Reviews For It Begins This Way
Reviewer: megan_lupin
Date: 01/30/08 21:22
Chapter: Prologue

Firstly, I think this was a good start, and Remus's characterisation was perfect here, in my opinion. With the setting -- time-wise, of course -- that you have in this prologue, you portray him quite well.

He had lost everything he had known, all in one night.

Good line; a nice way to sum up everything that Remus would have been feeling at this time, in my opinion.

The only thing that I wasn't as fond of was Snape's insertion here. It just seemed a bit more unexpected or awkward, like he didn't really belong at this point in the fic.

~Megan

Author's Response: Thanks for you review - I'm glad you enjoyed Remus' portrayal as he is one of my favourite characters. I understand what you mean about Snape, although hopefully as you continue through the story, the reason for his brief insertion here may become clearer. Even though this was written long before the release of DH, I feel his role here is even more appropiate now. Let me know what you think - I hope you keep reading!

Reviewer: siriusly_ginny
Date: 08/24/06 7:29
Chapter: Chapter Twelve: The Man Worse Off

wowwwwww!!!!!!!
lovd it!brilliant!

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm so glad you liked it!

Reviewer: padfootnflawks
Date: 08/08/06 18:48
Chapter: Chapter Twelve: The Man Worse Off

Wow exellenet story....I added it to my faviorets, And I will diffently cheack out your other storys!

Author's Response: Thanks, I hope you like them as much as you liked this one!

Reviewer: GiNGeR HaiReD GiRL
Date: 07/17/06 11:10
Chapter: Chapter Twelve: The Man Worse Off

this is so sad! i am bawling i feel so bad for rems and sirius and i hate peter!!!!

Author's Response: Ha ha - me too, I'm glad I made you cry... though not in a weird way...

Reviewer: detraction
Date: 07/02/06 3:09
Chapter: Chapter Twelve: The Man Worse Off

oh wow. this story was wonderful.
most definatly one of my favorite fics i've ever read, and i am very critical about fanfiction.

i loved this one, i loved how you portrayed all the characters. whether they were partaking in playful banter or screaming for help, it was all wonderful.

i most definatly plan to read all of your work now.

Author's Response: Yay, thank you! I've converted another to my writing, hee hee. Thank You!

Reviewer: detraction
Date: 07/02/06 3:05
Chapter: Chapter Twelve: The Man Worse Off

this was such a marvelous fic, dear. i admit, i got teary eyed during the last chapter.
you're a marvelous writer. i hope to see more of your work up here!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, that's really great to hear. More on the way when I get the chance!

Reviewer: padfootnflawks
Date: 06/16/06 19:54
Chapter: Chapter Twelve: The Man Worse Off

Poor Remus, i feel so bad for him and Sirius. I added your story to my faviorts it was great and it went by so fast. i will be cheacking to see if you have any more storys

Author's Response: Thanks, I hope you enjoy the rest.

Reviewer: Shackles
Date: 05/13/06 18:30
Chapter: Chapter Twelve: The Man Worse Off

you have great sories.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm really glad you like them! Was this your favourite one?

Reviewer: AshleighsWonder
Date: 05/12/06 9:33
Chapter: Chapter Twelve: The Man Worse Off

What a great ending to a great fan fiction.
I cried when Sirius was sobbing and scu.

Author's Response: Wow, you've read it all! Good to see it kept your attention. Thanks for reading and reviewing, I'm delighted you thought it was a fitting ending.

Reviewer: AshleighsWonder
Date: 05/12/06 9:02
Chapter: Chapter Two: A Saviour is Born

Awesome!! I really liked that line, umm...

"No, Wormtail, I stole this one."

"Good, because it looks like a tomato"

Author's Response: Haha - thanks, I hope you enjoy the rest of he fic!

Reviewer: froggie
Date: 05/08/06 15:30
Chapter: Chapter Twelve: The Man Worse Off

omg this story is so depressing but its very good and it probably was this way

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you found the last chapter. Hope you enjoyed the story as a whole and it wasn't too depressing!

Reviewer: Diamond Quill
Date: 04/29/06 12:05
Chapter: Chapter Twelve: The Man Worse Off

Well dearey, first of all I'd like to give you a massive virtual hug for mentioning me in your chapter dedication. I'm very flattered hehe :) So here goes with the review:

Thankyou. Thankyou so so much. An excellent end to an unforgettable story. Although I cannot think of a better way to finish off the tale, I wish it could carry on going.

Before I read this I wasn't particuarly attached to the marauder era and I'd never really paid much attention to the Sirius/Remus/James crazed fan girls. However I know read hardly anything else than MWPP and I have become one of the fangirls!

Apart from the change 'It Begins This Way' has brought upon my fanfiction tastes it has also taught me alot about how to go about writing my own stories. The way you write your dialougue with humour and create a 'pace' (as my drama teacher calls it!) is fantastic to read.

I think the thing that I like most about this story is the way that it is all so believable. It ties into JKRowlings work so well that it could pass easily as her own. And that, I suppose, is the ultimate point of fanfiction.

This chapter alone has been a brilliant mix of descriptive language, speech and characterisation which few authors on this site or even in fanfiction can rival. I speak with complete and utter sincerity when I say that I see you as one of the best authors I've ever had the fortune to come across.

So anyway, I should probably end this review before I end up embarassing myself with endless flattery and start sobbing over the CRUELTY with which you've treated Sirius :)

So once again I say thankyou!!! for giving me something to laugh, cry and be cheered up by for the last months. I hope you feel very proud of yourself, because you definately deserve it.

xxxxxxxxxxxxDiamondQuillxxxxxxxxxxx

Author's Response: I must admit - I was anticipating what I knew would be a beautiful review from you the moment I submitted this final chapter. Thank you so much, if you flattered me any more I think my head would explode! You have no idea how much everything you've said means to me - it's the whole point of posting writing on the net. I am beyond happy that I've influenced the way in which you write your own stories, and that you have seen my writing fit to be a model. Most of all, your genuine belief that I am one of the best writers you've come across in fan fiction has me estatic, as well as the thought that my work could pass as the great J.K's. Thank you for all of your support for not only this story, but my others too. We're bound to meet again in this wonderful world of fan fiction! ~ Zee xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Reviewer: Evik
Date: 04/29/06 3:41
Chapter: Chapter Twelve: The Man Worse Off

No, you misunderstood me. I didn't expect Remus to visit Azkaban and i was (positively!) surprised he did. I think it's very fitting his character. Being myself a big fan of Remus I totally support the idea of a sequel only about him.:)) But it's your decision. As I am not a writer I feel inappropriate to tell other writers what to write about. However, I got an idea that if you want to write about all Marauders, you might write a prequel. Just an idea, though, and you can completely ignore it. I apologise for the misunderstanding. I am looking forward to other stories by you.

Author's Response: Oh no, no, please don't apologise! I just wasn't sure what you meant. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it though! Hmm, a prequel is a very interesting idea. I wonder how that would play out. Actually, I quite like the idea of writing a Remus fic, so I'll toss that around in my mind and see what comes up. Thanks very much! ~ Zee

Reviewer: Starry Sky 44
Date: 04/28/06 17:05
Chapter: Chapter Twelve: The Man Worse Off

That. Was. FANTASTIC.

What a moving finish. I'm in tears. I didn't think Remus was going to go to Azkaban, but I'm glad he did, even if it made me cry. I think it was how anguished Sirius was when he cried out to Remus, and that he wanted to give him a hug...And mostly because Remus said that it was Sirius's fault. How hard would it be to hear what must hear that from one of your best friends? I'm sure that had already been plaguing Sirius, but that makes it ten times harder. Ohsosad.

Wonderful job on this story. I'll definitely miss it, but I'll keep a lookout for other stories you may write. Thanks again for the great read!

Author's Response: Oh thank you! Glad to have you in tears I must say, however cruel that may sound! I felt it was a fitting end to the story. Glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Starry Sky 44
Date: 04/28/06 16:52
Chapter: Chapter Eleven: Bits and Pieces

Ah! So sorry this is late--school has been keeping me busy and leaving me no time to read. :(

I can never say it enough: Poor Sirius. Poor, poor Sirius. I knew the inevitable was coming, and yet it still made me terribly sad.

Kind of a short review, but I'm off to read the next chapter now. And review, of course. :)

Author's Response: Haha - thanks! I know, poor, poor Sirius. I love writing him. Glad you enjoyed this chapter!

Reviewer: Evik
Date: 04/28/06 9:18
Chapter: Chapter Twelve: The Man Worse Off

Great ending. I thought that Remus wouldn't go to the visit to Azkaban, but well, he did. It was really emotional. Again, you had me almost in tears. Thanks for writing such a great story. I think that fan fic about these events are the most difficult to write, but you wrote it perfectly. Maybe, you could write a sequel. *raises an eyebrow*

Author's Response: Hmm, you sound as though you felt it was wrong for Remus to go to Azkaban? I really wanted to write it so I made it fit the story - the scene kept re-playing in my head. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story though, and that you felt this was a fitting ending. I'd love to write a sequel, but I'm not sure how - I mean, we all know what happens after this - except of course to Remus up until book three... now there's a thought. But that would be about Remus, not the Marauders - and I love writing about them. Oh well, I'll have a think. Get back to me if there's an angle you'd like me to take with this!

Reviewer: Not_so_dead_Prewit
Date: 04/28/06 8:05
Chapter: Chapter Twelve: The Man Worse Off

Nooo, end. What can I say? Great end... You had me nearly crying. The characters were very believable,you captured their personalities perfectly.
It's not fair, they didn't deserve it!

Author's Response: Don't I know it? Oh well, I must say I'm sad it's over. I'm really glad you liked it - be sure to keep an eye out for my other stuff if you'd like!

Reviewer: Evik
Date: 04/27/06 7:19
Chapter: Chapter Eleven: Bits and Pieces

Oh my God, that was awesomely written. I was not far from tears. I was actually trembling when I read this chapter. Poor poor Sirius. I can't even blame you for doing this to him, because you had to.:)) So only one chapter coming? That makes me sad. I think I will re-read the whole story, to enjoy it in a whole. I am looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Oh wow - you were trembling?! Thanks a million Evik, I'm delighted you thought so much of it! The next (and last) chapter is on the way, and I'm very happy with it so I hope you will be too.

Reviewer: Diamond Quill
Date: 04/26/06 14:35
Chapter: Chapter Eleven: Bits and Pieces

>_<

Well, it had to come. It was inevitable. I mean how can you have a 'end of marauders' fic without it?! I knew that the chapter where Sirius was taken away would be on the way, but I tried to ignore it.

I read other fics with Sirius in, read the books and even put myself through the torture of watching PoA, just to make up from my Sirius withdrawal symptoms I knew would be on the way. But, still lurking at the back of my mind was imminent arrival of the next chapter of 'It Begins This Way.' And despite all my protestations, it arrived.

And it was Too.Sad.For.Words. I was almost in tears by the end as poor Sirius's beautiful little head was hit by stunners and the boat continued out into the stormy seas.

*stands up on cliff watching boat leave and waving silk hankerchief* WE WILL MISS YOU SIRIUS!! FAREWELL BELOVED PADFOOT!!!!!!.

So now I'm faced with an even larger dilemma- the VERY LAST CHAPTER COMING UP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And what will I do?! Because despite the fact that I have sometimes feared the arrival of new chapters because of deaths of certain characters and although I have also cried a few times, I have also laughed untill the point of hysteria and had moments of cutenes unrivalled by anything else in Fanfiction.

So what will I do when it ends? Well, I will: Leave a long rambling review (yes, even longer than this one), reread the whole story AND recommend it on MNFF forums. And THEN I will bug Zetera to write more. Or I could just do that now. SO, Zetera- don't you dare stop writing fanficition or I will have a hissy fit and chuck stuff at the computer. That is all.

Yours Insanely,
XXXXXXXXXXXX Diamond Quill


Author's Response: Oh my God - I love you chick! You have no idea how much I enjoy reading your reviews! I'm so glad you liked this chapter - the next one features both Sirius and Remus and it is even sadder in my opinion, so I hope you like it even more! Yes, I know this day had to come, but I am really going to miss writing this fic. I can't really do a sequel as we all know what happens next, but I just can't leave the Marauder Era alone so you're sure too see more stuff from me - especially in the summer when I have unlimited time and no exams! Thanks again so much for your support - the next chapter is just for you ~ Zee xxx

Reviewer: Starry Sky 44
Date: 04/22/06 23:43
Chapter: Chapter Ten: Revelations

Again, even though I know how everything turns out, I'm still on the edge of my seat; you weave everything together so well! I liked seeing Dumbledore's point of view on Sirius and the rumors and such.

I always feel so badly for Sirius. I can't imagine what it would be like to see your best friend dead...Not to mention being blamed for it. And I really loathe Peter. The blame really comes down to him. He had better redeem himself (slightly) in book 7.

Glad to know the rest of the story is all written. Quick updates are great. :)

Author's Response: Most of the next chapter is dedicated to Sirius - so you'll get to see him struggle. And Peter too of course - the showdown is coming up! Thanks for reviewing - much appreciated.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES