Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: mrsgeorgeweasley (Signed) · Date: 06/28/05 8:22 · For: A Stormy Passage
I did try and submit a review for the first chapter but the stupid computer wouldn't let me. I decided that since you did such a great job with betaing my chapter i really owed you and should read and review your fic and Wow. So far so incredibly good!


Name: Saphira (Signed) · Date: 06/27/05 13:45 · For: Epilogue II
Finally! Fifteen times I've tried to review this fantastic fic..........and fifteen times I've been logged out!! Anyway, really liked part too "go hiontach" as we say in Ireland which means brilliant. I really liked the way you included the "cupla focail as gaeilge" it's so nice to see some Irish words thrown in!! I couldn't stop laughing at your portrayal of Finn and Arthur's bewilderness of the thick accent. Throughout your story I've always really liked the way you planted little clues at the start eg. Maeve's hands disappearing.....so what's the deal with the spider and the harp? Hmm interesting....... So I might as well finish this review before I'm unwillingly logged out again. A Brilliant fic by all accounts, sad that it is finished but looking forward to the sequel and the oneshots. Ar fheabhas!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for persevering and leaving the review! Well, now that the last part is up you can find out what the deal is with the spider and the harp....*grins* Glad you liked Finn... had to squeeze ina few words of gaeilge in there somewhere and the best way to do it was through Finn. :-)


Name: Fantasium (Signed) · Date: 06/26/05 19:25 · For: Epilogue II

Finally! Maeve, you’re killing me here. Normally, I have endless hours of pc time every day and I can read as much as I want – but there’s hardly ever enough. But now, when this pc time is very much limited, you present this! For the first time, I actually had to read one of your chapters in two sittings. Ah, well, let’s get to it now! :)

It’s impossible to not mention the exchanges between Harry and Severus, both as they were walking to the church and then during Harry’s speech. You simply did it, the brief sign of understanding that I think must come between the two. Wonderful.
The Irish official – why on earth was his name Seamus Finnegan Etcetera? At first I thought he might be related somehow to a certain dorm-mate of Harry’s, but according to HP lexicon (I had to double check), he’s FinnIgan, not FinnEgan. I wouldn’t expect you to do a ‘Mark Evans’, but if Jo did it, then…? As for the shorter name, Finn, I know I have asked before, but are you sure you haven’t read the Cheysuli Chronicles? There’s a Maeve and a Niall in them, and also a Finn. Don’t you introduce an Alix, a Keely or a Brennan, then I’ll be highly suspicious! ;)

“At the far end of the church she could see the black-capped head of her lover and her heart leapt for him beneath the confines of her linen.” - this is where he stopped being Snape, or even Severus, and was finally just a man. The following lines and paragraphs only added to that. I can’t believe what you’ve done to this character, and still somehow kept him in, that’s right, character.
Remus, dear Remus. I’m so glad you were holding on to his sadness and regret, it would have been all too easy to let go of it and have him jolly, especially with the new arrival of Felicia, but his feelings and attitude further illustrates his character and it makes the werewolf a wizard. By the way, I share his opinion that “At first it may not appear the most conventional of pairings.” - not just Maeve/Severus, but Severus at all!

Excellent little JKR-tie-back with the socks, we’re still wondering about that, aren’t we? That’s truly amazing with your story, how you can totally write your own thing, still stay in character and in story.
Two nice H/G treats there (my heart, which is in charge, thinks that’s a winner), whereas Maeve’s love life is heavenly bright and colourful, you keep Harry’s completely JKR in tone.

Now… That spider! And the harp! Your not telling me he made it, are you? If you are, I am completely thrilled!
As always, thanks for your story, Maeve!



Author's Response: I'm not telling you anything about either the spider or the harp....*smirks*

Sorry about that mouthful of a name! It was just a quirk in an endless line of quirks that the mad Irishman had to have. I was actually thinking of Oscar Wilde and his impossible list of names when the idea came to me. And Finnigan/Finnegan is a fairly common name in Ireland, I never even thought of the other Seamus..well not until you just pointed it out to me...so, sorry for that little moment! He's definately not related. I might go and remove that Seamus actually, it's distracting now it's been pointed out! LOL As for Finn. Well, again, it's fairly common. I think of Finn and I think of Finn McCool (and one of my cousins!). I will have to go and root out this book now though! I think names are funny things in that, if you don't know the country they come from, they seem strange and unusual but to someone that comes from a country they are fairly commonplace. Maeve, Niall, Liam, Finn...all are fairly normal names for me but they do seem to have provoked a response both here and on the beta board.

I am so glad you saw the man at that altar. I think this has been one of the biggest challeneges for me. To take the canon Severus Snape and make him into an adult human male that would have feelings and needs beyond what we can see of him in canon. I've enjoyed writing this so much precisely because i can take these wonderful, wonderful characters and explore them, push them a little. To do that I had to take away the notion that we are looking at this from a child's perspective. And as Harry grows it will be interesting to see how Jo writes him...something we won't have to wait too much longer to see. He's sixteen now, that's got to give HBP a more mature feel. Anyway... yes, Severus is a man. I'm writing the wedding night at the moment (for my own gratification and that of a few friends! LOL) and he's definately all man in that!

Well Dumbledore had to give the socks, what else would he have given as a gift! LOL Harry and Ginny had to happen really. I'm not saying it will be a full-blown romance, but we had to have something in there.. everyone gets a little more open to suggestion on a wedding day..just look at Ron and his ogling of hermione's chest. :-)

Hope you like the final part and that any questions you may have about certain creatures are answered. *smirks again*


Name: pandafan81 (Signed) · Date: 06/26/05 0:59 · For: Epilogue II
Bravo! Smashing! Simply wonderful! I like how Ginny's destiny was behind her, and then Harry runs to catch up with her! :) And who do the bands belong to? I'm dying of curiosity! Can't wait for the sequel!

Author's Response: Ahhh...well...the rings are a bit of a mythological throwback. I'm going to write an Afterword for HPDL that will explain all the mythological and location references. The previous owner of those rings will be explained in there. Some eagle-eyed readers will already have deduced who they belonged to by Maeve's vision in the chapel and by Lugh's explanation. And I'm not really a shipper, but I can't deny the Harry/Ginny vibe that's going on! It seemed fitting.


Name: caren_the_hpfan (Signed) · Date: 06/25/05 13:24 · For: Epilogue II

*blink* Um, wow. And Jan takes the trophy for longest chapter ever posted on MNFF! LOL. It was long, but it wasn't boring at all - I never stopped reading until I got the end. (Accomplishment, eh? ;) ) I knew it was going to get to this point eventually - Maeve and Snape marrying! Yay!

First scene between Harry and Snape: very nice. Both were in character, but their emotions were obviously heightened to fit the situation. And later, the walking to the chapel was perfect; I couldn't believe how you got to the conclusion so well. It played out just the way I didn't imagine it - you surprised me there! But I'm not saying it wasn't believable, just had an unexpected twist.

Ah, the chapel. The description just made me sigh to think of nature overrunning the place and making it perfect. (Well, nature helped by magic, but oh well.) The outdoors brought in fit Maeve, and I suppose Snape too, since now they're "one soul." There will be sacrifices along the way of marriage, to be sure. And I liked the PoV from Neville. He still fears Snape, but not that day. *grin* LOL... "Oh no! I have to sing? Those Muggle customs..." ;)

Finn really did make me laugh. I was sort of confused at the beginning, which just made it better, when I realised that the guy wasn't actually senile... at least, completely senile, haha. Felicia is introduced a bit late, don't you think? Maybe it's just foreshadowing for your sequel. Lupin seemed a bit too friendly. Wouldn't he at least be wary of the bubbly, laughing girl? It's almost as if they know each other from before.

Wow. Remus broke my heart with the conflict from Maeve... then having him hand her over! True, they will stay brother and sister now, but I can't help feeling sorry that it's not Maeve who is his... soul mate, true love, whatever the correct term is. Hopefully Felicia comes up more, then! (Psst... that's a nudge. Include her! If you haven't already, that is.)

Great, now I'm going out of order. But it's so sudden to see Hermione as the maiden of honor (it's what it sounds like), and Fred and George as ushers. Can we see anything from Maeve's point of view? I know there's justification, just include it. It's an odd mental image to see the twins as ushers, and even Hermione a bridesmaid, at that age. Maeve doesn't have much of a choice, but I'd like to see more of her.

So they finally ended up together. So sad to see this story come (almost) to an end, but you'd better write that sequel! Post Epilogue III and I'll be happy, at least. Yay, Jan! Your story is a true epic and beautiful from start to finish. I really enjoyed reading through it.

Author's Response: Thanks for another super-long review, Caren. :-) Remus and Felicia. Do you think it was sudden? I know Remus is fairly thoughtful but I've never seen him as being a total wallflower. When he meets Felicia he just sees her as a nice person with a bit of a spark about her. I don't think Remus could articulate any other feelings he might have felt, he's too preoccupied with Maeve and the wedding to spot one of supid's arrows, even when it scores a direct hit! At this moment in time I'm not sure how big a part she will play in the sequel, but she wil be there. Will she be with Remus? You'll have to wait and see what the fates have in store! :-)

I agree with you to a degree about Hermione being the bridesmaid but Maeve wasn't the one to ask her. Maeve became a member of SPEW and it's concievable that she then went on to spend a bit more time with hermione because of this. That would have been noted when the plans were made. And, as you said, Maeve doesn't really have a lot of options, does she? Poor friendless girl! LOL

Initially, when I was planning the wedding, I thought about a woodland scene and then I realised that Severus would hate it, really hate it, so we went for the idea of a Muggle wedding being en vogue and the chapel emerged, with its natural adornments. I thought it managed the best of both worlds.



Name: Eleanor_Prewett (Signed) · Date: 06/24/05 19:07 · For: Epilogue II
Hello again! My, my, what a chapter. Well, to begin with, I thought I would mention that it took me 4 attempts to read this chapter. I read until Finn started speaking and couldn't go any farther. A little while later I came back, read a paragraph, and had to stop. I forced myself to read through Snape's vows (which were wonderfully written, I might add) and Maeve's but couldn't make it through to the reception. So I stopped briefly for the last time before plowing my way through. It took me all day and a lot of laughing to make it all the way through (I had to go running for short spells to release so pent up anxious/ excited energy), but I really, really enjoyed everything. The wedding was just as I hoped it would be and in perfect keeping with your characters' tastes and personalities. Also, I was thrilled to 'hear' Harry explain to Snape why he dislikes him and even more elated to 'hear' Snape apologize. Furthermore, I think it was very big of Harry to apologize also in front of everyone, though not really unexpected. I'm looking forward to learning about the spider, as I too have a sneaking suspicion about it. Yet, as I was dreadfully wrong the last time I guessed, I think I'll just keep this suspicion to myself. It's a wonder to me how you can answer so many questions yet STILL introduce new mystery with *sniffle* only one section of the epilogue left. Brilliant! (By the way, what did Harry give Maeve and...well, Snape, for a wedding present. And I too had troubles with the stories, except I couldn't even log into my account, let alone review.) ~Ellie

Author's Response: Hee hee, Harry's present will be seen in the final part, and Severus is not going to be impressed. :-) Well done for being the one to spot that Harry hadn't actually given her a present! I'm saying nothing about the spider. *seals lips*. That scene with Severus and Harry seems to have been the scene stealer in this chapter. Something had to give with those two and I wanted Maeve to be proved right, at least in a small way, about her decision to force the two of them together at the wedding. But Severus had to make the move to apologise though. The wedding was a strange amalgamation of Muggle traditions and Wizarding strangeness. I don't know were the idea came from, but I did know that Maeve and Severus weren't going to parrot traditional vows back and forth. Both of them are a little too unconventional for that. Hope you like the last part as much as this one. :-)


Name: SusannaC (Signed) · Date: 06/24/05 5:30 · For: Epilogue II
omg there was just so much in this chapter. i loved the wedding and the way they took over, that was perfect. And then the snuck off for a few hours! that was really good. snape and harry were really great, you write them so well and so in character. its about time they had some sort of making up going on. hurry up with that final part......pleeeease.

Author's Response: They were very naughty to sneak off like that half way through the epilogue, shame on them!! LOL Thanks for the review.


Name: Harriet Evans (Anonymous) · Date: 06/24/05 4:29 · For: Epilogue II
A very satisfying and enjoyable chapter - tried to review last night but the blinking log in thingy floored me, again. The descriptions were as wonderful as ever. So pleased that Snape got to say sorry first - that was fitting. Loved Molly wondering if they were going to have 'swinging' at the wedding. (You'd have to change the rating!) So romantic when Maeve and Snape sneaked off for a bit of quality time - you are a genius as I can't say I've ever described Snape as romantic before. I have a theory about that spider, but won't say here for fear of humiliation or - if I'm right - being a spoiler! Lovely - I await the (*sobs*) final part with much anticipation.

Author's Response: Tell me about the log in issue!! Grrrr!

Glad you are enjoying it. I really hope that whatever your theory is about the appearence of a certain arachnid is proved correct. :-) And yes, Molly and swinging does conjure up a very strange mental image! LOL And thopse two were very naughty disappearing off to the cottage like that, this poor author had to look away. *blushes*

Now, let's see if it will let me post this response???


Name: ginny15 (Signed) · Date: 06/23/05 15:59 · For: Epilogue II
Awww! That was so beautiful, just... perfect! I wish I could see that chapel. Oh, and of course, the part between Harry and Snape was good, and long overdue. They really need to quit bickering. And you kept it pretty well in character, which is good. I can't stand it when everyone goes and changes people's personalities just to make things work out better. It's unrealistic. Please hurry up with that next part! I assume you've already submitted it, so hopefully the moderators will be reading a lot in the next few days. And didn't you say you were writing a sequal?

Author's Response: It's just been submitted. I had to work over the weekend and the log in issues scare me... so I was putting it off. LOL I'm so glad that the part with Harry and Snape has proved to be in character. I need them to puit on a sllightly more unified and grown up front for the sequel and so they really needed to get their act's together. I think they did that, to a point. Thanks for the review!


Name: Jenn_Weasley (Signed) · Date: 06/23/05 14:56 · For: Epilogue II
That was just perfect! I loved the officiant's speech - it was lovely. I can't believe Snape apologized. That was great! After what Harry said to him, it didn't seem OOC at all. I've enjoyed this story and am sad to see it end. At least I have one more chapter. Thanks so much!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, Jenn! I'm sad to see it end too....it pained me to click the yes button next to completed! Still, there's always the sequel. :-)


Name: ellidiot (Signed) · Date: 06/23/05 12:53 · For: Epilogue II
Aw the last two chapters have been perfect. sorry, tried three times to review the last one but it keeps logging me out. Really brilliant epilogue, can't wait for the last one!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! With the pain of the log in issues it's so great to see poeple still trying. I am so grateful to those of you who persevere to get your reviews posted. :-)


Name: Magical Maeve (Signed) · Date: 06/22/05 7:06 · For: Flight.
I'm sorry, but I can't reply to you all individualy because of the log in problems. They are just so bad these past few days that i have managed two responses in the past half an hour and I just don't have the time to fiddle about with MNFF. Grrr! Thank you for your reviews. I am so glad you are enjoying the epilogue. It was a chance for me to have a bit of fun with the characters and give old Snivellus a hard time. But there are some romantic bits coming up and some surprising guests. Hope you like the finale! Thanks again for your support. :-)


Name: SusannaC (Signed) · Date: 06/17/05 15:53 · For: Epilogue I
OMG such a perfect start!! I love snape in this chapter and remus gets a girl. please hurry up with the next part. you did Fred and george so well too, it was great.


Name: Eleanor_Prewett (Signed) · Date: 06/17/05 12:33 · For: Epilogue I
Yes! Thank-you for giving someone so great to Remus! He is so perfectly written in this chapter in every situation! And the dresses were a wonderful idea. I was quite looking forward to 'seeing' ..Snape.. in blue robes but, based on Dumbledore's promise, I don't think that'll happen. Wondeful, wonderful, wonderful first half of the epilogue! I look forward very much to the second half. Oh, and I certainly won't mind if you take a leaf out of Stephen King's book(s)... I expect I'll be looking for new stories by you, and the rest of this little family, even through HBP time. There are two HP worlds, yours and JK's. Best wishes to the happy bride and groom!


Name: Moonbright (Signed) · Date: 06/16/05 17:50 · For: Epilogue I
I hope the second half of the epilogue comes out soon! I truly have loved this story (I read the whole thing minus this chapter in 2 days, my family hated me because I couldn't put it down [wait, it was mostly on the computer, so I couldn't really put it down anyway . . . hmm . . .]). I eagerly await the sequel, although, considering how I've checked every single day waiting for the epilogue, I might want to forget about it until you've finished it--If I can wait that long (unlikely, I never can stay away from a good read). Anyway, about the epilogue . . . cute. Good trick for the Weasley twins. Yep, well, have a nice day!


Name: Severus Snape (Signed) · Date: 06/16/05 13:55 · For: Epilogue I
Ach! This is soooo tantalising. You giveth and you taketh away. Needless to say it was funny and touching and a little sad and a lot happy all in one lovely chapter. Can't wait for the final instalement. And three cheers for that washed hair!.


Name: ginny15 (Signed) · Date: 06/15/05 21:32 · For: Epilogue I
AHHH! Actually, I wouldn't really have been that surprised if Dumbledore really had given them lime green dresses for a wedding, seeing as he has some rather, er, unique tastes, and I was actually going to congratulate you on a job well done keeping everyone in character, but I'm just as happy that the dresses are pretty. I assume the same goes for Snape's robes, and that they're not really blue? I was surprised when I read about them, since Dumbledore had promised he wouldn't make Snape wear anything other than black. But this makes sense. Hurry up with the second part!


Name: pandafan81 (Signed) · Date: 06/15/05 20:22 · For: Epilogue I
That's just so unfair! Cutting an epilogue in half! and I thought the cliff hangers were over with! Anyway, great chapter and I can't wait to see how the wedding turns out!


Name: Jenn_Weasley (Signed) · Date: 06/15/05 12:15 · For: Epilogue I
Loved it! L-O-V-E!!!!! The lime green dresses were a hilarious surprise. I'm surprised even Fred & George would mess with a bride like that. I can't wait to see what Maeve does to them. I'm soooo glad you degreased Snape. I'm still struggling with how to picture it. I like Felicia too. Am I wrong in guessing there's more to her than what you've told us? I'm thinking I might be since a new plot line this close to the end is unlikely. Anywho - I'll be waiting impatiently for the rest of the epilogue. Thanks so much!!!


Name: Harriet Evans (Anonymous) · Date: 06/15/05 11:27 · For: Epilogue I
I was grinning from ear to ear for the entire chapter, that is until I scrolled down and realised that I'd reached the end. Felicia was a triumph, I adored her lilting Irish accent and I'm so glad that Lupin has a chance at some romance. Oh, and I just burst when she asked Snape if he was going anywhere nice on his hols! Fantastic - Dumbledore has surpassed himself, and so have you.


You must login (register) to review.