Reviewer: Jessabelle
Date: 01/15/11 3:22
Chapter: Awkwardness and Anger

i found this story today and i get what you mean about likeing two am. it's 12.25 in NZ right now while im reading it and i have the same feelings about reeding when no one is awake.
im really enjoy you story, more than you can possibly imagine. i always loved wood and im glad you have found a character that he fits with so well. Okay no more writing time to finish your story :)

Reviewer: bling_baby
Date: 09/29/08 8:18
Chapter: Gryffindors

Oliver and Laura finally kissed! Get in there!!!

Reviewer: Cinderella Angelina
Date: 08/06/08 12:30
Chapter: Loneliness and Sympathy

I wonder where this review will end up, I'm just typing into the box at the bottom of the page -- probably the first chapter. I'll try not to include any spoilers.

Anyway. I've been looking through all your reviews and am appalled to find that I have only given one ever! This will not do! I read your story all the way through the other day -- again. I love it so much.

I should at least go through the chapters and highlight my favorite bits or something, but I'm lazy. Maybe next time I read it -- which, given my current record, shouldn't be too far in the future.

Thanks for writing such an awesome story that I keep coming back!

Reviewer: scarlet crayon
Date: 07/08/08 0:32
Chapter: Loneliness and Sympathy

hi,
i really liked this story, it was the first OC story i've read and it's very good. i have also found a story about Tom Riddle where he is somewhat in character...it's called: more than a game by: hypatia

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 07/06/08 15:03
Chapter: Loneliness and Sympathy

Well, I've finished the story, and I'm so glad there was a happy ending. Even Wood's father turned out to be not such a bad guy, although he does tend to judge people witho9ut knowing them, perhaps he should work on that. And who'd have thought Molly would've gone out with anyone other than Arthur? I wonder if she always liked Arthur, but he was too slow to catch on so she dated others while waiting for him? Hmm, sounds alot like Ginny and Harry's relationship. The binding ceremony at Adam and Tara's wedding was lovely, glad Laura stopped snapping pictures so she could take part. I loved little Bernard, hope if you do write more about the Woods, he'll be making an appearance. Thanks for such a lovely story.

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 07/03/08 23:16
Chapter: Quidditch Captains

Such a lovely chapter. I adore the snitch theory and the room sounded amazing. I wouldn't be surprised if Hogwarts felt and acted accordingly. Perhaps it isn't the same but sometimes when I go to someones house or a building I've not been to before I get a feeling from it, as if the place has soaked up the experiences of the people within it, is it so incredible to go one step beyond that to the place projecting feelings of it's own? Anyway, I'm getting off topic. After reading about Dan's death i can't really see it as anything other than an accident, but I guess to a twelve year old girl it must have been horrific. I think, like Wood said, that people think too much and so need to find a reason or someone to blame for things or else they'll go mad. Maybe it'd be better to be a golden snitch. And finally, I think Percy was being a bit of a git, as Ron might say. Maybe he does need Laura's friendship, but he has no right to upset her because she chooses to spend time with other people, Oliver Wood or no, when he practically abandoned her for Penelope. I know people who moan because the people they usually hang around with are spending time with girls instead, but don't give a thought to anyone else if they are seeing someone, perhaps everyone is the same. Sorry for this messy, rambling review, and thanks very much for the fic.

Author's Response: Haha, I like to pretend that I nearly predicted the role Golden Snitches ended up playing in Deathly Hallows. I was almost kind of close. ;-) I have to agree with you that Dan's death was entirely an accident, but I also think it would be normal for a person in Laura's position to blame him- or herself. It would probably be easier to blame yourself than to blame the person who died, even though in this accident, Dan certainly had more to do with the accident than Laura did.

And Percy is definitely kind of a git, which was so much fun to write!

Thanks so much for the review!

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 07/03/08 21:28
Chapter: Fears of Fate

Just thought I'd stop here for a quick review. I'm loving this story so much, and this chapter in particular touched me. I really enjoyed the time Wood and Laura spent together, I used to find it a lot of fun knowing little things like that about people. And before i read further I'd like to ask, was Laura not keen on the idea of a soulmate for everyone because if it were true and Dan was hers then she'd lost him? Oh and the mirror shop was so interesting, I'll have fun now imagining what other mirrors were there. Why weren't they allowed to touch the surface, is that a forever thing or just until the mirror has been bought? And will we be revisiting the mirror shop? Guess i'd better find out.

Author's Response: It's so exciting to find out some people are still stumbling across this fic even though it hasn't been updated in months. :-)

To answer your questions, you guessed Laura's reason for not liking the idea of soulmates--she was, indeed, worried about having lost hers. Although...maybe I'm just overthinking this, but I wonder if it's significant that Laura's more afraid of never finding another soulmate than she's afraid she's lost a soulmate. (I suppose, as the author, I shouldn't have to wonder... ;-) )

The owner asked Laura not to touch the surfaces of the mirrors so that he wouldn't have to clean off fingerprints. Although, maybe magical mirrors clean themselves? I didn't think about that before. Laura and Oliver don't revisit the shop during this story. If I ever write another Laura/Oliver story (which I've considered--I do rather miss those characters), perhaps the store will have to make a reappearance. :-)

Thanks so much for the review and your questions! Hope you enjoy the rest of the story.

Reviewer: dancingwithneville
Date: 03/19/08 21:02
Chapter: Epilogue: Woods

I didn't review yet and now that I have finished your lovely story I feel that I must! First off I had no idea what I was looking for when I saw this story. It just caught my eye and over the past few days I just couldn't stop reading! I love how you wrote Oliver and Laura. Especially in chapter 11. You wrote their awkwardness so well it seemed like if you did see them in real life that is how they would have been.

When Oliver and Bernard were walking down the street I got so upset thinking to myself “He was supposed to marry Laura!” But in the end you did a great job. It makes me sad having to leave Oliver and Laura. I can’t wait to see what else you have written and/or plan to write!

Author's Response: I'm glad you decided to give Oliver and Laura a chance. :-) Chapter 11 was one of the most difficult chapters for me to write because it was one of the stages in the story I just kind of skipped over while plotting it in my head. It's one of my favorite chapters now.rnrnI'm also quite happy to hear you fell for the Bernard bait. ;-) He was definitely one of the most fun characters to write. Adam, Mark, and Rose ranked up there with him.rnrnThanks very much for reviewing!

Reviewer: Buckbeak rules
Date: 12/08/07 17:41
Chapter: Puddlemere Divided

Oh my, this chapter was wonderful, i was planning on reviewing everything at the end but i had to comment on this one especially!
The ending was great in a sad-i-am-about-to-cry way and it was even greater (if that is possible...) with the music i was listening to fit perfectly! great job with this chapter and the whole fic to this point (and beyond, i am sure).
Great work! looking forward to reading the rest of this fic!

*BR*

Author's Response: Thanks very much for reviewing! Even though it's been a while since this chapter was posted, I still breathe a sigh of relief when people don't want to kill me for what happens at the end of this chapter.

Reviewer: Cirelondiel
Date: 11/22/07 2:33
Chapter: Fears of Fate

Great chapter again. I really liked the idea of the mirror shop - sounds like a place I'd love.

A couple of typos to point out:
"No. You don't hate me anyone and want to be friends, right?"
Should be anymore not anyone.

"He breath smelled heavily of chocolate."
His breath, not he breath.

"We though we were going to be late," Wood said, nicely.
We thought, not we though.

It's so nice that you're showing that Hagrid is friends with other students around the school. You portray him as a good mentor and someone who's very... solid in Laura's life, it seems to me. He always there for support.

Good job, once more. I'm thoroughly enjoying this story, it's so good to see minor characters and OCs fleshed out really well - that's what I really love about fanfiction.

~ Chelsea


Author's Response: Thanks very much for the review and for pointing out the typos. Sorry it took me so long to respond!

Reviewer: Cirelondiel
Date: 11/08/07 23:58
Chapter: Rows and Reconciliations

"You weren't there after you left last night." "No kidding? There's a profound statement."
Love that line :-) I also thought the dialogue between Percy and Laura at the end of the chapter was really good. It's good to see that you're making Percy... human. Talking about his girlfriend, having a little bit of humour, stuff like that. All too often he's a completely boring character. Good job :-D

Lots of dialogue again. Once again, I have to comment on how natural it sounds and how it really helps to move the plot along at this point. It's good that you've used that instead of lots of boring past tense from Laura's mind. I do find, though, that when you have them talking for a long time without saying who is saying what, I get a bit lost. Throwing a few 'I said', 'he exclaimed', 'she cried' or whatever in there wouldn't hurt.

But overall, good chapter again :-)

~ Chelsea

Author's Response: I agree that there are points in this story when it would make things easier on readers if I threw in more "I said" "he said"s. It just seemed so obvious to me which person is talking when I was writing the dialogue. ;-)rnrnThanks for the review.

Reviewer: Cirelondiel
Date: 11/07/07 23:24
Chapter: The Truth is but a Vision

Wow, this story's moving fast! I feel like I know so much about the characters already and it's only the second chapter. The chapters are long, but they're not boring , which is great.

This was a very dialogue-heavy chapter, so I'm hoping to see a bit more narrative in the next chapters to balance things out. Of course, in this case, dialogue was definitely the best way to fill the readers in on the conflict and show how the characters interact. And, once again, your dialogue was written very naturally, great job!

And now, onto chapter 3!

~ Chelsea

Author's Response: The story is very much driven by dialogue--especially the beginning. More narrative will start creeping into the story, but you might have to wait a few more chapters. :-)

Thanks for leaving reviews as you read. It's fun getting reviews for the beginning of the fic.

Reviewer: Cirelondiel
Date: 11/07/07 22:57
Chapter: Loneliness and Sympathy

Congrats on the QSQ!

Wow... the dialogue and characters are totally believable, I can really relate to them, well done! They seem completely natural, their behaviour is just like that of my friends.

I have to admit, the 'other Weasley brother' thing put me off a bit - I *almost* rolled my eyes and left the fic, but you know what, the quality of your writing and the intrigue you created kept me reading. I have to commend you for that!

Well, I'm looking forward to reading on... so see you in the reviews for later chapters!!

~ Chelsea :-)

Author's Response: Haha...I'm glad you only almost rolled your eyes and left the fic. I'll be the first to admit that Dan Weasley is hopefully the least-canon aspect of the story. Until the end, which was made non-canon by Deathly Hallows. Maybe someday I'll go back and rewrite parts of the last few chapters so that it's canon-compliant.

Thanks very much for reading and reviewing. Hope you like the rest of the fic.

Reviewer: Dreameth
Date: 11/07/07 20:22
Chapter: Epilogue: Woods

Congratz on being runner up in the QSQ Awards! If I had decided, you would have been first... then again, I've never read the other one. It's a fantastic story, by the way. I llloooooovvvveeeeddddd it. Twas fantastic!

Author's Response: Thanks very much, Dreameth. I've never read Sins of the Father, either, but I've heard it's excellent. Definitely didn't hurt my pride to come in second to it. :-)

Reviewer: Heiress_of_Insanity_
Date: 11/06/07 16:00
Chapter: Rows and Reconciliations

And in what way will the realationships change? *thinks*

I liked this chapter (but it was very, very long...), mainly because Laura and Percy *stabs the git* made up, kinda. Lovely job!~

H_o_I_

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I should probably warn you that almost all of the chapters are pretty long. :-)

Reviewer: Heiress_of_Insanity_
Date: 11/06/07 15:11
Chapter: The Truth is but a Vision

I liked the argument, actually. =) Stupid arguments are fun to witness (or be part of them, too).

I want to know how Danny died! Will we ever find out? I would keep reading, but I have a pumpkin pie filling to freeze. *eyetwitch* Wonderful (and long) chappie!~

H_o_I_

Author's Response: You'll find out how Dan died, yes. It just takes a while before Laura wants to talk about it. Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Heiress_of_Insanity_
Date: 11/02/07 17:30
Chapter: Loneliness and Sympathy

Congrats on the Quickie!

This is an interesting story. I like the idea of there being another Weasley brother (who supposedly died) but I also find it difficult to believe (probably because we've loved the Weasleys and their seven children so long!)

This is an interesting introduction, and there's a lot of backbone in it. I'll read more when I can but right now my dad's yelling at me to clean the kitchen...*grrr*~

H_o_I_

Author's Response: I agree that it's difficult to believe that JKR would never mention that there was another Weasley brother who died young. Of course, when I started writing the story, there was the ever-so-slight chance that the news would come out in a later installment of the series. ;-) Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Hazil
Date: 07/14/07 5:12
Chapter: Epilogue: Woods

love. it.

xx

Author's Response: Thanks, Hazil!

Reviewer: meryal
Date: 07/10/07 2:49
Chapter: Begin with a Farewell

Wow, I absolutely loved your characterization of Percy in this chapter. He fit when it came to cannon, but you also gave him a personality and humor as well. I really enjoyed that! Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Poor Percy. I think he has some very Weasley-like qualities--great qualities--hiding underneath that work ethic of his. Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Merlynne
Date: 07/07/07 19:01
Chapter: Epilogue: Woods

Four hundred pages? Really? It didn't seem that long. This was a wonderful story, as I think I've mentioned in other reviews, but I really did like it. You write beautifully, and your characters are always enjoyable to read about. Great work!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! The 400 pages didn't seem that long to me, either.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES