Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Weekly Drabble Challenge 3

Hybrid View

MithrilQuill

Weekly Drabble Challenge 3

Sorry for the lateness of this one...

This week we will be Drabbling about Glory. What it means, what it feels like etc etc all from the POV of a canon character.

Drabbles must be 500 words long and the winners will be awarded 15, 10 and 5 points respectively. Due next Sunday.

Use the following form for submissions:

Name:
    House:
    Title:
    Warnings:
    Words:

MorganRay

Masquerade

Title: Masquerade
    Name: MorganRay
    Words: 473
    Warning: none
    House: Hufflepuff

I combed out my delicate, silvery blond locks as I gazed at myself in the mirror. I kept combing out my hair as I studied my thin nose and perfectly placed cheekbones. There was just enough color in my cheeks to make me look cheery, but my skin still had that porcelain pale look to it. My lips, the loveliest part of my face, remained full and plump as I continued to rake the comb through my tresses.

However, if one looked into my eyes, they would see more than just a vapid beauty. I wore my mask of loveliness, my best weapon, to win the world to my side. Underneath, in the very depths of my eyes, the light of an intelligent person could be seen. That was me, the essential desires of my soul, in the very depths of my eyes that most people couldn’t reach.

For a while, I wondered why people couldn’t touch that part of me that longed to excel and be a true woman. Then, I knew that part of me, that escapes even a second or third glance, is so sacred that I could never let it go or allow just anyone view me as I really am. Under the pretty mask, I am driven, but I conceal it because I’m not for everyone to understand. Even as I apply a small amount of neutral eye shadow to my eyelids to complete my Veela façade, I can see the burning in the depths of my eyes.