Reviewer: Merlynne
Date: 07/07/07 18:20
Chapter: Cliché

Aww. It is sweet like cotton candy but I still ADORED this chapter! I'm so glad they finally got together. This chapter was a perfect semi-conclusion to the story. I got a little watery-eyed for this one. Great story, great characters. I love your OC, Laura. I'm sad its over, but I'm glad I read this!

Author's Response: As I remember, it was a difficult chapter to write because Laura and Oliver had to be a little...cuter than I liked them to be. I think they deserved a happy ending, though. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Merlynne
Date: 07/05/07 12:55
Chapter: Begin with a Farewell

Aww, I kept waiting for Oliver and Laura to just drop the pretence and make up, but NO. You've got to keep me on edge.
I really liked the part about the four houses, and how they'd all react with the burning house. I thought that was a nice touch. it's a difficult subject, and you avoided stereotypes well. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Haha...Oliver and Laura don't drop pretences easily, unfortunately for them. Thanks very much for the review!

Reviewer: Merlynne
Date: 07/05/07 12:19
Chapter: Puddlemere Divided

I really did like this chapter! I'm glad to hear that this isn't a mushy story where the characters just sacrifice all for love with no questions asked, because in my opinion love isn't everything, but who cares about that. This is a really great development, and as much as I want to see them stay together, I enjoyed this ending. Great chapter!
-Merlynne

Author's Response: Glad you weren't angry with them (or me!). Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Merlynne
Date: 07/01/07 1:32
Chapter: Gryffindors

Um. I'm kind of at a loss for words. Granted, it's really late. I LOVED how Hagrid interrupted them, so funny, so perfect. But I'm so happy they're together now *wipes away tear* I'm very glad that this story doesn't end here. I'm glad that the conflicts are going to be resolved...it makes it so much more than just a romance...it makes it almost like life. Wow. Imagine that.

Author's Response: One of the things I'd change about this story would be to bring Hagrid into it just slightly more. He plays a big role in their relationship, and he probably deserved more screentime from me. And he might have gotten it if I weren't so terrible at writing his accent. ;-) Thanks for the review, Merlynne!

Reviewer: Merlynne
Date: 07/01/07 1:13
Chapter: Quidditch Captains

Wow. I just cried. I'd like to think it has something to do with it being midnight where I am and I'm possibly overtired, but this was an amazing chapter. No, it was not too vague, it was excellent. The chapter didn't seem any shorter than others. Actually, since I've been reading this all in one sitting, it all just blends into one great story...which I am obliged to continue. I agree with your theory of magical objects "feeling." The Anglia at least is canon proof/support. Great chapter!

Author's Response: :) Thanks very much!

Reviewer: Merlynne
Date: 07/01/07 0:34
Chapter: New Year's

I just have to say this. Every chapter I read there's something that strongly reminds me of myself about Laura, and then there are other characters that remind me of people I know. Which probably means that you're a brilliant writer, but I've mentioned that already in previous reviews. I can't quit reading. Wow.

Author's Response: I like hearing that people can relate to some of the characters in the story. Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Merlynne
Date: 07/01/07 0:12
Chapter: Fears of Fate

Your attention to detail is absolutely amazing! This has been the first piece I've really been able to lose myself in--on MNFF or off--in ages. The scene in the bathroom--great detail! Who would have though about the bathing setup for students? I thought I was the only one who was concerned with that. You think of everything, and your dialogue is really amazing! The story has great pace and I'm so intrigued. The scene on the broom was positively electric. I can't wait to read more!!!

Author's Response: I bet more readers than either of us realize are a little concerned about where Harry and his friends are able to bathe and brush their teeth. :-) Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Merlynne
Date: 06/30/07 23:12
Chapter: Loneliness and Sympathy

Wow. I accidentally stumbled across this story when someone was recommending it to someone else, but I'm floored. The dialogue was amazing, and reminded me strongly of how my friends an I talk! You've got me hooked! Your writing style is smooth and enticing, and I really want to know what happens next! I must keep reading!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! And thanks to the person who accidentally recommended the story to you, as well. I'm glad you stumbled across it.

Reviewer: Gin_Drinka
Date: 06/24/07 23:22
Chapter: The Truth is but a Vision

yeah, that was stupid...but realistic. God, my friends have done worse...but not for five years, and no one ever dies...lol, great story!

Author's Response: Haha. I read this review the wrong way the first time. You're right. The fight was stupid (if it hadn't been, it would have been even more difficult for the characters to try to move past it). Hope you decide to keep reading. EIther way, thanks very much for the reviews!

Reviewer: Gin_Drinka
Date: 06/24/07 22:51
Chapter: Loneliness and Sympathy

Ohh...I like this...another Weasley, that's interesting...I'm off to read more...

Author's Response: Yep. Another Weasley. Glad you're not put off by the [admittedly not canon] idea. Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 02/22/07 17:02
Chapter: Epilogue: Woods

Oh gosh, I've just finished reading and realized I've enjoyed your whole story without leaving a single review! Eeek! I really enjoyed this story. Laura is a believable OC, and a fun one to read about. I also really loved your characterization of both Percy and Oliver, and of all of your OC Seventh Years. The characterization of the canon charcters was IC and yet original and the OCs stayd consistant throught the entire fic. And Percy was believable, yet likeable.
The plot was just as good as the characterization. I love the premise of the relationship between Oliver and Laura, and I love how long it takes them, because that makes it realistic and romantic, in an odd way... :D
The ending was great, too. Kind of bittersweet, with Percy, but I'm glad Laura finds happiness in the end, even if it could be better. We don't leave the story thinking "And happily ever after... so what?" No, we leave thinking "Well, she has Oliver. That should be enough." Very real, very touching. As was the whole story.
I can't list all of my favorite parts here, but suffice to say, this is a brilliant story. You obviously put a lot of work into it, and it paid off! A completely delightful read!

Author's Response: It's always great to hear when people find the plot and the characters believable. Hopefully Percy redeems himself in the Deathly Hallows--if he doesn't, he's going to lose a little of his believability in this fic. :-)

Thanks very much for reading and for the review, Valentinia!

Reviewer: XxmegeoxX
Date: 02/19/07 23:14
Chapter: Epilogue: Woods

aww....it's finally over. I've been reading this story since the beginning, and it is definitely my favorite Oliver fic ever. I can see Laura in my head, and I understand her. Thank you for this story!

Author's Response: It's always lovely to hear that people find Laura realistic. You're very welcome for the story. Thank you very much for reading and reviewing! And, if you ever have a few spare moments, e-mail me your other favorite Oliver fics. Now that I'm done with this story, I can read other people's versions of Oliver without being afraid of it affecting my own. :-)

Reviewer: Viv
Date: 02/02/07 19:38
Chapter: Epilogue: Woods

Ohh!! I was so happy when I saw that the epilogue was up! And I'm so happy now because you finished this story admirably well! I have to tell you: I just love your story so much! Each chapter was a real pleasure, well written, detailed and with a believable love story. And Laura and Oliver will get married, so I couldn't ask for a better ending. Yes, your chapters were long, but I think that's why this story was so good. You put so much efforts in developping your characters that we have been able to identify to them; in my case, to Laura. I'm a bit sad it's over, but it has been so nice to read your work that this sadness is worth it! You're a really good author! :)

Author's Response: Aww. Thanks very much, Viv. I'm glad you've enjoyed the story.

I did put more effort into the characters than the plot, but I hope I put in less effort than it seems. ;-) The truth is that many of the characters didn't take much effort. The secondary Seventh Years are admittedly not as developed as they could be, even if they aren't in the forefront of most of the story. Percy, Laura and Oliver were easy enough because they were always there. The hardest character to write, by far, was Mr. Wood, whom I had problems relating to.

Now that I'm done rambling about that.... ;-) Thanks very much for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: bertiebott12
Date: 01/26/07 13:32
Chapter: The Truth is but a Vision

I was a little confused. Who was Dan? How did he die? How do Wood and Dan no each other? Why did LAura and Dan have a fight? Wouldn't Wood and Percy be graduated by then? If Harry is in his fourth year? I was way confused. Good writing though. Please answer my reviews if u dont mind. :)

Author's Response: Dan is Percy's older brother. He and Laura never had a substantive fight (they bickered sometimes). The disagreement was between Percy and Oliver, and Laura took Percy's side. It's good that you're asking those other questions about Dan. I usually put important information in dialogue. This made it so that readers only know things when Laura is ready to talk about them. Sometimes, that was probably a mistake on my part. Most of the time, I think it works all right. You'll find out soon how Dan died. The majority of the fic is set in Harry's third year. That's why there's no mention of the Triwizard Tournament or that stuff. There are vague references to Sirius and other Book 3 happenings. (Not so vague references to Quidditch, of course.) The first couple chapters are vague. Answers are on the way. :) Thanks for the feedback, bertiebott12!

Author's Response: Sorry. I lost the line breaks in that.

Reviewer: bertiebott12
Date: 01/25/07 6:01
Chapter: Loneliness and Sympathy

That was great! I usually don't read romance OC's, but u have inspired me 2 do so! The story is on my favs list

Author's Response: Thanks very much!

Reviewer: Cinderella Angelina
Date: 01/23/07 12:50
Chapter: Epilogue: Weasleys

This always happens. I was reading this story just on Saturday, because that's what I do with my favorite books -- open up to the middle and just start reading -- and then, to my great surprise, it was updated. Of course, I did have inside information that it was finished, but I had no idea that you would get it up while you were...you know...abroad.

I really really wanted Percy to give in, but he didn't. I guess that's okay, because it was important for Laura and Mr. Wood to reconcile, but I still wish Percy had too. It was in character for him not to, though, so I understand. (The moment Percy smiled about office relationships, I thought I knew who he'd been "seeing", but I'm probably wrong so I won't say.)

Thank you a million times for finishing this. I'm going to go to the next chapter and see if I have anything to add to that. Have a nice day!

Author's Response: If I were to open up this story to start reading, I'd open it to the middle, too, because the beginning chapters make me cringe. I hope that's a natural reaction when reading things written relatively long ago.

I really wanted Percy to give in, too, but I didn't want the fic to end on a perfectly-happily-ever-after note. Who knows, though? Perhaps in thirty or forty years, Laura and Percy will get over themselves and become friends again. ;-)

Thanks very much for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: hopelesslyhopeful
Date: 01/22/07 9:31
Chapter: Epilogue: Woods

oh wow, what a way to end this beautiful story. i'm glad Laura and Mr. Wood finally spoke and I love the twist of Wood's dad dating Percy's mom as an explanation for Mr. Wood's actions! i'm really sad to see this story end...it's so well written and original. anytime i read Oliver Woods name in any other fic, my mind immediately jumps to this story. thanks for such a great story!

Author's Response: Thanks very much for reviewing, and even more for reading! I'm glad you enjoyed the ending.

Reviewer: miss padfoot
Date: 01/22/07 4:57
Chapter: Epilogue: Woods

Finally!!!! I saw the update in my inbox and jumped! I immediately came over and read both the parts of the epilogue (in spite of the fact that I'm having exams :D) -- and wow, what an ending, I must say, Em! I happen to be in love with your Percy and the way you showed his other side; small mannerisms like his smirk being misunderstood as his arrogance -- you do know your Percy well. You've showed us his other side that we can still relate to the canon! Percy. Superb job!

And the chat with Mr Wood was well written too. I loved how you brought up Mrs Weasley from out of the blue though it made perfect sense :)

Overall, I simply have no words to say. You've left me spellbound. I would remember this fic as long as I live as one of the best romances -- and whenever I read about Oliver, your fic is the first thing that comes to my mind. :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for all of your nice reviews!
I'm glad you enjoyed the end. I have to say that the Mrs. Weasley part of this chapter came out of the blue for me too--her role made sense to me, but I was afraid others would find it unbelievable.
As I've said in other responses, I love Percy's character, even if Percy isn't the most lovable character. I think if there is ever a Do Be My Enemy spin-off fic, it would center around Percy.
Thanks again for the reviews!

Reviewer: x_moonlightshine
Date: 01/21/07 23:18
Chapter: Epilogue: Woods

Wow, this took me about a day to read, but it was all on and off, but still, lol. I happen to like random romance fics, and this was a really good one. Great job. =)

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: ronsgirl123
Date: 01/21/07 20:16
Chapter: Epilogue: Weasleys

This was a great chapter. It was great seeing Percy again, even if he was well... a little angry. Good chapter! I can't wait to read the next one! Even though it will be the last one to this story :(

Author's Response: Couldn't end the story without giving Percy another appearance. If there is ever a one-shot with any ties to this fic, it would almost certainly center around Percy (since I think Oliver and Laura have had more than their fair amount of screen time). Hope you enjoy the second half of the epilogue!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES