Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The Marauders' Characterisation

Hybrid View

Rhi for HP

The Marauders' Characterisation

Currently I'm writing a chaptered Lily/James fic where, naturally, the main characters are the Marauders. However, I'm running into a few roadblocks.

What do you guys think about Wormtail's character? I've read way too much fanfiction, and now I have no idea what my stand on the matter is. Part of me says he's uncool, a tagalong, obtuse, etc. There's certainly canon evidence for that. And yet...the Marauders didn't outright reject him. Did he have his redeeming qualities, do you think, or was he just a very persistent tagalong?

What do you think about swearing with the Marauders? As a high school student, I know full well most teenage boys will not say "gosh darnit!" when life isn't going their way. And yet...swearing in the books is very minimal and light, the worst being Mrs.Weasley's explitive shouted at Bellatrix during the last battle in DH. So, do you think swearing is OOC? What do you think?

Amber0_o
    For the swearing, Jo never outright eliminated it, she simply eliminated the need to write out exactly what the word was. 'Ron swore under his breathe' appeared far more often than '****', said Ron.

As for Peter's place in the Marauders, I believe they kept him there for the ego boost. We see that James keeps releasing and catching the Snitch, and is obviously enjoying the attention he is getting from Peter. When James and Sirius start to attack Severus Peter is there 'watching hungrily'. Peter hangs around the Marauders for protection, and so he can enjoy watching them attack other students. James and Sirius keep him around for an ego boost, now and again.

bluexroses
    Swearing in itself is not OOC but, like Amber said, rarely is it directly stated. I think this comes from the fact that there are younger children who read the books as well as older ones. Don't want to corrupt them too early now do we?