Reviewer: MADJH
Date: 06/13/05 0:00
Chapter: Normality Returns

*sigh* I can't believe you finally did it! But you did an excellent job of tying things up. I've only just now realised that you've even managed to take care of the rest of the school year as well. I must say, I liked that Neville finally has a purpose. The dialogue there was good, though I'm afraid Harry seemed a bit off. I suppose it's only natural for him to be more mature, but I missed some of his hotheadedness. I also miss Ron and Hermione. I would hate to see the three of them not remain inseparable (my own fic notwithstanding, of course...) But you've ended this quite nicely and I just can't wait to read the wedding! Dumbledore is going to be very naughty on purpose, isn't he? He knew she wouldn't turn him down... *evil grin* Anyway, I'm sad to see it over, but so happy to know there's more on the way! Cheers and Well Done!

Author's Response: I think I cheated a bit with the school year ending, because the real climax to this story happened so soon! And I know, Harry is the only character I have to pick and poke at to get through to. All the others I can really get into their heads, but Harry is difficult. And strangely he's the one we know the most about! And thank you for all your invaluable support throught this little journey...it's been fun!

Reviewer: GringottsVault711
Date: 06/12/05 0:13
Chapter: Divided Loyalties

Wow, poor Maeve. She's trying to be friends with everyone, and it's proving to be quite difficult, isn't it? Bless her soul.

This just gets better and better. Harry's implied reaction to her relationship with Snape is perfectly IC. I'm becoming a Remus/Maeve fan... I don' t believe I should be, but there you have it :x. I'm really starting to wonder if you actually know Jo's characters, because you've given them so much depth, and they are so very canon. I commend you.

I love your dialouge, and the entire tone and style of your writing. It seems like a true fantasy book.

Some notes on Percy: I find him working for DD odd, while he still resents his parents. Didn't he leave because he thought they were on the wrong side? Yet, now Dumbledore has been proven right and he's working for him... I've decided he just has too much pride to admit they were right, but enough ambition to take a position under Dumbledore, who must be high on the wizarding food chain now that Fudge has been booted. And I do think that DD hiring him makes a *lot* of sense, because it is exactly the kind of thing dear old Albus would do. Snape, Trelawney, Lupin, Dobby - always giving people second chances and jobs where others would turn them away. The depth of IC'ness is amazing, whether intentional or just natural on your part.

The introduction of Hermione was fun, and the scene of the trio at the table, hehe. I just love seeing them through a teacher's eyes. I've never read Trio-era fiction from this perspective before, and I'm surprised at how much I'm enjoying it.

There are so many questions I want to ask. I can feel the mystery wrapping itself around me; so much fun! This will definitely help hold me over until July 16th.



Author's Response: There is nothing better than coming back from holiday and finding big Jenna and Caren reviews!! LOL The comments about Percy are perfectly valid and there is no immediate answer to why he is at Hogwarts but your rationalisation about Dumbledore and his second chances are spot on. Percy is also a wonderful comedic foil for the other characters and also carries a great deal of personal sadness with him. In many ways he could be as compex as Snape given the right treatment. I'm glad you like the different perspective. I always wanted to write fiction from the teachers POV because I think it has the potential to be very interesting. They know a great deal but even the teachers do not know everything, nor are they all powerful. In many ways Maeve is just as helpless as Harry was at the beginning of PS. It is only throught the journey they take that they become more enlightened. As for 'knowing' the characters, yes, I think I do 'know' them in my own way. I think you have to know your characters, even boprrowed ones, very intimately in your own mind to write convincingly about them. The only character I have difficulty with is Harry... he's tricky to really get down well.

Reviewer: GringottsVault711
Date: 06/11/05 22:35
Chapter: The Truth Will Out

Wow, nice. The story seems to be picking up a lot of speed. I'm dying with curiosity about Maeve's past and her strange connection with Harry. And it's all here for me to read at my leisure, yay!

After they had stopped at Gringotts, where Remus had remained outside mumbling something about having enough money on him... Poor Remus :( I'm getting all sorts of pangs of sympathy for his character in this story. I still adore your characterization of him. I like getting to see a slightly more vulnerable side that isn't revealed so much in Harry's PoV. I'm not a Remus/Tonks fan, at all. I just don't see it, but it looks like you're going in that direction. Eh, I can live with it.

Speaking of a different view of characters, I like the way we are seeing Harry. It's the same Harry we all know and love, but he seems younger; there's a lack of maturity that's more evident from an adult PoV. Not a negative immaturity, but I can really see his confusion and helplessness, here. You've shown us different sides of our favorite characters, and are still keeping them brilliantly IC. Great job.

I loved The Inimitable Imperius Indicator; how clever and creative! I do have to wonder if we'll be seeing it again later... I also particularly enjoyed the zinger Maeve so excellently delivered to Narcissa: Far better, she said icily, to be a Half-blood than a strange, interbred fool like yourself. . That line sealed the deal on my love for this character.

I'm SO glad that Harry gets to know the truth... here I was thinking that it wouldn't be happening until the very end, or at least halfway through. I really liked that plot move.

Another lovely chapter, thanks for the consistently enjoyable and well-written reads!

Author's Response: You're welcome! And thank you for the consistently thorough and enjoyable reviews! :-) I don't know where the Imperius indicator came from, i thought about it ne night as I was going to sleep and when i woke up I knew I'd had a good idea but couldn't remember it...I had to coax the idea back from my befuddled brain! Maeve is a nice person, fundementally. She is used to nastiness from her father but not used to it from strangers and not used to it being directed towards her friends so she reacted in an instinctive manner. I think in that moment we got to see the real Maeve, the one buried underneath all those years of self imposed sappiness. And I do see her as being something of a sap all that time she was kept at Abbeylara. She didn't have the necessary will to break free and she had to be taken from her bad situation. Hopefully, throughout the story, her confidence will build to what it was before the confinement. And poor Remus indeed. In this instance it's a bit like Harry/Ron on the money front. I love Remus, he's a darling... but like Maeve, he has the tendency to accept imposed personal things too easily and not challenge them and yet in other areas he is brave and wise. I think Remus has quite a journey to make too. :-)

Reviewer: caren_the_hpfan
Date: 06/10/05 23:44
Chapter: Scorched Souls

Jan, I thought I'd review for you to let you know I'm still following this story - I'm just so eager to get to the next chapter, I don't review as often as I should. Well! I'm impressed, as always, at your excellent prose and ability to tell us this story, however imaginary it may be. The last few have been especially exciting, as things heat up between Maeve and Snape, and the prospect of getting married finally surfaces (!) and a journey to Abbeylara is undertaken. And also, it.... burns. Yeah. ;)

Firstly, I have to say that 36 chapters along, I'm not at all discouraged by the length of your chapters anymore. :D It just means more excitement now. So... the beginning of the chapter. Roderick lent a lot more comic relief than I ever thought he would - you wrote him very, very well! "Now that half of that wall has fallen there is a rather splendid view of the entrance. Wow. I laughed long and hard at that part, and all the other parts I won't quote for you. They'd take up most of review anyway. ;) I love Roderick against my better judgment. Now that I've confirmed whose side he's actually on (lol) it made me really sad to see him sacrifice himself on account of the vapour. But I have a question: why couldn't they summon the bottles using the Accio charm? I've reread that part, and there's nothing to stop them except that Roderick had to go somehow. Procuring the bottles wouldn't have enabled Maeve to escape, and the house wouldn't have stopped her.

Just a note on the spell Maeve uses about a third into the chapter (no, I'm NOT counting paragraphs) (:P), it's "Alohomora." I believe you got mixed up a bit at that part. It's more noticeable because it stands alone as a paragraph, so I thought I'd point that out.

I really liked how you brought Harry back into the main plotline of the story, because he seemed to disappear in the shadow of Snape/Maeve. It wasn't too sudden, and his part is well played. His importance in this fiction has been brought out nicely. This is a bit too late, but I did like the scene between Harry and Snape, so reminiscent of the meeting in the Goblet of Fire, when Snape was absolutely intolerable of "Potter's" excuses.

One part I was confused at was the part when the harp was thrown out of the house. You may need to make it clearer that the bottles sailed out first, followed by the harp. I had to read that part again to make sure I understood the sequence of events.

Harry? Best man? *mind still reels from news* That was certainly a shock! Excellent part --> Remus spluttered into his tea, sending milky droplets flying into the air. He quickly recovered himself and watched as Severus shot out of his chair in horror at the prospect of Harry being his best anything. Goodness, I laughed a lot over that one too. Nice one. But it does make sense, in a way. Maeve is their go-between, the one we know will be the stronger connection.

And you've outdone yourself with your explanation about the necklace and Abbeylara. I too was wondering where Neville was all this time, as I can definitely remember the chapter in which her true father appeared and told Maeve about her destiny and parentage. It all suddenly made perfect sense. That's the way I feel now. And the irony is almost overpowering - both that Harry still has the necklace, unknown to everyone but him, and that Maeve is but a pawn (if not a queen, LOL) in the game that the gods play, and that she was created only because of Voldemort. And just who could that mysterious person be? I guess I'll have to continue reading to find out! Don't worry, I most definitely will, and a great job on this chapter especially. Looking forward to more reading!



Author's Response: Thanks for sticking with it Caren.. I know the long chapters are daunting, especially on screen and not in book form. Anyway, I explained the Accio problem in the answer to another review. I probably didn't make this clear in the text of the chapter, although I did add a bit about the spells in a later chapter. As for Alohomora! Whoops!! That escaped both myself and the canon nazi that is Anne!LOL I fixed it now. The necklace was always important, right from the first chapter, but I never really knew its full significance until the later chapters...and it will definately be more important as the story progresses. And bringing Harry back in was worrying me because I couldn't see how to do it until Snape decided he was going to use a Portkey to get to Abbeylara and Harry just hopped along for the ride! That was all Harry's doing so I guess I have him to thank for the latter chapters! I'll take another look at the bit that was confusing and see if I can tighten it up a bit, just because it's clear in my mind doesn't always mean it comes across clearly in the story. :-)

Reviewer: ginny15
Date: 06/06/05 22:24
Chapter: Normality Returns

After a very long time of reading, I have finally finished this story, and I must say that it is wonderful. It's so nice to read the occasional fanfic with a borderline JKR writing style. I could spend paragraphs telling you how well-developed your plot was and how accurately you have captured the characters, or how magnificently you've created your own, but I'm guessing those things have already been said, and I don't want to read through all of your reviews to make sure. Well done, and I'm looking forward to that epilogue.

Author's Response: Thank you for such a great review, Ginny! I'm glad you made it through the whole story and the epilogue will be with everyone soon!

Reviewer: hpchic03
Date: 06/06/05 17:46
Chapter: Normality Returns

Wonderful, terrific, awesome, great...just some words to describe your ending. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your story and hope that a sequel is planned. Until then...congradulations on an excellent story!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, hpchic! I am so pleased you enjoyed the story and keep your eyes peeled for the wedding!

Reviewer: Zefix
Date: 06/06/05 1:26
Chapter: Scorched Souls

They could just use accio to get the bottles?

Author's Response: Hmmm...interesting reviewing style, Zefix :-) Yes, they could have used Accio but it would have bounced right back at them because spells cannot pass through Unquenchable Fire... nothing can. Throughout the story they are moving away from it and no spells are cast through it. Abbeylara at this point is a mess of protective spells and the casting of this fire spell just adds to the mix. No spells are guaranteed to work but Accio would definately not have got through the Unquenchable Fire. Hope that explains it.

Reviewer: GringottsVault711
Date: 06/05/05 21:02
Chapter: Wizards about Town.

Awww. I loved that. I love Harry. *sigh*

Actually, Harry's first entrance was very painful... very IC, of course. But it hurt. It's been a long time since I've read the opening chapters of a story that takes place at the beginning of his sixth year, and yet you've made it just as painful.

I enjoyed Roderick. That's all I'll say about that ;)

This chapter felt so familiar, in a nice way. With the the emergence of so many more usual characters, as well as the setting of Grimmauld Place.

My favorite bit of humor in this would have to be Ron's telling of the Cannon's victory, including his comment on their motto, hehe. (Though the CC's winning the Cup, I don't think so, Maeve *wink*).

Well, deary. I'd love to leave much more, but I really am very tired. I'm loving it. I can't wait to read more when I'm actually awake! Great Job.

Author's Response: I enjoyed Roderick too! I like to think of Quidditch as being slightly more unpredictable than football...but even so there are still major upsets in the football world so why not Quidditch! Got to give Ron something to cheer about! LOL Glad you're enjoying it, Jenna...it's great reading your reviews.

Reviewer: GringottsVault711
Date: 06/05/05 20:34
Chapter: Moony Matters

This was a great chapter! The review won't be as long as usual, because I'm absolutely shattered, but I'll do the chapter the justice it deserves.

I thouroughly enjoyed Trelawney's entrance (though I'm a bit tetchy on how likely it would be for her to make another two propecys in such quick succession when there were 14 years between her first two - but I suppose destiny to certain people at certain times for certain reasons, yes?). I laughed at Maeve's driving skills and Lupin's unease during the ride. Hehe. Nice.

I noticed Maeve's preference for turf - it made me smile, because I was reminded of the author *wink*

The scene with Severus and Werewolf!Lupin was amazing. I've never seen anything like that before, myself, and I thought it was brill.

I really like the interaction between the *Lupin Siblings* - it's nice. I almost want to be a Maeve/Remus shipper... but I suppose I'll tell myself not to. I loved the 'cloud that passed across his face' and 'The impending full moon was a constant shadow over their time together ' - not alone, but they are two lines that really stood out to me in particular as being beautifully worded, and I had to point them out and applaud you.

I'm looking forward to learning more about the prophecy, Dumbledore's relationship with Maeve, Harry's entrance and this werewolf cure and what will come of it.

Author's Response: Hee hee...the drive was one of my favourite bits to write. That scene could almost be a self insert with me as Maeve and Remus as my husband. his expression after being driven any distance is pretty similar to Remus' LOL As for Trelawney, that scene is something I want to look again at when I edit the fic. It's one of the things that has stuck out for me as not being quite as I wanted it to be. And the scene with Snape/Maeve/remus/werewolf was great to write so I'm glad you liked it.

Reviewer: Severus Snape
Date: 06/03/05 9:07
Chapter: Normality Returns

What a perfect ending to a perfect story! You have taken us on a fantastic journey and given us some great new characters. Ive really enjoyed the ride and will be looking forward to the wedding and to the next big adventure. Thank you again, fanfiction is rarely this good.

Author's Response: Thank you for all your wonderful reviews!

Reviewer: Harriet Evans
Date: 06/03/05 1:36
Chapter: Normality Returns

A wonderful conclusion to an amazing tale. I felt a profound sense of fatigue in Maeve during the early paragraphs and then a gradual healing as she picked herself up and carried on. I still think that one of the most amazing feats of this story is that you have Maeve believably in love with a Snape that is exactly in canon - she loves him for what he is. I am so looking forward to the wedding of the year - with Dumbledore as Wedding Planner, it's going to be very interesting! Beautiful, beautiful writing; the last paragraph gave me the shivers and I can't ask for more than that. Looking forward to your epilogue and hopefully a sequel. Thank you for telling such a great story.

Author's Response: Thanks, Harriet! I'm halfway through the wedding so you can expect to see it soon! And she does love him for who he is, we can't always choose who we love and I think these two are a prime example of that.

Reviewer: HALF_BLOODHERO
Date: 06/02/05 23:55
Chapter: Normality Returns

I must first begin by saying thank you! You have truly been amazing! As weird as this sounds I almost feel that you, myself and your other faithful reviewers have almost become a family!(along with Harry and the rest of the gang) I honestly dont know where to begin. What a long wonderful journey we have been on! I have been on the edge of my seat from the very start. I have laughed, cried, and screamed at the top of my lungs with this fic. It is with a tear in my eye that I write this review. You are a true inspiration, your writing style flows so flawlessly with Jo Rowling's that it is unbelievable, yet somehow you have given the characters your own little twist. This last chapter was absolutey amazing, it tied up everything I was concerned about, with the exclusion of Remus's condition. It has truly been an honor to have been with you from the very start. I consider myself extremely lucky to have stumbled upon your fic at its start, and now to be here as we read the last chapter and close the book! Please feel free to email me anytime, letting me know how you are doing on publication or anything I can do for you story wise. It is with a heavy heart that i submit my last review, and it is with a special thank you that I sign off! You have given me so much to do and written such an exceptional story that i do fear i might be disappointed when HBP comes out. Truly my dear the honor has been all mine! With love~HBH

Author's Response: I don't think it sounds weird at all! I feel like we have all become a little family too. If I don't see a review from someone I get worried about them! And I hope this won't quite be your last review because there is the epilogue coming along soon...it's half written and I may have to split it into two because it's going to be quite some length. Suffice it to say, it's great fun to write and nice to forget about Voldemort for a bit! I have fears about becoming Stephen King like and returning with epilogue after epilogue. MJ says she won't believe this story is finished until she sees 'Story Completed: Yes' on the main page. :-).

Reviewer: saurjusa
Date: 06/02/05 17:18
Chapter: Normality Returns

All the way thru the end. This has to be one of the, if not THE, best fan fic I've read so far. Writing style, cliffhangers, execution of a well established plot line and I could go on an on. I'm assuming this story WILL have a sequel to it, since Harry has one more year at Hogwarts and Maeve will be there... after all, "were else would she be?" Im sure you allready know this, but youv'e written 256,622 words perfectly weaved into a master piece. I think in the end, every question was resolved exept for the ones that settle the need of a sequel. There is only one thing I NEED to ask, I've been waiting for this since Ch. 21, please, please, please... did Hermione's potion worked???... Is Remus cured???... what happened with the AK curse... did it only kill the warewolf then??? I don't think this was clearly resolved, I would love to know. Magical Maeve... you truly are a daughter of light. Cheers... Juan

Author's Response: Hey, Juan! So glad you are still reading. :-) The answer to your question is in the first half of the epilogue so you won't have to wait too long for it to be answered. And you're not the only one desperate to know that! And keep watching for Maeve and Snape's honeymoon...I'm going ot have real fun with that!

Reviewer: SusannaC
Date: 06/02/05 6:13
Chapter: Normality Returns

i meant perfect.....i'm such a bad speller.

Reviewer: SusannaC
Date: 06/02/05 6:11
Chapter: Normality Returns

I cant believe its all over.What am i going to read now lol It was great, just what i expected,prefect ending. when do we get the wedding. please,please,please make it soon.

Author's Response: It'll be soon, I promise!! Thanks for all your reviews!

Reviewer: LilyPotter
Date: 06/02/05 5:17
Chapter: A Detour

hello! sorry i dissapeared, forgot i wasnt supposed to have an actual life...lol. nice chapter! pitiful reveiw....oh well. 10!

Author's Response: Hey, a review's a reviews...especially with all the log in problems...so thank you for leaving one!

Reviewer: Eleanor_Prewett
Date: 06/01/05 15:13
Chapter: Normality Returns

I can just imagine Sev- Snape. Yes, I can imagine Snape (oh, it is so hard!) in periwinkle robes and a scowl on his face (with Harry grinning mischeviously nearby I'm sure). What a wonderful image, one I am certain I will chuckle at, in a sad way, in the days to come. Without a doubt, this has been my favorite fic and undoubtedly the best story I have read in a long, long time. Before I could bare to read the last paragraph I stopped, closed my eyes, leaned back in my chair, and recalled this adventure from the very beginning. I can still see Snape watching Maeve in the car as she slept as though I have seen it with my waking eyes. And though I have not witnessed such, the feelings that memory sturs within me are no different than those emotions your words evoked from me these past months. I feel honored to have experienced such a tale- an epic- of monumental meaning and skill. You've left me at the place where words lose all meaning because what words can ever truely describe the Daughter of Light? I look forward to a new day where hope of more tales from you drift softly on the wind. The best of luck to Maeve, Harry, Severus (I cannot deny him his name now), and Neville. And most of all, the best of luck to you. Thank-you for sharing this world with us. ~Ellie

Author's Response: And thank you, Ellie, for leaving me such wonderful and encouraging reviews that really brighten my day! I can't put it off I suppose, I will have to post the first half of the epilogue being as the second half isn't written yet! Holidays do have a way of interupting your writing! And rest assured, there will be a great honeymoon story to come before I buckle down to the sequel... some light relief over summer.

Reviewer: Katastrophe
Date: 06/01/05 13:15
Chapter: Normality Returns

Very well done Maeve. Will there be a sequel?? This is a story that I will definitely miss the updates on!~~~Kat

Author's Response: There will definately be a sequel, Kat..and thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Jenn_Weasley
Date: 06/01/05 12:07
Chapter: Normality Returns

A wonderful conclusion to a wonderful story! I'm glad you'll have the wedding in the epilogue. I'll be looking forward to it. I vote for a sequel too! Thanks!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, Jenn!

Reviewer: Ariana Archer
Date: 06/01/05 11:59
Chapter: Normality Returns

*sigh* Perfect. Harry Potter and the Daughter of Light is amazing. It's the kind of story you sit and stare at for fifteen minutes, just thinking about it. I get that feeling a lot, and it was there with this Fanfic. The end was great and I am hoping against hope that you will consider doing a sequel (please, Please PLEASE!).You are an amazing author with amazing talent. I love it. Thank You.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the great review, Ariana! And there will definately be a sequel!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES