Thread: Rules, Tools, and FAQs: Your guidebook to using this forum

'Til the end of the line Ravenclaw
    Unspeakable
    Kill the Spare

Rules, Tools, and FAQs: Your guidebook to using this forum

Hello, and welcome to Beta Services, For Sale or Rent. This forum is one of the many tools that we here at MNFF offer to users in order to produce the highest quality fictions possible.

What is a beta? Don't worry if you don't know! When I was a bright-eyed little newbie, I had no idea what a beta was, either, or why I would need one. A beta is an individual who volunteers their time to help their fellow users edit their stories for things like grammar, punctuation, canon compliance and spelling, as well as characterisation and plot.

Why do I need a beta? Simply put, we all make mistakes. Every last one of us has made a typo or a little timeline boo boo, no matter how well-versed we are in grammar/plot/etc. And some people will forever be disenchanted with the proper use of the comma. But that's okay. That's why we have betas. Simply put, an extra set of eyes is never a bad thing and cannot do anything but improve your work. Not only can a fresh perspective give you insight into things that might not have translated as well from your imagination to the page, but it can spot random typos that, upon self-editing, one may have missed. And, as a moderator, I can tell you that these things happen a lot, and too many occurrences of it will cause a perfectly good story to be rejected. That doesn't do anything for anyone, so it's best to be prepared the best you can be by taking full advantage of our wonderful panel of betas.