Reviewer: caren_the_hpfan
Date: 06/25/05 13:24
Chapter: Epilogue II

*blink* Um, wow. And Jan takes the trophy for longest chapter ever posted on MNFF! LOL. It was long, but it wasn't boring at all - I never stopped reading until I got the end. (Accomplishment, eh? ;) ) I knew it was going to get to this point eventually - Maeve and Snape marrying! Yay!

First scene between Harry and Snape: very nice. Both were in character, but their emotions were obviously heightened to fit the situation. And later, the walking to the chapel was perfect; I couldn't believe how you got to the conclusion so well. It played out just the way I didn't imagine it - you surprised me there! But I'm not saying it wasn't believable, just had an unexpected twist.

Ah, the chapel. The description just made me sigh to think of nature overrunning the place and making it perfect. (Well, nature helped by magic, but oh well.) The outdoors brought in fit Maeve, and I suppose Snape too, since now they're "one soul." There will be sacrifices along the way of marriage, to be sure. And I liked the PoV from Neville. He still fears Snape, but not that day. *grin* LOL... "Oh no! I have to sing? Those Muggle customs..." ;)

Finn really did make me laugh. I was sort of confused at the beginning, which just made it better, when I realised that the guy wasn't actually senile... at least, completely senile, haha. Felicia is introduced a bit late, don't you think? Maybe it's just foreshadowing for your sequel. Lupin seemed a bit too friendly. Wouldn't he at least be wary of the bubbly, laughing girl? It's almost as if they know each other from before.

Wow. Remus broke my heart with the conflict from Maeve... then having him hand her over! True, they will stay brother and sister now, but I can't help feeling sorry that it's not Maeve who is his... soul mate, true love, whatever the correct term is. Hopefully Felicia comes up more, then! (Psst... that's a nudge. Include her! If you haven't already, that is.)

Great, now I'm going out of order. But it's so sudden to see Hermione as the maiden of honor (it's what it sounds like), and Fred and George as ushers. Can we see anything from Maeve's point of view? I know there's justification, just include it. It's an odd mental image to see the twins as ushers, and even Hermione a bridesmaid, at that age. Maeve doesn't have much of a choice, but I'd like to see more of her.

So they finally ended up together. So sad to see this story come (almost) to an end, but you'd better write that sequel! Post Epilogue III and I'll be happy, at least. Yay, Jan! Your story is a true epic and beautiful from start to finish. I really enjoyed reading through it.

Author's Response: Thanks for another super-long review, Caren. :-) Remus and Felicia. Do you think it was sudden? I know Remus is fairly thoughtful but I've never seen him as being a total wallflower. When he meets Felicia he just sees her as a nice person with a bit of a spark about her. I don't think Remus could articulate any other feelings he might have felt, he's too preoccupied with Maeve and the wedding to spot one of supid's arrows, even when it scores a direct hit! At this moment in time I'm not sure how big a part she will play in the sequel, but she wil be there. Will she be with Remus? You'll have to wait and see what the fates have in store! :-)

I agree with you to a degree about Hermione being the bridesmaid but Maeve wasn't the one to ask her. Maeve became a member of SPEW and it's concievable that she then went on to spend a bit more time with hermione because of this. That would have been noted when the plans were made. And, as you said, Maeve doesn't really have a lot of options, does she? Poor friendless girl! LOL

Initially, when I was planning the wedding, I thought about a woodland scene and then I realised that Severus would hate it, really hate it, so we went for the idea of a Muggle wedding being en vogue and the chapel emerged, with its natural adornments. I thought it managed the best of both worlds.

Reviewer: Eleanor_Prewett
Date: 06/24/05 19:07
Chapter: Epilogue II

Hello again! My, my, what a chapter. Well, to begin with, I thought I would mention that it took me 4 attempts to read this chapter. I read until Finn started speaking and couldn't go any farther. A little while later I came back, read a paragraph, and had to stop. I forced myself to read through Snape's vows (which were wonderfully written, I might add) and Maeve's but couldn't make it through to the reception. So I stopped briefly for the last time before plowing my way through. It took me all day and a lot of laughing to make it all the way through (I had to go running for short spells to release so pent up anxious/ excited energy), but I really, really enjoyed everything. The wedding was just as I hoped it would be and in perfect keeping with your characters' tastes and personalities. Also, I was thrilled to 'hear' Harry explain to Snape why he dislikes him and even more elated to 'hear' Snape apologize. Furthermore, I think it was very big of Harry to apologize also in front of everyone, though not really unexpected. I'm looking forward to learning about the spider, as I too have a sneaking suspicion about it. Yet, as I was dreadfully wrong the last time I guessed, I think I'll just keep this suspicion to myself. It's a wonder to me how you can answer so many questions yet STILL introduce new mystery with *sniffle* only one section of the epilogue left. Brilliant! (By the way, what did Harry give Maeve and...well, Snape, for a wedding present. And I too had troubles with the stories, except I couldn't even log into my account, let alone review.) ~Ellie

Author's Response: Hee hee, Harry's present will be seen in the final part, and Severus is not going to be impressed. :-) Well done for being the one to spot that Harry hadn't actually given her a present! I'm saying nothing about the spider. *seals lips*. That scene with Severus and Harry seems to have been the scene stealer in this chapter. Something had to give with those two and I wanted Maeve to be proved right, at least in a small way, about her decision to force the two of them together at the wedding. But Severus had to make the move to apologise though. The wedding was a strange amalgamation of Muggle traditions and Wizarding strangeness. I don't know were the idea came from, but I did know that Maeve and Severus weren't going to parrot traditional vows back and forth. Both of them are a little too unconventional for that. Hope you like the last part as much as this one. :-)

Reviewer: SusannaC
Date: 06/24/05 5:30
Chapter: Epilogue II

omg there was just so much in this chapter. i loved the wedding and the way they took over, that was perfect. And then the snuck off for a few hours! that was really good. snape and harry were really great, you write them so well and so in character. its about time they had some sort of making up going on. hurry up with that final part......pleeeease.

Author's Response: They were very naughty to sneak off like that half way through the epilogue, shame on them!! LOL Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Harriet Evans
Date: 06/24/05 4:29
Chapter: Epilogue II

A very satisfying and enjoyable chapter - tried to review last night but the blinking log in thingy floored me, again. The descriptions were as wonderful as ever. So pleased that Snape got to say sorry first - that was fitting. Loved Molly wondering if they were going to have 'swinging' at the wedding. (You'd have to change the rating!) So romantic when Maeve and Snape sneaked off for a bit of quality time - you are a genius as I can't say I've ever described Snape as romantic before. I have a theory about that spider, but won't say here for fear of humiliation or - if I'm right - being a spoiler! Lovely - I await the (*sobs*) final part with much anticipation.

Author's Response: Tell me about the log in issue!! Grrrr!

Glad you are enjoying it. I really hope that whatever your theory is about the appearence of a certain arachnid is proved correct. :-) And yes, Molly and swinging does conjure up a very strange mental image! LOL And thopse two were very naughty disappearing off to the cottage like that, this poor author had to look away. *blushes*

Now, let's see if it will let me post this response???

Reviewer: ginny15
Date: 06/23/05 15:59
Chapter: Epilogue II

Awww! That was so beautiful, just... perfect! I wish I could see that chapel. Oh, and of course, the part between Harry and Snape was good, and long overdue. They really need to quit bickering. And you kept it pretty well in character, which is good. I can't stand it when everyone goes and changes people's personalities just to make things work out better. It's unrealistic. Please hurry up with that next part! I assume you've already submitted it, so hopefully the moderators will be reading a lot in the next few days. And didn't you say you were writing a sequal?

Author's Response: It's just been submitted. I had to work over the weekend and the log in issues scare me... so I was putting it off. LOL I'm so glad that the part with Harry and Snape has proved to be in character. I need them to puit on a sllightly more unified and grown up front for the sequel and so they really needed to get their act's together. I think they did that, to a point. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Jenn_Weasley
Date: 06/23/05 14:56
Chapter: Epilogue II

That was just perfect! I loved the officiant's speech - it was lovely. I can't believe Snape apologized. That was great! After what Harry said to him, it didn't seem OOC at all. I've enjoyed this story and am sad to see it end. At least I have one more chapter. Thanks so much!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, Jenn! I'm sad to see it end too....it pained me to click the yes button next to completed! Still, there's always the sequel. :-)

Reviewer: ellidiot
Date: 06/23/05 12:53
Chapter: Epilogue II

Aw the last two chapters have been perfect. sorry, tried three times to review the last one but it keeps logging me out. Really brilliant epilogue, can't wait for the last one!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! With the pain of the log in issues it's so great to see poeple still trying. I am so grateful to those of you who persevere to get your reviews posted. :-)

Reviewer: Magical Maeve
Date: 06/22/05 7:06
Chapter: Flight.

I'm sorry, but I can't reply to you all individualy because of the log in problems. They are just so bad these past few days that i have managed two responses in the past half an hour and I just don't have the time to fiddle about with MNFF. Grrr! Thank you for your reviews. I am so glad you are enjoying the epilogue. It was a chance for me to have a bit of fun with the characters and give old Snivellus a hard time. But there are some romantic bits coming up and some surprising guests. Hope you like the finale! Thanks again for your support. :-)

Reviewer: SusannaC
Date: 06/17/05 15:53
Chapter: Epilogue I

OMG such a perfect start!! I love snape in this chapter and remus gets a girl. please hurry up with the next part. you did Fred and george so well too, it was great.

Reviewer: Eleanor_Prewett
Date: 06/17/05 12:33
Chapter: Epilogue I

Yes! Thank-you for giving someone so great to Remus! He is so perfectly written in this chapter in every situation! And the dresses were a wonderful idea. I was quite looking forward to 'seeing' ..Snape.. in blue robes but, based on Dumbledore's promise, I don't think that'll happen. Wondeful, wonderful, wonderful first half of the epilogue! I look forward very much to the second half. Oh, and I certainly won't mind if you take a leaf out of Stephen King's book(s)... I expect I'll be looking for new stories by you, and the rest of this little family, even through HBP time. There are two HP worlds, yours and JK's. Best wishes to the happy bride and groom!

Reviewer: Moonbright
Date: 06/16/05 17:50
Chapter: Epilogue I

I hope the second half of the epilogue comes out soon! I truly have loved this story (I read the whole thing minus this chapter in 2 days, my family hated me because I couldn't put it down [wait, it was mostly on the computer, so I couldn't really put it down anyway . . . hmm . . .]). I eagerly await the sequel, although, considering how I've checked every single day waiting for the epilogue, I might want to forget about it until you've finished it--If I can wait that long (unlikely, I never can stay away from a good read). Anyway, about the epilogue . . . cute. Good trick for the Weasley twins. Yep, well, have a nice day!

Reviewer: Severus Snape
Date: 06/16/05 13:55
Chapter: Epilogue I

Ach! This is soooo tantalising. You giveth and you taketh away. Needless to say it was funny and touching and a little sad and a lot happy all in one lovely chapter. Can't wait for the final instalement. And three cheers for that washed hair!.

Reviewer: ginny15
Date: 06/15/05 21:32
Chapter: Epilogue I

AHHH! Actually, I wouldn't really have been that surprised if Dumbledore really had given them lime green dresses for a wedding, seeing as he has some rather, er, unique tastes, and I was actually going to congratulate you on a job well done keeping everyone in character, but I'm just as happy that the dresses are pretty. I assume the same goes for Snape's robes, and that they're not really blue? I was surprised when I read about them, since Dumbledore had promised he wouldn't make Snape wear anything other than black. But this makes sense. Hurry up with the second part!

Reviewer: pandafan81
Date: 06/15/05 20:22
Chapter: Epilogue I

That's just so unfair! Cutting an epilogue in half! and I thought the cliff hangers were over with! Anyway, great chapter and I can't wait to see how the wedding turns out!

Reviewer: Jenn_Weasley
Date: 06/15/05 12:15
Chapter: Epilogue I

Loved it! L-O-V-E!!!!! The lime green dresses were a hilarious surprise. I'm surprised even Fred & George would mess with a bride like that. I can't wait to see what Maeve does to them. I'm soooo glad you degreased Snape. I'm still struggling with how to picture it. I like Felicia too. Am I wrong in guessing there's more to her than what you've told us? I'm thinking I might be since a new plot line this close to the end is unlikely. Anywho - I'll be waiting impatiently for the rest of the epilogue. Thanks so much!!!

Reviewer: Harriet Evans
Date: 06/15/05 11:27
Chapter: Epilogue I

I was grinning from ear to ear for the entire chapter, that is until I scrolled down and realised that I'd reached the end. Felicia was a triumph, I adored her lilting Irish accent and I'm so glad that Lupin has a chance at some romance. Oh, and I just burst when she asked Snape if he was going anywhere nice on his hols! Fantastic - Dumbledore has surpassed himself, and so have you.

Reviewer: Katastrophe
Date: 06/15/05 8:33
Chapter: Epilogue I

Par for the course, another fantastic chapter. You've captured the emotion and excitement perfectly. And of course that brings us to Severus' brooding, so typical for him! Fantastic work, I am going to miss this story when it is done.~~Kat

Author's Response: Thanks, Kat! Two more sections of the epilogue to go yet... but for me it's over and I'm a bit sad about that. I went to the computer today and didn't know what to do with myself when I realised it was finished! LOL

Reviewer: Fantasium
Date: 06/14/05 17:40
Chapter: Epilogue I

All right, finally pay-off for guarding the story like a possesive hawk! :) I really like the light tone and humour in this first part of the epilouge, at the same time as it has all of the things I like best with your story - the in-detail surroundings, the living characters, the little details that make me smile out of recognition.

Light-blue robes? Poor Severus! But with the hair cut and all, I bet that's going to the best he has looked, ever. Remus was perfectly written, especially around the groom, his comments showed just enough of the bitterness and envy he must feel, but at the same time the joy for a friend. I really liked the thought of him with a slight tan, looking a bit healthier. It's funny, I don't care as much as I should for him in general, and your story is not at all focused at him but still it makes me want him to be happy, more than any other work I've read.

Fred and George are priceless - what would the wizarding world be without them? You use them well, like you should, when you write. Ron also made me smile, I hope he'll take a good look at Hermione in the next part of the epilouge, on the contrary to what Felicia said I do think that they can notice. :) Talking of Felicia, interesting that you should introduce her in this last part... I shall be keeping an eye out for her in the sequel.

The white-washed cottage reminded me of one of Maeve's visions... And it made me want to take a trip to Ireland.
Ah, anyway, I shall be waiting for the second part of this higly enjoyable epilouge! Thanks, Maeve!



Author's Response: I had fun with Fred and geroge, although I've never written them before they just stepped up to the plaet and did their own talking, so I let them get on with it. :-) Felicia is an OC who was meant to have a very small part and provide the comedy at the beginning with Severus' hair... but she wasn't having any of that and invited herself to the wedding, naughty girl! I think I can safely say we will be seeing her again in the sequel. Hope you like the next part... I certainly enjoyed writing it! As for Remus, I couldn't not have him happy at the end. I'm glad you ended up being happy for him, he's a lovely, useful little character.

Reviewer: Magical Maeve
Date: 06/14/05 10:17
Chapter: Normality Returns

That should be 20,000 btw...not 2000!

Reviewer: Magical Maeve
Date: 06/14/05 9:47
Chapter: Normality Returns

Just to let you know that I have been on holiday and am just back today. I have a lot of things to catch up on and am trying to reply to all your reviews but if you haven't recieved a reply I will get to you soon. :-) It has also put back the completion of the epilogue and because of this, and because of the potential length of the epilogue which looks set to run to 2000 words or more, I will submit it in two halves so you all don't have to wait for another week or so to get the next bit of the story.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES