Thread: INDIAN Culture Help

Hybrid View

Sixth Year Hufflepuff
    Voldemort's on the Back of Your Head, Professor

INDIAN Culture Help

Thank you so much, Marie!

Hi friends!

I am Pooja from India.

After reading a thread from LexiGirl based on Hinduism, I decided to post in this thread. This is a thread for those who want to write anything based on Hindu culture. Being a Hindu myself, I can help you out to my level best in things based on Hinduism.

Parvati Patil and Padma Patil are the two Hindu characters mentioned in the HP books. Hence, there maybe times when you would want to write fics based on them or create AU characters related to them.

I can help you out with translations to Hindi (spells). I have limited knowledge in Tamil and Marathi, as I only speak tit-bits of Tamil with my family and have had only three years worth of education in Marathi. Apart from all this, I can also help with Sanskrit phrases and proverbs (call them shlokas, if you need any) from the Gita and Vedas. Belonging to a Brahmin family and going to Vedic chanting classes at the same time, I am conversant with quite a few of them.

But just remember, I am a South Indian. Even though my Hindi is unbelievably good as compared to what a South Indian's Hindi should be, I lag behind in ceremonial information concerning other cultures in India (believe me guys, there are about twenty five different known and recognised cultures in India among the two hundred cultures).

Okay, here are some basic facts about Indians in the book:

Name meanings:
    Parvati:
    Parvati is the Hindu Goddess of fertility, wife of Lord Shiva- the Destroyer. She is worshipped by married women to pray for the long life of their husbands. She is also worshipped by people who want to overcome the obstacles in their lives. "Parvat"- mountain. Therefore Parvati= One belonging to the mountains (here, Himalayas).
    Other names of Goddess Parvati: Uma, Lalitha, Gauri, Shivakamini and Aparna.

Padma: