MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For I Loved Him First

Name: Phoebe Gruzelier (Signed) · Date: 09/02/07 5:35 · For: Snape's Revenge
Your story is just so good! It keeps on surprising me. I love it!

I think the bit '"Yeah, I think that's what he was suggesting. Or are we so low-down that you wouldn't want to be seen with us?" he joked, then added in a stage whisper: "Wouldn't surprise me, you know, with these two around.' was my favourite. The Marauders all stay like they should, and so do Petunia, Lily and Snape!

I think June is a brilliant character (the angsty, hormonal teenager)!

Just one thing I spotted:

'"How To Perform A Correct Summoning Charm And When It Can Be Useful In Everyday Life" '----- It needs to be '"How to Perform a Correct Summoning Charm and When It Can Be Useful in Everyday Life"'.

Looking forward to the next chappie!

Author's Response: Thanks! Things like that always escape my notice and I'm correcting everything you say! :D Thanks for reading and reviewing! And for praising my fic, :)

Name: Phoebe Gruzelier (Signed) · Date: 09/02/07 5:29 · For: James vs. Snape
Ooh! You have me hooked! I love Petunia's partiality to James. And the way she always excuses everything he does. Very realistic!

It was interesting seeing Snape's Worst Meomory from someone other than Harry, and gives it all a fresh new edge.

A few (minour) points:

'It was a warm summers afternoon'-----That 's' on the end of 'summer' shouldn't be there.

'She was now 14' ----- you need to write 'fourteen' rather than just in numbers.

'Petunia had on her hot robes,'--------It sounds a bit awkward. I'd put 'had her hot robes on' instead.

Apart from that, the story's great and really well paced!

Author's Response: *Squee!* Thanks so much! I'll definitely go back and fix all those things ... thanks for pointing them out! I hope you like the rest!

Author's Response: *Squee!* Thanks so much! I'll definitely go back and fix all those things ... thanks for pointing them out! I hope you like the rest!

Name: Phoebe Gruzelier (Signed) · Date: 09/01/07 13:37 · For: James
A very, very interesting first chapter! You have me rushing off to find the 2nd installment! Everyone was IC, and Petunia is developing nicely. She's cannon, but seems younger than the Mrs. Dursley we all know and love/hate.

BUT there was one problem to this groovy start of the story. She fell in love with James far too quickly. I know you probably can't do anything about it now but I just thought I'd mention it. You only fall in love with someone after getting to know them. I don't hold with love at first sight. And I don't know about anyone else, but it hasn't happened to me.

Anyway, great first chappie. Looking forward to number 2!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! Yeah, I don't really hold by "love at first sight" either, but she seemed like someone who might. ;) So glad you've enjoyed this so far!

Name: Vampire Hunter Blade (Signed) · Date: 06/26/07 22:24 · For: It's Been Her All Along
Wow, just wow. I haven't been this into a story in quite a while. I almost skipped a few chapters just to see if I was right! I thought that it was all a trick and Lily had asked James to pretend to like Petunia, I like your version better though.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed this fic! Thanks so much for reviewing! :D

Name: pheonixflame (Signed) · Date: 04/12/07 13:28 · For: Snape's Revenge
Ooh, I like your characterisation of Petunia. The Marauders, too!

Hehe, how you made Petunia all nosy and the like, asking all those stupid questions really caught my eye. She seems like a rather difficult character to pull off, especially in her younger age. It almost makes me want to smack her, simply for the way she acts, prying into everyone's business. It's always a good thing when readers tell you something like this; it means you did a really good job!

The Marauders are often very hard to pull off as well, but you did this well too. Remus' line made me smile and I totally pictured Sirius going "that IS your name, right?". James was cute too. :]

The last few lines, where Petunia told herself to let go of her strict ways and have fun while she could, were very nicely written, too. It's a strong message that encourages Petunia to live life fully. *sighs* Too bad she changed so drastically later on, eh?

Well, very nice job so far! Keep up the good work!


Author's Response: Yay! Thanks for the long and kind review! I'm so glad you like my characterizations, I worked long and hard trying to do the Marauders justice! :D You're right though, it's too bad she becomes what she is in canon... I hope you read on and find out my take on how! Thanks again!

Name: Soccer_rocks_likeHP (Signed) · Date: 02/25/07 21:58 · For: The Final Irony (Epilogue)
BRILLIANT! I loved this chapter! I've been wondering if Petunia would finally meet Luna or not. This was a sad yet happy ending!

Author's Response: Sad yet happy, eh? :D Thanks for all of these wonderful reviews you've left scattered throughout my fic! :) You've definitely made my day a lot brighter! (and it's the middle of the night, so go you!) :D

Name: Soccer_rocks_likeHP (Signed) · Date: 02/25/07 21:47 · For: I Loved Him First
How sad and yet disgusting about the Vernon and Petunia part! I know I've said this a million times but POOR PETUNIA! She, by the way you've described her, deserves a better life than the one she has.

Author's Response: I agree! It's completely unfair! :D Thanks for the review and the compliments!

Name: Soccer_rocks_likeHP (Signed) · Date: 02/25/07 18:53 · For: Hatching Plans
This is so sad! I feel so sorry for Petunia and Lily.I can't wait to read on!

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review and to feel sorry for Petunia and Lily! :D

Name: Soccer_rocks_likeHP (Signed) · Date: 02/24/07 22:28 · For: Bad Outlook
This is so sad! I don't want to stop reading until I finish the fic. But, alas, I must. *wipes tears, from both stoping reading and the sadness of the story*

Author's Response: Wow. I love you, have I mentioned that? *kidding* Thanks for reviewing, though!

Name: Soccer_rocks_likeHP (Signed) · Date: 02/24/07 22:18 · For: At Luisa's House
Oh my God! I can't believe what's happening. I just can't bring myself to quit reading.

Author's Response: I appreciate more reviews anyway! :)

Name: Soccer_rocks_likeHP (Signed) · Date: 02/24/07 22:18 · For: At Luisa's House
Oh my God! I can't believe what's happening. I just can't bring myself to quit reading.

Author's Response: Whoopsie... :D

Name: Soccer_rocks_likeHP (Signed) · Date: 02/24/07 22:17 · For: At Luisa's House
Oh my God! I can't believe what's happening. I just can't bring myself to quit reading.

Author's Response: *Squee!* Thanks!

Name: Soccer_rocks_likeHP (Signed) · Date: 02/24/07 22:07 · For: It's Been Her All Along
That was so sad! This whole story has been so great! For once I feel sorry for Petunia. But this does show why Pertunia hates James and Lily so much. I just feel so bad for Petunia!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm so glad there's someone else out there who can empathize with Petunia! :D

Name: Soccer_rocks_likeHP (Signed) · Date: 02/23/07 14:08 · For: James vs. Snape
That was great! I Can't wait to keep reading! Keep up your great work!

Author's Response: Thanks!!!!

Name: Soccer_rocks_likeHP (Signed) · Date: 02/23/07 13:25 · For: James
That was so cool! I loved it I just have one question, How'd u get the idea to send Petunia to Hogwarts? I mean I've never read a fic. where the author has Petunia as a witch. Although that might explain a few things.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review and for liking my story! I'm not sure where the idea came from... I just figured, maybe there was another reason why Petunia hates Lilly so much! Again, thanks for the review!

Name: ronnyc718 (Signed) · Date: 11/13/06 0:36 · For: The Final Irony (Epilogue)
I had been wondering if Luisa died, so there you go.

Great job making this story fit with the books. I would like to see Petunia thinking about Lupin. Oh, and I forgot to mention in the last chapter that Amy's calling her 'Tunia was great.

And the ending of this... holy moly. This fanfic has an original plot, well-researched details, and is quite the enjoyable read. Thanks for letting me beta for you!

Author's Response: Thanks!! For all the wonderful beta-ing you've done!! This story is really much better, I think, after your very thourough, well-thought out and extremely helpful reviews! I'm so glad you enjoyed the story, and thanks again for doing such a great beta-ing job!

Name: ronnyc718 (Signed) · Date: 11/13/06 0:31 · For: I Loved Him First
Amy makes this chapter amazing. I love the circular pattern here - Amy loves Vernon, who loves Petunia, who loves James, who loves Lily - Amy helps make the story deliciously ironic.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you don't think all the romance clashes make this story too... soap-operaish.... Irony is rather important in this fic, so I'm glad you think Amy adds to that! Thanks for the review!

Name: ronnyc718 (Signed) · Date: 11/13/06 0:20 · For: Her New World
This is a really slick chapter. It flows really well, right down to the last sentence (which I love, by the way).

Author's Response: Slick, huh? :D Cool. Thanks for the review!

Name: ronnyc718 (Signed) · Date: 11/13/06 0:13 · For: The Meaning of Magic
Where is she that she can hear Dumbledore and Peter? Intriguing...

Also, I'm impressed that you've shown Peter here at least seeming to fool Dumbledore. So many fics show him as stupid and obvious about his betrayal, but he did manage to fool the Marauders, so he had to have some acting ability.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you like this Peter; as I've tried to show, I don't think he was an idiot, or completely untalented. I'm so happy you agree!

Name: ronnyc718 (Signed) · Date: 11/13/06 0:05 · For: The Battle
I love the part where Voldemort is making them doubt each other (which one's the traitor? Him, her, the werewolf? - excellent).

Author's Response: Thanks!!

You must login (register) to review.