Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The dates aren't matching! [Black Family]

A.H.

The dates aren't matching! [Black Family]

So I've been making notes and trees for myself for the Black family. I've been mapping out the relations of everyone and yadda yadda so I don't make a canon slip-up in a fic. Just as I'm patting myself on the back for actually doing a bit of homework (I'm a lazy FF writer xP) I realize that two sources ARE NOT MATCHING and they're from the same site! (The HP Wiki)

So Link Removed tree says that Lucretia Black (Orion's sister) was born in 1915 and died in 1982. BUT the article, with a picture from the movie's tree beside it with corresponding dates, says that Lucretia was born in 1925 and died in 1992, a ten-year difference.

I've (grudgingly >.<) re-checked all of the dates (and I've gone all the way back to Phineas, which was about fifteen people's b-days and d-days to double-check >.> >.< <.<) and there are no other dates that aren't corresponding. Does anyone know where the above-linked family tree came from? Is it actually Jo's, or was it fan-made? Does it really matter if I make Lucretia ten years older or ten years younger?

Terri edit: Please do not post links to outside pages on the forums. They are against the posting rules. Thank you

Wizengamot Ravenclaw
    You idiot! Always playing the Hero!
    It has long been a well-known fact that the way J.K. designed the Black Family Tree. According to it, Belltrix's father was only fifteen when she was born.

My advice would be to just work with the errors as best you can. The Blacks are often the only place where non-canon information is considered okay.

Brand New Story!

Banner by lullaby_BANG. Completely awesome avi came from here!

My brand new trailer for Snape Didn't Die by thegirllikeme to serve as a constant source of inspiration whilst I write!

Inverarity
    Obviously, wizards fail at geneology.