Reviews For A Promise Kept
Reviewer: WinkysGirl
Date: 01/07/06 18:29
Chapter: A Promise Kept

Wow. that was brilliant. i have read all of your stories and each one of them is fabulous. i am in complete awe. i totally wish i could write like you but alass the power is not in me! please write more stories for me to enjoy! Luv your loyal reader Winkysgirl x x x

Author's Response: Thank you. Don't underestimate yourself. You can do it if you try.

Reviewer: HP_Fan_CA
Date: 12/06/05 21:59
Chapter: A Promise Kept

Very nice start for Harry and Ginny. I certainly carves out her will-power and her entanglement in the whole plot.

Author's Response: Thank you

Reviewer: SjaaK
Date: 09/03/05 9:33
Chapter: A Promise Kept

Huskers, your my favorite writer on this site now (i mean, JKR is still better eh ;) ) Your stories al got many depth in it and it is just great! Write some more!

Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: OnceBitten
Date: 08/27/05 14:28
Chapter: A Promise Kept

Good story! I felt very bad for Hermione (mudblood comment) and poor little Dobby being threatened...Harry reminded me alot of Lucius Malfoy! (..er...I feel like I need to go take a shower now...) Keep up the good work...I'm going to start on your "epics" now and if this site will cooperate technically, I may even be able to leave you a review or two...this is the results of Numerous Attempts and only the second one that made it to being posted!!!

Author's Response: Harry was pretty disgusting there for a while. Lucky for him Ginny saved him. Thanks for stopping by to review

Reviewer: Serious Black
Date: 07/28/05 16:49
Chapter: A Promise Kept

Excellent. Generally I stay away from one-shots. Keep writing.

Author's Response: Thanks

Reviewer: KenF
Date: 07/05/05 19:25
Chapter: A Promise Kept

I generally like one-shots, but this was one of the best. Was the "loved you before I was born" intended as a flip to the "loved you before you were born" saying that we hear occaisonally?

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. I'm not sure I understand about the play on words you are asking about.

The truth is, I messed this story up and that it has to be considered alternate universe. You have to accept that Harry's parents were killed sometime between July 31st, Harry's first birthday, and August 11th the day Ginny was born, instead of on October 31st approximately 2 1/2 months after Ginny was born.

Reviewer: hermionewannabe16
Date: 07/01/05 14:14
Chapter: A Promise Kept

Wow that was really good...I agree, a Draco and Hermione relationship would be blasphamy! Great story I really enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Thanks. Yep blasphamy.

Reviewer: Rowan_and_Rose
Date: 06/24/05 11:30
Chapter: A Promise Kept

I really enjoyed that story. When I first read the bit about Ginny being sent by Lily I admit I was doubtful but then by the end of the story I really liked it. The ending was great.

Author's Response: Glad you ended up liking it. I like the ties between Ginny and Harry's parents. Specifically between Ginny and Lily.

Reviewer: AstroFire
Date: 06/14/05 8:19
Chapter: A Promise Kept

Really good one, i like the fact that Ginny is more independant and strong, she can handle Harry. I'm a big H/G supporter, and i love to read fics like this one, not because they support my ship, but because they are well written.

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review. I'm glad you like my writing. I put a lot of time and effort into it, and it is gratifying to know that people like what I come up with.

Reviewer: Polaris Dakota
Date: 06/10/05 10:57
Chapter: A Promise Kept

10/10 You are so brilliant, it makes me jelous! Ginny is amazing and i absolutely adore how you portray her! I can not wait till you finish both of your fictions! If your year seven fiction is as good as your year six then i will be on my tip toes waiting for posts the whole time! love always! -Mortigana

Author's Response: Thank you. I rally see Ginny as being strong and coragous. Thanks for posting a review on this story.

Reviewer: CraftySlytherin
Date: 06/02/05 13:03
Chapter: A Promise Kept

You weren't kidding when you said your chapters were long! I agree with some of your other reviewers that this had some good potential to be longer than a one-shot. Other than cruel Harry at the beginning (I can see him brooding and closing himself off, but never cruel; but you had him back to what I consider to be in character by the end), this was a great one-shot. If the chapters in Blood Traitor are each this long, I'll have to take it a little at a time, but I will get it all reviewed.

Author's Response: Yes, this has potential to be much more than it is. Harry being cruel is out of character and is against his nature. He can't pull it off. Almost cracks under Hermione's anger and tears. but it takes Ginny to finally break him. I think there is underestimation of just what Harry might be capable of though. The differences between he and Riddle are very small. A few twists and turns and he could easily slip down that path. I think we may even see some of those indications and dangers from JKR, but ultimately he is the hero, and will return to finish off the Dark Lord. Yes, most of my chapters for Blood Traitor are of similar length.

Reviewer: Jean
Date: 05/29/05 23:53
Chapter: A Promise Kept

It did seem a bit out in left field.... I was following until you put in that destiny stuff.... born to be with him... etc. etc. etc.

Author's Response: Not sure what you are trying to tell me, but thank you for stopping by.

Reviewer: Czarina
Date: 05/24/05 19:48
Chapter: A Promise Kept

I really enjoyed this one-shot and you had so much material here I think it could have been drawn out into many more chapters. The archway has always intrigued me and I thought it was very creative how you drew it into the story. I have a feeling we will learn much more about it in the future from JKR. I think what I loved most about this story is your use of dialogue. It was so well written and flowed as a conversation should. You also portrayed emotion between the characters very well. I can completely see Harry acting just the way he did in order to protect his friends. For all he's been through, he's kind of immature about things and he can be a bit of a brat. I have a feeling he will meet his match in Ginny and she may very well be what saves him in the end.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it despit my errors in canon. I think you are correct in that we will learn more about the arch from JKR. Infact, I think we will learn a lot about the Department of Mysteries in general from her. I can see Harry going the route he did in this story, but being unable to maintain it. He almost cracks under Hermione's pressure, she is just not strong enough to do it. Ginny is. I think you are correct about Ginny saving Harry in JKR's writing. This is a hero, who is going to be broken by the time all is said and done. Someone is going to have to save him. It is interesting that in CoS, Dumbledore takes the time to point out that there is an unbreakable bond between Harry and Ginny, now that he has saved her life. What about book one? Harry and Ron save Hermione from the Troll, why is nothing said about an unbreakable bond there? How about when they go after the stone? Hermione saves both Harry and Ron when they end up in the Devil's Snare. No mention of a bond there either. What is so improtant about Ginny that JKR takes the time to mention the bond?

Reviewer: scarlett71177
Date: 05/21/05 13:38
Chapter: A Promise Kept

Nice Flangst. You're a very descript writer, something I favor when finding something to read. Interesting concept by bringing in the mysterious archway from the D.o.M. Very creative.

Author's Response: Thanks for stopping by to read and review. I found the arch to be interesting at the D.o.M. especially since only some of the characters seemed to be entranced by it.

Reviewer: squills23
Date: 05/08/05 7:46
Chapter: A Promise Kept

You're right. Unless you want to submit it as an alternative universe story it would be very difficult to get around Ginny being born in August when the Potters don't die until Halloween of the same year. Perhaps a dream vision for Ginny while she slept as a baby could work or something of that nature. Or perhaps before they die the Potters could envoke some old magic of protection for Harry that would cause one to be chosen on his behalf. Hmmm...it's a challenge for sure.

Reviewer: squills23
Date: 05/05/05 10:24
Chapter: A Promise Kept

That was wonderful! The way you dove into Harry's angst and fears over hurting people further was very intense. I'm not sure about him acting with cruelty in the long term over several weeks as he did in this story, but I could definitely see him reacting impulsively and taking a swing at Ron and some of the other things he did. I do think that he would try to hole himself up at least temporarily, that is totally in character for him. Your depiction of Ginny was spot on. I love the way you portrayed her as strong-willed and determined. It's the way that I feel her character will continue to progress in canon through books 6 and 7. Harry needs someone like that in his life. Ron's character is too apt to react stubbornly about forgivving to be able to stick it out and talk him down. He's quicker to place blame and not back down even if he really wants to in reality, like in GoF before the first task. Hermione has always been their mediator so when she gave up, that was surprising, but it served a purpose as it was necessary to clear the path for Ginny to move into her place. I loved the face off between Ginny and Harry. The little details like him stubbornly throwing off the covers and her replacing them as he slept were endearing to their characters. I also enjoyed the part where he flings her over his shoulder as a last ditch effort to evict her from his life/room. She's not one to be trifled with and she's not likely to give in. I do believe that Harry Potter will meet his match in Ginerva Weasley at some point and she break down his walls like no one ever has before. That came through beautifully in your writing. I could see you making this one shot into a multi-chapter fic. The details surrounding Ginny's promise to Lily and the whispering from behind the veil were both interesting avenues to persue further. BTW, I thought the eye color change was amusing when I saw your a/n about how you explained it away. Quick thinking. :) Good job -- sugarquills23

Author's Response: Let's see, the cruelty aspect you are correct about. He barely maintained it in front of Hermione. Also Ron took the swing at Harry for what he called Hermione. Harry did not take a swing at Ron. I whole heartedly agree that Harry will meet his match in Miss Weasley in the next two books from JKR. In fact, I think she is likely to be more than a match for him. Kind of like Hermione being more than a match for Ron. I also like the image of Harry throwing her over his shoulder, I can just see that not going over very well in the end for him. The concept of expanding this has occured to me a few times. The problem is the major canon mistake of having Ginny born after the death of Harry's parents. This did not happen, and is pretty difficult to get around. The green eyes, well I had to save what is probably the most important part of this story, so I did.

Reviewer: Andie
Date: 05/01/05 22:17
Chapter: A Promise Kept

Pretty good, the characterization, the idea that Ginny was meant for Harry had at one time occurred to me so I liked the whole thing. Ginny's got a great personality. The way they both went at it was believable. Good show.

Reviewer: Lumos
Date: 05/01/05 6:23
Chapter: A Promise Kept

That was really good. I'm not sure I buy into the metamorphmagus idea, but i still really liked it. The dialogue could be a little smoother if more colloquiallism was included, but this is a minor niggle

Reviewer: mysteriousnight
Date: 04/13/05 22:07
Chapter: A Promise Kept

This was really good. It seemed truly realistic. And the metamorphagus idea; I would have never thought of that. It does make sense though. And Lily choosing Ginny as "a watcher over Harry", that was really creative. You are a JKR in the works. Good Job.

Reviewer: Aebhel
Date: 04/04/05 16:56
Chapter: A Promise Kept

That was really great. I loved all of the angst...:) I think you might want to use contractions more, though. Without them, the dialogue sounds a little stilted.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
The Other Prophecy by IWriteToSurvive 3rd-5th Years
Hermione Granger is in a dilemma. A dilemma she never thought could happen...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES