Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: Wiccan (Signed) · Date: 06/29/05 20:55 · For: A Proposal
I hadn't realized that you had updated here and not 'the other site'. I surely do miss the 'enlarge font' option here, but will gladly cross my eyes to finish this great story.


Name: mrsgeorgeweasley (Signed) · Date: 06/29/05 14:10 · For: A Promise Made.
You are so very imaginative, how do you do it? I actually cried during this chapter, it was the strangest thing becuase i've never really felt anything about Snape before but i just felt so sorry for him.


Name: mrsgeorgeweasley (Signed) · Date: 06/29/05 13:42 · For: A Christmas Carol
Lots of ponderous things in this chapter. Harry with Luna....hmmm, not sure about that but i don't doubt for a second that you can convince me!


Name: mrsgeorgeweasley (Signed) · Date: 06/29/05 13:08 · For: Resurrection and Revolt
I'm liking Flich's behaviour, it've very strange indeed. I'm glad that Ron hexed Percy and i'm over the moon that Neville was able to deflect Malfoy's unforgivable. GO NEVILLE!


Name: mrsgeorgeweasley (Signed) · Date: 06/29/05 12:11 · For: The Daughter of Light
That was just incredible! I don't know what else to say, it was just...wow.


Name: Jenn_Weasley (Signed) · Date: 06/29/05 9:23 · For: Epilogue III
Bravo!! *sigh* I've enjoyed this story so much. Thank you for writing it. I look forward to more from you.


Name: Fantasium (Signed) · Date: 06/29/05 6:01 · For: Epilogue III

To begin this, I’m so glad there’s a sequel coming. The feeling I have now (or have had since last night when I read the last part) is exactly like after finishing a really, really good book. I know there’s more coming, but you’ve still managed to actually finish this, it’s completed in itself. I’ve only ever felt this from one fanfiction, that was The Long Road Home by the mighty Ashwinder.

The spell that Felicia is working, it’s so nice to see. In the earlier parts of the epilogue I wasn’t a 100% sure about her presence – nothing wrong with her as a character, of course, but that Remus should be lucky enough to find someone so soon. Now it’s right, especially with how you write him, he’s coming to that final closure I’ve been awaiting for a few chapters – good, I shan’t have to slap him. ;) Towards the end, you had a mighty good composed Remus, some of the strength, will and pride I still like to see with this man was back.
Sprout! :D She was so in place, and her attitude and words – Maeve, I can see how you manage to write the major characters so well, there is plenty of foundation for most of them, but taking Professor Sprout out of the greenhouses and making her talk of such things… *shakes head* So clever where you put her too, being busy with something that grows certainly added to a true Pomona Sprout. Maeve’s slightly naughty thought at the end of their conversation was well placed.

...they sat surrounded by the peace of nature gone wild. - beautiful, something so true and easy for me to relate to. The words, peace against wild, how you combine them. Old word-artist, there.

It was him! Oooh, how can you be so cool, not even remotely hinting it until now! And that you pick up your little red thread, we’ve known he was a party planner all since Maeve first met him – and so he ends up arranging her wedding. I know I said his ‘ending’ was brilliant and worthy, it was, but I am so glad he’s back! The ‘conversing via web’ was clever indeed, had me smiling widely.
The dark Jenny was interesting, I find myself wondering again why she’s introduced here and now. Will it be important, later, that she was attending the wedding? Or is she simply a teaser for the sequel, and the wedding was good place to introduce her? It shall be interesting to see.

Alas, the end. I’ve already said how it made me feel, but there’s more of course. Harry’s gift, Remus’ note, the Muggle tradition of dragging something along, and then, the final exchange of words and Severus’ thought. *sigh* What can I say? Spot-on, brilliant, well done!. I think I’ve said ‘thank you’ after each chapter, at least I should have, so what can I say now? If Jo was actually teaching us to write Harry Potter FanFiction, I know she would be pleased with you, so pleased that she would have to invent a new grade, above ‘O’. So, I suppose, Thank You! /Anna



Name: mrsgeorgeweasley (Signed) · Date: 06/28/05 11:25 · For: A Lesson Learned
Oh just as it's about to get more interesting i have to go to work and it sucks. I'll be back asap to finish reading but i love the story thus far, it's so detailed and mysterious!

Author's Response: Thanks for all your reviews! Glad you are enjoying the story so far. :-) And I agree, work sucks!


Name: mrsgeorgeweasley (Signed) · Date: 06/28/05 10:18 · For: Wizards about Town.
The great thing was that althought this chapter was quite different from the ones before it, it felt totally natural. Maeve was very sensitive with Harry and i'm beginning to really like her.


Name: mrsgeorgeweasley (Signed) · Date: 06/28/05 9:21 · For: Doubts and Devotion
I cannot get over how well your words seem to flow, there is so much rich and vivid description. I love the intensity of things between Maeve and Severus, you can tell that the feelings they had and still have for each other are so powerful. I think JKR would be very hard pushed to produce anything better than this!


Name: mrsgeorgeweasley (Signed) · Date: 06/28/05 8:48 · For: A Discordant Note
Words really fail me, the way you describe everything is incredible and the way you're filling in little bits of their past together is amazing.


Name: mrsgeorgeweasley (Signed) · Date: 06/28/05 8:22 · For: A Stormy Passage
I did try and submit a review for the first chapter but the stupid computer wouldn't let me. I decided that since you did such a great job with betaing my chapter i really owed you and should read and review your fic and Wow. So far so incredibly good!


Name: Saphira (Signed) · Date: 06/27/05 13:45 · For: Epilogue II
Finally! Fifteen times I've tried to review this fantastic fic..........and fifteen times I've been logged out!! Anyway, really liked part too "go hiontach" as we say in Ireland which means brilliant. I really liked the way you included the "cupla focail as gaeilge" it's so nice to see some Irish words thrown in!! I couldn't stop laughing at your portrayal of Finn and Arthur's bewilderness of the thick accent. Throughout your story I've always really liked the way you planted little clues at the start eg. Maeve's hands disappearing.....so what's the deal with the spider and the harp? Hmm interesting....... So I might as well finish this review before I'm unwillingly logged out again. A Brilliant fic by all accounts, sad that it is finished but looking forward to the sequel and the oneshots. Ar fheabhas!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for persevering and leaving the review! Well, now that the last part is up you can find out what the deal is with the spider and the harp....*grins* Glad you liked Finn... had to squeeze ina few words of gaeilge in there somewhere and the best way to do it was through Finn. :-)


Name: Fantasium (Signed) · Date: 06/26/05 19:25 · For: Epilogue II

Finally! Maeve, you’re killing me here. Normally, I have endless hours of pc time every day and I can read as much as I want – but there’s hardly ever enough. But now, when this pc time is very much limited, you present this! For the first time, I actually had to read one of your chapters in two sittings. Ah, well, let’s get to it now! :)

It’s impossible to not mention the exchanges between Harry and Severus, both as they were walking to the church and then during Harry’s speech. You simply did it, the brief sign of understanding that I think must come between the two. Wonderful.
The Irish official – why on earth was his name Seamus Finnegan Etcetera? At first I thought he might be related somehow to a certain dorm-mate of Harry’s, but according to HP lexicon (I had to double check), he’s FinnIgan, not FinnEgan. I wouldn’t expect you to do a ‘Mark Evans’, but if Jo did it, then…? As for the shorter name, Finn, I know I have asked before, but are you sure you haven’t read the Cheysuli Chronicles? There’s a Maeve and a Niall in them, and also a Finn. Don’t you introduce an Alix, a Keely or a Brennan, then I’ll be highly suspicious! ;)

“At the far end of the church she could see the black-capped head of her lover and her heart leapt for him beneath the confines of her linen.” - this is where he stopped being Snape, or even Severus, and was finally just a man. The following lines and paragraphs only added to that. I can’t believe what you’ve done to this character, and still somehow kept him in, that’s right, character.
Remus, dear Remus. I’m so glad you were holding on to his sadness and regret, it would have been all too easy to let go of it and have him jolly, especially with the new arrival of Felicia, but his feelings and attitude further illustrates his character and it makes the werewolf a wizard. By the way, I share his opinion that “At first it may not appear the most conventional of pairings.” - not just Maeve/Severus, but Severus at all!

Excellent little JKR-tie-back with the socks, we’re still wondering about that, aren’t we? That’s truly amazing with your story, how you can totally write your own thing, still stay in character and in story.
Two nice H/G treats there (my heart, which is in charge, thinks that’s a winner), whereas Maeve’s love life is heavenly bright and colourful, you keep Harry’s completely JKR in tone.

Now… That spider! And the harp! Your not telling me he made it, are you? If you are, I am completely thrilled!
As always, thanks for your story, Maeve!



Author's Response: I'm not telling you anything about either the spider or the harp....*smirks*

Sorry about that mouthful of a name! It was just a quirk in an endless line of quirks that the mad Irishman had to have. I was actually thinking of Oscar Wilde and his impossible list of names when the idea came to me. And Finnigan/Finnegan is a fairly common name in Ireland, I never even thought of the other Seamus..well not until you just pointed it out to me...so, sorry for that little moment! He's definately not related. I might go and remove that Seamus actually, it's distracting now it's been pointed out! LOL As for Finn. Well, again, it's fairly common. I think of Finn and I think of Finn McCool (and one of my cousins!). I will have to go and root out this book now though! I think names are funny things in that, if you don't know the country they come from, they seem strange and unusual but to someone that comes from a country they are fairly commonplace. Maeve, Niall, Liam, Finn...all are fairly normal names for me but they do seem to have provoked a response both here and on the beta board.

I am so glad you saw the man at that altar. I think this has been one of the biggest challeneges for me. To take the canon Severus Snape and make him into an adult human male that would have feelings and needs beyond what we can see of him in canon. I've enjoyed writing this so much precisely because i can take these wonderful, wonderful characters and explore them, push them a little. To do that I had to take away the notion that we are looking at this from a child's perspective. And as Harry grows it will be interesting to see how Jo writes him...something we won't have to wait too much longer to see. He's sixteen now, that's got to give HBP a more mature feel. Anyway... yes, Severus is a man. I'm writing the wedding night at the moment (for my own gratification and that of a few friends! LOL) and he's definately all man in that!

Well Dumbledore had to give the socks, what else would he have given as a gift! LOL Harry and Ginny had to happen really. I'm not saying it will be a full-blown romance, but we had to have something in there.. everyone gets a little more open to suggestion on a wedding day..just look at Ron and his ogling of hermione's chest. :-)

Hope you like the final part and that any questions you may have about certain creatures are answered. *smirks again*


Name: pandafan81 (Signed) · Date: 06/26/05 0:59 · For: Epilogue II
Bravo! Smashing! Simply wonderful! I like how Ginny's destiny was behind her, and then Harry runs to catch up with her! :) And who do the bands belong to? I'm dying of curiosity! Can't wait for the sequel!

Author's Response: Ahhh...well...the rings are a bit of a mythological throwback. I'm going to write an Afterword for HPDL that will explain all the mythological and location references. The previous owner of those rings will be explained in there. Some eagle-eyed readers will already have deduced who they belonged to by Maeve's vision in the chapel and by Lugh's explanation. And I'm not really a shipper, but I can't deny the Harry/Ginny vibe that's going on! It seemed fitting.


Name: caren_the_hpfan (Signed) · Date: 06/25/05 13:24 · For: Epilogue II

*blink* Um, wow. And Jan takes the trophy for longest chapter ever posted on MNFF! LOL. It was long, but it wasn't boring at all - I never stopped reading until I got the end. (Accomplishment, eh? ;) ) I knew it was going to get to this point eventually - Maeve and Snape marrying! Yay!

First scene between Harry and Snape: very nice. Both were in character, but their emotions were obviously heightened to fit the situation. And later, the walking to the chapel was perfect; I couldn't believe how you got to the conclusion so well. It played out just the way I didn't imagine it - you surprised me there! But I'm not saying it wasn't believable, just had an unexpected twist.

Ah, the chapel. The description just made me sigh to think of nature overrunning the place and making it perfect. (Well, nature helped by magic, but oh well.) The outdoors brought in fit Maeve, and I suppose Snape too, since now they're "one soul." There will be sacrifices along the way of marriage, to be sure. And I liked the PoV from Neville. He still fears Snape, but not that day. *grin* LOL... "Oh no! I have to sing? Those Muggle customs..." ;)

Finn really did make me laugh. I was sort of confused at the beginning, which just made it better, when I realised that the guy wasn't actually senile... at least, completely senile, haha. Felicia is introduced a bit late, don't you think? Maybe it's just foreshadowing for your sequel. Lupin seemed a bit too friendly. Wouldn't he at least be wary of the bubbly, laughing girl? It's almost as if they know each other from before.

Wow. Remus broke my heart with the conflict from Maeve... then having him hand her over! True, they will stay brother and sister now, but I can't help feeling sorry that it's not Maeve who is his... soul mate, true love, whatever the correct term is. Hopefully Felicia comes up more, then! (Psst... that's a nudge. Include her! If you haven't already, that is.)

Great, now I'm going out of order. But it's so sudden to see Hermione as the maiden of honor (it's what it sounds like), and Fred and George as ushers. Can we see anything from Maeve's point of view? I know there's justification, just include it. It's an odd mental image to see the twins as ushers, and even Hermione a bridesmaid, at that age. Maeve doesn't have much of a choice, but I'd like to see more of her.

So they finally ended up together. So sad to see this story come (almost) to an end, but you'd better write that sequel! Post Epilogue III and I'll be happy, at least. Yay, Jan! Your story is a true epic and beautiful from start to finish. I really enjoyed reading through it.

Author's Response: Thanks for another super-long review, Caren. :-) Remus and Felicia. Do you think it was sudden? I know Remus is fairly thoughtful but I've never seen him as being a total wallflower. When he meets Felicia he just sees her as a nice person with a bit of a spark about her. I don't think Remus could articulate any other feelings he might have felt, he's too preoccupied with Maeve and the wedding to spot one of supid's arrows, even when it scores a direct hit! At this moment in time I'm not sure how big a part she will play in the sequel, but she wil be there. Will she be with Remus? You'll have to wait and see what the fates have in store! :-)

I agree with you to a degree about Hermione being the bridesmaid but Maeve wasn't the one to ask her. Maeve became a member of SPEW and it's concievable that she then went on to spend a bit more time with hermione because of this. That would have been noted when the plans were made. And, as you said, Maeve doesn't really have a lot of options, does she? Poor friendless girl! LOL

Initially, when I was planning the wedding, I thought about a woodland scene and then I realised that Severus would hate it, really hate it, so we went for the idea of a Muggle wedding being en vogue and the chapel emerged, with its natural adornments. I thought it managed the best of both worlds.



Name: Eleanor_Prewett (Signed) · Date: 06/24/05 19:07 · For: Epilogue II
Hello again! My, my, what a chapter. Well, to begin with, I thought I would mention that it took me 4 attempts to read this chapter. I read until Finn started speaking and couldn't go any farther. A little while later I came back, read a paragraph, and had to stop. I forced myself to read through Snape's vows (which were wonderfully written, I might add) and Maeve's but couldn't make it through to the reception. So I stopped briefly for the last time before plowing my way through. It took me all day and a lot of laughing to make it all the way through (I had to go running for short spells to release so pent up anxious/ excited energy), but I really, really enjoyed everything. The wedding was just as I hoped it would be and in perfect keeping with your characters' tastes and personalities. Also, I was thrilled to 'hear' Harry explain to Snape why he dislikes him and even more elated to 'hear' Snape apologize. Furthermore, I think it was very big of Harry to apologize also in front of everyone, though not really unexpected. I'm looking forward to learning about the spider, as I too have a sneaking suspicion about it. Yet, as I was dreadfully wrong the last time I guessed, I think I'll just keep this suspicion to myself. It's a wonder to me how you can answer so many questions yet STILL introduce new mystery with *sniffle* only one section of the epilogue left. Brilliant! (By the way, what did Harry give Maeve and...well, Snape, for a wedding present. And I too had troubles with the stories, except I couldn't even log into my account, let alone review.) ~Ellie

Author's Response: Hee hee, Harry's present will be seen in the final part, and Severus is not going to be impressed. :-) Well done for being the one to spot that Harry hadn't actually given her a present! I'm saying nothing about the spider. *seals lips*. That scene with Severus and Harry seems to have been the scene stealer in this chapter. Something had to give with those two and I wanted Maeve to be proved right, at least in a small way, about her decision to force the two of them together at the wedding. But Severus had to make the move to apologise though. The wedding was a strange amalgamation of Muggle traditions and Wizarding strangeness. I don't know were the idea came from, but I did know that Maeve and Severus weren't going to parrot traditional vows back and forth. Both of them are a little too unconventional for that. Hope you like the last part as much as this one. :-)


Name: SusannaC (Signed) · Date: 06/24/05 5:30 · For: Epilogue II
omg there was just so much in this chapter. i loved the wedding and the way they took over, that was perfect. And then the snuck off for a few hours! that was really good. snape and harry were really great, you write them so well and so in character. its about time they had some sort of making up going on. hurry up with that final part......pleeeease.

Author's Response: They were very naughty to sneak off like that half way through the epilogue, shame on them!! LOL Thanks for the review.


Name: Harriet Evans (Anonymous) · Date: 06/24/05 4:29 · For: Epilogue II
A very satisfying and enjoyable chapter - tried to review last night but the blinking log in thingy floored me, again. The descriptions were as wonderful as ever. So pleased that Snape got to say sorry first - that was fitting. Loved Molly wondering if they were going to have 'swinging' at the wedding. (You'd have to change the rating!) So romantic when Maeve and Snape sneaked off for a bit of quality time - you are a genius as I can't say I've ever described Snape as romantic before. I have a theory about that spider, but won't say here for fear of humiliation or - if I'm right - being a spoiler! Lovely - I await the (*sobs*) final part with much anticipation.

Author's Response: Tell me about the log in issue!! Grrrr!

Glad you are enjoying it. I really hope that whatever your theory is about the appearence of a certain arachnid is proved correct. :-) And yes, Molly and swinging does conjure up a very strange mental image! LOL And thopse two were very naughty disappearing off to the cottage like that, this poor author had to look away. *blushes*

Now, let's see if it will let me post this response???


Name: ginny15 (Signed) · Date: 06/23/05 15:59 · For: Epilogue II
Awww! That was so beautiful, just... perfect! I wish I could see that chapel. Oh, and of course, the part between Harry and Snape was good, and long overdue. They really need to quit bickering. And you kept it pretty well in character, which is good. I can't stand it when everyone goes and changes people's personalities just to make things work out better. It's unrealistic. Please hurry up with that next part! I assume you've already submitted it, so hopefully the moderators will be reading a lot in the next few days. And didn't you say you were writing a sequal?

Author's Response: It's just been submitted. I had to work over the weekend and the log in issues scare me... so I was putting it off. LOL I'm so glad that the part with Harry and Snape has proved to be in character. I need them to puit on a sllightly more unified and grown up front for the sequel and so they really needed to get their act's together. I think they did that, to a point. Thanks for the review!


You must login (register) to review.