also miss Ron and Hermione. I would hate to see the three of them not remain inseparable (my own fic notwithstanding, of course...) But you've ended this quite nicely and I just can't wait to read the wedding! Dumbledore is going to be very naughty on purpose, isn't he? He knew she wouldn't turn him down... *evil grin* Anyway, I'm sad to see it over, but so happy to know there's more on the way! Cheers and Well Done!

Author's Response: I think I cheated a bit with the school year ending, because the real climax to this story happened so soon! And I know, Harry is the only character I have to pick and poke at to get through to. All the others I can really get into their heads, but Harry is difficult. And strangely he's the one we know the most about! And thank you for all your invaluable support throught this little journey...it's been fun!

Name: GringottsVault711 (Signed) · Date: 06/12/05 0:13 · For: Divided Loyalties
Wow, poor Maeve. She's trying to be friends with everyone, and it's proving to be quite difficult, isn't it? Bless her soul.

This just gets better and better. Harry's implied reaction to her relationship with Snape is perfectly IC. I'm becoming a Remus/Maeve fan... I don' t believe I should be, but there you have it :x. I'm really starting to wonder if you actually know Jo's characters, because you've given them so much depth, and they are so very canon. I commend you.

I love your dialouge, and the entire tone and style of your writing. It seems like a true fantasy book.

Some notes on Percy: I find him working for DD odd, while he still resents his parents. Didn't he leave because he thought they were on the wrong side? Yet, now Dumbledore has been proven right and he's working for him... I've decided he just has too much pride to admit they were right, but enough ambition to take a position under Dumbledore, who must be high on the wizarding food chain now that Fudge has been booted. And I do think that DD hiring him makes a *lot* of sense, because it is exactly the kind of thing dear old Albus would do. Snape, Trelawney, Lupin, Dobby - always giving people second chances and jobs where others would turn them away. The depth of IC'ness is amazing, whether intentional or just natural on your part.

The introduction of Hermione was fun, and the scene of the trio at the table, hehe. I just love seeing them through a teacher's eyes. I've never read Trio-era fiction from this perspective before, and I'm surprised at how much I'm enjoying it.

There are so many questions I want to ask. I can feel the mystery wrapping itself around me; so much fun! This will definitely help hold me over until July 16th.

Author's Response: There is nothing better than coming back from holiday and finding big Jenna and Caren reviews!! LOL The comments about Percy are perfectly valid and there is no immediate answer to why he is at Hogwarts but your rationalisation about Dumbledore and his second chances are spot on. Percy is also a wonderful comedic foil for the other characters and also carries a great deal of personal sadness with him. In many ways he could be as compex as Snape given the right treatment. I'm glad you like the different perspective. I always wanted to write fiction from the teachers POV because I think it has the potential to be very interesting. They know a great deal but even the teachers do not know everything, nor are they all powerful. In many ways Maeve is just as helpless as Harry was at the beginning of PS. It is only throught the journey they take that they become more enlightened. As for 'knowing' the characters, yes, I think I do 'know' them in my own way. I think you have to know your characters, even boprrowed ones, very intimately in your own mind to write convincingly about them. The only character I have difficulty with is Harry... he's tricky to really get down well.

Name: GringottsVault711 (Signed) · Date: 06/11/05 22:35 · For: The Truth Will Out
Wow, nice. The story seems to be picking up a lot of speed. I'm dying with curiosity about Maeve's past and her strange connection with Harry. And it's all here for me to read at my leisure, yay!

After they had stopped at Gringotts, where Remus had remained outside mumbling something about having enough money on him... Poor Remus :( I'm getting all sorts of pangs of sympathy for his character in this story. I still adore your characterization of him. I like getting to see a slightly more vulnerable side that isn't revealed so much in Harry's PoV. I'm not a Remus/Tonks fan, at all. I just don't see it, but it looks like you're going in that direction. Eh, I can live with it.

Speaking of a different view of characters, I like the way we are seeing Harry. It's the same Harry we all know and love, but he seems younger; there's a lack of maturity that's more evident from an adult PoV. Not a negative immaturity, but I can really see his confusion and helplessness, here. You've shown us different sides of our favorite characters, and are still keeping them brilliantly IC. Great job.

I loved The Inimitable Imperius Indicator; how clever and creative! I do have to wonder if we'll be seeing it again later... I also particularly enjoyed the zinger Maeve so excellently delivered to Narcissa: “Far better,” she said icily, “to be a Half-blood than a strange, interbred fool like yourself. . That line sealed the deal on my love for this character.

I'm SO glad that Harry gets to know the truth... here I was thinking that it wouldn't be happening until the very end, or at least halfway through. I really liked that plot move.

Another lovely chapter, thanks for the consistently enjoyable and well-written reads!

Author's Response: You're welcome! And thank you for the consistently thorough and enjoyable reviews! :-) I don't know where the Imperius indicator came from, i thought about it ne night as I was going to sleep and when i woke up I knew I'd had a good idea but couldn't remember it...I had to coax the idea back from my befuddled brain! Maeve is a nice person, fundementally. She is used to nastiness from her father but not used to it from strangers and not used to it being directed towards her friends so she reacted in an instinctive manner. I think in that moment we got to see the real Maeve, the one buried underneath all those years of self imposed sappiness. And I do see her as being something of a sap all that time she was kept at Abbeylara. She didn't have the necessary will to break free and she had to be taken from her bad situation. Hopefully, throughout the story, her confidence will build to what it was before the confinement. And poor Remus indeed. In this instance it's a bit like Harry/Ron on the money front. I love Remus, he's a darling... but like Maeve, he has the tendency to accept imposed personal things too easily and not challenge them and yet in other areas he is brave and wise. I think Remus has quite a journey to make too. :-)

Name: caren_the_hpfan (Signed) · Date: 06/10/05 23:44 · For: Scorched Souls

Jan, I thought I'd review for you to let you know I'm still following this story - I'm just so eager to get to the next chapter, I don't review as often as I should. Well! I'm impressed, as always, at your excellent prose and ability to tell us this story, however imaginary it may be. The last few have been especially exciting, as things heat up between Maeve and Snape, and the prospect of getting married finally surfaces (!) and a journey to Abbeylara is undertaken. And also, it.... burns. Yeah. ;)

Firstly, I have to say that 36 chapters along, I'm not at all discouraged by the length of your chapters anymore. :D It just means more excitement now. So... the beginning of the chapter. Roderick lent a lot more comic relief than I ever thought he would - you wrote him very, very well! "Now that half of that wall has fallen there is a rather splendid view of the entrance.” Wow. I laughed long and hard at that part, and all the other parts I won't quote for you. They'd take up most of review anyway. ;) I love Roderick against my better judgment. Now that I've confirmed whose side he's actually on (lol) it made me really sad to see him sacrifice himself on account of the vapour. But I have a question: why couldn't they summon the bottles using the Accio charm? I've reread that part, and there's nothing to stop them except that Roderick had to go somehow. Procuring the bottles wouldn't have enabled Maeve to escape, and the house wouldn't have stopped her.

Just a note on the spell Maeve uses about a third into the chapter (no, I'm NOT counting paragraphs) (:P), it's "Alohomora." I believe you got mixed up a bit at that part. It's more noticeable because it stands alone as a paragraph, so I thought I'd point that out.

I really liked how you brought Harry back into the main plotline of the story, because he seemed to disappear in the shadow of Snape/Maeve. It wasn't too sudden, and his part is well played. His importance in this fiction has been brought out nicely. This is a bit too late, but I did like the scene between Harry and Snape, so reminiscent of the meeting in the Goblet of Fire, when Snape was absolutely intolerable of "Potter's" excuses.

One part I was confused at was the part when the harp was thrown out of the house. You may need to make it clearer that the bottles sailed out first, followed by the harp. I had to read that part again to make sure I understood the sequence of events.

Harry? Best man? *mind still reels from news* That was certainly a shock! Excellent part --> Remus spluttered into his tea, sending milky droplets flying into the air. He quickly recovered himself and watched as Severus shot out of his chair in horror at the prospect of Harry being his best anything. Goodness, I laughed a lot over that one too. Nice one. But it does make sense, in a way. Maeve is their go-between, the one we know will be the stronger connection.

And you've outdone yourself with your explanation about the necklace and Abbeylara. I too was wondering where Neville was all this time, as I can definitely remember the chapter in which her true father appeared and told Maeve about her destiny and parentage. It all suddenly made perfect sense. That's the way I feel now. And the irony is almost overpowering - both that Harry still has the necklace, unknown to everyone but him, and that Maeve is but a pawn (if not a queen, LOL) in the game that the gods play, and that she was created only because of Voldemort. And just who could that mysterious person be? I guess I'll have to continue reading to find out! Don't worry, I most definitely will, and a great job on this chapter especially. Looking forward to more reading!

Author's Response: Thanks for sticking with it Caren.. I know the long chapters are daunting, especially on screen and not in book form. Anyway, I explained the Accio problem in the answer to another review. I probably didn't make this clear in the text of the chapter, although I did add a bit about the spells in a later chapter. As for Alohomora! Whoops!! That escaped both myself and the canon nazi that is Anne!LOL I fixed it now. The necklace was always important, right from the first chapter, but I never really knew its full significance until the later chapters...and it will definately be more important as the story progresses. And bringing Harry back in was worrying me because I couldn't see how to do it until Snape decided he was going to use a Portkey to get to Abbeylara and Harry just hopped along for the ride! That was all Harry's doing so I guess I have him to thank for the latter chapters! I'll take another look at the bit that was confusing and see if I can tighten it up a bit, just because it's clear in my mind doesn't always mean it comes across clearly in the story. :-)

You must login (register) to review.